Which is the best country for expat?

THE DEEPER
post Mar 15 2009, 03:48 PM

186 posts

The middle east is the place to be right now.. It is the place with most cash money right now in the whole world!

And people there are more impressed in Academic than experience...I've been there and I know that...

I recommend Qatar, Dubai is good, but the lifestyle and money is much better in Qatar.. in addition, Qatar is one of the few countries who actually showed growth in this economic crisis...smile.gif

This post has been edited by THE DEEPER: Mar 15 2009, 03:49 PM
TSEasyLife
post Mar 15 2009, 04:33 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(THE DEEPER @ Mar 15 2009, 03:48 PM)
The middle east is the place to be right now.. It is the place with most cash money right now in the whole world!

And people there are more impressed in Academic than experience...I've been there and I know that...

I recommend Qatar, Dubai is good, but the lifestyle and money is much better in Qatar.. in addition, Qatar is one of the few countries who actually showed growth in this economic crisis...smile.gif
I just go through lists of staff in their Uni in Qatar and could not find much Asian/Chinese name. Why? Any idea? Culture shock or what?
THE DEEPER
post Mar 15 2009, 09:13 PM

186 posts

Well, I don't know why there are not many academicians from ASIA, but I don't think it is about the culture shock.. Which university have u looked at?

Fizzy, Dubai of course is effected by the crisis, but they are in better shape somehow coz of all cash they got from the souring prices of Oil just before the economic meltdown, so they have the money to keep the current projects, specially in infrastructure, running .

read if u'd like more info:
http://www.ameinfo.com/144748.html
http://www.ameinfo.com/180395.html

SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 16 2009, 02:39 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(zariqcools @ Mar 15 2009, 02:38 PM)
not all American kids are screwed:)
btw have you ever hit on whites? brows.gif easy to get? brows.gif
yea.. hehhee.. they are very easy... n they shave... but i dont think here is the correct place to discuss that

bs! the contruction works has already stop... a lot of msian interior designers has their projects put on hold and thye recently just applied 1billion loan from the msian gov... oil price drop, no rental in their exagerated buildings, loses in the financial market,... all their dream is gone

QUOTE(EasyLife @ Mar 15 2009, 04:33 PM)
I just go through lists of staff in their Uni in Qatar and could not find much Asian/Chinese name. Why? Any idea? Culture shock or what?
they treat asians like shit.. especially brown skin, they are very racist.. i had a malay engineer there earning 5 figures a month... he went shopping and they wont even wanna serve him even he got the $$$ because they think he's a low class phillipino going there as a maid/contruction worker... they only place they serve him is d betting horse ring which he cant go

QUOTE(fizzy @ Mar 15 2009, 06:21 PM)
my cousin brother is a mechanical engineer who's working in dubai. he just came back here two day ago, economic recession in dubai is even worse. so do research before posting ur opinions dude...during this time, nowhere is safe.malaysia is doing great in da moment,we will only begin to feel the REAL economic downturn effects this june onwards(don't believe me can ask economic experts) icon_idea.gif
actually msia is shit... just that so many lies covers up everything... the only good part of msia is we learn our lesson from the 98 crisis... our financial instituition is not hit that badly.. kudos zeti aziz
iDk
post Mar 16 2009, 03:24 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Mar 16 2009, 02:39 AM)
yea.. hehhee.. they are very easy... n they shave... but i dont think here is the correct place to discuss that
bs! the contruction works has already stop... a lot of msian interior designers has their projects put on hold and thye recently just applied 1billion loan from the msian gov... oil price drop, no rental in their exagerated buildings, loses in the financial market,... all their dream is gone

they treat asians like shit.. especially brown skin, they are very racist.. i had a malay engineer there earning 5 figures a month... he went shopping and they wont even wanna serve him even he got the $$$ because they think he's a low class phillipino going there as a maid/contruction worker... they only place they serve him is d betting horse ring which he cant go

actually msia is shit... just that so many lies covers up everything... the only good part of msia is we learn our lesson from the 98 crisis... our financial instituition is not hit that badly.. kudos zeti aziz
That's what i heard too. Super racist deep in their bone. They will make you feel like you are the lowest class citizen, and need to be fool around by them. No personal experience, but those from there by out of 10, 9 will say that to me.

This post has been edited by iDk: Mar 16 2009, 03:25 AM
TSEasyLife
post Mar 16 2009, 03:59 AM

87 posts

Anyone please tell why you choose NZ as the best place? I'm in NZ and I think their tax rate is high (at least 30% and above) while salary is comparatively low. Thnaks.
SUSahjames
post Mar 16 2009, 09:10 AM

My Name James
1,337 posts

if u chinese, go hongkong become academia.
if melay, go indon become acedemia.
dreamer101
post Mar 16 2009, 09:21 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(EasyLife @ Mar 16 2009, 03:59 AM)
Anyone please tell why you choose NZ as the best place? I'm in NZ and I think their tax rate is high (at least 30% and above) while salary is comparatively low. Thnaks.
EasyLife,

It is a good place to retire to. My brother retire there. He spend 6 months in NZ and 6 months in Malaysia.

My cousin's daughter live in NZ too.

Dreamer

yewjhin
post Mar 16 2009, 11:08 AM

159 posts

I LOL-ed at that.

QUOTE(fizzy @ Mar 15 2009, 06:21 PM)
my cousin brother is a mechanical engineer who's working in dubai. he just came back here two day ago, economic recession in dubai is even worse. so do research before posting ur opinions dude...during this time, nowhere is safe.malaysia is doing great in da moment,we will only begin to feel the REAL economic downturn effects this june onwards(don't believe me can ask economic experts) icon_idea.gif

Anyway, Easylife is aiming to be an academician. So lets leave out the professional careers like engineers and such and focus on academic route.

