114 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

RPG Mass Effect 2, Arrival DLC release on 29 March

Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jan 12 2010, 10:28 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

hmmm my shelf already full liao. now filling up my steam games shelf.
secondrate
post Jan 12 2010, 10:34 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(soul_fly9900 @ Jan 11 2010, 11:31 PM)
Lol, really?  tongue.gif . I kind of heard similar things actually but when I saw the others were talking about that issue this evening so I thought I heard wrong  blush.gif. Sorry helldagger for the wrong intel  tongue.gif.

Edit: Nope, the DRM is still there actually but has been relaxed a bit, here's a LINK that I think explains it better.
It says activation on up to 5 computers. I wonder, can I use my Mass Effect and install it on a friend's computer? Original copy and all. I wanted to install Dragon Age using my keys too.

Added on January 12, 2010, 10:38 am
QUOTE(helldagger @ Jan 12 2010, 01:54 AM)
owh really? hurm now considering this soft copy version.i dont know how it woks..
owh yea..so how long does it take for u to download mass effect? n do u need to b on9 just to play it through steam?that's troublesome
Steam version is 10gb (right?) and it took me 14 hours on 1Mbps speed if I remember correctly. Steam has to be on but it works in offline or online mode.

I had to install Bring Down the Sky and the 1.02 patch myself though.

This post has been edited by secondrate: Jan 12 2010, 10:38 AM
H@H@
post Jan 12 2010, 10:46 AM

I'M THE TEAMKILLING F***TARD!!!
6,727 posts

QUOTE(secondrate @ Jan 12 2010, 10:34 AM)
It says activation on up to 5 computers. I wonder, can I use my Mass Effect and install it on a friend's computer? Original copy and all. I wanted to install Dragon Age using my keys too.
Actually, yes you can... That's one of the best things about limited activations, you can use multiple copies at the same time (Up to 5 that is)
secondrate
post Jan 12 2010, 10:57 AM

Wolf
1,483 posts

QUOTE(H@H@ @ Jan 12 2010, 10:46 AM)
Actually, yes you can... That's one of the best things about limited activations, you can use multiple copies at the same time (Up to 5 that is)
Nice... too bad it's a Steam copy.

2 weeks to Mass Effect 2!
TSEdison83
post Jan 12 2010, 11:06 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Jan 12 2010, 09:36 AM)
I like to keep the hardcopy game cases on my book shelf, it's old-fashion coolness my friend.
I know wat you mean... but if the game promo are much better than retail version, y not go for it?

I was once like you, now no more... no more space for those box...

helldagger
post Jan 12 2010, 11:24 AM

148 posts

hurm im stil indecisive,and i will b going to sg wang either banking in some money into my debit account, or buy the hardcopy.but its kinda tiresome ryte,lets say i uninstall it, i hv to download it for another 14 hours just to play it again?
TSEdison83
post Jan 12 2010, 11:31 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(helldagger @ Jan 12 2010, 11:24 AM)
hurm im stil indecisive,and i will b going to sg wang either banking in some money into my debit account, or buy the hardcopy.but its kinda tiresome ryte,lets say i uninstall it, i hv to download it for another 14 hours just to play it again?
there is a thing called backup your copy before u uninstall it or format your PC
helldagger
post Jan 12 2010, 11:33 AM

148 posts

eh u cn do a backup copy for steam game?
Aggroboy
post Jan 12 2010, 11:34 AM

637 posts

I still got some of those gigantic game boxes, like Worlds of Ultima and Icewind Dale (bleh game but cool box). Tried to put them alongside Dragonlance/Death Gate novels for ultimate geekiness but it looked crapp.
TSEdison83
post Jan 12 2010, 11:48 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(helldagger @ Jan 12 2010, 11:33 AM)
eh u cn do a backup copy for steam game?
My article will explain
http://www.kakigamersmy.com/how-do-i-backu...ames-to-a-disc/
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jan 12 2010, 11:51 AM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

no need so troublesome.
just copy and paste the whole folder.

or you could use 7-Zip, archive the whole steam folder into a .7z archive then copy the .7z file into your Buffalo Mini Station.
TSEdison83
post Jan 12 2010, 11:58 AM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jan 12 2010, 11:51 AM)
no need so troublesome.
just copy and paste the whole folder.

