--Gaming Mouse-- [V.2], The Search Continues.

xcen
post May 20 2009, 08:01 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Do you guys know about the 'Pointer Acceleration' in Logitech SetPoint software?

When I set anything above 'Low', the pointer feels very unnatural to me, it is as if the pointer acceleration is software assisted rather than the mouse's true speed.

Is this the case? Because increasing the 'Pointer Speed' feels much more natural than increasing the 'Pointer Acceleration'.
xcen
post Jul 3 2009, 10:03 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Just got my MX518 yesterday! thumbup.gif

The onboard settings of 1600, 800, 400 is too unsuitable for me, luckily got SetPoint, which I can change to 1600,1250,1000,500 which is perfect!

Still trying to find a mousepad for my mouse, I got no money, so is IKEA Dralla good? brows.gif I saw ianho's blog, I don't understand why must he use that mat to sandwich the 2 drallas?
xcen
post Jul 3 2009, 10:21 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2009, 10:18 AM)
He didnt use 2 drallas to sandwich it. He use the mat to stop the dralla from slipping/moving along the table. Depending on table top, you mightnot need the mat. I tested on glass top (my mom keke) and my grainy wooden top, Dralla doesnt move on both those top.
Ah, I see.

Thanks, I will check out Dralla soon smile.gif

Added on July 3, 2009, 12:15 pmErm one question: Can the Dralla be cut into a smaller piece? My mouse area quite small.

This post has been edited by xcen: Jul 3 2009, 12:15 PM
xcen
post Jul 3 2009, 04:02 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Jul 3 2009, 01:18 PM)
Of course can. If you have the tools of course.
Like what kind of tools?

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2009, 02:44 PM)
You got a knife? If got then can..
Knife can? It's a chopping board that can be cut by a knife? shocking.gif
xcen
post Jul 3 2009, 05:44 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 3 2009, 05:42 PM)
Um... just because something can tahan chop when you put it on a table top, doesnt mean you cant slice it from the sidewor.

Anyway... like I said.. RM5... what you want wor.. just buy one and try lah.. you will know what I mean.
You're using it as mousepad? How does it compare to those expensive mousepads? brows.gif

This post has been edited by xcen: Jul 3 2009, 05:44 PM
xcen
post Jul 3 2009, 07:35 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Jul 3 2009, 06:22 PM)
Dude.............. it's only rm5 per mat. Go buy it n try. U wont believe that u've been paying so much for mousepads all this while after trying the Dralla.
I've been mousepadless since I got my first P4 computer 10 years ago brows.gif

Since I got MX518 now, better have a mousepad coz the dirty and uneven surface is making me mad. I'll go to IKEA when I have the chance. smile.gif
xcen
post Jul 3 2009, 08:09 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jul 3 2009, 08:00 PM)
Are IKEA mousepads really that good? I tried one or two of them but didn't liked it.
Not IKEA mousepad, is IKEA chopping board that can be used as mousepad. Called Dralla.
xcen
post Jul 5 2009, 08:20 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Got my Dralla today at Ikea...

Using it without the grip mat because the grip mat itself costs 7 bucks, I'm reluctant to spend that amount of money. I think I can live with adjusting my mousepad every now and then.

Other than that... the Dralla works GREAT! Totally awesome mousepad at just 5 bucks per piece! Now my it's so much easier using my MX518!

Thanks ianho! rclxms.gif
xcen
post Jul 5 2009, 11:02 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jul 5 2009, 09:22 PM)
MX518 + Dralla eh?? how does it track? wat about the feet n the pad? smooth or not?

also how thick is it? been thinking of getting it for the office.
The thickness is about 3-4mm. It's very thin. My mouse area is very small so I just slide it under my keyboard without any imbalance problem. Typing on my keyboard feels as normal as ever.

It tracks flawlessly, the mouse doesn't wander around a bit unlike being mousepadless lol. Smoothness? I have used one of those softer kind of mouse pad in my friend's house before but it's impractical because moving it will make your cursor fly really off target. While for Dralla, it has grip but it doesn't hinder your movements, just aids in stopping at the right time.

So I can safely say Dralla is a nice mixture of smoothness + grip.

