English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 14/03 Man Utd v Liverpool | 20:40 ESPN

Wan
post Feb 22 2009, 02:44 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

God I hate Kuszczak! Rio had him covered.. barely, but still why the hell did he come out and then go to ground leaving Santa Cruz with an empty net to aim at? Someone should tell Kuszczak to stay cool and stay on his line especially when there is already a defender following the striker. Arrghh! Stupidx1b. Gave them confidence after that.

Luckily we won. Santa Cruz is hard to play against.
Wan
post Feb 22 2009, 03:15 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Scholes and Nani didn't deal with the loose ball, sometimes that happens, but Kuszczak still should have stood still for a while. He ended up crashing into the tackling Rio.. leaving Santa Cruz with an open net. It's like letting a robber into your room with your naked GF inside.
Wan
post Feb 22 2009, 03:41 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Feb 22 2009, 03:18 PM)
he did well against Fulham attacking and defensive wise, think he play better at RB
did SAF actually beat him?  hmm.gif As far as i remember, i don't think so.
But Ferdinand is pushing him wide, that would narrow his angle of shot, he would not have an empty net to aim for if Kuszczak had not rushed out
Precisely!

QUOTE(rayz1031 @ Feb 22 2009, 03:21 PM)
We can't really blame the goal on PIG, we din deal with the lose ball the midfield,given Scholes experience,he should dealt with it. Kuszczak came out too early as Rio got Santa Cruz covered, mayb lack of game is the reason for his decision to came out to block the ball. IMO, goal keeper need on field experience, and Kuszczak din have those since joining us, yes he is a regular in Wes Brom but you will get rusty if din have enough game time.
Maybe he was a bit rusty, but still he saw the play in front of him develops. Rio was following Santa Cruz, and pushed him wide already. Why the hell did he need to come out and then crash into the tackling Rio.. doh.gif

Nani should have dealt with the loose ball, but he saw Scholes coming to it too.. guess they got mixed up. But the goal was still stoppable. Kuszczak didn't need to rush out at all. Santa Cruz was going wide.. doh.gif doh.gif
Wan
post Feb 22 2009, 04:16 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Feb 22 2009, 03:46 PM)
I don't blame Kuszchak. I find it hard to do so when:

1) Nani and Scholes didn't deal with it
2) Carrick was in lala-land

He did what I would have expected of him - narrowing the angle and standing up-body wide as long as he could but when against a player of Cruz's calibre, sometimes it makes you look silly.

Added on February 22, 2009, 3:47 pm

Oh Hargreaves, where art thou?
Carrick was in lala land? What was he supposed to do? Used his crystal ball and then move to cover Nani's & Scholes' asses and knew that Evra can't stop the advancing guy?

Sure the first 2 guys didn't deal with it, but it was still stoppable. Rio had him covered, barely, but still Santa Cruz was going wide.. and Kuszczak made a mess of it, crashing into Rio. Well done.

I'm not expecting him to be VDS, he's a good GK himself. But that decision to come out, and go to ground really I don't understand at all. Rio had him covered, until he made that last ditch tackle, which pushed him wide, but Kuszczak after seeing the move all the way, still decide to go to ground and crash into Rio leaving Santa Cruz with an empty net. Even Hargo with his super duper running wouldn't get in time. Kind of bizarre how you blame Carrick on that.

This post has been edited by Wan: Feb 22 2009, 04:19 PM
Wan
post Feb 22 2009, 11:03 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Feb 22 2009, 05:07 PM)
Without the benefit of a replay, I'm pretty sure Carrick was nearest to Oojier after Scholes and Nani but was ball watching (like the rest of the defense). But then, why is Kuszchak the only one who's stupid when Nani gave the ball away, Scholes and Nani being gentlemenly over whom should clear the ball, the rest of the defense ball-watching? Because looking at your post, all 3 made mistakes but Kuszczak's the only one coming off as stupid.

