> |Studying| - |Working| - |living| in Aus (v.2), Aus mamak~ Chat

empire23
post Jun 12 2010, 05:59 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Amoureuse @ Jun 12 2010, 05:56 PM)
i know sad.gif

everyone's prob studying which is something i should go back to doing.
I'm posting on LYN about curb stomping animals. Which is a neat job, just that when winter comes, business isn't good sad.gif
empire23
post Jun 12 2010, 06:25 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(spacelion @ Jun 12 2010, 06:16 PM)
i got flamed on that thread, must change stance already >.<
Balanced stance iz always best.
empire23
post Jun 14 2010, 01:17 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Jun 14 2010, 12:49 AM)
anyone knows/recommend me good and of cause cheap dentistry in melbourne?

or like medibank plan or smtg? im on OSHC now but expires in july, thinking to get the one with dental la if my pain can go away in 1 month lol..

cause i need to do root canal :s

Not all dental plans include complex surgeries like a root canal. And most impose a time limit before you can make any claims.
empire23
post Jun 14 2010, 01:24 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Jun 14 2010, 01:23 AM)
OMFG... bad news worser and worser sigh..somemore exam time now...

any recommendation or roughly price guide? dont want to get con... sigh sad.gif
Generally it's up to you. I use Mondial.

For teeth my advice is buy tickets, fly back, get teeth done, fly back again. It will still come out cheaper : tongue.gif
empire23
post Jun 15 2010, 10:09 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ Jun 15 2010, 10:02 PM)
BOYCOTT BOOST PLEASE. GET AMOUR RETRENCHED.
Sappork. Say tak nak to boost juice.

The best 2 drinks evar are Red Bull and Mt Franklin (which tastes like Malaysian pipe water......my favourite!)
empire23
post Jun 17 2010, 10:09 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 17 2010, 11:22 AM)
i know that 1
just wondering do u need to pay the full fee of the visa and do medical check up again?
1) Yes. You will have to pay the full fee for the visa. Should be about 480.

2) Depends. Was your last medical done more than one year ago? If yes, you will have to redo. Call medibank, they should be able to book you in.
empire23
post Jun 17 2010, 10:31 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 17 2010, 10:17 PM)
1) i check back and it cost $540
2) 1 year +..i try to look whether i need redo or not if i done it before after 12 months but no result found. only says some can use back if u bla bla...nvr mention about validity...

all these can easily cost me $800  sad.gif
You'll probably need to redo those medicals then. Suggest you make a booking fast. Wait times can be a month plus sometimes.

Oh yeah, remember to request a new ECoE.
empire23
post Jun 17 2010, 10:51 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 17 2010, 10:34 PM)
yup.thats what i've been told by advisor.so i just try my luck at here to c i can skip some fees or not..
i want to wait until finish exam only do medical thing..too bad OSHC nvr cover visa medical checkup sad.gif

Added on June 17, 2010, 10:35 pmn u know how much will it cost for medical?
Will cost about 200 bucks.

QUOTE(spacelion @ Jun 17 2010, 10:45 PM)
no, the medical is paid for around the same time you apply for visa. after you get visa then settle the new ecoe.
Better to ask for a new ECoE or not the application will "tergantung" for a bit.

For the speediest replacement, book visa medicals, a week before the medicals, ask for a new ECoE, then do your medicals, you should have your ECoE before your medicals are done.

When you apply for a new visa, the system will ask for your ECoE, key it in and get your TRF. Call IMMI, quote your TRF and ask for a case officer and send the medicals in. And you should get your visa in 2-3 days.

If you want even faster, deliver medicals by hand to local immi office and make application all at the same time.
empire23
post Jun 18 2010, 10:42 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

A SOL type visa depending on what occupation you're nominating is usually faster. Mining Engineers in high demand areas usually get their PR processed in 3 months, with a job offer and state sponsorship, 3 weeks or less. Overall it depends on the you're nominating, the amount of other people in the same category, your geographical location (they give higher priority to regionals) and so forth.
empire23
post Jun 18 2010, 11:51 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Jun 18 2010, 11:48 AM)
oh ic ic,,,agent expensive la...
hmmmm..by everytime also change new law la.. new list la..new SOL effective 1st July =="

if graduate from IT ( biz ) and nominate that, do I have to work in that field? no more feel for it la...
Is there IT Biz on the list in the first place? Most people fail to consider that and go WTF WHY IS MY OCCUPATION NOT ON THE LIST?! And no, you don't have to work in your nominated occupation if you're applying for an independent PR.

Don't need to use an agent, waste of money. DIY is best. If you can read and understand simple english, you're overqualified. If you need docs certified, just go to a post office.

