Oct 20 2012, 11:47 PM
1,269 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(Listiani @ Oct 1 2012, 03:52 PM) Hi!! Bro, I am going to Jakarta & Bandung end of this month with my hubby & mother in law. It has been quite sometime I didn't go to Jakarta. My last trip was like 3-4 years ago. We will be staying at Akmani Hotel. May I chk with you if Plaza Indonesia, Grand Indonesia & Tanah Abang near to this hotel?? How far and how near?? If near, can we walk? Plaza Indonesia and Grand Indonesia are near to your hotel but you can't walk. Around 3-5KM, better take bluebird taxi. And for Tanah Abang, located in north Jakarta, a bit far maybe around 40k taxis fare. |
Oct 21 2012, 07:26 PM
306 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
You guys familiar with Tang City Mall areas? I be leaving to Tangerang in few days for a business visit. So my concern is about finding a decent nightlife spots and chicks.
Oct 27 2012, 12:41 AM
527 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Anyone know where to buy local souvenirs in Jakarta? Cheap and special one..
Oct 27 2012, 07:32 AM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
QUOTE(desmond_fantasy @ Oct 27 2012, 12:41 AM) Jakarta is not really a tourist city and it's not easy to find one location with all the souvenirs stalls like central market & etc.. The best in Jakarta is those malls and if lucky finding one wth souvenir shop.. One of the biggest is that... buiding wth Manchester United Club in Jl Tamrin (I forgotten the name dy.. but it's the oldest shopping mall in Jakarta if I;m not mistaken.. just opposite FX ctr and not far from Plaza Indonesia. |
Oct 27 2012, 10:20 PM
527 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 27 2012, 07:32 AM) Jakarta is not really a tourist city and it's not easy to find one location with all the souvenirs stalls like central market & etc.. The best in Jakarta is those malls and if lucky finding one wth souvenir shop.. One of the biggest is that... buiding wth Manchester United Club in Jl Tamrin (I forgotten the name dy.. but it's the oldest shopping mall in Jakarta if I;m not mistaken.. just opposite FX ctr and not far from Plaza Indonesia. Bro u mean Thamrin? ok. Thanks a lot |
Oct 29 2012, 04:11 AM
6 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Oct 29 2012, 07:51 AM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
Aha- Sarimah mall..the one wth Manchester United big logo in front haha.. the top floor is souvenir floor
Oct 30 2012, 10:28 PM
421 posts Joined: May 2007 |
ahhh, this thread is perfect for me..
hopefully i got time to read and do some google before this friday |
Dec 23 2012, 10:42 AM
7,948 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Soviet Sarawak |
i haven't read through this thread yet. gonna read it affter i post this
my travel date is 6/01 to 11/01 absolutely no plan, no hotels, no nothing only came to jakarta for weezer concert at stadium senayan on 08/01 - 6/1 arrived at 4pm jakarta, and 11/1 leaves at 1pm jakarta - wanna visit borobodur, dun mind paying air tickets from jakarta-yogya, but do i have the time? (train is 7 hours!!) - either that or visit krakatoa - how expensive and dangerous will it be? 1 day just to travel there by sea? - what can i do with this limited time? jakarta? around jakarta? bandung? - place to stay, cheap (since i'm not gonna stay whole day in hotel anyway, just to sleep at nigth) - but no hostels - can't stand smelly mat salleh (yeah, staed a couple time b4 with them, yuck!) - nice, clean, and SAFE hotel - no budget (read: unlimited, but i'm a cheapskate - 2 of us, both - needs indo sim kad, so gonna choose either telkomsat simpati or xl. which is better for 3g 1 week? not heavy user, just whatsapp (important to keep communication cost down) suggestion guys!!! This post has been edited by lucifah: Dec 23 2012, 10:45 AM |
Dec 30 2012, 02:35 AM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
hi,
