4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

iPhone OS 3.0(OUT NOW!) + iPhone 3GS(Late July?), Apple Store Italy sells 3G[S] UNLOCKED!

harmeet15
post Jun 9 2009, 02:49 AM

Winners don't make excuses
2,729 posts

3.0Mpixel autofocus camera
auto exposure and auto light balance
"tap to focus" is a new software feature
new hardware and camera software

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 9 2009, 02:51 AM
harmeet15
post Jun 9 2009, 02:55 AM

2,729 posts

biasala...
199/299
harmeet15
post Jun 9 2009, 02:57 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(vui_msia @ Jun 9 2009, 02:56 AM)
yeah, sad , no front camera.  not much from 3G, better speed..  how often you use camera to snap video.... hoping & waiting for more good news on 3GS ..
im very happy da way it is...
no ichat is no prob for me...
tis is gr8 for me

harmeet15
post Jun 9 2009, 02:58 AM

2,729 posts

Improved battery life: 9 hours on wifi, 10 watching video, 30 hours of audio playback, 12 hours of 2G talk time, and 5 hours of 3G talk time
$199 are for the 16GB version
$299 for 32GB

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 9 2009, 03:00 AM
harmeet15
post Jun 9 2009, 03:02 AM

2,729 posts

June 19 for I3gS
wow....
but only In the USA, Canada France, Italy, Spain, UK

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 9 2009, 03:03 AM
harmeet15
post Jun 9 2009, 03:04 AM

2,729 posts

malaysia is in the july list...thank god
harmeet15
post Jun 9 2009, 10:37 AM

2,729 posts

tis is one baby im gonna get
i3g has served me very well...but its time for i3GS to take over...
contract, no contract...malaysia singapore..aussie..anywhr i can get tis baby, im gonna jump on it...biggrin.gif

string bro..kita sama sama pergi ya...smile.gif
harmeet15
post Jun 9 2009, 04:01 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(contreasjun27 @ Jun 9 2009, 03:21 PM)
maxis sure gonna cost everybody a bomb thats for sure..
licik betul maxis
i dun remember da current 3g costing a bomb to malaysians...
paying 1800 - 2200 for i3g with contract is not a prob ma...
u r paying 2k for the phone...rest of da contract u r using it up...
not being charged for nothing....
harmeet15
post Jun 9 2009, 06:21 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 9 2009, 06:11 PM)
What happened to my beloved thread? sad.gif

In any case, for me, I may go the local,Maxis....possibly the contract route, albeit begrudgingly. Until there are more concrete news on how much this new model is, for the time being, it's "buying local" time.

I hope more news pour in regarding the first 8 countries that will get their iPhone 3GS first. From those on that list, only Switzerland and Italy looks like a viable alternative to get it unlocked. Time to pull some strings and contact my contacts in those countries. If that does not work, then it's the waiting game till July. Scramble!
same strategy bro..
last time we complained y no i3g here...
now tat they r showing initiatives to bring it here, we must show our support...biggrin.gif
if they take too long, then we have to look for other viable options...smile.gif
btw bro, khamis jumaat free ka?
harmeet15
post Jun 10 2009, 10:08 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(Joey-kun @ Jun 10 2009, 09:27 AM)
I have a question.

i heard that Apple stores are offering to trade in our old iPhone 3G for the 3G S for free if it's 1 week before the launch.

this is Apple's policy for its stores worldwide. wonder if this holds true for msia
QUOTE(lazarus7247 @ Jun 10 2009, 09:40 AM)
wow can someone confirm this ?
Contract and Subsidy Issues for iPhone Users Looking to Upgrade to iPhone 3G S

With the announcement of the iPhone 3G S yesterday, many current iPhone users have been looking to upgrade to the new model. Unfortunately, many users have been surprised and disappointed to find that their carriers are requiring that existing iPhone customers under contract are unable to immediately upgrade at the $199/$299 price point offered to "qualifying" customers.