This post has been edited by empire23: Jun 18 2010, 11:55 AM
empire23
post Jun 18 2010, 01:57 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Jun 18 2010, 12:40 PM)
hmmm, from the link given previously by fellow forumer,
the best suits me is ICT Business Analyst ..the rest is more like programmer..

but i see the new list or whatever the list is...different story....different name

Added on June 18, 2010, 12:41 pmoh...  u guys' advise would be to apply for the Skill PR instead of Remaining Relative one?
I suggest you look it up with the relevant vetting authority. Usually an ICT business analyst has a depth in business management and econs. Send your degree to the ACS and see what they have to say. They have the final say in the matter. I can say i'm an electronics engineer, but if EngAus says i'm a electrical, i'm electrical.

It's up to you really, most of us here can only choose skilled PR, also depends on what you get from the vetting agency.
empire23
post Jul 17 2010, 06:21 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

Ayam nao in Cardiff. So sad, food here is even worse than Aus.
empire23
post Jul 30 2010, 02:42 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Jul 30 2010, 02:13 PM)
Thanks for your reply,

Yes, my occupation is under the SOL and no, i do not have an Aus qualification(no extra point for me) but i took the test and manage to score 125 point (If i pass my IELTS).

Stop taking application?? That a real sad news for me and my partner.

b3ta,

Mind share your experience with me on the application, from "google-ing" it might took up to 12 months to get it done.

It cost like RM18k for the total cost (1st instalment-$2575 &  2nd instalment-$3575) rclxub.gif

i never been to OZ, please tell me how life there thumbup.gif
12 months is if you're lucky. And hopefully you're lucky that the wrong person doesn't win the election. Tony Abbot wants to clamp down on applications. Off shore applications are given the lowest priority, the average wait is 2 years and if your application is rejected all fees are non-refundable.

The minister for immigration was also recently given powers to set quotas as required and reject applications based on need.

You have to also prove you have the funds to live in Aus, which requires a certain deposit for a certain amount of time.

Your qualification being accepted depends on the vetting agency. You will have to write a something like a report, attach references, job scopes and all (should total 15 to 20 pages), your degree transcripts and you most likely will have to attend an interview. Pray that your interviewer is in a good mood. Also, your IELTS score required depends on the job you nominate. Engineers have a minimum requirement of Band 7 in IELTS to nominate their occupation, this is an EngAUS requirement, contact your vetting agency for more details.

Life......well......depends on where you live of course. I live regional, so it's redneckville for me, doesn't really bother me, i have thick skin so racial abuse isn't an issue, the weekly "fukken asian" "GTFO foreigner" is the usual, you learn to live with it.
empire23
post Jul 31 2010, 04:17 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Jul 31 2010, 03:56 PM)
Thanks for your reply empire23, anyway….

2 years??? 12 months if I am lucky?? Wow!

Mr. empire23, may I know how is your process of your application? Can you share with me, how your application process take place and does its took more than 12 months? Actually even 12 months is a very long time for me and if I got rejected, the entire 1st instalment will go “bye bye”.  AUD 3k is a tonne of money for me ……

Will the minister for immigration reject my application even I get 120 point or above??

15 to 20 pages of report including an interview?? This is getting harder and harder each time I get more information.

Racial abuse isn't an issue for me as well.
Yeah, my friend onshore with a MEng from UQ, in a high demand occupation and work experience took 9 months to get his. Offshore apps are dem long.

As for me i'm just waiting for a letter from my Uni. I do all the documentation myself and skip the overcharging migration agents. Paying them 2 to 3 thousand dollars to stamp my docs when i can do it at Auspost for 50 cents a page is insanity.

It is up to the minister, you can score a bazillion points but if his wife didn't secks him last night and he lowers the quota or freezes applications, you're in deep shit.

Generally the EngAus system is like this. If you have an overseas degree you must.

1) Send over a few things,

First you need to request certification of your qualifications for your chosen ASCO code. (NOTE : They choose the ASCO code, not you. Again i don't suggest antagonizing them will calls, they might just give you a 30 point ASCO code for being annoying)

You'll need Certified copies of (must be a JP, judge, lawyer, Commissioner of oaths), these must include the Stamp, the Name and the contact details of the one that signs.

They usually charge about 500 dollars.

- Your final degree cert
- Your final degree transcript (lists all subjects, your grades)
- Description of subjects and their scope
- Any supporting evidence required

2) You'll usually get a reply requesting that you provide a report in regards to your duties and work. They'll give you a short summary of what you're required to write.

3) After that you'll have to fly to Aus on a tourist visa and go for an interview with a peer review board.

4) Ok, now you can nominate your occupation.
empire23
post Aug 1 2010, 11:55 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(likimikuku @ Aug 1 2010, 04:55 PM)

Really appreciate your reply.

