6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

*-={House of Miniature Schnauzer v8}=-*, lai lai lai.. come in!

jootat
post Mar 11 2009, 02:20 PM

1,994 posts

Hi there, Rose don't like to eat the dog food that I have bought for her. I decided to try Blue Seal ... because that day i went to a pet shop and they gave me some sample, and Rose seems like can eat it. Just need your advice, is it good?

This post has been edited by jootat: Mar 11 2009, 02:21 PM
jootat
post Mar 11 2009, 11:17 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(waichee86 @ Mar 11 2009, 03:25 PM)
b4 dat, wat u giv her?
I bought her the Eukonaru ... i hope i spell it right. So far she never show any interest on that dog food. I am running out of idea on how to make her eat the dog food ... sad.gif
jootat
post Mar 12 2009, 12:28 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Mar 11 2009, 11:49 PM)
Jootat, just change her food lah if she doesn't want to eat. She use to eat it with no problem. I really don't know why she's not eating it now sad.gif
Hi Joan, ok ... i will change the food then ... smile.gif
jootat
post Mar 16 2009, 12:12 PM

1,994 posts

Hi All, mind to share how to potty train an adult MS? smile.gif
Rose is funny, when we put her in play pan she can hold till we come back and pee when we bring her out. But when we are at home and put her running around the house, she will pee 2 - 3 times and all at different spot. I tried a few times to put her on the newspaper when we caught her red handed but she doesn't seems like understand what we are trying to tell her or teach her. She will thought i am playing with her and give me her hand ... HAHA !! ...

Oh yea, Rose finally started to eat like normal after i changed her dog food to blue seal. But her breath still quite bad ... still need to do some research on this on how to get rid of her bad breath ...
jootat
post Mar 16 2009, 12:52 PM

1,994 posts

ok, will take note on that ... but when we are at home, definitely she will stick very closely to us. But accident can happen just within 1 minute ... I will try again and again ... sigh ... hopefully she can be smart enough 1 day and we can just let her roaming around the house when we are not around ... smile.gif
jootat
post Mar 16 2009, 06:32 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(jessyca_loh @ Mar 16 2009, 02:09 PM)
Have to becareful when grooming Schnauzer's ear, they have overlapping meat over there..my hubby accidentally cut Mookie ear few times liao also..but she never scream or cry..very tough Girl...

To stop blood, u can either buy Iodin from pharmacy or just use Baby Powder on it...

Added on March 16, 2009, 2:17 pm

What i did last time was to monitor Mookie closely and the moment she circles or even squat to pee, i will carry her to the tray and tells her Wee Wee on paper even though she is half way peeing liao...so what i do to attract her to the tray is soak up her pee and place it a corner where i want them to do their business lor...
the moment they go on their own to the tray to pee or poo, i will praise them and give them a treat..

some dogs learn it very fast...my Mookie learn it after few mths only..shes a very slow learner..

actually i dun encourage dogs to roam the house without someone at home, u will never know what will happen when u come back...even tame or good behaviour dogs may destroy the house when there' no one around..if both my furkids turn the place upside down i will surely pengsan...unless u have a space empty room just for them to roam around lar..
QUOTE(red-queen @ Mar 16 2009, 03:15 PM)
yeah, accident can happen any seconds, thats why you really need to really keep an eye on her.

like me, my full concentration is on Ramses when he is inside the house i won't do anything else except watch him play and play with him. if u notice, when they want to potty they will move around sniffing the floor. so whenever i see this behaviour, i'll bring him outside straight away, be it whether he really wants to potty or not. unless he is like sleeping beside me then i'll watch TV or something. this is to minimize accidents as much as possible. i know it's abit hard at 1st, but hopefully in awhile when they finally learn then it'll be worth it!

don't worry, she'll definitely be able to learn as MS are intelligent and smart dogs smile.gif

another thing you can do is, try to note down at what times she usually potty inside ur house, then try to bring her out around that time so that she can potty, then only let her in the house again. but most important, she needs to learn that toilet is outside of the house not inside the house.

try to find a word associated with potty. for me i use Toilet.
Ok. Then i will not consider letting Rose roaming around the house then. Actually got think before wanted to let her roam inside my toilet ... coz should have sufficient space for her to walk here and there ... hahaa ... but nvm lar ... i just put her in the Play Den is ok ... Coz i observe her through CCTV before ... when she is in Play Den ... she just sit there and really very obidient ... but i will definitely let her out when we are around ... she likes to busy body when we are doin something ...

