31 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Toys G.I. Joes, COOOOBBBRRAAAAAA!!!

darkshadow
post Aug 17 2010, 12:01 PM

36 posts

jediwalker, tsg and Reaper, thanks for your participation.
for those who haven't replied to the poll,i hope you will do so.

The summary of the poll is :
Joe blue camo is a NO.
Neo Viper is also a huge NO.
CS SE is a favorite among collectors.

here's hoping Hasbro and Sommers don't make the same mistake with GI Joe sequel.

This post has been edited by darkshadow: Aug 17 2010, 12:14 PM
darkshadow
post Aug 17 2010, 12:04 PM

36 posts

I think 2-3 cases of TRU Exc. Spirit and Quick Kick arrived at each TRU outlet last week.
And indeed ,they're slow movers but let's give it a week. but most likely, they'll end up as peg warmers ,similar to both Arctic Doc and Shippy.
darkshadow
post Aug 17 2010, 02:27 PM

36 posts

thanks wast8..i agree ,25th / ARAH standard Viper definitely is the better choice in terms of costume and helmet design.

as for Kamakura, I'm not sure why some collectors want him.
his classic green outfit is a lot nicer.

bro dzirhan ,you are giving me hope of owning a black HISS.
HISS always looks better in black ,which brings me to momo and Reaper.
you guys had done a great job repainting ur HISS.
me, i'm satisfied with my unpainted HISS.

darkshadow
post Aug 17 2010, 11:46 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(wast8 @ Aug 17 2010, 09:27 PM)
HISS tanks looks good no matter what color. red ones, blue ones, green ones, black ones, brown ones...they are all nice. They remind me of the Warhammer 40K Leman Russ tanks.
well for the 25th Anni, a dark blue ,classic black and white colored HISS were released .
however ,for POC's v5 HISS ,i believe darker tones suit it better.either an all black or dark grey as base and added with crimson stripes will give it a darker ,menacing look .
darkshadow
post Aug 18 2010, 12:50 PM

36 posts

glad you joined in the survey momo.

hey tsg, you are reviving my thought of desperately needing a RHINO.
stop spamming RHINO pics ya. mad.gif tongue.gif
i love the shot of both missile racks attached on the sides of the chopper as seen on the second pic.
darkshadow
post Aug 18 2010, 04:47 PM

36 posts

Here's a shot at one TRU outlet in the States .Duke ,SE and SS being peg warmers .That's what you get with two non troopers packed in a case .

And those US collectors sure are fortunate to sapu all the goodies .I counted 11 AVs .Will we be fortunate as well ?

darkshadow
post Aug 18 2010, 06:17 PM

36 posts

Just a heads up on POC .Seems that the line will consist of 4 waves ,2 for 2010 and the remaining 2 on January and March '11.
Then ,POC will make way for Renegades .

With only 4 new figures on wave 3 and 4 ,respectively ,there's gonna be 2 of each character per case and perhaps 1 or 2 AV?
Sad that such an awesome line ends on a short run.

Here's wave 2's assortment ,due on next month or October.Again it's a case of 12.

1x Snake Eyes v5
2x Snake Eyes v6 Feature
2x Zartan v2
1x Recondo v1
2x Destro v2
2x Jungle-Viper v1
2x Dusty v1

Wave 3 includes
- Cobra Shock Trooper
- Duke
- Snake Eyes
- Storm Shadow

Wave 4 includes
- Destro
- Lowlight
- Shadow Tracker
- Skydive

Cobra Shock Trooper
- Modelled after a SWAT Breacher ,he comes with shield ,night stick ,gas mask along with a sledgehammer.
- This is gonna be much sought after by collectors . rclxm9.gif
(So guys, you love AV, get this badboy to accompany them)

Duke
-I like his outfit.That's a new no-nonsense face sculpt and his uniform is reminiscent of ARAH /25th Wave 4 version.
-Awesome backpack cum missile launcher.

Snake Eyes thumbup.gif thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif
-This version is modelled based on Sideshow 12" SE that was released last year.
-Now this is on par with CS SE if not much better.Incorporating his hybrid ninja / commando look,I think this is the definitive SE that I've been searching for.Worth buying 6-7.
-Comes with alternate head w/ visor.

Storm Shadow
-Now after the sleek cool POC wave 1 version ,hasbro resorts to producing this crummy crap .
-Uninteresting colors ,with oversized Arashikage emblem across his chest and boring weapons ,his only saving grace lies in the new head sculpt and boots.