It was a mess of a goal but again, as I mentioned, I don't blame Kuszczak. But again, if we were to point fingers, I'd point them at other players as well whom started the whole mess. It'd be interesting to see the opinions here if Rafael gave away the penalty. Would he be defended or hammered?

And I was mentioning Hargo in response to alien's post stating he could partner Ferdinand as a last resort. Nothing to do with Carrick's play.

P.S.: I don't like Kuszczak as our goalkeeper but I don't see how we could blame him.
That was a terrible mistake on their part, sure. But it the goal could still be stopped by the others(the defenders, GK..). Why bring up Rafael into this discussion? If he did gave away a penalty, he will be rightly judged by the others.

Carrick was ball watching? Yeap, all the players should run over to Oojier and left space wide open for Oojier to pass to. Evra was nearest btw.

http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m137/ai...oal2small-1.jpg
http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m137/ai...dGoalsmall2.jpg
http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m137/ai...deviewsmall.jpg

Added on February 22, 2009, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(shortleg88 @ Feb 22 2009, 06:19 PM)
I'm not blaming him, but I think his decision making should be better, but perhaps you can blame it on lack of fitness. Scholes and Nani is the culprit, but why the hell is Carrick in the picture? I might be harsh on Nani (perhaps the reason I'm not a big fan of him), he rarely track back, not only that occasion. He was clearly nearest to the ball, yet he want he gave up the ball to Scholes which he hope can give him back for a fast break (i think). And for god's sake, he thought Scholes in his 20s, and he just played in midweek as well. Asking him to sprint at that distance is asking too much, especially he's not known for his speed even when was young.
They both were on the wrong side. They both got mixed up. Nani was expecting Scholes to take the ball seeing he was moving towards it but didn't notice Oojier was closing down fast. Scholes should tell Nani to clear the ball or pass or whatever seeing Oojier so near. And don't start on the GK.

Added on February 22, 2009, 11:11 pmOur defensive problem start at a bad time huh? How I wish we rested one of the CB and played Vidic instead last night.

O'Shea and Evans.. how serious are their injuries? We better hope one of them get fit in time.

Added on February 22, 2009, 11:17 pmRonaldo was playing ahead of Rafael. We know how dangerous that is. They were double teaming against him all the time down that side.

This post has been edited by Wan: Feb 22 2009, 11:17 PM
Wan
post Feb 22 2009, 11:39 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Evans/Ronaldo jumped unfairly against the defender or something.
Wan
post Feb 23 2009, 12:02 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Stand his ground.. that's what he should do seeing Rio following all the way and then forcing Santa Cruz to go wide. If he still concede after, then he wouldn't be blame on anything.

What's done is done though. But he doesn't inspire confidence at all. Rio hesitate to pass back to him a few times.

Only a matter of time before Torres pop up inside the box and score? I bet he will score a couple later on. brows.gif
Wan
post Feb 23 2009, 12:56 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

We love you Hughes!
Wan
post Feb 23 2009, 01:19 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(fookie @ Feb 23 2009, 01:15 AM)
sorry but, can't i quote other thread??
Better not to avoid all the flame wars. We know how sensitive both sides are to each other.
If you want to reply, go ahead and reply at their thread. Be polite of course.
Wan
post Feb 23 2009, 01:25 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

3 games can change a lot of things. Better don't celebrate too much. But still can't help it. biggrin.gif
Wan
post Feb 23 2009, 02:09 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Here we go again. Victims.. No wonder that word are associated with you guys so much on other united forums. We know there are bad apples everywhere. But there you go painting all the others with the same brush again. Well done.

gidlcin.. there's 36 points left to play. Anything can happen. But we do look strong, although we have not really been firing on all cylinders going forward as of yet. One game we look great, the others we just barely win the game.

This post has been edited by Wan: Feb 23 2009, 02:10 AM
Wan
post Feb 25 2009, 09:48 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Can't believe I slept 2 hours before the game! Arrgh. Was playing FM09, and then went to baring2 for a bit. Woke up at 6.30. :|

I'm glad and happy Fletcher had another impressive game. Turning into a quality midfielder. Saw the highlights. When Inter were counter attacking down that left side, he told Rio to stay back/go back while he go chase/block the guy with the ball. Fulamak. Power lah this guy.

