Grooming Goldfish - Ranchus/Orandas etc, Sharing tips for grooming goldfish

numbertwo
post Dec 30 2014, 11:37 AM

1,762 posts

Hi , does anyone know which shop in Ipoh sells crystal clear fish tank (2ft or 2.5ft) ?

I am trying to get the tank from Ipoh which is way cheaper than those selling in PJ, but I couldn't find the crystal clear type. The normal 2ft tank is selling around RM38-RM48 in Ipoh, as oppose to over hundred here in PJ..
numbertwo
post Dec 31 2014, 04:34 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 15 2014, 07:56 PM)
after days of cycling the water, I finally achieve 0ppm  ammonia.

i am looking to grow water plants. but i need a sump tank to do so.

the purpose is to control nitrate with plants. not sure if no CO2, will the plants die ?
hi, what sort of filter are u using for your 2+ feet tank? external or those hanging type ie eheim liberty?
numbertwo
post Jan 8 2015, 10:55 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 8 2015, 08:52 PM)
very simpls filter. just a piece of filter cloth.
Ok.. My new 2ft tank is cloudy, milky as of now after approximately 1 week. Not sure if it is the results of cycling ?
numbertwo
post Jan 11 2015, 12:03 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(SupermanLick @ Jan 11 2015, 08:38 AM)
HELOO HELLOO how re u all guys

I wanna to identify these baby fish ,what kind of the fish
I caught from Bukit Jalil fish pound ,left 2 ,20+ dead

IS KOI fish or Gold fish ?
maybe a wild gold fish?
numbertwo
post Jan 12 2015, 02:54 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 10 2015, 08:12 PM)
cloudy ?

show a photo and what u did
these are the photos taken after about 10 days..

setup: 2feet Crystal Tank 60 x 31 x 36cm

From top view :

Hang on filter Eheim Liberty 2042 which supposed to cater for up to 200l tank. I removed the standard cartridges included the carbon and stuff in eheim substract pro and normal filter sponge..

plus a DIY filter with zeolites + ehiem substracts pro , using an old pump..

As u can see the water is no where near 'clear' yet .. i wonder what can be done to improve this before i turn to a canister!
numbertwo
post Jan 13 2015, 03:47 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 12 2015, 07:46 PM)
first of all, they are too many fish.

for this tank size, probably 2 or 3 small GF.

the cloudiness need to wait for time to settle. what is it in the plastic square bottle ?
the 10 gallons per fish is a bit that much i think.. In fact i have that 4 (out of the five now) fishes in my 35cm tank for over a year, with sufficient O2 and filtration I always thought they will be ok. The plastic square bottle has the ehiem substrat and zeolite.
numbertwo
post Jan 15 2015, 11:21 AM

1,762 posts

Yes, i did something wrong initially, turning on 2x T5 for a total of 6-7 hours a day. I swithed off one now and it is ok, don't see much algae growth in the tank but it is just not getting crystal clear water.
numbertwo
post Jan 15 2015, 01:42 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(Care-Man @ Jan 15 2015, 12:45 PM)
Sometime it is a try and error thing. Try to remove the ehiem substrat,  zeolite & those white stones in your next water change. This time just use sponge filter and wait for a few hour.  If water become clear then you'll know the problem started from your media filter.  I hope it help.
ya...those days when there wasn't that many filter options, those sponges with varies density really did great. Tks for the input.
numbertwo
post Jul 7 2015, 11:12 AM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(decanesis @ Jul 7 2015, 10:33 AM)
what is the best algae water to keep with gold fish?
OTO?
im using gold algae eater, doesnt seems to bully them...
siamese and flying fox is a big NO
yes siamese and ff shouldn't be in the tank at all... as to other algae eater, monitor them when your tank is clean, if they don't start to lick on your gf then it is good. I don't use any of them..safer!
numbertwo
post Jul 10 2015, 04:49 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jul 7 2015, 04:47 PM)
Hi!
May I know why?
it tends to attack the gf ...
numbertwo
post Sep 27 2015, 10:55 AM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(zhongzai @ Sep 26 2015, 02:12 PM)
Anybody know whether Goldfish Mania open on Sunday or not? What is the business hour? Thanks  happy.gif
since you know the name of this group why not PM them in FB ? You have to book their time I believe.
numbertwo
post Sep 30 2015, 07:04 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(zhongzai @ Sep 30 2015, 06:59 PM)
Already bought goldfish from them last Sunday. Yeah they open upon appointment only. Big surprise for me as I think that they open a normal aquatic shop but its more like a breeding centre  blush.gif
smile.gif It is run by a couple of goldfish fanatics as a part time thingy but yeah..lots of nice gf isn't it?
numbertwo
post Oct 1 2015, 11:48 AM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(elite87 @ Oct 1 2015, 11:30 AM)
I have a 17 inch tank. Is it good enough to get 9 gold fish? other than water filter wat else i need ?
17in is barely 2 feet.. depending on the size of the fish, maybe 3 small small goldfish would be possible IMO.
numbertwo
post Dec 30 2015, 02:28 PM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(jam_lennon @ Dec 30 2015, 12:33 PM)
i just begin to rear some gold fish.. i noob here
is it require to have a heater?

