NVIDIA GRAPHIC CARD FANS CLUB V2, Discussion All about Nvidia Graphic Card

metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 05:41 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

Apparently, what he says is kind of true except that GTX280 stock vs GTX285 stock, GTX285 wins bcos of higher clocks.... If GTX280 is OCed to the same frequencies as GTX285, GTX280 onli loses out 1 FPS.... GTX280 has better OC capabilities bcos of 65nm fabrication....

lol, you are merely repeating what RegentCid has stated. If you stated that 65nm oc just as good as 55nm, then I can agree on that. but theoratically 55nm oc better than 65nm. Due to smaller die, 55nm draws less power and produce less heat, these in returns leaves a head room for more oc'ing. No doubt that it was mentioned by Fudzilla that early reference desgin of GTX 285 and GTX 260 (55nm) can oc only the same as their 65nm counterpart, but there are also alot of reported higher oc for 55nm in other forums.
So again, a link to show and prove that 65nm is more superior than 55nm would be great. otherwise they are pretty much the same, not 65nm better 55nm.

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Mar 2 2009, 05:46 PM
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 05:57 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Mar 2 2009, 05:45 PM)
well,tested both 55nm and 65nm.
55nm GTX260 Sonic Dual Fan oc to 710mhz BSOD
65nm GTX260 Stock fan oc to 740mhz and still going smile.gif
let me guess, u tested the new GTX 260 sonic dual right? we are comparing an orange to an apple. the palit's gtx 260 uses a different voltage controller. and most of all the whole pcb design is different, that doesn't necessary means that it is better than the reference design. but then again I could be wrong la.

u guys can read em here at techpowerup which shows that it uses a non-reference pcb design too

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Mar 2 2009, 06:04 PM
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 06:08 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 2 2009, 06:05 PM)
i heard tht the 55nm version gtx260 (i guess it applies to gtx280/285 as well) is using cheaper pwm's,thus u cant use any voltage control software with it.this  gives the 65nm version an advantage when oc-ing compared to 55nm
can la bro. the reference GTX 260 uses Volterra voltage regulator. which can be controlled through software smile.gif
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 06:12 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 2 2009, 06:07 PM)
One word...kaki OC will choose 65nm GPU in all meaning. that all ...ends
ok... sure sif

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Mar 2 2009, 06:25 PM
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 06:19 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Mar 2 2009, 06:08 PM)
btw speaking bout voltage control software,any nice 1 to recommend out thr?i know there's 1 by evga but does it work for outside cards (diff manufacturer)?
there's a cracked version. I tried it and it works. here is the LINK (but this is v1.0, there is still no crack for the latest verison)
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 06:23 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(Laric @ Mar 2 2009, 06:17 PM)
can anybody help me with my problem please?
i wan to run photoshop CS4 extended but my GPU dunno why cannot use it...
when i load it says the monitor profile "LG W1942T" appears to be defective. Please rerun monitor calibration software.

then inside it says no GPU detected... ask me to update my driver...
using a GeForce 9500GT... latest drivers from nvidia already...
U better use some registry cleaner program first before installing the new nvidia driver. try google "Driver Sweeper". and reintall your nvidia driver. see if it can detect your graphic card
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 06:35 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

did u patch the exe file first?

u must click the "VoltageTune.Patch.v1.0" file first. when the menu pops up, it will want u to search for the EVGAVoltageTuner.exe in the EVGA program files folder.

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Mar 2 2009, 06:37 PM
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 06:40 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

oh really? maybe they have removed it... gimme your email, i will email it to u.
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 06:59 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(ckh93 @ Mar 2 2009, 06:53 PM)
wah u guys all GTX GTX me still using 8th series..zzz
when u guys were using the 8th series, I was drooling on u guys with my 3870 sad.gif
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 07:45 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Mar 2 2009, 07:08 PM)
was reading PC Gamer and notice something... correct my eyes.. did I just see a 1.79GB nVidia GTX295 graphics card?!?! shocking.gif
no mod, u saw it clearly. smile.gif