Best performance from us in a while away in Europe huh? Too bad we didn't get that goal. Now need to be careful at home. One goal up, still would be pissing my pants.

Now onto the CC final! Fabio and Welbeck please.
Wan
post Feb 25 2009, 10:17 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Feb 25 2009, 10:01 PM)
We reached semi finals which has 2 legs. After the 2nd leg, Manchester United won 4–3 on aggregate. United win.

In UCL, away goals only counts when the result is draw in aggregate after the 2nd leg. But draw with goals of course.

Example: Team A playing away scoring 2 goals to nil, in the second leg Team B scored 2 goals to nil at home. Aggregate is 2-2. Team A proceed because they scored away goals and the aggregate is draw.

sweat.gif Took me a while writing this.. Sorry if you don''t understand
Salah la bro.

Liverpool 2-1 Real Madrid
Real Madrid 3-2 Liverpool
Aggregate Liverpool 4-4 Real Madrid.
Liverpool go through on away goal rules because they scored 2 in Madrid, while Real only score 1 over at Anfield.
Wan
post Feb 28 2009, 05:49 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(gabLhowe @ Feb 28 2009, 11:54 AM)
How can fergie get aguero when atheletico don't want to allow him to leave? Given his current reputation, I'm sure it wouldn't be cheap too. And do you really think we can find another reputable striker cheaper than 30m? Tevez is proven, knows how we play, loves MU and the fans love him. - if fergie doesn't spend 30m on Tevez, I can't really see him signing anyone else like Aguero.

Agree with Maxi, Mario Gomez news sounds fake too. Given the squad's depth in the striker's dept, any next player we buy would most probably be a marketing stint.
We still need another one if Tevez leaves. Manucho is a bench star, Welbeck will be our 4th choice(really excited about him), Campbell should be sold(good player, and potentially a good EPL striker, but not for us), and the likes of Macheda/Petrucci(quality,both of 'em) need a few more years before they can go straight in regularly. But I agree we won't spend 30m on another striker. Around 15m and is a solid striker, able to play as the lone striker would be nice. Anelka calibre..

I hope Fabio plays tonight. That kid is potentially a monster at fullback.
Wan
post Feb 28 2009, 10:19 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Saha just scored a great goal. Shame about his injuries. Would be perfect for us right now as a 3rd choice. Is there any other striker like him out there?
Wan
post Mar 1 2009, 01:58 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Feb 28 2009, 10:55 PM)
Louis Saha - good player but not what United needed.
If he's not injury prone, I'd take him(if he was a bit younger lah) in a heartbeat should we decide not to sign Tevez. With Berba already here, a 'Saha' would be perfect. Pace, a goal threat, and someone that can play as an out and out striker, something we're missing when Rooney is out. Maybe Welbeck will provide that in the future. Those Italians are looking great too for the reserves/academy. We might not sign anyone at the rate those young ones are going.

Wan
post Mar 1 2009, 02:15 AM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Happy with the result, but kinda worried about the Newcastle game. Win that, then maybe we'd be laughing for months.
Wan
post Mar 1 2009, 03:21 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Final reward makes Jonny Evans glad he stayed at United
Young centre-back targeting his first domestic honour as Manchester United prepare to challenge Tottenham for Carling Cup
Source: Timesonline

Sir Alex Ferguson master of generation game

Sir Alex Ferguson's finest European team ever?
After dominating Inter Milan, the current Manchester United side look the pick of Sir Alex Ferguson’s European teams
Wan
post Mar 1 2009, 10:17 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

Strong side that. Wish Fabio would start though.
Wan
post Mar 1 2009, 10:57 PM

Glory Hunter
4,174 posts

He's a doubt for the Newcastle game too. Atleast it's not an injury or something.

0.8267sec    1.02    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:47 PM