Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V4

nam3le5s
post Sep 11 2009, 12:48 AM

231 posts

Hi guys,

Hope you can recommend me a laptop based on the following specs:

budget rm3.5k
prefer 14" (15" will consider)
dedicated graphics card (quite a bit of gaming and movies.. but mainly for business)
lightweight and thin (portability is important)
battery life of at least 4-5 solid hours

I'm very confused but I'm leaning towards Asus U80V but was initially considering the Dell Studio 15.

My fren telling me Asus > Dell anytime lol. and right now I'm thinking the towards the Asus U80V. Anyone know the price and where to best get it from? is it in stock?

Lastly, is there any other laptop that can beat the U80V? Please provide the recommended prices n where to get them.

THanks in advance.

nam3le5s
post Sep 11 2009, 09:14 AM

231 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Sep 11 2009, 06:38 AM)
BenQ S42, rm3399... got hybrid graphic to extend battery life... P8700 + GeForce 9600M GT + GMA X4500MHD

Added on September 11, 2009, 6:39 am

Dell Inspiron 14 or 13
Thanks astria.

So the the S42 is better than then Asus u80v in terms of my requirements? heard the aftersales service not so good tho.. Any other laptops to recommend?
nam3le5s
post Sep 11 2009, 10:10 AM

231 posts

ok cool.. thanks miahahaha.

Btw, any recommended place or person to get this laptop from? would be great if can do installment plan.. ehehe..

Also whats the latest detailed spec for S42?

Thanks again
nam3le5s
post Sep 11 2009, 12:12 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Sep 11 2009, 11:12 AM)
S42 specs (the most recent one) :

BenQ Joybook S42

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo P8700
Chipset: Intel GM45 + ICH9-M
Graphic: Nvidia GeForce 9600M GT 256MB GDDR3, Intel Graphic Media Accelerator X4500MHD
Wireless: Intel WiFi Link 5300
Optical Drive: DVD Burner
Monitor: 14.1" UltraVivid @ 1280x800, 8ms response time
Weight: 2.4kg with battery

well, you can try PM john_jay as he is one of the dealer for BenQ (but he been missing/offline for quite a while now, dun no if still active or not smile.gif)

Price for BenQ S42 : RM3399

Added on September 11, 2009, 11:15 amWhere are you located?? Maybe can try asking people from this thread lor..If from SWK then i can recommend some shops for you..nod.gif...LYP i dun know tongue.gif
Thanks again miahahaha.
I'll try to get in touch with john_jay. I'm in west side but again, thanks for the offer.

Cheers!
nam3le5s
post Oct 5 2009, 01:52 PM

231 posts

hi guys,

I got the Joybook S42 as recommended by you guys and its really been a joy to use.. (pun intended).

Now my boss is lookin for a laptop too..

Budget: 3K+
Possible specs: 13" screen. Lightweight. But still powerful enuff for multitasking and short loading times. Battery life should be 4hours or more.
Usage:
Internet, documents, movies. Not really gaming but a dedicated graphics card wud be good.

If its stylish would also be a plus point

Thanks guys!
nam3le5s
post Oct 6 2009, 12:14 AM

231 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Oct 5 2009, 02:04 PM)
HP DV3,Dell SXPS 13,Acer 3935....also Acer 3810T(CULV)
hi thanks!!

anyone know where to get the HP DV3 for a good price (uh whats the price)? any recommendations for a seller? Thanks..

0.0483sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 11:12 AM