medical / critical illness insurance enquiry

waiyeap
post Mar 10 2010, 10:54 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(AhPinG @ Mar 10 2010, 08:33 AM)
Yeah its on budget so i took MC instead of the whole plan  .

In future if i got money , i buy savings plans . is it worth ?

or do i really need to force myself so hard atm =.=
Hi Ah Ping,

In my opinion, you can go for an ILP which mean get an investment link plan + MC. You can start by as low as RM100/monthly to get this kind of plan. At least if you start this plan, you will be able to save money beside protecting yourself. Save from young age. Den older already you will be grateful because you have the saving to support you. Save when you young and capable of earning money. biggrin.gif
waiyeap
post Mar 10 2010, 11:03 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(AhPinG @ Mar 10 2010, 10:56 AM)
If i choose oni MC and decide in future wheter wan to to buy savings plan , can bo ?

Added on March 10, 2010, 10:57 am
huh ?
u meant other company if admitted to hospital . if the total bill is 5000 , we need to pay 500 first then oni claim ah .
Can. Depend on your commitment. If you expect a cash valued plan, go for ILP + MC. But if you just need protection without any cash return, you can go ahead with the stand alone.

Da co-insurance. It depend on the MC plan whether it got provide you with the free co-insurance amount per year. If exceed the limit , MC will cover only 10% of the exceed amount.
waiyeap
post Mar 10 2010, 11:29 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(HHalphaomega @ Mar 10 2010, 11:24 AM)
Always remember to stick to your budgeted amount and don't force it on you. You'll end up wasting your money if you eventually let it go due to cash constraint.
Buy what you can afford. Dont stress on your wallet. smile.gif
waiyeap
post Mar 10 2010, 01:51 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(AhPinG @ Mar 10 2010, 01:11 PM)
i think i choose ING since alot ppl saying those priv hosp luv ING rather than ours .

Plus im going to take the ING Med Plan 2 .  i don see any difference between ING and manulife other than ING annual = 100k , manulife = 120k . total whole life is the same at 300k .

On the side note , my friend (agent) says he will "sia sui" ( memalukan) if he oni sell Med Card . what does this mean .
he earn less if im not buying package ?
anyone know how they earning -.- was wondering how could he saying that in front of ppl .
maybe he wan to earn more? tongue.gif
waiyeap
post Mar 10 2010, 02:51 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(AhPinG @ Mar 10 2010, 02:24 PM)
i think the same also but he keep stating a point which interest me ,
he saying if in future i buy savings plan for 15 years , after deduct my stand alone MC expense . it wont be much as the package he offered o.o

is it so important that they need to sell in package other than stand alone ?
whats so sia sui if ppl oni buying MC from him .
What da agent stated quite true also. If you buy in a package, it will include other option like Life, disability, critical illness. All in one bulky package size. And tell you what sometimes a package prices are cheaper.

So you jus think youself, did you expect a cash value in your plan o not? if an user claim frequently , den MC standalone will be useful. But while you are healthy and strong, y nt pay a little bit more to save for your future.

If i was you, I rather taking a small package around 100-150/ mth , saving + MC. At least , I gt a cash value in my plan where I can expect few years later I got a backup fund. A bright future can't be build overnight.

You need to ask yourself.
What future do you expect in your life? Nice and comfort with a strong financial funds?
I'm still young, didn't expect anything big to happen (touchwood). Would it be waste if i pay the plan without really fully utilize it?
U decide it.

No offence to the others. smile.gif

waiyeap
post Mar 10 2010, 09:13 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(HHalphaomega @ Mar 10 2010, 05:35 PM)
While everyone needs to have a good coverage for insurance it must also fit your budget hence don't buy into something because your agent is pushing it hard to you as YOU're PAYING for it.

However, provided your budget permits it, the only advantage I can see if you purchase the investment link plan with medical card is the ability to add on the a rider to waive your future premiums should you be diagnosed with CI. This isn't normally available with standalone medical plans.
Yeah buy what you afford. Don't be controlled by the agents itself.

As i know , da ILP can cover for quite a long time as long as you hav the money inside the plan and also da ILP generate a high return. It will help u to add more rider such as Family MC, CI , PA.
waiyeap
post Mar 11 2010, 10:24 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(vandoren @ Mar 11 2010, 09:03 AM)
just want to clear my doubt.