welcome to indonesia. look at your schedule, you can visit yogya in 9th january. back to jakarta 10th january. or bandung 10th january, then to jakarta in the next day. you can use night train to yogya so you dont need to stay in hotel. but, you wont see the scenery along the trip. visiting krakatoa in rainy season maybe not advisable. if you have a day spare time, can visit bandung. if not, you can go to monas or tmii in jakarta. 3gb a week ? not too much ? there are many budget hotel in jakarta you can find. check agoda or booking. QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 23 2012, 09:42 AM) i haven't read through this thread yet. gonna read it affter i post this my travel date is 6/01 to 11/01 absolutely no plan, no hotels, no nothing only came to jakarta for weezer concert at stadium senayan on 08/01 - 6/1 arrived at 4pm jakarta, and 11/1 leaves at 1pm jakarta - wanna visit borobodur, dun mind paying air tickets from jakarta-yogya, but do i have the time? (train is 7 hours!!) - either that or visit krakatoa - how expensive and dangerous will it be? 1 day just to travel there by sea? - what can i do with this limited time? jakarta? around jakarta? bandung? - place to stay, cheap (since i'm not gonna stay whole day in hotel anyway, just to sleep at nigth) - but no hostels - can't stand smelly mat salleh (yeah, staed a couple time b4 with them, yuck!) - nice, clean, and SAFE hotel - no budget (read: unlimited, but i'm a cheapskate - 2 of us, both - needs indo sim kad, so gonna choose either telkomsat simpati or xl. which is better for 3g 1 week? not heavy user, just whatsapp (important to keep communication cost down) suggestion guys!!! |
Dec 30 2012, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(cakur @ Dec 30 2012, 02:35 AM) hi, hi cakurwelcome to indonesia. look at your schedule, you can visit yogya in 9th january. back to jakarta 10th january. or bandung 10th january, then to jakarta in the next day. you can use night train to yogya so you dont need to stay in hotel. but, you wont see the scenery along the trip. visiting krakatoa in rainy season maybe not advisable. if you have a day spare time, can visit bandung. if not, you can go to monas or tmii in jakarta. 3gb a week ? not too much ? there are many budget hotel in jakarta you can find. check agoda or booking. any recommendations on budget hotels near senayan, or jakarta tengah, specifically around stadion gelora bung karno? 7 & 8 / jan will be in jakarta, but with no plans. any recommendation on places nearby? edit: monas = muzeum nasional right? what is tmii -? i will definitely go to borobodur, fly from jakarta -joga on the 9th, overnight at manohara (pricey!), and join the sunrise borobodur tour on 10th morning. maybe can catch prabanam temple in the afternoon or the next morning This post has been edited by lucifah: Dec 30 2012, 08:53 AM |
Dec 30 2012, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 30 2012, 07:51 AM) hi cakur maybe you want to try batavia hotel. http://www.batavia-hotel.com/ not very far from senayan.any recommendations on budget hotels near senayan, or jakarta tengah, specifically around stadion gelora bung karno? 7 & 8 / jan will be in jakarta, but with no plans. any recommendation on places nearby? edit: monas = muzeum nasional right? what is tmii -? i will definitely go to borobodur, fly from jakarta -joga on the 9th, overnight at manohara (pricey!), and join the sunrise borobodur tour on 10th morning. maybe can catch prabanam temple in the afternoon or the next morning monas = monumen nasional. landmark of jakarta and indonesia. for 1 day trip, you can go to tmii (taman mini indonesia indah) www.tamanmini.com or taman safari www.bogor.tamansafari.com borobudur is indonesian landmark as well. you can visit prambanan also. a bit far though. |
Dec 30 2012, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(cakur @ Dec 30 2012, 05:12 PM) maybe you want to try batavia hotel. http://www.batavia-hotel.com/ not very far from senayan. batavia is a wayy above my budget. i'm looking for around 300k - 400k IDR rooms... monas = monumen nasional. landmark of jakarta and indonesia. for 1 day trip, you can go to tmii (taman mini indonesia indah) www.tamanmini.com or taman safari www.bogor.tamansafari.com borobudur is indonesian landmark as well. you can visit prambanan also. a bit far though. how far is prambanan from jogya? |
Dec 30 2012, 10:55 PM
you may try this one http://www.onyxresidence.com/
borobudur to prambanan can take 1 hour trip. you can go to candi ratu boko when visit prambanan. in this rainy season, you maybe cant visit borobudur and prambanan in one day comfortably. |
Dec 31 2012, 05:58 AM
4,261 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
If you are into cultural/religious monuments, don't miss out the Jakarta Cathedral and the Istiqlal Mosque, both a stone's throw away from MONAS.