Destro
- Now this is one Destro worth having.
-Fully armored and packed with a smart gun (similar to those used by Drake and Vasquez from Aliens) and one gatling..He sure looks ready to take out a few tanks. thumbup.gif
-Comes with a briefcase filled with removable stacks of moolah.

Lowlight
-If AV is the collector's favorite for Wave 1 ,Jungle Viper for Wave 2, Shock Trooper for Wave 3 ,then Low Light is the one you wanna stock up for Wave 4.
-Comes with a backpack and a separate carrying case for storing his sniper rifle.The rifle has removable parts similar to the rifle used by Chow Yuen Fatt in Replacement Killers. thumbup.gif
-Also includes a cell phone and bullet catridge with removable bullet and spotter cam.

Shadow Tracker
-Not that excited bout this guy probably due to the dreads.
-Sports a skull face underneath the face mask.
-Comes equipped with instruments to catch his prey such as net and bola.
-Bow is similar to Spirit's.

Skydive
-Originally meant to be Ripcord ,Hasbro design team decided to create an all new character.
-Futuristic look with an awesome jetack. rclxm9.gif
-From a glance ,he resembles Mospeada rider.

darkshadow
post Aug 20 2010, 02:20 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Aug 20 2010, 01:47 PM)
By "Shock Trooper" you'd think it would be designed as some kamikaze attack troopers designed to shock opponents..but they look more like riot police/crowd control personnel. Better off fighting civilians than hi-tech Joes..
Which is why they are suitable accompaniments to the AVs.
As for the vest ,inclusion of shoulder padding should solve the issue.

I'm disappointed that SE doesn't come with his alternate visored head.Same goes with Duke without his helmet.
Why does SE comes with 2 sword sheathes but no knife sheathes or knives as depicted in the pics i attached earlier?
SS still looks fugly though. However the head sculpt is perfect for a Ninja Gaiden custom.

I just realised that SE's pistols include removable silencers..how cool is that?

This post has been edited by darkshadow: Aug 20 2010, 06:39 PM
darkshadow
post Aug 22 2010, 12:15 AM

36 posts

after scrutinizing the pics of Resolute 7 packs, I am quite disappointed.
Flint, Beach Head and Stalker share the same upper and lower legs.no working hip holster..Scarlett face sculpt is unattractive..same goes for Baroness.
Duke is a repaint of arctic SE and RB is meh.

Cobra AV is nothing to shout about.Same goes for FF and Zartan ,the 3 Cobra figs that I anticipated.CC was released twice ,back in 25th wave 13 and a repaint in Resolute 5 Pack.

in summary,i am only interested in the two sword brothers.will still buy both sets to add to my collection.

on a side note,i am expecting another POC shipment next week. brows.gif

cranx,i will take a pic or two comparing IM2 WM with Joes.

darkshadow
post Aug 23 2010, 08:25 PM

36 posts

wow, more AVs. Congrats.
where did you bought them?

here's a comparison shot between WM and Joes.

L to R : Comic version WM,Movie version WM, POC,ROC and 25th

This post has been edited by darkshadow: Aug 23 2010, 08:46 PM
darkshadow
post Aug 24 2010, 03:41 PM

36 posts

Still no sighting at TRU ..sigh.
darkshadow
post Aug 24 2010, 06:18 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Aug 24 2010, 05:28 PM)
Aye nothing new here too. Wave 2 now in retail in US. Damn lucky basterds..
I'm not that hyped bout wave 2.
it should reach here next month or October.
darkshadow
post Aug 26 2010, 05:40 PM

36 posts

Today's haul for this week. rclxm9.gif

Here's my customs for UAT (Urban Assault Trooper) .
UAT is basically the fire support team for the AV.These guys pack less armor but when the need arises ,they will gear up to for heavy assault .

The recipe as follows :
Body - 25th wave 7 SE (I wanted uniformity hence I chose this figure since the AV also shares the same torso ,upper
arms ,upper legs and feet as this SE)
Head - POC Beach Head
Helmet - POC AV (now that's utilising parts)
Vest - POC Beach Head (AV carries 2 knives and BH's vest has 2 sheathes ,thus it's perfect)

It's great that finally ,those wave 7 SE's are put to good use as troopers . thumbup.gif

UAT Regular Version

UAT Heavy Assault Version

My "still less than a squad but accomplished as a fireteam" AVs sad.gif

darkshadow
post Aug 27 2010, 08:32 AM

36 posts

nobody comments about my UAT custom? hmm.gif

i only have 4 AVs and yet you guys are jealous.i assume that POC is only available in a few selected toy shops in KL huh?and i was thinking each of you guys would have hoarded a few AVs already.