Potty train will definitely take times based on what you guys shared ... i just have to be patient then ....

This post has been edited by jootat: Mar 16 2009, 06:33 PM
jootat
post Mar 17 2009, 09:13 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(iluv2zzz @ Mar 17 2009, 08:53 PM)
no you can't/... hahaha kidding smile.gif

My miki... finally can see her face, because some professionals took her photos tongue.gif

wah ... ur miki fur damn white ... how do u keep them so clean?? any advice?
jootat
post Mar 18 2009, 02:48 PM

1,994 posts

oh ... but miki fur really white wor ... hahaa ...

btw, anyone tried the Blue Seal before? I find Rose after eating Blue Seal, her bad breath get worse ... sigh ... need to do something to it. After she finished this pack then i will try other brand.

Btw, did you guys register ur dogs so that u got license and the officer will not come to our house and catch them? how to do it btw?
jootat
post Mar 18 2009, 04:59 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Rayne @ Mar 18 2009, 02:56 PM)
I have not fed Scottie that brand before...but then I did notice that his breath was really bad when he was on kibble. After I switched him to raw, his breath was never as smelly as his kibble time. Have you thought of feeding Rose a raw diet? smile.gif If you're planning to stick with kibble, perhaps you could give Rose some chewies to let her do some workout for her teeth. Kibble is not exactly a good teeth cleaner, if I may say so.

If Rose's breath is very bad, you might want to check her mouth to see if there are any rotten teeth? Too much buildup on the teeth can cause rotten teeth --> gum problems, bad breath and more complications. If so, a trip to the vet might be needed.

Another thing that my vet recommended was to brush their teeth...which I tried with Scottie when he was on kibble. The toothpaste was not cheap though...about RM30 plus per tube. It's not like our human toothpaste though...it's edible, and we don't have to rinse off like the human toothpaste. I used to brush Scottie's teeth twice a week (when I give him a bath), but the vet recommended to brush everyday like us humans. After switching to raw, I didn't need to brush Scottie's teeth now...smile.gif

Added on March 18, 2009, 3:09 pm

I did register for Scottie last year...haven't done it for this year though. Probably should, but I'm not so free these days...

What I did was go to the DBKL branch nearest to my place, and ask for a form to fill in. You will have to fill in your particulars, and your dog's as well...then if I remember correctly, you would need to provide a photocopy of your IC and also your water / electricity bill for your address thingy. Charge was RM10 per dog...not sure if it's raised or not.

I don't like the licence that DBKL gives out though...so ugly! >.<" The ones in Penang were so nice (a friend of mine showed me once...it was bone-shaped one! So cute!), or even like the ones in MPSJ, where it's smaller and round...not square and huge like the ones we get.  sweat.gif Didn't really get any use from it though...I have never had a problem with officers coming up to me and asking for Scottie's licence, even though I take him training every Sunday to Ampang, and sometimes I bring him out as well.
Hmm ... what raw food did you feed to your furkid? And will it be more costly compared to kibble? And which is more healthy? I don't mind spending a bit more if the difference are not much in terms of price. Actually my friend do told me that her dog do not have bad breath as her dog is actually eating raw can food ...

This morning i tried to use a cloth to wipe Rose's teeth, wahh ... i can see the cloth turn to yellowish after that ... and yes, i do give her greenish once in a while. After i let her lick my face, wahh ... my face can be so smelly ... HAHAA ... I am still thinking whether to stick to kibble is better then brush her teeth or change to raw food.

