QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 27 2009, 04:58 PM)
Beats me English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 05/04 Man Utd v Aston Villa | 22:55 ESPN
English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 05/04 Man Utd v Aston Villa | 22:55 ESPN
Mar 27 2009, 05:08 PM
827 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Mar 27 2009, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(madmoz @ Mar 27 2009, 05:11 PM) The thing is, there is little guarantee that a successful manager of a small club would be successful when given the resources of a heavy hitter. Both jobs require subtle differences - for example in the transfer market - at a small club you need to be good at making the most of what your limited budget will get you, some like Harry Redknapp excel in buying these unknowns. At a bigger club, there's probably a better scouting system in place (and surely it is easier to see the merits of a Messi as opposed to a Mr Kwrtastc from say Poland :lol), so the ability to spot talent might be secondary to the ability to actually motivate overpaid young men! Btw, Keegan's a muppet at both facets, and if you are considering managers who have cut their teeth at clubs with little or no budget, why isn't Dario Gradi in the list? Oh wait, he's even older than ferguson. My bad. !!! Are you saying.......that......Mr Wenger would be more well-suited for a smaller club?! QUOTE(March 27 @ 2009, 5:19 pm) /politelyI'm sorry but your opinion matters not here. |
Mar 27 2009, 05:50 PM
Exactly like you said. Big names are a safer bet than smaller names. Why take more risk with a lesser known or experienced manager, unless you can justify it. If Charlton had the money they would have gone for a bigger named manager. It's how the world turns. (Except for Man City with Mark Hughes, that beat me).
When you employ a coach you look at his credentials don't you. 'This guy has the experience, he's won some cups, he's known as a great motivator, other coaches talk highly of him' so and so. Simply because on paper, he's a safer bet. Why employ a fresh graduate when you can get an experienced worker, if money is no concern? I just think it's a smarter business/sporting option unless that fresh graduate comes first class, won all the top accolades, goes to an Ivy League university so on and so on. |
Mar 31 2009, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(Hevrn @ Mar 31 2009, 07:59 PM) Has anyone mentioned that our beloved Rooney's wife Colleen is now three months pregnant? We'll be seeing more Little Shreks around in the future. Lets sign them up! The news is not confirmed right? Read about it but seems like no one is confirming it.Haha, on a more serious note, I hope being a father will now make Rooney feel more responsible for his actions and try to be a lil more patient on the field. As it is, he's stocking up on too many reckless yellow cards, some even after coming on the pitch for less than half an hour. But then again, he did say that taking the aggression away from him will make him a less bombastic player, so... its a catch 22. |
Apr 2 2009, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(MyDevil @ Apr 2 2009, 02:11 PM) For me, Gary is the best right back. Remember the time when he was playing behind David Beckham? They complement each other very well. Actually, he is. Rio I mean. But I think just as a precaution to take him out of the game. And yes I agree that GNev-Becks was a very good pairing down the right, back in the days.Rio was subbed off last night. Hope he is not injured. |
Apr 2 2009, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(yoecr7 @ Apr 2 2009, 08:40 PM) man i can't wait for hargreaves to get back on the field. he is strong and he chases opponents back like hell whenever he loses the ball. the attitude that i like. I can name you a few players we have who are like that. Tevez, JS, Rooney.PS I think Dwight Yorke has a son with Jordan. He was born mentally challenged, I think. This post has been edited by subpar: Apr 2 2009, 11:29 PM |
Apr 3 2009, 10:18 PM
Macheda's not in the squad.
Man Utd squad: Van der Sar, Foster, Kuszczak, Neville, O’Shea, Ferdinand, Evans, Evra, Fabio, Ronaldo, Nani, Fletcher, Gibson, Possebon, Carrick, Park, Giggs, Tevez, Welbeck |
Apr 3 2009, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(monosyllabic @ Apr 3 2009, 10:42 PM) Tevez just came off a huge upset (playing at high altitude) and Park flying in from Korea! I hope they are up to it. And if Berba is still out for Tuesday, I hope they can recover for the CL match! Isn't the UCL match on Tuesday? Anyway all news reports have said that he'll be out for 2 weeks. Or do you mean the 2nd leg?Berba's going to be out for 2 weeks or so anyway. If he can come back in time for the UCL 2nd leg I'll consider it a plus already |
Apr 5 2009, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Apr 5 2009, 09:01 PM) Hey I'm not one to refuse a free lunch. RTM is free to air, Astro is not. Pity the outstations students etc etc who don't have access to Astro eh. People like me who watch a lot of games every week do get tired of going to the mamak |
| Change to: | 0.0198sec
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 11:24 AM |