@Odinn - bro, at least you didnt spent as much as i did to own 2 AVs. i think you bought less than 6 figs am i rite?

@ kerberos09 - i am a troop builder type of collector but to get AVs,i had to buy other POC figures as well to be
entitled to purchase them. and i can't buy more of the others once i reach my targeted amount for
BH and FF (which is 10 each).

@cranx - i am a bit doubtful of TRU bringing POC ,well at least for wave 1.no sign of vehicles or Resolute.
darkshadow
post Aug 27 2010, 12:33 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Aug 27 2010, 11:15 AM)
Only 6 figs so far. I'm planning to get Snow Job and Duke next. Maybe another SE and another AV or FF too.

Thing is, I'm thinking if I should get a case next week. But as usual, the lady isn't too pleased with the idea  yawn.gif

O what to do, o what to do..

And the Urban team looks cool, regular ones.  thumbup.gif
thanks for liking the UAT.. biggrin.gif
i just wanted to make some new figures to accompany the AVs seeing as its hard to find them at retail.

buy one case la.just for the awesome gear ,new design and the fact that these guys dont necessary have to be part of the GI Joe universe.
besides, after wave 4,it's gonna be sucky Renegades toy line which I'm not gonna collect much. then it's gonna be GI Joe sequel and you know movie based figures are not as cool as the non-movie ones.

hence, you will save some moolah on Renegades and movie sequel toys.

besides,none of the previous GI Joe lines (ARAH,Spytroops, Joe vs Cobra, Valor vs Venom,25th, Resolute and ROC) can compare to POC..and that is my sole opinion.

oh ya,i found a good use for my extra Duke. am using him as Corp. Hicks from Aliens .i just added the marine's helmet on Duke and voila!

why get this SE when wave 3's definitive version is the coolest?the downside is Hasblow is shipping wave 3 SE in 2 versions, one with visor head and the other being non visor..

i doubt 3 AVs is enuf for you.. whistling.gif
darkshadow
post Aug 27 2010, 04:26 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Aug 27 2010, 12:59 PM)
I like this SE, one of the cooler looking ones in my book. My all time favorite SE now are the CS and the Rescue Mission ones. This one isn't too far off from those 2 for me, just that this is a desert theme and ninjas don't usually go to the deserts..the wave 3 one looks a bit echii-yaoi with the ropes going down the crotch area, or at least look like ropes. Plus looks a little too thin for me, though I would like a much closer look at the design before a final verdict is given  sweat.gif

And yea I'd prefer 4 AVs plus another FF  laugh.gif
yeah, best to judge after having a review done on him.
and i agree its weird both SE and SS of wave 1 are based on desert theme.

Added on August 27, 2010, 4:30 pm
QUOTE(kerberos09 @ Aug 27 2010, 03:11 PM)
haha yeah, 3 AV is not enough... i myself was thinking of getting few more Avs (if i can find more la... hoho)

n dunt worry darkshadow... ur UAT team looks menacing... good job done! (imho i just dun really like the gas mask dat comes with BH... looks weird~)
thanks for the comment.
i am not worried at all.my purpose of showing my customs on this thread is to share and maybe inspire others to do customs as well.i do appreaciate any kind of comments ,good or bad coz what i think is cool/ awesome may not be so for others.

This post has been edited by darkshadow: Aug 27 2010, 04:30 PM
darkshadow
post Aug 29 2010, 09:28 PM

36 posts

Wave 2 will probably reach here mid Sept to mid Oct.
darkshadow
post Aug 30 2010, 06:27 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(m o m o @ Aug 30 2010, 05:20 PM)
Sorry Odinn, Darkshadow, late in me replies...

Anyway, PMs replied...

Kinda feeling a little regret not buying those BHs and FFs now...  tongue.gif

The store is having a special promo, 5% off if you're a member...

But if I see AVs, sure wallop! Sadly, all AVs are gone when I went yesterday...
thx for the reply.
since most collectors in this thread are hunting for AVs, i am not surprised they are gone the moment they arrived.

darkshadow
post Aug 30 2010, 07:05 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Aug 30 2010, 06:43 PM)
Can different branches offer different discount %? Isetan KLCC is giving 10% discount  ohmy.gif

But anyway, yea I'm still on the hunt for a couple more AVs. That 1 case is so tempting tomorrow  laugh.gif
i suppose 4-5 AVs are enuf for you? brows.gif

darkshadow
post Sep 1 2010, 08:32 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(kerberos09 @ Sep 1 2010, 08:01 AM)
morning spam  tongue.gif

ol Snake can simply snap his neck.

31 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0622sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:15 AM