Oic, i will need to register at DBKL then ... but i dont have her details ... Joan, can you help? hehee ... i PM you but you no reply one ... sad.gif
jootat
post Mar 18 2009, 05:27 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(Rayne @ Mar 18 2009, 05:09 PM)
Raw food and canned food are two different things...smile.gif Canned food can't be 'raw' fully, since they would need to process the food and add in preservatives to get it to keep longer in the can. I feed actual raw meat (chicken, beef, lamb, pork, etc) I think you would be more familiar with the term BARF? I feed a similar model of that diet...they have a BARF thread here too: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/856663
You can read about it and the benefits there...if you are interested in the Prey Model (which I'm currently feeding Scottie), you can go to the last few pages of that thread to read on how to start smile.gif

Comparison to kibble...hmm. Well, to me it wasn't that much of a difference actually. To elaborate, when I was feeding Scottie kibble, I spend about RM70 plus per month for the Schnauzer Royal Canin food. That was the last brand of kibble I put Scottie on. Previously, he was on Acana Salmon & Potato, NutriEdge Chicken, and another lamb and rice brand which I forgot. tongue.gif Those prices range from RM40 plus to RM50 plus per pack which lasts about one month as well.

Now that I'm feeding Scottie raw, I spend about RM50 (give or take RM10 or so) every month for Scottie...sometimes if there are good bargains or sales, RM50 can get me more than a month's worth of meat (it can go up to almost 7 weeks' worth of food). Granted, if I can't find any cheaper meat, the cost could go up to also RM70, but still, I've expected that. smile.gif
Hi Rayne, thanks for the sharing ... haha ... i thought the raw food that you mean is the canned food ... ok. I am going to read more on the BARF first.
jootat
post Apr 3 2009, 10:29 PM

1,994 posts

jason ... mind if i ask how much u charging for grooming? smile.gif
jootat
post Apr 7 2009, 10:16 PM

1,994 posts

updates of Rose ... smile.gif

jootat
post Apr 8 2009, 04:31 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(bazaar91 @ Apr 7 2009, 10:37 PM)
so cuteeee
Thanks ... smile.gif ... she is indeed very cute and manja ... smile.gif

QUOTE(jason86 @ Apr 7 2009, 11:25 PM)
ooo....rose is urs....long time no update of her d....pretty gall
yea ... i adopted her ... smile.gif ... so now u know how she looks like ... hahaa ...

QUOTE(jtl @ Apr 8 2009, 12:11 AM)
Rose looks really happy. Please give her a hug for me.
Hi Joan, ok. I will do it tonight ... HAHA ...
jootat
post Apr 15 2009, 06:07 PM

1,994 posts

I think i roughly find out what's wrong with Rose's bad breath ... might be because of her teeth ... i can see black black thingy on most of her teeth and her teeth isn't white ... will send her to check this weekend if i got time. sigh ... bought her some tablets to chew that meant for her dental care but she refused to take it.
jootat
post Apr 16 2009, 07:16 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Apr 15 2009, 06:29 PM)
Yes, Rose's teeth need cleaning...
Thanks Joan, i bought her the tooth brush and tooth paste .. but just used 3 - 4 times so far ... not very good in brushing her teeth yet ... smile.gif

QUOTE(aragonlee @ Apr 15 2009, 11:03 PM)
This case is almost similar to Bebe's 1. Bebe has bad breath which smells like a dead fish / something dead. His teeth are yellowish at some part. I consulted a vet about his condition. They say the bad smell is due to the food that got stuck in the teeth. After a long period of time it will cause bad breath and also yellowish teeth. He recommend me to bring Bebe for scaling (cleaning the teeth) but normally vet will inject some like anesthetic them to make them sleep/pengsan a while then after the procedure is done he will be ok. But i heard that the injection is not good for our furkids, the vets personally told me, and advice me to find other vet of groomers who knows how to do it and does not need to inject Bebe. So i found another vet in Puchong who will use the gas type before doing the procedure. The vet also say that if it is not a serious case its better not to do the procedure if the vet use the injection type. I am still thinking of whether wanting to bring Bebe there for the scaling. hahaha i hope my experience can help you in someway. biggrin.gif

Added on April 15, 2009, 11:05 pmI even bought greenies and other dental care products for Bebe but i feel that it doesnt help much. hahaha. whenever he opens is mouth near me i will feel like wana pengsan hahahaa
Thanks for your sharing and yes, Rose is exactly the same problem. When she open her mouth ... raelly like got dead smell ... lol ... everyone of us also cannot tahan ... but no choice lar ... i just have to white her mouth very often.