ILP is protection+investment, right?
investment may be gain or loss? or the insurance company will at least maintain a minimum %?

the investment is non guarantee, is it?
or it's consists of guarantee+non guarantee value?
In ILP, you can add rider(protection) into it. ILP only come with life coverage. Additional such as MC ,CI or PA, need to be added as rider.
Investment are non guaranteed. It depend on the selection of investment choices that you chooses. Investment have the risk. Low(safe), medium and high risk.
low risk mostly is safe investment, medium and high risk , mostly like stock exchange.
waiyeap
post Mar 12 2010, 10:52 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(HHalphaomega @ Mar 12 2010, 08:24 AM)
Without savings means, you'll get protection for CI but without any returns at least non guaranteed ones.
For individual plan such as PA and CI, mostly it wont have much cash value in it. Means it like barter trade, u give money - insurance company give you back protection. And that money solely paid for the protection itself.

As HHalphaomega stated before , you weight yourself how much budget you can allocate in those plans. And just participate a plan that suit you and within your budget.

Above the illustration, is simply a traditional saving plan added with life and CI coverage. CI are better to get in early age. As you get older, the more you need to fork out your money. The plan is around 110-120 (plus management fees) and need to commit yourself for 60 years. Nice plan with long term commitment.

SO AhPinG, take your time in deciding which one suit you the most with your current financial standing. Plan you financial properly. The decision is on your hand smile.gif
waiyeap
post Mar 12 2010, 03:34 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(rockets @ Mar 12 2010, 01:17 PM)
just wondering if anyone could help me with this:

currently i'm on a plan that offers lifetime-limit of rm20,000 each on outpatient "cancer treatment" and "kidney dialysis". it this too low or is it good enough? how much do these treatment usually cost and do we need to do it ofhen? cause if they're expensive i might consider buying some add-on's to make sure i'm well covered in the case when i really do need it.
hello rockets,
from what you stated, those limit are medical cards limit. RM 20K for cancer treatment and RM 20k for kidney dialysis, are nt enough. Nowsdays, chemotherapy cant caused more or less than RM 30K annually . cancer treatment such as chemotherapy and kidney need to be done often. You really can consider yourself to purchase some add-on. biggrin.gif Better be prepared, rather than regret later.
waiyeap
post Mar 13 2010, 05:44 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(almeizer @ Mar 13 2010, 05:15 PM)
I'm not insurance agent but if not mistaken, 60 years old still can get medical card. It was based on age nearest birthday. Is ur parent pass their 60th birthday? If not, still able to get.
yup. as long as your parent are not exceed age of 60. If this year your parents are 60 years old. Den still be able to get the medical card, subject to underwriting of the insurance company
waiyeap
post Mar 16 2010, 12:21 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(AhPinG @ Mar 15 2010, 11:28 PM)
Just wanted to know the truth , any ING agent here ?

ok deal im back to buying Medical Card only . so since my gf buying manulife standalone , others all standalone . she pay first 2 months by cash .
then following months all deduct from her bank account .

is it ING does not have this and need to pay annually ? or is it he doesnt want me to do so  ?

because below is what he said :-
Can i pay for u yearly 1st?total amount is rm597. u can pay back to me when u are convenient. coz cant pay monthly for medical card. and once i summmit the form ur protection will start. ok?

( i have no idea why the heck i posted out all , it seems like i doesnt trust him as a friend at all ) =.=
mostly medical card stand alone need to pay annually/semi annual(if the premium high). And maybe your gf plan are different from you. If you purchase a life insurance plan , den you can pay it monthly. As the life plan allow you to pay monthly. But medical card need to pay annually or semi annually.
waiyeap
post Mar 16 2010, 02:09 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(AhPinG @ Mar 16 2010, 01:25 PM)
Another question to be ask ,
u guys thinks i shud take the cashless or non cashless . different around RM150 -.-
ah ping,

actually what is your budget. As long as it did nt over your budget, u can go thru ahead with the cash valued plan. Dont strain your wallet because of the money return option. Maybe right nw, you just take a medical card for a short term, until u hav extra money to commit on the saving or investment plan.
waiyeap
post Mar 16 2010, 04:57 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(AhPinG @ Mar 16 2010, 04:29 PM)
guessing he will help me submit and pursue the claims but need to talk with him about this first .

