Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V4

rayz1031
post Mar 14 2009, 04:32 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

If your are not a hardcore gamer and have high demand, the laptop will suit you. The processor is good, ram is not a problem since you can upgrade it later and same goes HDD.

Just a suggestion, add few hundred bucks and get a Dell Studio, almost the same spec but it is 15inch and have a dedicated GC.
rayz1031
post Mar 19 2009, 08:48 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(boredboy @ Mar 17 2009, 02:10 PM)
Hi All,

Looking to get a laptop. Any suggestions welcome smile.gif

Brand: Any except Acer
Budget: 3k to 4k.
Specs: at least 2.0 GHZ
Size : 12/13 inch. Must be LIGHT as possible (travel alot)

Thanks! biggrin.gif
Macbook. You can get a macbook with 4k. Copy pasta from garage sales.

I would put Mac in first choice if i got the cash, too bad i only can afford Dell Studio.

QUOTE(masterackn @ Mar 19 2009, 03:43 PM)
hello all sifu,
need your help here. my gf is looking for a laptop, mainly for online, watching movie, listening to music and some java games.
price wise would be rm2000. we have found  2 lappie in the price range:

Dell Inspiron 1410:
Processor
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T6400 (2GHz)
Operating system
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Basic*
Memory
2GB (2x1GB) DDR-2 SDRAM
Monitor
14.1” WXGA Display with AntiGlare
Hard Drive
250GB* Hard Drive
Optical Drive
DVD Burner*
Graphic Card
Intel® Integrated Graphics Media Accelerator X3100
Wireless Network Card
Dell 802.11b/g

COMPAQ CQ40-401AU:
AMD TURION 64X2 2.2GHz ( RM74 )
1GB DDR2
250GB SATA HDD
DVD-RW
14.1" WCSV
WIRELESS
1.3MP WEB CAM
ATI HD3200 GRAPHICS CARD
FREE DOS

which of this would be a better choice? can both this model ram be upgraded to 4gb ram? or is there a better choice?

thank you.
I would personally suggest Dell. Although it doesn't have an intergrated GC but for female user, x3100 is enough. The processor is the key here, Intel seems go give me more assurance than AMD. Other than that, Dell after sales services is way better than Compaq, you don't even need to step out of your door to purchase Dell, buy online and they will send to your doorstep.

Just my 2cent icon_rolleyes.gif
rayz1031
post Mar 21 2009, 05:21 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(ellena @ Mar 21 2009, 03:21 AM)
need recommendation as to what laptop i shud buy

brand : perhaps dell or hp or suggest me 1 happy.gif
budget : >3k
usage : mainly is watching movie, a bit of gaming like cabal, dota, the sims, torrent, words etc.
size : 14-15"

will be going to uk soon. therefore, hoping can get a global warranty one. will oso be using the laptop for few years therefore need good quality one happy.gif

actually thinking of dell xps m1530 or hp pavilion . which is better ? or u have better choice for me ?
Global warranty=Asus/Mac. Why don't you buy your laptop when you reach UK, the laptop there is better than here in terms of spec and price. Just my opinion, its kinda troublesome to purchase a laptop here and bring it to UK, when you face problem with laptop, you gonna be headache on where to go for warranty claim.

QUOTE(Kelv @ Mar 21 2009, 04:07 PM)
Just want to know, which laptop can support hdmi output, so I can view it in FullHD in LCD tv?
Dell Studio 1555, it have a HDMI port but not sure whether its full hd or not. I'm noob in HD thingy sweat.gif , but i do know Studio 1555 have a HDMI port.
rayz1031
post Mar 22 2009, 05:42 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 22 2009, 05:09 PM)
brand : looking at asus, dell, hp and benq, no toshiba, acer or compaq
budget : 3-4k
usage : mainly for everyday stuff, surfing net, watching movies but im prob gonna need a good graphics card due to my tendency of playing the latest pc games on my lappy. im also prob gonna need it for engineering projects so its gonna need to be compatible with wateva engineering software
size : 14" to 17"

any suggestions? im looking at benq s42... any other recommendations?
Wanna consider Mac? BenQ s42 is fine, good spec with bargain price. The graphic might suit your need as well. Do you wanna try HP dv4, the spec is good too and the price is around your budget.
rayz1031
post Mar 23 2009, 02:57 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(sanesaint @ Mar 22 2009, 08:35 PM)
lol when's s57 coming out? yeah the specs are damn gud but its prob gonna be out of my reach... haha... i found these two laptops.