QUOTE(Rayne @ Apr 16 2009, 12:16 AM)
Errm...best not to do that, as there are many other dogs around. Your pup might be susceptible there. It's always best to keep your pup in a controlled environment (ie your home) until they are fully vaccinated before exposing them slowly. smile.gif

Added on April 16, 2009, 12:19 am
Yes, sometimes bad breath is caused by spoiled / rotten teeth...same like us, if our teeth had holes in it, we tend to get some bad breath. The thing with dogs' teeth though is that rotting teeth can lead to other serious problems if the rotten teeth are not treated / pulled out. It could lead to gum problems, and slowly can cause fatality. So, best to check with the vet to confirm if Rose has some bad teeth, or it's just plaque. smile.gif
I will bring her to check soon ... smile.gif

QUOTE(psyko881208 @ Apr 16 2009, 01:31 AM)
Haha! my jojo also have the same problem. my friends see her very happy, once she come nearby and open her mouth, my friends say "WHOA! WHY USE BIOLOGICAL WARFARE ON ME??!!"  doh.gif
this is real funny thing ... lol
jootat
post Apr 17 2009, 11:42 AM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Apr 16 2009, 11:50 PM)
I think better if can bring her for scaling. When you go and spay her, can do one shot. Coz scaling need to use anesthetic.
Hi Joan, thanks. Do you roughly know how much it will cost to do the scaling?

Btw, can you also share with me how u normally play with Rose last time? I normally play with her like running around here and there and my gf said i act like a big baby ... so i just wondering what kind of toy would Rose like to play? i bought her last time a toy but she doens't know how to play ...

How about others MS Owner? How do you guys normally play with ur furkid? Any home made toy or anything to share? lol
jootat
post Apr 18 2009, 09:09 AM

1,994 posts

so funny lar ... hahaa ... Rose still dont really know how to play throw and catch ... just once she did that but the toy i bought for her is a bit too big for her to bite it ... so ended up she just bite the tag on the toy ... but she normally just play chase chase lar ... and sometimes she can run until quite fast in the house ... feel like so excited ... lol
jootat
post Apr 19 2009, 11:22 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(kerrie @ Apr 18 2009, 02:57 PM)
so rose juz drag her toys around lar? dats funny...heehee
hahaa ... no lar ... Rose dont really attached to her toy ... i can't make her play with her toy ... now she is playing with my hand only ... she likes to put my hand in her mouth but don dare to bite me ... lol ... but after playing with her ... i feel like want to pengsan ... because very smelly la ... HAHAA ... i have to wash my hands every time after playing with her ... smile.gif

wei ... ur meeko damn cute lar ... smile.gif ... and the fur so white ... teeth also very white !! ... hahaa
jootat
post Apr 21 2009, 02:59 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(h71y6 @ Apr 20 2009, 03:02 PM)
Never let your dog play with human parts with their mouths (inside). Even if they don't bite, in dog's code, it's a green light to bite. So better not la.. We think it's playing but it's not in actual fact it is considered biting

Something i read somewhere

Added on April 20, 2009, 3:07 pm

i play fetch with Kimi every day. She learns the game, then when she visits my gf's house that has another MS and Retriever, she takes their toys and plays fetch with them!!!

hahahaha... she can't throw so she runs around with the toy and gets the other dogs to chase her and fetch hehe
Hi Yea, sure .. i understand what you mean ... smile.gif ... will watch out and will not let her pick up the bad habits ... smile.gif

Just additional things to share today, all these while we are trying our best to train Rose climb up the stairs to our upper floor and she don dare until last night ... she eventually know how to climb up herself now ... hahaa ... last night i went to sleep first while my gf's sisters all still at the living room watching tv ... so normally they will bring Rose to play den to sleep one ... but last night she keep on follow me to upstairs until i have put her into her play den then only i can go up stairs sleep ... she is just so funny !!! ... hahaa ...

jootat
post Apr 21 2009, 10:31 PM

1,994 posts

I think Rose is fast learner ... we taugh her less than 10 times i guess ... but we never taugh her like everyday continously la .. just once a while ... but just last week end she able to do it ... lol ... now ... she is very busy body climbing up and down ... lol

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0471sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:56 PM