In line with your PhD and perhaps your interests, I would suggest a technologically developed or at least "technologically conscious" country like the UK, US, Canada or South Korea (If you can stand up to it). You'll want to receive funding for your research, effective tools to pass on your knowledge whether through teaching or research, conferences, scientific collaborations, whatever method you choose.

Bear in mind that the Middle East is a CONSERVATIVE region. Abu Dhabi and Dubai are less strict, but nevertheless you are subjected to many regional laws of which are included in your job contract.

An example: In spite of recent economic recessions, Canada is still funding millions in Carbon Capture & Storage (CCS) technology to restrict their carbon gas emissions and reduce global warming as well as meet global environmental pressures.

This post has been edited by yewjhin: Mar 16 2009, 11:09 AM
zeusu
post Mar 16 2009, 11:44 AM

160 posts

lol...you're quite right about the Asian part...if you're single, you can't even enter the malls in Qatar on weekends, unless you go thru' the backdoor! And ppl keep on mistaking you for Filipinos!

Asians are practically treated like slaves in this part of the world.

but best place in middle east has to be dubai, provided your expat package covers the essential, living the high life. Or work in Abu Dhabi, and spend your weekends in Dubai. Although with the recession now, it's not easy to find a job.

With a PhD, the highest paid job used to be quants in the finance sector, but with all this mess now, I have no idea how the job market is.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 16 2009, 11:52 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

well, i bet u have not been to western countries often... most country have at least 25% tax if ur income is above 36kusd/year and some goes up to 50%.. in cali i paid 40+% although i can clain abck around 20%+... in aus it is 30%+.. in britain it is d worse i think

the best place to earn $$$$ is alaska... they pay super high and there's no state tax, only federal which is 20+% and you can claim that back

QUOTE(ahjames @ Mar 16 2009, 09:10 AM)
if u chinese, go hongkong become academia.
if melay, go indon become acedemia.
HK? lol.. $$$ is good, but ppl there are rude, u will live in a sardine can, and everything else is exp

indon? lol.. ppl from indon are running here why go there?
howszat
post Mar 16 2009, 12:31 PM

2,932 posts

The tax is high - top-tier tax rate is 39%, but the salary is not comparatively low, as least not compared to Malaysia. And the 39% only applies to the portion above 60K.

For IT in general, you are still better off even after taxes and expenses. Even more so for the more in-demand areas. Then multiply by 1.9 to get ringgits, if you can save and assuming you intend to move back at some stage.

So compared to Malaysia, it is not low. Not sure how it would apply in your situation though.
WildChai
post Mar 16 2009, 12:42 PM

Wut is this?
1,022 posts

Been working in 5 different countries and I agree with people's comment on UAE. Alot of them are racist...and they show it. Especially the locals. But there those who are polite...maybe due to their job.

But if they are your clients...such as company man. They would make your work and life difficult. Alot of them are Egyptians.

Being an expat working out of Malaysia has it's advantages....like we don't have to pay income tax to Malaysia gomen.

Although working in the UAE is nice...they usually give high salary and lodging is provided. But the cost of living is very very high. Unless you are on rotation.
iDk
post Mar 16 2009, 01:28 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Mar 16 2009, 11:52 AM)
well, i bet u have not been to western countries often... most country have at least 25% tax if ur income is above 36kusd/year and some goes up to 50%.. in cali i paid 40+% although i can clain abck around 20%+... in aus it is 30%+.. in britain it is d worse i think

the best place to earn $$$$ is alaska... they pay super high and there's no state tax, only federal which is 20+% and you can claim that back
HK? lol.. $$$ is good, but ppl there are rude, u will live in a sardine can, and everything else is exp

indon? lol.. ppl from indon are running here why go there?
Yupe, i think is about 50% if i not mistaken.
GaInNAs
post Apr 3 2009, 09:49 PM

well.. i would say PhD is not just doing research and sleeping in the labs. in fact, PhD students learn a lot of transferable skills. it can be as good as MBA if not better. University is full of politics as well. u need to fight with other lecturers to get the lab space, be good in the inter-personal skills to help progress in your research. furthermore, u get to attend national and international to present your results.., and u are talking to more than 100+ people in the hall. And you build your network from there. that is why employers treat the years spend in PhD studies as working experience as well.
kb2005
post Apr 5 2009, 12:31 AM

Yahoo!
17,845 posts

With Phd, you better look for a reserach work in the university. Singapore is a good place to start with as the country is looking for high qualification candidates.
kelvinlym
post Apr 5 2009, 07:12 AM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

@EasyLife

I try to answer your question with your formula.

For fresh grad engineer in Germany, I take the average and from my experience (not my income).

Salary (Gross)= EUR 3600
Taxes etc = EUR 1600
Expenses = EUR 1200
Gross income (shouldn't you mean nett?)= EUR 800

But with PhD, you command even higher income of course. Depending on industry demand and field of study, I would estimate gross salary of EUR 6000/month at the low end for zero experience.

This post has been edited by kelvinlym: Apr 5 2009, 07:15 AM
kb2005
post Apr 5 2009, 10:35 AM

Yahoo!
17,845 posts

From your experience ? You mean you work in Germany before ?
kelvinlym
post Apr 5 2009, 04:47 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ Apr 5 2009, 04:35 AM)
From your experience ? You mean you work in Germany before ?
I am currently working in Germany.

But not as expat. Just engineer.

0.0444sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:54 AM