AMD® Socket-AM2&AM2+ Overclocking V15, More to come..Becareful..

stardust_kkk
post Mar 27 2009, 04:40 AM

144 posts

sweat.gif i also doing assignment..boring..and tried to oc my ancient rig...
CPU : AMD Athlon X2 4800+ @3.125Ghz 1.36Vcore (Stock heat sink and stock thermal paste)
M/B : XFX 750a SLI
RAM: 2x2GB Kingston KVR DDR2-800
GC : M/B on board GC

kenot break brisbane 4800+ G2 record (second place only).. cry.gif sad
stardust_kkk
post Mar 27 2009, 11:04 AM

144 posts

TS, pls help me add my result to super PI 1M database..guess thats as far as i can go on stock cooler tongue.gif

Super PI 1M results
Score: 29.360
LYN Nick: stardust_kkk
Processor Model: Athlon X2 4800+ brisbane G2
Speed (HTT x Multi): 250 X 12.5 @ 3125mhz
Motherboards: XFX 750a SLI
Ram model & Capacity: 2X 2GB Kingston Value Ram 6400
Ram speed & timing: 893mhz @ 5-5-5-18 2T
Cooler model: AMD stock

stardust_kkk
post Mar 27 2009, 11:11 AM

144 posts

shinjun:
means its not stable i guess..mine also manage to complete superPI 1M after 3 try...( i guess the processor need some time to burn in at tat speed tongue.gif) hav u check the processor temperature while its running?? if its too high sure will hav blue screen..

This post has been edited by stardust_kkk: Mar 27 2009, 11:14 AM
stardust_kkk
post Mar 27 2009, 12:38 PM

144 posts

ur ram is kvr 667, the bios will select the best cpu:ram speed ratio to match it..and it will try to be less than 667 usually
stardust_kkk
post Mar 27 2009, 12:43 PM

144 posts

ic..then it should be 400...maybe u can check in bios to set the ratio manually.
its better for ur ram to be lower frequency if u wan to overclock..cause as u increase the FSB, the ram speed increases as well..
too bad my motherboard dun hav option to set the CPU:RAM ratio..at 3125mhz my ram running 893mhz..sad.gif dunno is my ram kenot take it or my processor kenot take it..tongue.gif
stardust_kkk
post Mar 27 2009, 12:46 PM

144 posts

bro..u using wat power supply?? sweat.gif +12V at 9.5V +5V at 3.03V??
u sure ur computer still working?? or the motherboard take the wrong reading??

stardust_kkk
post Mar 27 2009, 12:53 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(shinjun @ Mar 27 2009, 01:49 PM)
I think it's wrong reading, using FSP blue storm. smile.gif

[attachmentid=870153]

Look at the MSI software for the reading, it's different.
ic..try play around with the memory clock multiplier in the bios..tat might help ur ram back to normal..u need a ratio of cpu/7
2800/7=400
2800/9=311 is ur current speed
stardust_kkk
post Mar 27 2009, 12:57 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 27 2009, 01:55 PM)
sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

[attachmentid=870159]

everywhere wrong reading... crap sia...

well, the SidePort problem is not a big issue to me, since i ve loads of RAM... now juz waiting for Radeon HD 4770 to complete my setup...
AMD processor seems to always hav problem with the core temperature..mine core 1 core 2 report temperature was less than 20 degree when i was in a room of about 34degree.. sweat.gif
get use to it bro..
stardust_kkk
post Mar 27 2009, 01:05 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(fuzore @ Mar 27 2009, 01:55 PM)
damn that temp on stock cooler ke.... 58c @ 1.36 sweat.gif .... bro better get a good hsf 1st then continued ur ocing .....
QUOTE(fuzore @ Mar 27 2009, 02:02 PM)
well thats not quite true bro urs is Brisbane which is known for its not quite right temp reading plus different architechture and this is HEKA @k@ DENEB when 4th core is unlocked which was actually locked by purpose by AMD sure have some buggy in it...at least  icon_idea.gif
I read some article they said that the 4th core was damaged physically to disable it..so probably for tis case was the thermocouple was short circuited only.. tongue.gif

stardust_kkk
post Mar 28 2009, 02:37 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Mar 28 2009, 12:35 PM)
i ve read before that 980a is merely a slightly upgraded 780a...

there's no surprise in the spec...
sweat.gif tat is wat Nvidia expert at..take a 8800gts 512mb, sell it as 9800gtx, then sell it as 9800gtx+ again...now they selling it as GTS250..
now..780 sell as 980..next come 250 again..haha..
stardust_kkk
post Mar 28 2009, 04:37 PM

144 posts

how fun is it shinjun??
btw..might sell my XFX 750a SLI and X4800+ to fund for a 790gx and 7750 maybe..
stardust_kkk
post Mar 28 2009, 11:13 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(cdlim87 @ Mar 28 2009, 08:46 PM)

halo bro.. u really wan sell off... laugh.gif

ok la.. which mobo u wan to go??  brows.gif

try JW 790GX extreme la... laugh.gif
sweat.gif low on budget bro.. thinking maybe not the time to sell also..now economy so bad... tongue.gif
but i open a thread already..if got good offer then will sell it.. rclxms.gif

0.0177sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:27 PM