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Mar 2 2009, 07:46 PM
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 08:17 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Mar 2 2009, 07:49 PM)
sish, links again.
prove yourself like acecombat,
no money ? sell of ya GTS295 then  rclxm9.gif   brows.gif
again, who start the OC ability discussion. regent he just mentioned flashing bios wink.gif
Well I just think that before anyone starts giving a controversial or contradicting statement, he/she should have a valid explanations or valid proof before causing flames in the thread. just because some guy said so, and just simply taking the words for it does not prove the statement is valid. All I want is a good solid proof with good reference to backup, this does not mean I dismissed everybody's point of view. Well, if ppl here prefer to believe that 65nm is superior than 55nm in OC'ing, rather than giving me a more valid proof (eg. comparing an apple to an apple for a start) then I can end my search for answer right here. enough said. doh.gif cool.gif

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Mar 2 2009, 08:18 PM
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 08:38 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Mar 2 2009, 08:34 PM)
sure, good luck in researching  biggrin.gif
I don't want to get missleading by forumers, no one like it, because im planning for another gpu  smile.gif
Thanks bro, but I've done my reasearch already, so i'm fine. And yes, I dont like by mislead by others too, nor do I like seeing others being mislead. In the end, buyers will have to do research and decide by themselves what's best for them.
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 08:39 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Mar 2 2009, 08:36 PM)
do you need to borrow my graphic card to convince you ?
yours is 65nm or 55nm? I actually dun mind to be honest, but i live in perak. sad.gif otherwise more GC to borrow for testing brows.gif
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 08:52 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Mar 2 2009, 08:43 PM)
why do you even need to bother whether 55nm or 65nm is better ?

you are using GTX295 which doesn't have a 55nm version ..
Yah i know. Since there are other cards to play around with, why not? anyway thanks for offer, appreciate it smile.gif
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 09:31 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

just go for 55nm, u can never go wrong. u save power, less heat and same/better performance and oc'bility

in other words, GTX 285 or GTX 260(55nm)

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Mar 2 2009, 09:32 PM
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 09:39 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(nazseha @ Mar 2 2009, 09:32 PM)
I know...GTX285 can be regarded as GTX280 Overclocking Edition based on 55nm processing..

both 55nm and 65nm share same spec...how come 55nm more better than 65nm in term of Performance?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
we are talking about the same chip except that it was shrunken. If we are talking about power consumption and heat. 55nm DEFINITELY better than 65nm.

performance wise, it's debatable. but I PERSONALLY think that 55nm is NOT WORSE than 65nm when it comes to performance (but really depends on how u define performance though).

let's say we are comparing a "65nm [576/1242/999] GTX260" with a "55nm [576/1242/999]" it will give the same PERFORMANCE.
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 09:52 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(nazseha @ Mar 2 2009, 09:43 PM)
Aiyak...For sure la...did i got said anything wrong juz now??  sweat.gif
oh yah, just re-read your previous post. that wasn't a question at all, my bad tongue.gif sweat.gif
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 09:59 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

nice bro. u won't be dissapointed
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 10:44 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(Abyssio @ Mar 2 2009, 10:29 PM)
Incredibly they actually FIXED my burned 8800gtx! So i yank out the 4870 and slot in the 8800gtx and guess what: 20 f***ing fps increase in gta 4 benchmarking test! Ati is really a worthless son of a prostitute.

So do i need to totally remove the crappy ati driver to avoid conflict with my new nvidia driver? I already uninstalled the catalyst control center.

Hail Nvidia!
Or u can use driver sweeper smile.gif
metsatsu
post Mar 2 2009, 10:53 PM

Chocolate Starfish
2,510 posts

QUOTE(owikh84 @ Mar 2 2009, 10:02 PM)
I believe there are one or two heatpipes missing on the 55nm and has less copper in the heatsink. That being said, people are making too much out of it, both the 65nm and the 55nm heatsinks work just fine and run about the same temps. The fact that a smaller die size runs the same temp is a bad thing. It should be cooler and more efficient.
looks more like less heatsink fin (notice the front part of the cooler) and the heatpipe also looks 'less' somehow

This post has been edited by metsatsu: Mar 2 2009, 10:59 PM

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0398sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:38 PM