Credit Card Thread V6

santaclaus
post Apr 1 2009, 11:54 AM

310 posts

juz found out standard chartered platinum only need annual income of rm60k to apply shocking.gif

while gold card is rm18k rclxub.gif

wat happened?
santaclaus
post Apr 1 2009, 01:45 PM

310 posts

wat S&C did is worsening the platinum and gold card status. ( although they had visa infinite which the requirement is almost the same as other bank's platinum )

this make platinum dun look exclusive anymore shakehead.gif
santaclaus
post Apr 2 2009, 11:42 AM

310 posts

SC plat already brought the standard down n UOB one card is juz a classic card with print the platinum word on it ... BN shud haf ban this to avoid confusion n misleading consumers ( although im more concern on the plat status being tarnish biggrin.gif )

santaclaus
post Apr 9 2009, 11:24 AM

310 posts

i'd used a citibank choice card b4 and any transactions is counted EXCEPT CASH ADVANCED

so basically u can pay for anything 2x and u get an auto waiver

but now cancelled oledi n changed to hsbc amanah ...
santaclaus
post May 7 2009, 10:50 AM

310 posts

i'd been approached for standard chartered justone titanium.
it offers very good cash rebate. any1 knows more detail about this card? sc employees perhaps? not much info in their website and brochure ... the booth sales oso like blur blur ...

if not hidden terms and conditions ... sound like a good card to use.
santaclaus
post May 8 2009, 10:10 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(hye @ May 8 2009, 09:00 AM)
Yesterday I called to inquire about the SCB JustOne card, here're some of the facts.

1. You need to open an account with SCB to maintain the card. (Even though you are an existing account holder)
2. Cash rebates are provided monthly but subject to a maximum of RM600 per year. (I'm slightly skeptical about this coz the online pamphlet doesn't mention about the monthly rebates)

Card is rather cool though despite the rebates are provided for only up to RM30K of yearly spendings. Possibly the bank is targeting generally the gold card holders market who will probably spend that much in a year.
for the rm600 rebate max per annum ... the sales told me its per annum not monthly wor ... he say if i used up all the rebate on the first month ( example on friday , transaction rm12000 x 5% = rm600 rebate ) then i wont get any more rebate until next year.

the account comes together with this card is a current account rite? do we hafta maintain any minimum monthly balance to get these rebates???

nowadays banks making their product more complicated despite telling us they combine all to make it easier for us. the truth is they r hiding a lot of terms n increase their chances to gain from us.
santaclaus
post May 13 2009, 11:21 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(hlliew @ May 12 2009, 03:47 PM)
Hi Tinkerbel,

Thanks for your advice. Maybe I misunderstand your point. But you cant even cancel the card if you have the outstanding. Then month after months, the interest is going to grow and finaly if the ball roll big enough I might be blacklisted. That's what I was trying to say.

Cutting the card will be the next option. If there is no choice then have to pay lor and will let others know about this bad experience of mine.

Cheers.
from what i saw here , i think u r not familiar with cc ...

u can cancel whenever u want no matter thr's an outstanding balance or not , juz call the cs ( some banks need u to go to their branch ) , ask for a cancellation ... pay the outstanding minus the annual fee when the statement came ( u can pay earlier by asking the cs amount up to date and then pay immediately ) upon cancellation , do not use the card ( best is dun use a week b4 u wanna cancel so tht the up to date amount is accurate )

with tht u wont b charge any late payment/interest/watever since u cancelled ur card. ( unless they bill u annual fee on feb but now onli u wanna cancel n minus out the fee ) .... thr would b no problem if u call to cancel once u receive the statement with the annual fee charged.

hope this helps
santaclaus
post May 19 2009, 11:33 AM

310 posts

arghhh .... my application for sc justone titanium juz got rejected .... even apply using hsbc premier cc mad.gif

does premier doesnt qualify to apply other cc??? last time i use this to apply citibank plat but rejected oso vmad.gif

oh btw i asked the cs bout justone titanium :

1) no nid to maintain any min balance in the current account attached
2) the max rebate is rm600 p.a not rm50 pm ( if u used up all the rebate on month 1 , thr will not b anymore rebates for the next 11 months ) thumbup.gif
3) rebate 5% on friday n 2% on other days , based on transaction date not posting date

seems like sc goin all out to fish more market share , but ow come they reject me cry.gif
santaclaus
post May 19 2009, 11:51 AM

310 posts

premier is my primary lo ... in fact all my cc are primary ...

i onli use 3 cards in total ... i dun like keeping too many cards ...

1 HSBC premier master
1 HSBC Amanah platinum visa
1 Direct access master + visa ( if not for their petrol rebate 2% , i had cancelled it long time ago )

i tot if can get justone then will cancel DA , with onli a few cards needed its easier for me to maintain and consolidate.

santaclaus
post May 19 2009, 11:54 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(lin00b @ May 19 2009, 11:51 AM)
if you have outstanding balance, wouldnt whatever more cashback you have be cancelled out by the interest on the outstanding balance?
yup i had counted , if u got 5% rebate on petrol + 1.5% on other , u stil lose out to the amount of interest the bank r charging u. Unless u maintain a rm4000 outstanding balance n at the same time ur monthly usage on petrol max n other damn high.

Added on May 19, 2009, 11:57 am
QUOTE(winner @ May 19 2009, 11:52 AM)
Just concentrate your spending on every Friday to maximise the benefit of the 5% cash rebate. In case your annual expenditure on the card is less than RM15k and SCB charge annual fee for the 2nd year, then you can just redeem the reward points and cancel this card.