HDX16t
Components
• Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium with Service Pack 1 (32-bit)
• Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T6400 (2.0GHz)
• FREE Upgrade to 3GB DDR2 System Memory (2 Dimm) from 2GB DDR2 System Memory (2 Dimm)
• 250GB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
• 512MB NVIDIA GeForce 9600M GT
• 16.0" diagonal High Definition HP BrightView Infinity Display (1366x768)
• LightScribe SuperMulti 8X DVD+/-RW with Double Layer Support
• Webcam + Fingerprint Reader with HP Imprint Finish (Fluid)
• Intel Next-Gen Wireless-N Mini-card
• No TV Tuner w/remote control
• HP Color Matching Keyboard
• 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery
• No Productivity Software
RM3700

MSI GX620-001US 15.4-Inch Laptop
Spec Check

* 15.4-inch LCD screen
    * 2.26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 processor
    * 320 GB hard drive
    * 4 GB RAM (4 GB maximum)
    * Dual-layer DVD±R drive
    * Quad-mode Wi-Fi (802.11a/b/g/n)
    * Nvidia GeForce 9600M GT graphics (512 MB dedicated)
    * Windows Vista Home Premium
    * Weighs 5.6 pounds

RM4150

wic laptop do u think is better?
HP is ok actually, but the processor is slow than MSI. If you can get a p8400 on the HP and the price is around 4.3k, i think it is a great deal. Both of the laptop have a 512mb GC, only the display and processor have a slight different. I never use MSI before, HP is cool, but the processor a bit so so. I personally will go for HP because i believe in their product, MSI never convince me to buy their product.
rayz1031
post Mar 26 2009, 12:19 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(Roux @ Mar 25 2009, 10:13 AM)
Hello guys. I'll be attending an architecture school soon and I need to buy a laptop. Can someone recommend me a laptop that is capable of running most design/architecture related software like photoshop, maya, autocad, etc. ?. I'm also a gamer but not a hardcore one (I play games like warcraft3, fifa franchise, stuff. not high end games like crysis.) My budget is max Rm5k. I'm a complete newbie, please help me.
Do you wanted to try macbook as they having quite a good laptop with bargain price. If you're not into mac, i would recommend Hp Dv6, one of the best 16inch laptop out there together with Dell XPS Studio 16. Hp Dv6 came with Blu Ray so that is a plus. Asus m51vr worth to consider as well. These laptop have a good graphic card and processor. survey for the price out there.
rayz1031
post Mar 27 2009, 11:33 AM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(python_king @ Mar 26 2009, 04:03 PM)
Hi folks,

Pls recommend me a RELIABLE lappy.
I not a power user / gamer.
usually the laptop going to use for surf net / watch drama.
I planning to install ubuntu, so FREE DOS will do for me

1. Toshiba / HP / Asus
2. Less than 2.3k
3. Intel Core2Duo, 2GB RAM
4. 13' or 14'

Thanks in advanced for your sharing! smile.gif
Asus F80Q, but i not sure whether this model is available or not. Compaq CQ40 is not bad too, there is some model that came with freedos but 1gb ram, but heck, ram is cheap nowadays,you can upgrade it yourself and the budget for the laptop still below 2.3k. Compaq CQ40 Asus F80Q

This post has been edited by rayz1031: Mar 27 2009, 11:35 AM
rayz1031
post Mar 27 2009, 07:15 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(python_king @ Mar 27 2009, 03:38 PM)
Thanks for your reply.
How do u think about Toshiba L310-S405 ? Its within my budget and requirement.
What the comments of forumers about Toshiba laptop? Reliable? Overheating?

Thanks in advanced for your sharing!  nod.gif
Is this the spec for the Toshiba model?

Personally, the spec looks good to me. Toshiba is known for well built machine and quality, and pricing as well laugh.gif This model is not bad, worth to consider if it in your spending range. Heat is an issue to all laptop, get a cooler and that will solve a lil of the heat issue.
rayz1031
post Mar 30 2009, 02:22 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

I will suggest you for Dell 15. The price is rm2399 and the spec is almost the same with Asus F80Q and ToshibaL300. With Dell 15 you can get a vista home basic but u need to top up rm2xx for an OS as Asus F80Q come with freedos.