or you could use 7-Zip, archive the whole steam folder into a .7z archive then copy the .7z file into your Buffalo Mini Station.
pls stop spread the improper way to backup steam games

there is thousand of steam games, not all games work via copy paste style
some game need registry to work
(some case like installing DLC or add on which the installer will search the registry to the installed main game)

plus u wont see these game at add/remove program list

This post has been edited by Edison83: Jan 12 2010, 12:03 PM
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jan 12 2010, 12:03 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

well it works for me and so i deem it to be proper and working.

so far all the games i have can work like this, no problem.

steam is not dumb.

on a clean install OS PC, all the games will run and install something first if running them (steam games) for the first time on a clean install OS.

also, steam games will not show up on the windows add / remove program list one.

besides, you just want more clicks for your blog post. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Jan 12 2010, 12:05 PM
TSEdison83
post Jan 12 2010, 12:08 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jan 12 2010, 12:03 PM)
well it works for me and so i deem it to be proper and working.

so far all the games i have can work like this, no problem.

steam is not dumb.

on a clean install OS PC, all the games will run and install something first if running them (steam games) for the first time on a clean install OS.
yeah , the thing work for u
wat if other ppl got the game that you dont have?
In any case that your style wont work for them
got think of possible of that?
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jan 12 2010, 12:08 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

then again, you are probably right about some items.

i.e.

DLC + DRM

so far the games i have do not have DLC or DRM when i copy pasted over a clean install OS.

i did encounter some problem with l4d2 when i copy pasted over to Win 7 32 bit.
i solved the problem by doing a file integrity check and it downloaded some new files.

no problem when i switched back to clean install XP Pro sp2

now i got riddick with TAGES DRM and Borderlands + zombieland DLC.

belum try this method lagi.

conclusion:
long winded, safe method : listen to eddy
fast, a bit risky method : listen to deimos

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Jan 12 2010, 12:11 PM
helldagger
post Jan 12 2010, 12:18 PM

148 posts

ah ok..i see..hurm thanks for clearing that up..now only need to make a decision.. the reason why im rushing through thing is because i want to finish this game before mass effect 2 come out n seeing im pretty busy with college life n socializing,i need to manage my time well.. haiz plus i want my moment to b a good one,not playing mass effect 2 then jumpe to mass effect 1..thanks to everyone.
Aggroboy
post Jan 12 2010, 12:23 PM

637 posts

Well to get the best possible transition from ME1 to ME2 you would need to either do the anal playthrough (kill planet hostiles on foot etc) or play it twice.
TSEdison83
post Jan 12 2010, 12:24 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

QUOTE(Deimos Tel`Arin @ Jan 12 2010, 12:08 PM)
then again, you are probably right about some items.

i.e.

DLC + DRM
so far the games i have do not have DLC or DRM when i copy pasted over a clean install OS.

i did encounter some problem with l4d2 when i copy pasted over to Win 7 32 bit.
i solved the problem by doing a file integrity check and it downloaded some new files.
no problem when i switched back to clean install XP Pro sp2

now i got riddick with TAGES DRM and Borderlands + zombieland DLC.

belum try this method lagi.
conclusion:
long winded, safe method : listen to eddy
fast, a bit risky method : listen to deimos

wan fast and safe? do listen to both
helldagger
post Jan 12 2010, 07:28 PM

148 posts

ok guys, i went to sg wang to buy the hard copy, but got no stock, so im left with soft copy now..however i cant wait for 14 hours just to play ME1, so i bought the *ehem2 version, play it while steam downloading the game n when steam fnish downloading, i will uninstall the pirate version n transfer the save file to the steam version. my question is, will there be any conflict while downloading it since i got the ehem2 version ady?
Sewerspeakers
post Jan 12 2010, 08:21 PM

176 posts

QUOTE(helldagger @ Jan 12 2010, 07:28 PM)
ok guys, i went to sg wang to buy the hard copy, but got no stock, so im left with soft copy now..however i cant wait for 14 hours just to play ME1, so i bought the *ehem2 version, play it while steam downloading the game n when steam fnish downloading, i will uninstall the pirate version n transfer the save file to the steam version. my question is, will there be any conflict while downloading it since i got the ehem2 version ady?
No, since steam install its games on Steam\steamapps\common.

Edit: Do me a favor,

This post has been edited by Sewerspeakers: Jan 12 2010, 08:23 PM

114 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.2327sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:14 PM