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Jul 5 2009, 09:24 PM)
Salute! Being able to keep up with the maintenance is admirable. Last time it was a pain for me to take out the ball and clean away the dust and dirt from the rollers before optical mice were invented.

Added on July 5, 2009, 9:26 pm
Great to hear that Dralla works wonders for you. Mind sharing what mousepad you used previously? Interested to know the difference in improvement over it.
Ah! I remember those good old days where you need to twist the hole open and clean the ball area with a cotton bud!

Previously I have been mousepadless since 10 years ago. So my judgement is not too accurate. The only thing is, my mousing experience, especially speed and precision has been improved drastically after having the Dralla!

This post has been edited by xcen: Jul 5 2009, 11:06 PM
xcen
post Jul 6 2009, 05:50 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Update: Currently I can use MX518's full 1800dpi on the Dralla without losing any control at all.

When I was mousepadless, I could only handle 1000dpi at most.
xcen
post Jul 8 2009, 09:19 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Jul 8 2009, 09:13 PM)
But unfortunately i'm a fingertip grip gamer doh.gif
Is there a difference?

Erm... FPS use low DPI? How low do you mean low? I mean, normal la, more than 2000DPI... But to me that's high already.

For those mouse that goes to over 4000 DPI, I really don't know that one is used for what.

This post has been edited by xcen: Jul 8 2009, 09:23 PM
xcen
post Jul 8 2009, 09:24 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

If DPI is not a concern and budget is...

And if you want the claw grip...

Go for...

LOGITECH OPTICAL MOUSE!

I'm serious, apart from the low DPI, it's the best claw grip mouse I've used. Been using it for over 5 years.
xcen
post Jul 13 2009, 12:30 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(aztechx @ Jul 10 2009, 09:32 PM)
yea but is the difference in performance worth the extra rm100?was just wondering if the MX518 is 'good enough' since i dont really consider myself a hardcore gamer...
If you're not a hardcore gamer, what you want is comfort.

For MX 518, I can say the comfort is just good, much better than the normal Logitech Optical Mouse. I don't know my palm is big or what, but I think getting a bigger mouse would definitely suite me better.
xcen
post Jul 14 2009, 02:28 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(viqq @ Jul 13 2009, 06:12 PM)
Guys, I have removed all the rubber coating on my MX518 with Yokoyoko. Lolz. I couldn't find anything else.
Oh no... Doesn't it look fugly?

I hate build quality issues cry.gif
xcen
post Jul 31 2009, 12:28 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Before I got my MX518, everybody seem to say about how gaming mouse can give your more headshots etc. I was skeptical at that time because to me, the only difference of a gaming mouse is it is more sensitive, and maybe better ergonomics compared to cheap mouse.

But when I got my MX518 and play L4D, really my headshots almost doubled! I don't know how it happened, but it just happened.

I agree that although gaming mouse helps, the most important part is still personal skill la. MX518 or not, I still get owned in CS all the time.
xcen
post Aug 1 2009, 01:07 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Normally what DPI do you guys use when not gaming? I'm not talking about Dual-monitor set up here, just normal 1920x1080 or 1650x1050 resolution.
xcen
post Aug 9 2009, 05:55 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(latias93 @ Aug 9 2009, 05:11 PM)
Okay guys, gonna get my gaming mouse next week. Razer Krait or Logitech MX518? The price of these two don't bother me, just which one do you guys think have a better edge?
I've used both before, and personally I prefer MX518 or its ergonomics - the most important feature for me.

If you fancy nice design, then go for the Krait. Otherwise, MX518 is better because it has more buttons, which is very useful as you can customize them. (Like 1 of the buttons I customize it to Ctrl +W to easily close a tab.)
xcen
post Aug 10 2009, 02:52 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Hahah, me too. I really thought there were holes on it, even when I bought it.

After opening it, I touch touch, eh, no holes haha
xcen
post Aug 14 2009, 10:51 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Just spray spray the mouse can edi? Cannot be ma... I think got add varnish or something, I have no experience whatsoever with this thing haha.
xcen
post Aug 15 2009, 10:10 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

The Lachesis mod looks nice, but your palm will not feel too comfortable when using it coz got all those skull holes haha. laugh.gif

0.0263sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:48 AM