Pros: Dell is cheap, spec is worth the money that you paying, reliable machine( if you take care of it) and good after sales service and free delivery to your house.
Cons: Dell kinda famous with lemon machine, i never experience it although i bought 2 Dell laptop already. But the warranty will cover up the mess, not such a big deal if you patience and tolerate with it.

This post has been edited by rayz1031: Mar 30 2009, 02:26 PM
rayz1031
post Apr 7 2009, 06:27 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Apr 6 2009, 08:33 PM)
1) Brand- Any brand except Acer
2) Budget- below 2.5k
3) Size- 14-15
4) Specs- C2D, 2gb ram
5) Usage- Surfing, movie(often), music
Appreciate for any recommendations!  smile.gif
Dell Inspiron 15

Processor
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T6400 (2GHz)
Operating system
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Basic*
Memory
2GB Dual-channel DDR2 SDRAM
Monitor
15.6” HD Display with TrueLife™
Hard Drive
250GB* Hard Drive
Optical Drive
DVD Burner*
Graphic Card
Integrated Intel® Graphics Media Accelerator 4500MHD
Wireless Network Card
Dell Wireless 1515 802.11n Mini-Card
Service
Learn More
1-Year Limited Hardware Warranty, In-Home / On-Site* Service After Remote Diagnosis

Rm2399
rayz1031
post Apr 8 2009, 11:41 AM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(leng_leng @ Apr 7 2009, 10:06 PM)
was thinking to get this but it's kinda heavy rite? and with warranty it is over my budget d...

anyway wut color is available for this model? izit only blue?

thanks!~
The 1 year warranty is included, unless if you wanted to extend it. You can always customize it at dell.com.my. Heavy? Not so if you take 6 cells battery, 9 cells really heavy. 15inch laptop is of course heavier than 13/14 inch, but it depends. I carry my Dell Studio 1537 everywhere, didn't feel a bit at all laugh.gif
rayz1031
post Apr 8 2009, 04:39 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(pierrecool @ Apr 8 2009, 03:42 PM)
hii, am looking for a new gaming laptop for my bro, any recommendation are welcome
1. Brand: Any brand except Acer (heard acer sucks??)

2. Budget: below 5k, as cheap as possible la ofcoz  sweat.gif

3. Specs: atleast 256Mb graphic card available, (ati 3650 if possible or any other?)
              2x1gb ram,
              Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor 2.0 Ghz or higher

4. Size: 14" 15"

Dell Studio 15, with HD4570 512mb. Rm3299.

Processor=p8600
Ram=3gb
GC=HD4570 512mb
HDD= 320gb
rayz1031
post Apr 8 2009, 10:57 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

Acer models. I not pro about Acer model but as far as my knowledge on 3 years extended warranty, Acer definitely offer the cheapest warranty extension. I doubt you can get other model such as Asus or Compaq with 3 years warranty on a 2.2k budget. Browsing the pdf file that uploaded by the shops in LYP will help on Pc Fair laptop hunt.
rayz1031
post Apr 9 2009, 03:36 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(ff8ong @ Apr 9 2009, 01:50 AM)
Need some opinion here,helping friend to get a laptop.

Brand:No acer.

Budget:less than 4k

Brand:Any

Display size:14-15

CPU:Intel

As he mention to me,He will wanted to play a little bit game.Example COD4 and dmc4.He actually plan to buy
Dell XPS m1530,but the Nvidia 8 series problem making him change his mind.I was recom him this few laptop.

Dell SXPS 16
Asus N50NV (Nv 9650)
Dell studio 15 (ATI 4570)

Any opinion,he is going to grab a laptop for tertiary education purpose and buy one on this coming PC fair.Thanks
I would suggest for Studio 15 or Dell SXPS 16 if your friend have extra budget. These two laptop running on ATI so performance wise, it is enough to support the game that you mentioned. Price wise and spec wise, Dell have an upper hand on Asus, so go for Dell.