It appears that many of these users had expected to be "qualified" for the lowest pricing despite being currently locked into a multi-year contract, as carriers such as AT&T permitted original iPhone users to upgrade to the iPhone 3G at the qualified price despite still being under their original two-year contracts. The key difference between last year's situation and this year's is that the original iPhone was unsubsidized by AT&T, and thus the carrier had no upfront subsidy to recoup through the two-year contracts its customers were on.

Customers on iPhone 3G contracts, however, received initial subsidies of several hundred dollars, meaning that carriers will require those customers to fulfill most or all of their contracts prior to qualifying for full subsidized pricing on upgraded models. This policy is not unique to AT&T, as upfront carrier subsidies quickly became the basis of Apple's iPhone business model throughout the world. As TechRadar notes, UK carrier O2 has also been receiving complaints from customers unable to qualify for fully subsidized pricing.

Speaking to Steve Alder, General Manager of Devices for O2 UK, he pointed out that it simply wasn't viable to let O2's iPhone customers upgrade early:

"Having subsidised much (or all - depending on tariff) of the price of a customer's iPhone 3G, we simply cannot justify invalidating that contract and subsidise a second device for the same customer.

"Much as we understand the desire of many customers to have the latest version, this would be a loss making deal for O2 and would be a distinct set of business terms for iPhone customers that don't apply to our other customers."
Confusion remains, however, over just what requirements are necessary in order for existing customers to qualify for subsidized pricing for a given carrier. Carriers typically permit users to qualify for partial or full subsidized pricing on handset upgrades several months prior to the expiration of their existing contracts in exchange for the customer locking in for an additional multi-year contract.

But AT&T iPhone 3G customers, for example, appear to be receiving varying information about when they will be eligible for subsidized pricing on the iPhone 3G S. One MacRumors forum member reports that an AT&T representative claims that this discrepancy stems from whether the customer purchased an original iPhone prior to purchasing an iPhone 3G, in which case the customer would qualify for subsidized pricing on the iPhone 3G S only 12 months after signing their iPhone 3G contract instead of the 18 months required for customers who had only purchased an iPhone 3G. A number of other forum members, however, claim that the pricing offers they are receiving do not reflect this supposed set of rules.

Because it remains unclear exactly how much of their contracts iPhone 3G users will need to fulfill before becoming eligible for subsidized pricing on the iPhone 3G S, customers looking to upgrade should anticipate additional clarification on this process from their carriers.

harmeet15
post Jun 11 2009, 08:27 AM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 11 2009, 04:18 AM)
Just watched the keynote again, and .........something just crossed my mind.

........June 26th, iPhone 3GS launch, Netherlands. .......I'll be in Amsterdam, the Netherlands on 26th till 29th....... Put 2 and 2 together......shocking.gif

I personally CAN BE AT A LAUNCH COUNTRY on LAUNCH DATE! Now, to dig up to see if the Netherlands phone locking policy is the same as the rest of Europe.

So I'm cautiously optimistic, otherwise it is just a few more days to July for the Malaysian launch. My stance would still be the preferences towards NOT BEING PEGGED FOR A CONTRACT, so if I can avoid it, I would. But the Euro rising up unfavourably against RM, I'll keep my options open. But knowing myself, I may just cave in when I see the device in person. tongue.gif

Now there's more reason to go to Amsterdam, other than Casa Rosso Sex Theatre and the hash-laden coffee shops! laugh.gif
i see the smoke before a fire,,,tongue.gif
all of us are just waiting for any info abt local launch...and going by the guy after u, thr is hope...

QUOTE(auhckw @ Jun 11 2009, 07:59 AM)
Friend working in Maxis saying iPhone 3GS will be launched July. Test unit coming in already. I hope I get to touch it before market release.
harmeet15
post Jun 11 2009, 08:38 AM

2,729 posts

Apple Now Testing High-Volume iPhone Push Notifications With AIM

Apple today invited a number of its iPhone OS 3.0 beta users to participate in a second high-volume test of Apple's Push Notifications system. This round of testing will use a developer preview of AOL's AIM instant messaging application and is scheduled to last for one week, leading up to the public launch of iPhone OS 3.0.

