Travel Outdoor activities, hiking & camping, treking, rock climbing & more xtreme act

eeki
post May 28 2014, 02:38 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ May 27 2014, 09:20 AM)
I am referring to your friend, not mine -.-|||

Basic trekking attire -
* dry fit shirt (RM100 if you want to get a new one)
* short/long pants (normal for short pants, long pants at least wind proof. If track bottom, you will need to get a long john - those winter shop got sell - Around RM150 I presume)
* rain coat/ poncho (RM5 - RM8 for disposable)
* good trekking shoes with socks (Kampung Adidas RM10, Good brand RM300++)
* a cap (who doesn't have a cap)

Day 2 (summit attempt)
* second shirt for hiking
* long pants (you can reuse back the same pants you used on the first day if you do not mind)
* second disposable rain coat (just in case you used the first, in this case if it rain on day 2, chances u to scale Kinabalu gets lower as Sayat gate will close for sure)
* head lamp (crucial! RM35 - get from Ace Hardware Shop)
* beanie (mainly to cover your ears since it is cold in the peak - around RM 100)
* gloves (gardening type - RM10, water resistant - RM 250)
* water proof jackets/ windbreaker (windbreaker - around RM100, lightweight can reach up RM 2,500)
* socks (You should have)
* food and drink

Other items which you might consider
* trekking pole (you will hardly use on summit attempt but when return back to Timpohon gate, it could be useful -RM 25)
* camera (for very obvious reason)
* sunblock (for princess only, sorry no offence - RM30)
* deep heat (thou some might hate the smell, it is a fast option to make your muscle warm up - RM15)
* AMS tablets (read more details about AMS and please take note that some died in Kinabalu due to this - RM20)
* ORS tablets (for rehydration purposes if you sweat a lot - RM15)
* slippers
* clean clothing for your normal wear
bro, can suggest what AMS tabley to buy? brand?
can get it at any clinic or pharmacy?

as for deep heat, I read some blog, they regret using it because of menthol material in it. it gave the cold feeling after using it. maybe not suitable if hiking during raining/wet condition.
eeki
post May 28 2014, 08:49 PM

299 posts

QUOTE(aidono @ May 28 2014, 05:48 PM)
Basically any brand for AMS should be good as a standby. The best way to ensure you do not get AMS is to control your speed and breathing when it come to high attitude. Some people eager to hike up fast but without proper breathing such incident can occurred. You have to take note when you starting to feel drowsy/sleepy during your hike, then headache, follow by cough and vomit.

AMS tablets you could get in pharmacy, and some tend to question you why do you purchase them for.

I do not used deep heat as it tend to be sticky after a while. Good for starter who wish to warm their muscle before the hike up. You will see most runner used them before their run. Another alternate option for cold climate is to use those deep heat which come in the form of stickers but again it is up to individuals preference.
runner yes, i've been using it myself too. but its different weather/temperature condition.

0.0307sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:33 AM