QUOTE(ivychew @ Apr 9 2009, 02:21 AM)
hi there..

just lost my 6 months old lappy.. sad case.. now i gonna find a new wan.. no lappy no life.. haiz..

my budget .. less than 2500
wan to get back my BenQ S32 but out of stock here.. thinking abt buying the toshiba L310... series.. any recomendation??

for me.. laptop is juz to surf net, video chat, movie, music. dats all.. =)
heard that toshiba laptop is kinda durable n the sound system really good.. any comment?

thanks so much in advance..
So sorry to hear that. You might wanna try Dell Inspirion 15. The spec is good and the price is around rm2399. Good spec with good price.
rayz1031
post Apr 14 2009, 04:56 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

The Dell Studio 15 is dam worth. Rm2600 for blu ray and P8600, although dont have Ati graphic card but it is enough for normal use such as movies surfing and light gaming. Strongly suggested for people that wanted to buy laptop that cheap and good spec. I wish i have blu ray rom with my Studio 1537 sad.gif
rayz1031
post Apr 15 2009, 12:33 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(suicideleo @ Apr 15 2009, 11:48 AM)
is this Dell XPS M1530 with this specs is gud enough for light gaming and for studying? hmm.gif

Tuxedo Black LCD display with Integrated 2.0 mega pixel web cam
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T8100 (2.1 GHz, 3MB Cache, 800 MHz FSB)
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium SP1 32 bit Edition (English)
Microsoft® Works 9.0 (Does Not Include Microsoft® Office 2003/2007 Software)(English)
1-year XPS Premier Service with 1-year CompleteCover
15.4" Widescreen WXGA+ (1440x900) TFT Display with TrueLife™
4GB ( 2 X 2048MB ) Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
250GB SATA Hard Drive
Internal 8X DVD+/-RW Combination Drive with dual layer write capabilities
256MB NVIDIA® GeForce® 8600M GT
Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED HD Audio Software
Intel® 4965AGN Wireless-N Mini-Card
Dell™ Wireless 355 Bluetooth Module
Wont recommend you for this laptop. The graphic card is like a time bomb which will explode anytime. The Nvidia 8series GPU have serious heat issue and you can google the review or article related to the GPU failure. I will suggest you for Studio XPS or Studio 1555. These laptop are running on ATI, although performance wise they not on the same par with 8600gt but at least your mobo can live longer laugh.gif

Seriously, for light gaming and study, go for Studio 1555 or BenQ s42, the price range is around rm3199 until rm3400

QUOTE(Batusai @ Apr 15 2009, 12:15 PM)
1. Brand: aint sure yet.. head is with compaq cq40 series.. which my bro is using
2. Budget: hopefully around rm2k.. +/-300
3. Specs: i'll be using it for study purpose.. music n video entertainment.. online.. maybe abit of gaming too.. like Left 4 Dead.. and so
4. Size: da average size.. 14'1. hopefully light too..

i've been eyeing on compaq cq40-401ax.. rm1899
my bro is using cq40-103
his comp is like quite slow.. n he uses vista ultimate.. uses it to view HD movies.
is it a good deal?? or maybe any other better brands.. cos i dont do much research on laptops.. noobie here..

anyone can enlighten me in wads da diff with AMD and Intel series? compaq offers both n i find intel spec more expensive.. why is it so?

another question.. most ppl would jus stay with vista home basic rite? wouldnt need ultimate rite?
Since nobody answer you..you already have your machine in mind and you can have the reference of the laptop from you bro's machine. I not really into AMD processor so i will suggest you for Acer 4730ZG. This laptop have better processor and it offers you 3 years warranty and its on rm2299 which kinda cheap. It came with Vista Home Premium and in my opinion, you no need Vista Ultimate for movie and light gaming.

For the difference between AMD and Intel platform, just say Intel gave better performance and my impression on AMD is that their platform tend to have heat issue but Intel is no where better. Google it please, i bet there is alot of article on the difference between AMD and Intel processor.
rayz1031
post Apr 15 2009, 01:11 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(suicideleo @ Apr 15 2009, 12:51 PM)
so this specs is better? any negative feedbacks on this?

This is the hottest model offered by Dell. Previously the order for this machine have to be postpone to due lack of parts. But that is old story la, now Dell have no problem completing the machine order in one week.

Negative feedback i will say not alot. The machine has everything that you needed. A good processor, a good display and a good GPU. Dell Studio 1555 is the cheapest model around with the rm3199 price tag if your purchase online. Dell after sales service is good, some people have issue with this laptop and Dell reacted quickly to address their problem.

