> |Studying| - |Working| - |living| in Aus (v.2), Aus mamak~ Chat

wodenus
post Jun 6 2010, 11:10 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Jun 6 2010, 10:06 PM)
yea so happy that the rate drop...just change some up...hope it drops more cause im going to buy a car soon hehe

Added on June 6, 2010, 10:08 pm15c in perth nao...chilling with a cup of teh tarik...woohoo
That must rock.. 15c is great weather for teh tarik.. hey you can get TT in Aust? smile.gif

wodenus
post Jun 8 2010, 12:09 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jun 6 2010, 11:20 PM)
Best way to make TT is to use a pot and do it with tea powder and milk. Preferbly cheap indian tea. Bestttt...

1) cook until slightly light and bubly
2) filter out the tea powder and squeeze it in the filter until the color is right
3) tarik if you like
4) add sugar
but what kind of tea? and what kind of milk?

This post has been edited by wodenus: Jun 8 2010, 12:11 PM
wodenus
post Jun 8 2010, 01:24 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Amoureuse @ Jun 8 2010, 12:39 PM)
LOL.

I've never even had teh tarik before.
Scary lol smile.gif
wodenus
post Jun 8 2010, 01:24 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jun 8 2010, 01:19 PM)
Cheap no-name one you find at indian shop oso cukup. It's usually a mixture of left over teas.

Milk use full cream. Norco, Dairy Farmers, Devondale, Cap Cocos, up to you.
Full-cream milk? fresh or powdered? how much tea and how much milk? why not write a recipe lol... I'd love to figure out how to make it smile.gif

This post has been edited by wodenus: Jun 8 2010, 01:25 PM
wodenus
post Jan 4 2011, 11:17 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(rickrick @ Nov 19 2010, 12:55 AM)
wher to get good asian mens haircut around $15 to $30 in perth? Good haircuts !!
and please dun tell me go north bridge etc-etc, i need names !!
$15-30? that's how much it costs to get your hair cut?

wodenus
post Jan 5 2011, 11:28 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 5 2011, 11:22 PM)
u got wat, PR? lol
Ada wang, ada PR smile.gif

wodenus
post Jan 5 2011, 11:34 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 5 2011, 07:55 PM)
HAHA they dont do it in person anymore? good luck. it'll probably take 4 months for the whole process now
generally haircuts cost $20 in syd.

and that's just your normal salon
Wow, it must suck to make $60,000 a year and have to pay $20 for a haircut.

wodenus
post Jan 5 2011, 11:40 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 5 2011, 11:36 PM)
u get taxed 35cents out of every $ u make plus 5k a year
35% + 5K a year? so the take-home pay for someone that makes $60,000 a year is ($60,000 x 65%) - 5000 = $34,000?

wodenus
post Jan 5 2011, 11:47 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jan 5 2011, 11:45 PM)
at least the higher tax u pay to the government is efficiently in use for proper comunity upgrading and services. you can notice things changing and u can enjoy the benefits. where does all your tax go in msia?
It goes towards managing inflation? I dunno.

wodenus
post Jan 5 2011, 11:48 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 5 2011, 11:42 PM)
o sry it's only 30% + 4k+ for 60k earners.

not including super btw
So $38,000? and what is super?

wodenus
post Jan 5 2011, 11:50 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 5 2011, 11:48 PM)
ok the govt efficiency shite again. me and empire keep giving shit to the govt every few pages but it seems no one reads.

australia is still largely backwater with shitty infrastructure coverage and internet infrastructure for the amount of tax it charges. it all goes to hobos living off centrelink.
But you want to live there?
wodenus
post Jan 5 2011, 11:53 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 5 2011, 11:49 PM)
EPF. u may choose to contribute or not. generally u get taxed less if u contribute but u know its still money out your pocket every month until ur old
So, dollar for dollar, it seems skewed. I mean if you are paid Rm60K over here, you get to keep most of it. I don't think it's even 10% ex relief. And you can get your hair cut for Rm8.

