|Studying| - |Working| - |living| in Aus (v.2), Aus mamak~ Chat
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 10:55 PM
tiuu i duno wat u all reading. where got lah http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-ski...ive-sponsor.htmno need to be last remaining family member lah for PR. srsly do proper research 1st pls
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(y_owez @ Jan 5 2011, 11:59 PM) but i need to meet the 6 months limit for this right??? – you have been employed in a skilled occupation for at least 12 of the last 24 months OR you met the Australian study requirement in the last 6 months; and – the relevant assessing authority has assessed your skills as suitable for w which is fml too..sigh yea 6mth thing but not the relative thing
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 11:10 PM
886 is for ppl who studied 2 years. seriously. were u just too busy to look things up or sth. cos if u were serious about this there would have been plenty of time to settle everything.
if u know what u need it would take only about a week to settle all the docs, not incl vetassess, ielts n health check (before the msian high comm decided to pull the lol news on us)
p.s: if you've already passed your 6mth period then 176 it is for u. tough luck.
This post has been edited by b3ta: Jan 5 2011, 11:11 PM
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 11:22 PM
QUOTE(johnkor @ Jan 6 2011, 12:18 AM) b3ta i think is a tough luck for him here. i just got mine not long a go .thank god . u got wat, PR? lol
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 11:31 PM
johnkor got australia PR lol
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 11:35 PM
lol no 176 doesnt require the 2 years. it requires sponsorship
srsly. if ur not srs just come back, msia is awesome too
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 6 2011, 12:34 AM) Wow, it must suck to make $60,000 a year and have to pay $20 for a haircut. u get taxed 35cents out of every $ u make plus 5k a year
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 11:42 PM
o sry it's only 30% + 4k+ for 60k earners.
not including super btw
This post has been edited by b3ta: Jan 5 2011, 11:44 PM
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 11:48 PM
ok the govt efficiency shite again. me and empire keep giving shit to the govt every few pages but it seems no one reads.
australia is still largely backwater with shitty infrastructure coverage and internet infrastructure for the amount of tax it charges. it all goes to hobos living off centrelink.
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 11:49 PM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 6 2011, 12:48 AM) So $38,000? and what is super? EPF. u may choose to contribute or not. generally u get taxed less if u contribute but u know its still money out your pocket every month until ur old
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(y_owez @ Jan 6 2011, 12:49 AM) i get so confused http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-ski...ience-study.htmi still see the study requirement within 6 months as basic ok look at the points test system http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-ski...y-applicant.htmthe page u posted was the general work and study requirement. since that does not apply for the 176 visa, it is moot. This post has been edited by b3ta: Jan 5 2011, 11:52 PM
SUSb3ta
Jan 5 2011, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(y_owez @ Jan 6 2011, 12:56 AM) i can pass the 100 points but i cant 'tick' the 2 years study cuz of the 6 months and it says :Use the table below to assess your eligibility. You must meet all of the basic eligibility requirements and pass the points test. ??  why does it matter? they dont give u points for the 2 years study anyway this visa is for ppl who dont meet the 2 years study requirement but have the appropriate qualifications and a relative im not going to elaborate much more on that as i think i have done enough already its up to u whether to accept it or not. nevertheless i think 176 is the only way to go for u since uve passed the 6 mth period
SUSb3ta
Jan 6 2011, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jan 6 2011, 12:58 AM) oh well every country has its pros and cons. but aussie definitely winning msia here in terms of living standard and and lifestyle. i guess it all comes down to personal preference, I just like it here better.  ps: hobos are a BIG turn off! cant say that. lifestyle preference is quite subjective. if u cant live without ramli burgers and hawker stall foods etc then u'd still be suffering there it's the pros and cons outdoor lifestyle is defo better in aus, so are the concerts. but it doesnt mean malaysia loses out totally
SUSb3ta
Jan 6 2011, 12:06 AM
QUOTE(johnkor @ Jan 6 2011, 01:03 AM) i got mamak stall open till 4 am here ey  we have a mamak in sydney too but tell me how much u pay for ur roti kosong, and how good do they taste? acceptable? probably. fantastic? probably not when compared to stuff we have in msia. it's not hard to find msian food in aus. problem is theyre all just edible or average. for the truly orgasmic ones u still gona come back
SUSb3ta
Jan 6 2011, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jan 6 2011, 01:04 AM) Cars are really cheapp! Well you earn so much, you pay that much. but in the end, the aussie dollar is strong. and it enables you to afford to travel around. cars are cheap. maintenance is exp. as a matter of fact, everything related to services are expensive. i.e: restaurants, plumbers, electricians, dentists, mechanics, movers, etc u win some u lose some
SUSb3ta
Jan 6 2011, 12:13 AM
social security? i guess so. but that's also debatable. u get some seriously crazy crimes regularly. drive-bys, murders, stabbings. stabbings are so common its not even funny. it depends. it's generally safer but u still wont want to be at some places at night.
people are more polite yes, but i find them to be mostly 2 faced backstabbers. they put on airs around even ppl they dont like and be all nice n shit. but u never know what they really think. i think msians are more straightforward in that sense, although most msians are unfriendly pricks
This post has been edited by b3ta: Jan 6 2011, 12:15 AM
SUSb3ta
Jan 6 2011, 12:24 AM
but one thing i find the most glaringly different about msia and aus is that in msia, u get that sense of freedom and convenience. u get to speed without much worry, park in non designated spots, jaywalk, generally just do what u want without having to face very harsh consequences. not in aus. not that im a jerk tho, but sometimes, when it doesnt bother ppl, why not. that sense of freedom is felt even more in indonesia
sg feels very very restricted, much more than aus
This post has been edited by b3ta: Jan 6 2011, 12:26 AM
SUSb3ta
Jan 6 2011, 12:27 AM
QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jan 6 2011, 01:25 AM) well for the place that i work at.. i can work any amount of days i want in a week. we have to write down our availabilities every week. and my boss would do the roster. and if i am going for a vacation, i'd just have to let her know. as for the 2nd question, that's a pretty private ques. i'm not gonna tell you the exact figure. but i live with my bro. i dont pay rent which is of course awesome. I work about 20-30 hours / few days a week. pretty laid back. have plenty of time on my hands. and still save enough to get a car in a few months and to go around malaysia, singapore and indonesia. ah always good to have net income. enjoy it while it lasts
SUSb3ta
Jan 6 2011, 12:35 AM
QUOTE(MeruChan @ Jan 6 2011, 01:28 AM) which is why malaysia is at the top of the country with the highest accident rate. but yeh, i wasnt used to it when i first drove here, i didnt stop at the junction with a stop sign. and got a $300 penalty! and after that my mind just went blank! yea those are caused by many factors, but personally if i know i wont be bothering anyone, why cant i do something to make my life a little easier without having to worry about a slap in the face by the govt? im used to driving in aus and u do get used to it, but it still feels restrictive compared the shit ur allowed to do in msia. funny story. i once saw a car hit another car at a roundabout. i assume someone neglected to stop for the vehicle coming from the right, no one was actually alert enough and bam they hit each other. i was wondering to myself this wouldnt happen in msia cos we're all so used to not giving way to ppl at roundabouts anyway, we end up usually being more defensive on the road.
SUSb3ta
Jan 6 2011, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 6 2011, 01:36 AM) If you had to pay rent though would you be able to travel? and would you be able to afford a house on your salary? u'd be able to travel and own an old car but not afford a house. u can rent and that will be good. but most waiters/tresses are students or single mums looking to earn an extra buck. it's not something u'd wana live off really. unless ur a bum like alot of those bogans