Does co-curriculum matters?, for scholarship or university entrance

JonSpark
post Mar 19 2009, 06:53 PM

ai shiteru
4,894 posts

QUOTE(thebayang @ Mar 19 2009, 01:22 PM)
i joined living skill club but more like a boys club...
when we gather we chat about games, girls, and condemn our teachers...
really fun! tongue.gif
LMFAO very outstanding club, what have you guise learnt? ulti skills and jap av knowledge? laugh.gif thumbup.gif
hadeanmars
post Mar 19 2009, 09:37 PM

149 posts

i have just finished my f5, i got b in my coco, isnt that bad? =(
Time-Interval
post Mar 19 2009, 09:39 PM

48 posts

I have to say, that doesnt really matter in applying scholarships in malaysia. I myself scoring full A1 in SPM and yet active in many co-curricular activities, somemore I manage to hit MSSM for my sport, but then, what did I get? All of those scholarships held by the gov are based on your INCOME TAX. so, dream on if you father's driving a S class mersc.
thebayang
post Mar 19 2009, 10:35 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(Time-Interval @ Mar 19 2009, 09:39 PM)
I have to say, that doesnt really matter in applying scholarships in malaysia. I myself scoring full A1 in SPM and yet active in many co-curricular activities, somemore I manage to hit MSSM for my sport, but then, what did I get? All of those scholarships held by the gov are based on your INCOME TAX. so, dream on if you father's driving a S class mersc.
just sell the mersc n buy a kancil lor... rclxms.gif
Elven
post Mar 19 2009, 10:51 PM

399 posts

QUOTE(thebayang @ Mar 19 2009, 11:35 PM)
I prefer not to have any cars. A bike would be enough though. brows.gif

This post has been edited by Elven: Mar 19 2009, 10:52 PM
Time-Interval
post Mar 20 2009, 12:29 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(thebayang @ Mar 19 2009, 10:35 PM)
kancil is not safe. kenot speed somemore.
thebayang
post Mar 20 2009, 08:11 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(Time-Interval @ Mar 20 2009, 12:29 AM)
kancil is not safe. kenot speed somemore.
can...
put some NOS and u can speed all u wan...
muahahahaahha! icon_idea.gif
zeun_g
post Mar 19 2011, 10:33 PM

if join civil defance or pertahanan awan for 1 year, can it as replacement for coco mark,
Holyboy27
post Mar 19 2011, 10:52 PM

843 posts

if u wan scholarship after SPM with JPA especially, involve yourself with activities that gives u certificates. I have friends that needed a big folder to organize their certs.

But what is more important, get the EXCELLENT results.
zeun_g
post Mar 19 2011, 10:59 PM

also for getting place at ipta for high requirment course, can i use civil defense certificate , i have emailed BPKP mohe, it was 1 week, don't get any replay, just it state "review"

also, how to fill coco mark form at upu form, need i write 7%
hfz
post Mar 20 2011, 07:18 AM

Krabby Patty!
528 posts

QUOTE(Glassy @ Mar 19 2009, 01:28 AM)
Is co-curriculum important? Well, it depends.

If you are trying to get into a local private college, no. Just meet the minimum academic requirements, pay the fees and attend your classes.

If you are applying for a scholarship or trying to get into a public university in Malaysia, yes. The higher your level of participation [national level, international level, etc], the better.

If you are applying to a US university, yes. The more the better, and they also want to see high involvement.

If you are applying to a UK university, not quite as important as if you're trying to get into US unis, but you do at least need to have one or two which are relevant to the course you are applying for for optimum chances of success.

If you are applying for a job or an internship, you only need a few [maybe one to three] to show that you have interests outside of your studies.

Also, do remember that you are not strictly confined to school activities. Attending youth conferences, doing volunteer charity work, etc all also count.
Hi Glassy,

Can you elaborate more on the points that had been bold?

For the past 3 years, I've participated in a few youth conferences, youth engagement programmes, and volunteering stuffs. But, my counsellor said, it doesn't count in the co-cu system. Confused already rclxub.gif

BTW, to the others, I've also participated in a few programmes (virtually) outside the country, standalone/on my own (in other word, not representing the school, although when they ask me, from which school I come, I give them my school name). And I got a few referral letters from the organizers. Can it be used as a backup/support for me to enter uni, if my co-cu marks are low?

And I'm F5, and rarely active in co-cu sweat.gif

Thanks! biggrin.gif
Stuffi
post Mar 20 2011, 07:08 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

I have quit as a member of my school's marching band.
chengyue
post May 4 2016, 05:12 PM

111 posts

Sometimes it does
ayamFriendly
post May 7 2016, 03:49 AM

19 posts

Depends on what course you intend to do in the future. If it's something competitive, yes, you would need an edge over other applications because remember, most people applying will have good enough academic achievements. Choose something you will enjoy and even better, something relevant to your future course.

Join something that is active and something that you feel you can learn from. Many people join and get positions for the sake of how it looks on paper, but is that all you can get from co-curricular activities? Don't forget if you have to write personal statements or do interviews for university entrance, you will need to talk about how your co-curricular involvement has shaped you, not how many things you have done or how many positions you have held.

If you find it hard to get involved cause you are form 4 in school, don't forget that there's much more things you can get involved in outside of school.

All I can say is that those little skills I picked up from co-curricular activities were heck loads more beneficial than what those As on my exam slip could get me. wink.gif

This post has been edited by ayamFriendly: May 7 2016, 03:51 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0201sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:23 AM