As a developer actively working with iPhone OS, we would like your help in a private tes of the Apple Push Notification service. For this test, we have selected AOL's AIM Developer Preview for iPhone OS 3.0 to create a high-volume test environment for our servers.

To participate, we ask that you follow these steps:

1. Download AIM Developer Preview for iPhone OS 3.0 from the iTunes Store via your desktop by entering this unique redemption code in the 'Redeem' section of iTunes, found under the 'Quick Links' section:

{code redacted}

Note: the functionality of the application will expire in seven days.

2. Install the application on a development device running iPhone OS 3.0 GM Seed by synching it to iTunes. This application can only be installed on devices running iPhone OS 3.0 GM Seed.

3. Launch the application and accept to receive Push Notifications when prompted. You can log in with any existing AOL, AIM, .mac or MobileMe account.

4. If you do not receive notifications from the app within 48 hours after installation, let us know.
Apple previously tested its Push Notifications system using a developer version of AP News.

Push Notifications will be deployed as part of iPhone OS 3.0 next week and serve as a substitute to allowing applications to run in the background on the iPhone, which Apple has determined would consume too much battery power to be practical. Push Notifications utilize external servers to alert users of updates, status changes, and other information for applications that are not currently running.

iPhone 3G S Has a 600 MHz Processor, 256MB of RAM, PowerVR SGX
T-Mobile.nl has posted some technical specs about the iPhone 3G S revealing that the newest iPhone carries a 600 MHz processor and 256MB of RAM.

600 MHz is notably faster than the current iPhone and iPod Touch which run at 412 MHz and 532 MHz, respectively. Until now, the 2nd Generation iPod Touch has been the fastest device in the lineup by a good margin. Meanwhile, the previous generation models where also limited to 128 MB of RAM, so the new device offers twice as much which could be a welcome change to developers. The processor/ram information seems to confirm many details that were first revealed in a Chinese forum post.

Apple has been particularly unrevealing about the detailed hardware specs for the new iPhone even to developers at WWDC. The new iPhone is also believed to use the new PowerVR SGX graphics processing unit which provides support for OpenGL ES 2.0. This notably improved performance may require developers to support these multiple device capabilities within their apps.

For those interested in more of a technical analysis, Anandtech offers a detailed breakdown of the new iPhone's processor and GPU, according to their sources. The information lines up with the other reports referenced above.

Although unannounced, the iPhone 3GS uses (again) a Samsung SoC but this time instead of the ARM11 + MBX-Lite combo it's got a Cortex A8 and PowerVR SGX; just like the Pre.

harmeet15
post Jun 11 2009, 05:50 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 11 2009, 04:57 PM)
I can counter-confirm on this. From the Product Development team in Maxis, test units are already in. Testing vendor for Maxis's iPhone 3G[S] is Wipro,  is assisting them in configuring the test units. For the numbers, Maxis has topped up another 90,000 units of iPhone 3G[S], making it 240,000 units, including the 150,000 units from the previous iPhone 3G shipment.

I would not worry about units running out of stock, they are having trouble pushing 10% of that number for sale.
boy am i glad to hear tis...
thank god tis time arnd wud be a fairly easy ordeal to get an iphone...
dun mind da contract, as long as they get it in...biggrin.gif
@string...Netherlands still on ur mind or local wud do?>
harmeet15
post Jun 11 2009, 06:19 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 11 2009, 05:55 PM)
I wouldn't put it as "impossible" as of yet. I may say NO now, but who knows what I would feel when I'm holding it in my hands when I'm there. tongue.gif The price would definitely be the main concern, unlockability the second most important thing.