The only negative side from this laptop is the slot load dvd rom, it is slower and its kinda annoying if you use it frequently.
Is hard to find laptop bag for this machine as it is 15.6".
rayz1031
post Apr 17 2009, 12:33 PM

Little but Leathal
1,582 posts

QUOTE(siew14 @ Apr 16 2009, 07:00 PM)
1) brand - as long as is a world recognize brand then should be fine, dont suggest some cap ayam then can la... XD
2) budget - 3000-4k++, less than 5k like that
3) specs - as long as the laptop's GC is equal or slightly better than my desktop Nvidia 8600 GT then ok liao..  and also the chip must be = or better than my desktop AMD atholon x2 5000+, 2.59 ghz ( biostar TA690G)... haha

4) screen = 15-17 will be fine..
Main thing of buying this laptop is to for me to play WoW at oversea... hahaha..
I m thinking of Dell XPS 16, but i heard BenQ S52 or 57 is better than the dell, cant remember ( in gaming wise ) ... so, wat do u guys think??? if u suggest the model, mind state the rough price too ???? heheh.. Thanks people!!  biggrin.gif
If your budget is less than 5k, i would suggest you to go for BenQ s57. With 4k you get a nice GPU, a bluray rom and a nice processor. The spec, you can find it in the BenQ website or a show off thread at Mobile Computing, there is a guy showing off his S57. P8700 and HD4650 is decent enough to support your need.

QUOTE(asura_86 @ Apr 16 2009, 08:56 PM)
Sony VAIO FW-33

Intel Core 2 Duo Processor P6400 (2.00GHz)
Windows Vista Home Premium SP1
16.4" wide WXGA: 1600 x 900 TFT LCD
2GB DDR2 RAM
250GB SATA HDD (5400 rpm)
DVD-RW
256MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3470

RM3688 (add rm100 for 4GB RAM)

just wanna know whether the spec above, is it suitable for some light gaming, photo editing and some rendering stuff? or is there any other laptops that is suitable for my needs?

I'm in for any brand except acer, had bad experience with their laptops. i'll also prefer to have ati's gpu, as i've read a lot of issues regarding nvidia's gpu.
Correct me if im wrong but i dont think there is any P6400 around, as far as i concern, it is T6400.
For suggestion, go for Dell Studio XPS. It worth better than Sony. The processor and GPU is better than Sony, you just need to add few hundred bucks for it.

QUOTE(fishcake91 @ Apr 16 2009, 11:30 PM)
Brand : Anything but ACER
Budget : At most RM 2500
Spec : Good battery life (2+ hours), at least 150GB hard disk and at least 1.5GB RAM
Screen : 14-15 inches (not too big and not too small)

Extra information about the laptop :
Most of the time, I will be using it for programming purposes, surfing the Internet, managing documents, editing images using Photoshop, and sometimes playing decent games at the lowest graphics settings (FIFA 09 for example, since I play it a lot). As I have mentioned, battery life is crucial to me because I always carry my laptop around, and having my laptop out of battery is annoying (my current laptop lasts for only 1 hour). Plus, large hard disk capacity is important since I will be installing 2 operating systems (Windows XP + Ubuntu).I don't want pre-installed Windows, since I already have an original copy of Windows XP Media Edition.
For a rm2.5k laptop to play game such as Fifa09 is quite demanding. The only machine that pop out is Acer and Compaq. Cq40 have HD3200 on board but i doubt it can handle the Fifa 09. You want freedos, Acer, Compaq and Asus offering freedos as well, but not all of their series came with freedos. You have low budget with a lot of requirement, kinda hard to suggest one specific model for you.

QUOTE(The Silent Killer @ Apr 16 2009, 11:42 PM)
which to go for? hp pavilion dv3611tx or dell studio 14? both have the same price n almost similar spec...dilemma
Dell Studio 15. I assume the spec you have for Studio 14 is rm2999? I would suggest you to add couple of hundred for Studio 15 because you get better processor and GPU.

QUOTE(bakkeong @ Apr 17 2009, 12:40 AM)
Hi, tmr is pc fair(penang) d but i still hvn make a decision on buying laptop
can anyone help me?

1. hp, compaq ,acer
2. 2k to 3k
3. im not using laptop for gaming, jz need it to do project, watch movie.
4. 14'

thx
Studio 15. The rm2599 spec, but i doubt you can get this spec in pc fair. Check Dell website for the spec, it quite worth the price. It suitable for multitasking due to its P8600 powered processor.

0.0460sec    1.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:42 AM