it is about 50Gallon of water, it is require about 150W of heater power
and my tank is 4ft x 1.5ft

do i need 2x150W or 2 x 75W to achieve the best heater env.
we live in the tropical country.. unless maybe you stay in Genting / Cameron , high ground? It is absolutely not required.
numbertwo
post Jan 25 2018, 12:26 AM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(kuli2sahaja @ Jan 24 2018, 08:28 PM)
Bump for this thread!

Sifus,

What is the market price for a Ranchu/Oranda now?
I find it very expensive compared to few years back
yes, what i can say is that... goldfish is selling like a goldbar now.. Go to Irene aquarium, you will know how ridiculous it is .. bye.gif
numbertwo
post Jan 25 2018, 11:28 AM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(built @ Jan 25 2018, 08:01 AM)
where would you recommend for reasonabe and most important, honest,
LFS/ breeder for beginner (in goldfish)?

i plan to use either 3ft x 2ft or 4ft x 3ft plastic/ frp tank or maybe a large
Baba planter box.  brows.gif

thanks.
depends on where u r located i guess... There are many LFS in klang valley that you can do shopping or just windows shoppings.. ''Reasonable" is subjective.. biggrin.gif 1K might seems reasonable to some, but others think that 100 is too expensive.. So its always about affordability and the quality that your quench for ...
numbertwo
post Jan 25 2018, 11:30 AM

1,762 posts

There is a local F B group that are full of info on LFS or resellers where u can get goldfish from, just search 'goldfish chat room' or 金鱼聊天室。
numbertwo
post Jan 25 2018, 11:31 AM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(ron c @ Jan 25 2018, 10:47 AM)
Those imported from China, Taiwan, or Thailand can cost hundreds.
But the Ryukin, my favourite is still quite cheap. Can get a palm-sized one for around RM30-RM50. Local breeds of course, but they still look beautiful.
I once tried to put a Ryukin into an Aro comm tank (with many other types of fishes of course) as a trial an error.
Damn, it was dead in less than 5 hours. Felt it was a waste as it was one beautiful fish. Got it for around RM26, slightly smaller than palm size.
as u already know local ryukins are small.. putting them into a tank with adult aro is just like killing them on purpose... blush.gif

This post has been edited by numbertwo: Jan 25 2018, 11:31 AM
numbertwo
post Apr 2 2018, 10:05 AM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(Foongtastic @ Apr 1 2018, 09:20 PM)
Hi, anyone know where i can buy some panda telescope butterfly around 3"?
If you live around Klang valley, best option is Atarikoi i guess.. Panda variant is not very common locally.
numbertwo
post Dec 25 2020, 10:27 AM

1,762 posts

QUOTE(jam_lennon @ Dec 23 2020, 01:44 PM)
planning to get glassman to redo my sump tank (remove +new glass panel) for more compartment, as i need to improve on the water filter quality/performance.
mine is normal goldfish

how many days i need to let the tank idle/before i can use it?
if the tank maker is using aquarium safe glue/silicon then you could just soak it a day or two and i think u can start using it after that.

0.0246sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:23 AM