there is no original anime selling in malaysia

DrBlueBox
post Dec 25 2011, 09:21 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Silencers @ Dec 25 2011, 07:54 PM)
http://canta-per-me.net/2011/10/%E3%80%8Ef...st-1-announced/

That's approximately RM 1,600, amounting to about RM 125+ per TV episode. Let's assume you can afford to pay for it - would you value an anime enough to pay for it at this price? If you were the owner of such content, how much would you charge for each episode, taking business sense into account and all?

Another example is the Kara no Kyoukai BD box, retailed at JPY 52500 for 8 movies, that's approximately RM 2100+, or RM 260+ per theatrical movie.

Depends. This for me is how they think Japanese fans would value the work that they did, and are willing to pay for it. Then again, you are not counting that this also includes extra stuffs eg: scenes/audio/behind the scene/artbook or such which would be a collectors item.

For me even if I have the money it's not worth it since I don't treasure the extra stuffs that they include with the set, but if a local company would license the series, and release a cheap version without the extras, then why not?
DrBlueBox
post Mar 13 2012, 02:57 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Silencers @ Mar 13 2012, 02:42 PM)
Wasn't the bootleg/import loophole discussed in this thread before?
What these Malaysian anime distributors do is basically this

1. Taiwan/HK/Whatever boolegs the anime
2. Claims to own distributing license/rights whatever
3. Malaysian companies import these things from Taiwan
4. tell the Govt that they are importing a legitimately licensed product
5. ???
6. PROFIT.

Of course, Malaysian gahmen cannot accuse the Taiwan companies of selling bootleg shit because obviously Malaysian law doesn't apply to Taiwan. And that's how you get cheap anime DVDs that are filled with fansubs downloaded for free from the Internet.
Hmm seeing that AFKL is having an American voice actor as their GoH, how many fans in Malaysia that actually import their animes from the US?

DrBlueBox
post Mar 13 2012, 04:01 PM

789 posts

QUOTE(Silencers @ Mar 13 2012, 03:59 PM)
Animax show anime in english dub.

They are using Singaporean dubbers, not US. And Animax don't even list the names

0.0148sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:07 AM