The cathedral was built during the turn of the 20th century during the Dutch era. Very beautiful Neo-Gothic architecture, reminds you very much of the grand cathedrals in Europe. The Istiqlal Mosque was built as a symbol of Indonesian independence and its capacity as the world's largest Muslim-majority country. It is also Southeast Asia's largest mosque, which can accommodate up to 120,000 worshippers at any one time. Do check out the upper galleries/corridors surrounding the huge prayer hall - very airy and well-ventilated, and as cool as in an air-conditioned room despite having no air-con! Both the cathedral and the mosque are right opposite each other (the mosque's external carpark sometimes acts as the carpark for the worshippers at the cathedral during Sundays), together with the nearby grand Protestant Church, the Immanuel Church (worth a visit too with its Greek-Roman architecture and huge gardens) - these 3 symbolize the religious harmony of Indonesia, as propagated by the Pancasila, the Indonesian counterpart of our Rukun Negara. There's a nice souvenir shop at Grand Indonesia, with lots of quality products. Grand Indonesia easily blows away Malaysia's and Singapore's high-end malls - modern design, luxurious environment, spacious corridors, and great service and hospitality (the guards open doors for you everytime!) Jakarta Cathedral, built in 1901 ![]() Masjid Istiqlal, Southeast Asia's largest - commissioned by the Government and designed by an Indonesian Christian architect ![]() MONAS, Indonesia's independence monument ![]() Istiqlal Mosque (the huge domed building + minaret) and the Jakarta Cathedral (twin spires) seen from MONAS ![]() Fatahillah Museum (Jakarta History Museum), the former city hall (stadhuis) of the Dutch colonial government, Kota Tua area (Old Jakarta) ![]() Dutch-influenced townhouses at Fatahillah Square, Kota Tua Jakarta ![]() Borobudur, Central Java - a UNESCO World Heritage Site ![]() This post has been edited by europology: Dec 31 2012, 06:13 AM |
Dec 31 2012, 06:07 AM
4,261 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 30 2012, 05:49 PM) batavia is a wayy above my budget. i'm looking for around 300k - 400k IDR rooms... 20 mins by Transjogja buses (the RapidKL-equaivalent in Yogyakarta) on smooth traffic days. Prambanan can be easily reached as it is located within Yogya city, unlike Borobudur which is 1.5 hrs away from the city.how far is prambanan from jogya? If you have a student card (local/foreign unis), you'll get 50% off for visits to both Borobudur and Prambanan. Show it at the counter, and you'll get the student price of USD7 (normal price for foreign visitors is USD15) - that's a lot of savings! Don't worry about being no longer a student - they won't check you on that. If they do happen to ask, just insist that you're still a student! This post has been edited by europology: Dec 31 2012, 06:19 AM |
Dec 31 2012, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(europology @ Dec 31 2012, 05:58 AM) whoa... nice places, esp the borobodurAdded on December 31, 2012, 9:23 am QUOTE(cakur @ Dec 30 2012, 10:55 PM) you may try this one http://www.onyxresidence.com/ onyxresident looks promising. thanks...borobudur to prambanan can take 1 hour trip. you can go to candi ratu boko when visit prambanan. in this rainy season, you maybe cant visit borobudur and prambanan in one day comfortably. hopefully it's a sunny day in borobodur. spent a lot of money just to get there, since i'm on a very tight schedule... This post has been edited by lucifah: Dec 31 2012, 09:23 AM |
Dec 31 2012, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(lucifah @ Dec 31 2012, 08:20 AM) whoa... nice places, esp the borobodur depends on your flight, you can visit borobudur in the first day in yogya. next morning go to prambanan and return to jakarta.Added on December 31, 2012, 9:23 am onyxresident looks promising. thanks... hopefully it's a sunny day in borobodur. spent a lot of money just to get there, since i'm on a very tight schedule... Added on January 1, 2013, 2:26 amhappy new year 2013 for everyone. This post has been edited by cakur: Jan 1 2013, 02:26 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0257sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:37 PM |