The Sony Alpha Thread V22!, The Orange Legion

achew
post Mar 19 2009, 05:14 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(kysham @ Mar 19 2009, 05:00 PM)
Hahaha... at least I know someone out there knows what I was talking about! laugh.gif

Anyway, bokeh is a lot more complex to explain. I was talking in terms of the angle of view and the exposure control (i.e. the same lens will have the same exposure value on an aps-c camera and a FF camera). But in terms of bokeh... hmm... I think of it this way: we would normally leave the bokehness to the side of the photo. So if on aps-c camera, the sensor will only capture the middle part of the image circle, hence you will have less obvious bokeh (which is around the side / edges of the image circle). But this is only a very general view of how bokeh may seem less on aps-c cameras. It doesn't always apply (for instance in situations where you purposely put the subject at the extreme sides of the frame)....
okay..now i think i need some times to digest this one...ahaha blush.gif

time to turn off my FF dreaming mode...and prepare for work =(
achew
post Mar 20 2009, 09:03 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Mar 19 2009, 06:03 PM)
MechaHerc, you'll get a black circle around the corners. If it is a Sony DT lens, the A900 automatically activates APS-C mode, so you will never get the black circle.

Of course, best understood with a hands-on. wink.gif

achew, the exposure is the same for a F1.4 on FF or APS-C. The angle of view will be different.

The depth of field will be different also because of the size of the sensor. On FF it is more shallow.

For example, to frame a head + shoulder shot using a 50mm lens on FF, you might need to stand about 1 meter away. On APS-C though, the angle is narrower, so you need to stand further away to fit the same subject e.g. 1.5 meters away instead. And as you know from your Tamron 90mm F2.8 Macro, the closer you focus, the shallower the DOF... that happens in the case of the FF also being nearer to the subject.

Of course, since the distance is different, the perspective is different also! Therefore to keep the same perspective you need to stand 1 meter away on APS-C. But it's not wide enough. So a 35mm lens will give almost the same angle of view as the 50mm on FF, while letting you be the same distance from the subject.

I can't remember if you have the A300/A350 but you can see what crop does if you enable 2x Smart Teleconverter; you can see the DOF become much deeper because you need to stand further away.

Millenia3000, I would rate the F58 higher on priority really.
okie..that clears the doubtz...hehe..thanks boss.. blush.gif
achew
post Mar 20 2009, 05:19 PM

3,807 posts

i guess im the only one who supports lens here..hehehe =p
achew
post Mar 21 2009, 04:39 PM

3,807 posts

harlo guys..finally can rest n start shooting again =p
achew
post Mar 21 2009, 07:19 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Mar 21 2009, 06:38 PM)
any here taken macro with sigma 28-300? hehe i'm dslr newbie.. wanan try macro but... failed.... sob sob
get a true macro lens? wink.gif
achew
post Mar 21 2009, 08:14 PM

3,807 posts

bored just now..so take a walk in the super small kitchen i have here... =(

nv wanted to setup anything thing like backdrop or wadever...just a snapshot...
achew
post Mar 21 2009, 10:59 PM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(Seng_Kiat @ Mar 21 2009, 10:57 PM)
frustrated with the night glow show .. it was less then 1 minutes or even 15 seconds ... sad.gif ... damn it ... I never go to night glow again...
wads a night glow?? blink.gif
achew
post Mar 22 2009, 01:46 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(Zeegon @ Mar 22 2009, 01:45 AM)
Haha. Okayy.
90mm not too much for macro meh?
its a TRUE macro lens... blush.gif
achew
post Mar 22 2009, 01:51 AM

3,807 posts

eeerr....a "real" macro lens? u'd get 1:1 ratio for ur macro photos..
achew
post Mar 22 2009, 02:08 AM

3,807 posts

i think it means the image on the sensor/film is same size as ur object...
achew
post Mar 22 2009, 02:49 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(Zeegon @ Mar 22 2009, 02:12 AM)
Oh. Okok.
But SP90 you need to stand quite far right?  hmm.gif
90mm doesnt mean u hav to stand further away than 50mm...its depend on ur Minimun focal length....for this tammy sp90..the min distance is btwn 3~5cm if i remember correctly
achew
post Mar 22 2009, 02:55 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(Zeegon @ Mar 22 2009, 02:54 AM)
Im sorry, but i dont understand  unsure.gif
in simple english..the closest u can stand is around 3-5cm away from ur subject....i guess thats nt too far right? tongue.gif
achew
post Mar 22 2009, 01:44 PM

3,807 posts

'morning' all =p
just woke up
achew
post Mar 22 2009, 03:20 PM

3,807 posts

wow..101 pages...no new thread?
achew
post Mar 22 2009, 03:24 PM

3,807 posts

oh..those forum i used to lurk around is usually 100pages..ehe

looks like sony got a new popular advertisement here.. =p

achew
post Mar 23 2009, 01:18 AM

3,807 posts

bought my camera 4months++...shutter counts 10k now...im nt worry about it exceed wadever limit...the thing that really worrying is that i've run out of idea recently =(
achew
post Mar 23 2009, 02:40 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(millenia3000 @ Mar 23 2009, 02:01 AM)
you running out of ideas!? i dun think so man!... haha... you get me going jeles of your shots achew everytime... especially with those amazon toy thingy you have...
somehow i felt like i've reached my bottleneck lately... cry.gif
achew
post Mar 23 2009, 04:12 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(signither @ Mar 23 2009, 03:55 AM)
after some reading and thinking.. i think i'll change my next-to-buy item from 50mm f/1.4 to tammy sp90.. this is because this lens can also do macro.. i've seen some portraiture using sp90, it's good enough for me i think nod.gif

well, it's just a wishlist.. dunno when can buy laugh.gif

maybe i'll change my mind again after this, who knows? tongue.gif
haha..buy it b4 u change ur mind..im sure u wont get disappointed with this great lens.... =)

im going korea next wed...im stil struggling whether to bring my sp90 or not..haha..bcoz my 5billion dollar home cant fit a body + F58 + cz1680 + 50 F1.4 + tammy...i need to kick 1 of them out =(
achew
post Mar 23 2009, 04:19 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Mar 23 2009, 04:15 AM)
wats the focal length for CZ 1680 same as 50mm prime lense??
izit 50mm or other focal length??
hmm??? sorry if i misunderstood ur question...cz1680 at 50mm would have the same focal length as 50mm prime lens lo...from wad i understood..the numbers..or rather the 'mm' is representing the focal length...
achew
post Mar 23 2009, 04:25 AM

3,807 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Mar 23 2009, 04:21 AM)
thts wat i mean....
but i remember someone said the 50mm have to times with some numbers to become the exact focal length in APS-C camera.....
thats related to the camera body rather than the lenses......nomatter wad lens u r using..as long as u attach it to a APSC camera..u'd need to multiply the 'mm' with the crop factor(1.5 for sony)...

9 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0193sec    0.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:32 PM