there is no original anime selling in malaysia

SUSrainy~days
post Feb 18 2012, 07:16 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(syockit @ Feb 18 2012, 11:52 AM)
In Malaysia, VBG is the licensee. Licensing is done per country/region basis. Packaging and number of episodes of original product for each country/region may vary.

I'll try asking about that next time.

Although given the rights to copy and distribute One Piece episodes, they won't necessarily produce the same DVD as the licensee in Japan (avex movie) does. In fact, if they want, they can have two licensees in Japan, each with their own style of packaging, with different bonus contents. It's just that it doesn't make sense to do so.

Hmmm this might spell trouble. Copyright of Pixiv artwork is owned by both pixiv (for only on pixiv.net) and the artist (for anywhere else). And if the video is taken from tv airing, then the tv station holds partial copyright (IANAL so I can't confirm this) for any overlays.
If Toei knows their license is being used for infringing copyright of others, they might revoke it.

I think I'll send the next e-mail next Monday. I'll ask about:
1) How many episodes/seasons the license is valid for,
2) Usage of content from third party without permission (I don't have my own proof for this though), including fan-arts and TV airings,
3) Sale to other regions

Got anything else to ask?
1) Packaging must use the artwork provided specially for each season or movie and gain design approval from japan HQ.
2) The content of the DVD should be DVD version video, not TV version with TV logo and earthquake or storm announcement happening at japan.
3) Licensee can release content faster than the official content release date? licensee can only be slower or release date on the same day as the official japan release date.

the artwork is from the one piece movie strong world, not for tv series usage. (Eiichiro Oda specially design this special outfit for the movie strong world)
there is no copyright disclaimer for Eiichiro Oda and Toei
nhy7bgt6
post Feb 19 2012, 12:43 AM

Hmmmm....
This thread starts to get interesting with the mail from Toei
syockit
post Feb 19 2012, 12:48 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(rainy~days @ Feb 18 2012, 07:16 PM)
1) Packaging must use the artwork provided specially for each season or movie and gain design approval from japan HQ.
Covered in point 2 of question I'm going to ask.
2) The content of the DVD should be DVD version video, not TV version with TV logo and earthquake or storm announcement happening at japan.
Depending on the wording of the license, licensee can produce any version as long as it's from the master copy provided by Toei. If Toei chose to release to VBG only the old master copy used for TV air, then they have to make do with it.
Regarding logo, various announcement telops, that will also be covered in point 2. It could prove that VBG never used master copy.
3) Licensee can release content faster than the official content release date? licensee can only be slower or release date on the same day as the official japan release date.
I don't understand what you are saying. By "official content release date", do you mean Japan licensee's release date? Release date of Japan DVD is not determined by Toei only. It also depends on Avex Movie (Japan licensee). Because release by VBG is, in Malaysia, also official content. If Toei allows earlier release by other licensees, then it's possible for VBG to release latest episodes earlier. Anyway, this will be covered in point 1 (regarding number of episodes the license is valid for)

the artwork is from the one piece movie strong world, not for tv series usage. (Eiichiro Oda specially design this special outfit for the movie strong world)
there is no copyright disclaimer for Eiichiro Oda and Toei

There is a general disclaimer there, so both Oda-sensei or Toei probably won't nitpick on this one. As for the artwork usage, I don't think Toei cares, but Oda-sensei may care, and if he does, he can complain directly to Toei. Therefore, this matter won't be in my e-mail. If you think this misuse of artwork will diminish the good name of One Piece, try reporting to Oda-sensei directly about this. (better if you complain directly to VBG first. doubt they'll listen though…)
SUSrainy~days
post Feb 19 2012, 04:56 AM

296 posts

Depending on the wording of the license, licensee can produce any version as long as it's from the master copy provided by Toei. If Toei chose to release to VBG only the old master copy used for TV air, then they have to make do with it.

Regarding logo, various announcement telops, that will also be covered in point 2. It could prove that VBG never used master copy.
the logo and announcement appeared during TV show is added by the television station themselves. This means that even if toei give VBG the master copy the TV station is using, there won't be any logo or announcements in that master copy that VBG will be receiving. It will be a clean master copy without any logos or announcements.

this can only happen when you download from the internet and use it as the master copy.

I don't understand what you are saying. By "official content release date", do you mean Japan licensee's release date? Release date of Japan DVD is not determined by Toei only. It also depends on Avex Movie (Japan licensee). Because release by VBG is, in Malaysia, also official content. If Toei allows earlier release by other licensees, then it's possible for VBG to release latest episodes earlier. Anyway, this will be covered in point 1 (regarding number of episodes the license is valid for)

Licensee can never release anything earlier than the official release date approved by master licensor.
There is a global release date, this is to protect other licensee throughout the world and the main licensor. Licensee can only release slower, but never faster than the main licensor.

Never any dvd or blu-ray release should release this quick after tv station airing date, VBG is releasing the dvd after every four episode TV airing broadcast.