The 5% rebate is tempting. I think I’ll apply this card too, after I cancel my HLB.  icon_rolleyes.gif
yeah thts wat i planned earlier , gonna use this for petrol and try to buy things onli on friday tongue.gif ( petrol cant tahan til friday la , hafta pump twice a week ) ... after all the 600 rebate used up onli swith back to use hsbc amanah.

actually 15k pa usage i dun worry so much ... travelling oversea already used up a lot. but , unfortunately my application rejected. now hafta stick back to DA. ( which dun haf the 5% on friday cry.gif )

This post has been edited by santaclaus: May 19 2009, 11:58 AM
santaclaus
post May 19 2009, 12:01 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ May 19 2009, 11:58 AM)
Very weird indeed, only way I can see it is probably because your o/s loans, limits and all must be in the very high region and over their comfort level. Maybe you can try SCB's Priority Banking? It comes with their Visa Infinite, which is much better rated than the HSBC Premier, plus you can ask for the Titanium to be included as well  hmm.gif
hmm.gif i onli got a housing loan and my cc dun haf any o/s balance wor. aih dunno y la ... i think now stay with hsbc first , quite satisfy with their premier branch services at uptown. so far no problem.
santaclaus
post May 19 2009, 12:48 PM

310 posts

aiks ... cl high oso kena ar?

my cl small small onli wor ... not even near tgeoklin's blush.gif
santaclaus
post May 19 2009, 09:23 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ May 19 2009, 02:19 PM)
Did they call/sms you that you're application is rejected?
When did you apply?

I applied last Monday until now still no response, i'm their platinum cc holder.
i applied last 2 weeks together wif my wife ... this morning my wife got a sms said her card was approved but i havent got any ... so in the afternoon i called scb n ask for status n they said unsuccessful sad.gif

@hye :

the current acc nid to maintain min balance??? how come the cs i called say no nid???

then they use our acc money first b4 cc means it will function as debit then onli cc???

wah ... so different from wat i noe le ... hafta make sure when my wife's card came along...

if thr's oways money stanby then ok la .... but nowadays cc usually used as advance then onli pay when get salary wor ... how to keep so much cash in acc??? aih
santaclaus
post May 21 2009, 11:51 AM

310 posts

i juz received an sms from citibank stating my cc application is approved in principal .

does tht means technically its approved but i wont get my card until they really appoved??

actually i hate citibank misleading saying card will be approved within 24hrs .... these they onli c basic requirement then approve ... after tht if ced reject u stil dun get the cc ... then wats the point of the 24hrs thing???? shakehead.gif

Added on May 21, 2009, 11:53 am@lin00b

yep exactly like wat u calculated rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by santaclaus: May 21 2009, 11:53 AM
santaclaus
post May 21 2009, 02:13 PM

310 posts

well citibank juz called me regarding my cc application ... its on the way to my office tongue.gif

so now i normally use everything except petrol on my hsbc amanah plat .... so is this citibank plat worth to focus on more?

amanah rebate 0.5% local , 1% overseas

citibank evergreen pts , 2x overseas

hmm.gif focus on which????
santaclaus
post May 21 2009, 06:11 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ May 21 2009, 03:44 PM)
I actually prefer rebate ... One question though, which card did you use when you applied for Citibank Platinum credit card ?
the same hsbc premier mc .... now i even wonder y scb reject my application
santaclaus
post May 22 2009, 08:29 PM

310 posts

my wife juz received her scb cc today and its a normal gold card blink.gif but she apply for justone card.
so she called n asked y it is? the cs said card approval is subject to the bank's discretion. so my wife said if the justone application was rejected then y send her the gold card she dunwan? cs reply "u can appeal n submit your income documents to upgrade to justone". my wife say juz cancel the card.

in the afternoon i received a call from scb as well. the cs said she wanna verify my details for opening a current account which is attached to the justone cc shocking.gif but last 2 days the cs juz said my application was unsuccessful?

how scb is like this? really dun feel like being their customer.

told my wife her cc approved but sent a different cc.
told my application rejected but now say wanna open account.
asked bout the justone cc criteria , none of the cs r sure.

really a messy bank. shakehead.gif

santaclaus
post Jun 2 2009, 11:04 AM

310 posts

i had received my justone current account cheque book.
i had oso received a scb platinum ( which i never applied )
BUT i stil havent got my justone cc rclxub.gif

wats wrong wif this scb?

now i hafta cancel either the scb plat or citi plat ( wan to consolidate my cc into 2 major )
any idea which 1 worth keeping?

and any1 noes whether i can combine the cl of my hsbc amanah cc with my hsbc premier cc? if can i wan to combine the limit then cancel the premier tongue.gif ... so no nid keep so many cc around.
santaclaus
post Jun 2 2009, 11:46 AM

310 posts

just called hsbc and yep cant combine the limit doh.gif

the weird thing is i cant even cancel the premier card as long as i maintain their premier account shakehead.gif somemore the cs keep saying its actually higher level than platinum hmm.gif din notice any special oso except the golf privilege.

actually im thinking citi haf more privileges as in shopping discount , whr scb i seldom saw their promotion. citi oso can enter klia lounge ma ... even if i keep the citi i would onli use when thr is special discount for citi member , other than tht rather use those with rebate. for low transaction , any1 haf experience in waiving its annual fee?

santaclaus
post Jun 2 2009, 12:30 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Jun 2 2009, 12:19 PM)
Santaclaus, better wait till you receive SCB Titanium. Then you can cancel SCB Plat. If you hold both SCB cards, the CL is combined.

I got my Citi Plat AF waived for 2nd year. The reward points are everlasting anyway.
how's the waiver works? do they haf anything like minimum swipes or amount per annum?

0.0417sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:39 AM