Why doesn't someone start a sort of "indian barber shop" in Aust somewhere?

wodenus
post Jan 5 2011, 11:55 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 5 2011, 11:51 PM)
ok look at the points test system

http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-ski...y-applicant.htm

the page u posted was the general work and study requirement. since that does not apply for the 176 visa, it is moot.
So tell me why you want to live there despite having to pay $20 to get your hair cut? is the food cheap? or the houses or whatever?

wodenus
post Jan 6 2011, 12:12 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(johnkor @ Jan 6 2011, 12:03 AM)
i got mamak stall open till 4 am here ey  laugh.gif
I know at least two 24x7 mamak stalls in KL and PJ lol smile.gif

wodenus
post Jan 6 2011, 12:14 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jan 6 2011, 12:04 AM)
Cars are really cheapp!

Well you earn so much, you pay that much. but in the end, the aussie dollar is strong. and it enables you to afford to travel around.
Are the housing loans cheap? what about restrictions for PRs ?

wodenus
post Jan 6 2011, 12:15 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 6 2011, 12:13 AM)
social security? i guess so. but that's also debatable. u get some seriously crazy crimes regularly. drive-bys, murders, stabbings. stabbings are so common its not even funny.
it depends. it's generally safer but u still wont want to be at some places at night.
Same as KL now actually smile.gif it's not safe to be in the city center after midnight smile.gif

wodenus
post Jan 6 2011, 12:17 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jan 6 2011, 12:14 AM)
australia have a minimum wage rule. and labours get compensated pretty well. I think that's fair.
I earn 17$ as a waitress. How much could i have earned in msia as a wait staff? . so yeah it's pretty much the same thing. u earn lesser in msia u spend lesser. U earn a bit more here u spend a bit more. but the aussie dollar is much stronger than msia RM. so generally going back to msia is like heaven. and i feel like i'm a million bucks.
Do you get a lot of holidays as a waitress? how many days vacation a year? and how much do you have left over after expenses?

wodenus
post Jan 6 2011, 12:21 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jan 6 2011, 12:17 AM)
oh i dont know bout that. as i am also currently working on my PR. smile.gif
but what i heard is that, the interest is pretty low.

but i do know that you get a 10k 1st home buyer grant when you purchase your 1st house in Aussie.
Sounds like fun. but how much do they cost? and what is the commute time etc. ? and how much free time do you have? can a waitress realistically expect to own a house in a good neighborhood (i.e a safe one with modern conveniences and a short commute to her workplace) in her lifetime?

wodenus
post Jan 6 2011, 12:36 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jan 6 2011, 12:25 AM)
well for the place that i work at.. i can work any amount of days i want in a week. we have to write down our availabilities every week. and my boss would do the roster. and if i am going for a vacation, i'd just have to let her know.

So you'd just be like... I'm going to Malaysia tomorrow, and she'd be like "ok" ? this would be great to implement here, but what if it so happens she is short-handed one day?

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jan 6 2011, 12:25 AM)
I work about  20-30 hours / few days a week. pretty laid back. have plenty of time on my hands. and still save enough to get a car in a few months and to go around malaysia, singapore and indonesia.

If you had to pay rent though would you be able to travel? and would you be able to afford a house on your salary?

wodenus
post Jan 6 2011, 12:49 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jan 6 2011, 12:34 AM)
if you are a full time waitress in a nice well known franchised restaurant, you could prolly earn around 20$ per hour. if you work like 40 hours a week, so you get $700 a week give or take minus tax. ?? i am not sure. i'm just a part time.

as for owning a house to yourself without sharing with anyone. i guess it is possible but it would take a much longer time than professionals. and you would be more restricted. might not even save much or save at all. depending if you're single or married. it's really hard to say. and it realy depends on the individual.

but you can always buy the house. pay the mortage and rent some rooms to people or even friends. that will definitely help out a lot. and if you have a spouse, he/she can always help out. like paying 50 50.
my bro's gonna get married in 2 years. so i better save all my pennies for that rainy day! hopefully, i could save enough to get a house by then!
So in two years you can save enough to buy a house in a good safe neighborhood with conveniences nearby? a bank would extend a housing loan for a nice large house in a safe neighborhood (with modern conveniences and short commute) to a waitress?

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.1213sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:40 AM