Japan is the main profit market, they need to secure the main profit market first. VBG release currently overtake Japan DVD release date nearly 50 episodes and selling it at RM16.90

There is a general disclaimer there, so both Oda-sensei or Toei probably won't nitpick on this one. As for the artwork usage, I don't think Toei cares, but Oda-sensei may care, and if he does, he can complain directly to Toei. Therefore, this matter won't be in my e-mail. If you think this misuse of artwork will diminish the good name of One Piece, try reporting to Oda-sensei directly about this. (better if you complain directly to VBG first. doubt they'll listen though…)

this is added on the few box of the VBG design.

(©EIICHIRO ODA/SHUEISHA, TOEI ANIMATION)

It's a must to include the author and toei logo to protect the author and company copyright owner, creative copyright is very important in this industries.
easier reference, you can look at the figurine box you purchase. It will have the character author and the company copyright owner.

Artwork is an important asset in creative industries, since Oda-sensei allowed Toei to publish his works. Toei is responsible protect Oda-sensei works.
syockit
post Mar 6 2012, 02:20 PM

177 posts

10 working days passed, but no reply from Toei. So rainy~days, you've probably hit the jackpot.
Quazacolt
post Mar 6 2012, 09:18 PM

Riding couple
5,365 posts

QUOTE(syockit @ Mar 6 2012, 02:20 PM)
10 working days passed, but no reply from Toei. So rainy~days, you've probably hit the jackpot.
so is toei buttmad?
SUSrainy~days
post Mar 13 2012, 01:46 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(syockit @ Mar 6 2012, 02:20 PM)
give Toei the final blow~~ whistling.gif

you can refer Toei their websites too thumbup.gif

seems that they get the merchandise from this taiwan company

http://www.e-muse.com.tw/

This post has been edited by rainy~days: Mar 13 2012, 01:46 PM
Silencers
post Mar 13 2012, 02:42 PM

73 posts

Wasn't the bootleg/import loophole discussed in this thread before?
What these Malaysian anime distributors do is basically this

1. Taiwan/HK/Whatever boolegs the anime
2. Claims to own distributing license/rights whatever
3. Malaysian companies import these things from Taiwan
4. tell the Govt that they are importing a legitimately licensed product
5. ???
6. PROFIT.

Of course, Malaysian gahmen cannot accuse the Taiwan companies of selling bootleg shit because obviously Malaysian law doesn't apply to Taiwan. And that's how you get cheap anime DVDs that are filled with fansubs downloaded for free from the Internet.
DrBlueBox
post Mar 13 2012, 02:57 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Silencers @ Mar 13 2012, 02:42 PM)
What these Malaysian anime distributors do is basically this

1. Taiwan/HK/Whatever boolegs the anime
2. Claims to own distributing license/rights whatever
3. Malaysian companies import these things from Taiwan
4. tell the Govt that they are importing a legitimately licensed product
5. ???
6. PROFIT.

Of course, Malaysian gahmen cannot accuse the Taiwan companies of selling bootleg shit because obviously Malaysian law doesn't apply to Taiwan. And that's how you get cheap anime DVDs that are filled with fansubs downloaded for free from the Internet.
Hmm seeing that AFKL is having an American voice actor as their GoH, how many fans in Malaysia that actually import their animes from the US?

syockit
post Mar 13 2012, 03:09 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(rainy~days @ Mar 13 2012, 01:46 PM)
you can refer Toei their websites too  thumbup.gif
I've included the links in my last mail (3 weeks ago), asking whether they had rights to release episodes that were just aired, and whether they had rights to export to other countries. And I pointed out that VBG's 'official' distributor, AnimationLV, sells to Japan as well.

QUOTE(Silencers @ Mar 13 2012, 02:42 PM)
The problem is that VBG is an official licensee. But they misused the license.
Silencers
post Mar 13 2012, 03:59 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(DrBlueBox @ Mar 13 2012, 02:57 PM)
Hmm seeing that AFKL is having an American voice actor as their GoH, how many fans in Malaysia that actually import their animes from the US?
Animax show anime in english dub.
DrBlueBox
post Mar 13 2012, 04:01 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Silencers @ Mar 13 2012, 03:59 PM)
Animax show anime in english dub.

They are using Singaporean dubbers, not US. And Animax don't even list the names

testinglabha
post Jun 25 2020, 03:54 PM

110 posts

Hi, I come across this post and I have question about buying Anime from US then ship them to Malaysia,

I just wonder:
1. Does Malaysia Custom permit and won't confiscate Anime blu-ray disc that ship from US?

2. Will Malaysia Custom charge any additional tax for Anime blu-ray disc?

Actually I plan to purchase quite lot blu-ray disc box set (Age Rating: 16+) from RightStufAnime,

they all cost around USD 1215, so I just wonder if Malaysia Custom will allow them to be ship to Malaysia?

will really Appreciate if you can share with me your experience, thanks!
Samuelnugget P
post Oct 15 2020, 11:16 PM

Probation

Does buying it from anime events conventions also means your buying from bootleg?

18 Pages « < 16 17 18Top

0.0192sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:22 AM