Otherwise, I'll see you on Malaysian launch day, bro! rclxms.gif
surely....we go i3gS shopping sama sama...we get few more ppl from here n we can mass purchase...tongue.gif
looking at da previous releases... only Italy from the EU had unlocked phones rite?
abit of a hiccup thr, no?

harmeet15
post Jun 18 2009, 06:33 PM

2,729 posts

was away from my pc for a day...a little later than usual 2 update...smile.gif
downloading da fw now...sounds like im in for a long ride to play with da new stuff...yay...
harmeet15
post Jun 18 2009, 11:42 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jun 18 2009, 11:34 PM)
I'm still waiting for Streamyx to have a stable connection, darn it.
we can use our 3g and tether..tongue.gif

i tested mms on my maxis, incoming and outgoing no prob...no settings needed
tethering, with bluetooth, awesome...usb, hvnt got it working yet...
everyting else is just awesome..just cant find da numeric bat tingie...
harmeet15
post Jun 19 2009, 01:27 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(helencheese @ Jun 19 2009, 01:20 PM)
i guess tethering is not possible until we get CYDIA ! at the moment i am still waiting for the release of Cydia
well not excatly...
tethering has been reported working across most carrier...
for me, with maxis is working fine via bluetooth..
usb however is not...still working on tat:)
harmeet15
post Jun 20 2009, 05:10 PM

2,729 posts

just if any1 is curious abt how fast is da 3gS compared to 3g...here's a vid comparison

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 20 2009, 05:10 PM
harmeet15
post Jun 20 2009, 05:24 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 20 2009, 05:17 PM)
@ harmeet15

thanks for the video. appreciate it.

personally i have seen a lot of these video comparisons, but i still think it is not fair to compare these two iPhones side by side without making the contents constant.

so far i have not seen any comparison report that compares a "stock" 3G and another "stock" 3G S or an equally match data and contents.

obviously it is the 3G (being the older one) that contains significantly more data bundled inside its memory, and hence causing an even significant lag that it is supposed to be.
yup noticed tat.. i wud agree on tat with u...smile.gif
on a side note, thr was a video by cnet comparing da startup of palm pre, 3g and 3gs...
3gS 20sec
3g 40 sec

and brace urself...
palm 1min 30 i tink...smile.gif

but then on da same vid, browsing speed was much faster on palm...tongue.gif

Added on June 20, 2009, 5:27 pm
QUOTE(psyeo @ Jun 20 2009, 05:21 PM)
for those window user interested in jailbreak redsn0w is out, it replaces the quickpwn smile.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/790913/+2300
yo bro...
thx for the update...smile.gif
been waiting for tis...

ot

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 20 2009, 05:27 PM
harmeet15
post Jun 20 2009, 05:30 PM

2,729 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Jun 20 2009, 05:27 PM)
yes i saw the video too, coincidentally.

the iPhone 3G that was being used, belongs to the male host; brian tong and his iPhone contains a lot of crap inside (i know because i watch his shows regularly)

on the other hand, the iPhone 3G S was almost fresh from the box.
thr u go...a slight handicap i wud say..tongue.gif
but still overall hv to agree the speed update is worth it...
now just pondering abt 16 or 32..sad.gif

Added on June 20, 2009, 5:32 pm
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jun 20 2009, 05:29 PM)
That browsing speed on the CNET video is skewed towards Palm based on what WWAN network both devices are connected. Notice that the Pre is using Sprint's network, while the iPhone is using AT&T. That introduces the variable that does not put both devices on equal footing. If both devices are loggeed onto one singular Wifi access point, that would give a more credible comparison about the browser speed. We all know how crowded the AT&T wireless network is, compared to the relative loneliness of Sprint's. tongue.gif
i was tinking da exact same ting...
so close one eye on tat matter...smile.gif

This post has been edited by harmeet15: Jun 20 2009, 05:32 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0231sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:15 AM