It sound like tonne of hard work just to get your qualification certify and again, it cost so much.
BTW, would it make any different if my cert is from UK?? Do i need to certify it in UK or this process will be applicable to all??

The 2nd part will be alright and as for 3rd part.... i hate interview.... vmad.gif

All that just for nominate my occupation in the SOL list??

Thanks bro,

Keep us update on your application and BTW, which SOL are you on?
You will need to certify it in Australia. But you might need documentation from the UK in case you lost it.

Yes. That's just 1 step. Just to nominate your occupation on the SOL list.

My SOL is Electrical Engineer.
empire23
post Aug 2 2010, 12:25 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 2 2010, 12:03 AM)
icon_question.gif ? notworthy.gif
1) Suggest you get going to the ACS website and jump through all the hoops
2) Book your IELTS test
3) Go to your nearest Malaysian consulate and request a Certificate of Good Conduct

Then apply for your TR as a Recognized Graduate.

All of these can be found on the immi website.
empire23
post Aug 13 2010, 06:44 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Aug 3 2010, 06:29 PM)
anyone know how much points can i get from my sister whom is pr ( but my parents are in msia and not pr : so i cant get family visa )??
None.

You must be sponsored by an eligible relative if you do not have a nomination from a participating state or territory government.
Note: There are no points awarded for eligible relative sponsorship.

Just figure out the immi site, it's pretty understandable.
empire23
post Aug 22 2010, 03:33 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(fivesquared @ Aug 22 2010, 03:22 PM)
With 2 years professional experience in a high demand job (under SOL) and a booming industry (o&g), what are the chances of getting a PR if I pursue a 2-year masters in australia with a non-australian first degree?

Upon completion of the 2-year course, do you think it's possible for me to get a job there (with employer sponsorship) instead of going back home and wait for my offshore application?

Tq
Not easy. My cousin just did 1 year of full time part timing working as a waitress and so forth before landing a 6 month contract with Santos.

If you don't have any insiders, it's effin hard to get a job. Find someone high up take em out for a few drinks and chance goes waaaay higher without the need to waste 2 years.

Either way i applied for my PR and they're yet to pass me a case officer. Here's to hoping they finish fast (Most onshorers get it in 1 year, during that time your profession can vary to flipping burgers at hungry jacks to farm work since no one will hire you without PR)

This post has been edited by empire23: Aug 22 2010, 03:35 PM
empire23
post Aug 22 2010, 06:01 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(fivesquared @ Aug 22 2010, 05:44 PM)
Thanks for the info. Your cousin did his postgrad there as well?

Well, i actually know some insiders there since my current employer has a branch over there. Just worried that taking 2 years off from what I'm currently doing will end up a waste of time and money..it's effin expensive to do a postgrad in aussie...
My cousin did her whole undergrad there.

You're better off asking for a job there and sponsorship from your company, but they have to do the paperwork to prove that they can't hire a comparable person in Australia and conduct a job search.

Post grad will cost you on average about 60k for 2 years, living expenses, about 25k if you live like a pauper in the city, your PR fee (assuming you have no dependents) about 3k with all the extra costs (no lawyer), if you want a job, you will have to buy a car so that's another 7k for a cheap clunker. Also your degree must be considered acceptable by the vetting authority IF your Masters isn't accredited by Engineers Australia (Only 2 unis offer an accredited masters, Uni of Melbourne and Uni of Sydney), they will charge 440 for this, then they will issue you your ASCO code for migration, without them, you essentially have no chance.

So that's 95k AUD which should be around 300k ringgit. That's a huge sum by any stretch.
empire23
post Aug 22 2010, 06:33 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(fivesquared @ Aug 22 2010, 06:25 PM)
Well, really appreciate that mate. I didn't know that only 2 unis offer accredited masters and 95k aud is indeed a huge amount.

As you said, I think the safer bet is to ask for a job and sponsorship using my experience instead of taking a route not knowing where I'm actually heading to.

Actually i think Edith Cowan university offers an accredited Masters program as well. But that's in WA, WA is balls. If your masters program is unaccredited, you must go through a CDR (Competency Demonstration Report), where you write a stupid report and they check your uni/course out to see if it fits minimum requirements, which is a bit of a gamble in itself.

Best advice to give if you want the easy way in is that Ausfags love piss, cheap piss, expensive piss, doesn't matter as long as there's tons of it, cheap girls are a bonus biggrin.gif. That's how my friends landed their jobs. Go out with high rankers to the local for a few weeks, splash out on piss and then reap the benefits. I really LOL'D at people who think this country is somehow magically different than Malaysia.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » 

0.0491sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:21 AM