2nd should be using the credit card first ? can ?
yup...nowdays, auto deduct from CC are quite popular ways to pay premium. u can use it ...
waiyeap
post Mar 17 2010, 03:44 PM

42 posts

Company medical coverage is company coverage. You work for the company, the company insurance coverage will protect you. And the company's coverage are private limited. Just offer some basic coverage.
Each person shud have their own medical coverage. As it will follow you your whole life. If you are retrench or retired, company coverage will say good bye to you but luckily you still got your own medical coverage. So anything happen, you still have your own coverage.
If you think company's coverage is enough, den you shud think twice. If you have critical illness like cancer, first time treatment, company insurance will covered it. But you still nt yt fully healed that lead to you unable to contribute to the company den will lead to you losing the job. This time big problem comes up. Follow-up treatment, consultation fees, medicine all need a bulk of money. But you don't have job (means company insurance also gone). This time around, you will think back and regret on y you didn't get another backup plan.
So my opinion is, no matter how much your company's insurance cover you, it won't follow you forever. Get a backup plan, no matter how much the coverage at least it will follow you till the end of your life journey smile.gif
waiyeap
post Mar 17 2010, 04:47 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(ajau @ Mar 17 2010, 04:36 PM)
I believe you are right in both cases. But let's say this scenario:
Operation cost: RM80k
Primary Insurance: Annual RM50k
Add on: TM Medic Plus

You will use RM50k from your primary insurance, the remaining 30k, I am not sure if TM Medic will pay full or you still need to pay RM10k first, and RM20 will pay by TM.

From my understanding, if your operation cost 80K, and your primary medical card annual is 50K, if the MC gt offer co-insurance like 10%, means da exceed 30K , the insured only need to pay 10% from the exceed value RM 30K , which mean the insurance comp will bear the extra 27K while you only use 3K for a 80K operation.
so

Operation cost: RM80k
Primary Insurance: Annual RM50k
Co-insurance : 10%

Total amount need to pay : RM 3K

This is how AIA medic card works. Correct me if I'm wrong.
waiyeap
post Mar 17 2010, 07:02 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(ajau @ Mar 17 2010, 05:31 PM)
I think there is mis-understanding. Actually rockets asking about TM Medic Plus deductible term but I give further scenario what happened the total bill exceeding the annual limit and will TM pay the remaining balance, because it has deductible of RM10k.

But, I am wondering in AIA, if you exceed your annual limit of RM50k, AIA still pay the remaining RM30k and the insured only pay 10% co-insurance (RM3k)

In Prudential and PruBSN Takaful, you don't have to worry about you exceeding your annual limit. You can opt Annual Limit waiver. Meaning Prudential / PruBSN will pay the total bill (subject to co-insurance), as long as the bill within life time limit. You can choose life time limit between RM500k - RM1.5million.

Easy to say, you don't have to worry about having 2nd medical card, in case the annual limit is not enough. And it will be easy to maintain too because you only need to maintain one card. And you can attached with CI, so if you suffer 36 critical illness, you do not need to pay for premium but you still have the medical coverage (and other benefit too if any). And the medical card is guaranteed renewal.
Each company have their own uniques, for Pru gt annual limit waiver. For AIA, there a rider that enable you to enjoy umlimited lifetime limit. Only add around 5-10% to the MC premium, u enjoy high annual limit without limitation of lifetime limit.
waiyeap
post Mar 17 2010, 09:40 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(Molotov Cocktail @ Mar 17 2010, 09:18 PM)
insurance noob here, i want to ask if i already have critical illness and personal accident coverage, do i steel need to have medical cards coz i think that if i admitted most of it will be due to critical illness or accident so i can claim from the insurance company to pay, so do i still need medical card, the premium quite expensive, prefer not to have it
Hi Molotov Cocktail,

Critical Illness coverage activated when you are diagnosed with any 36 critical illnesses. Meanwhile, PA offer medical reimbursement, TDP coverage and accidental death. Both of this will terminated, if any critical illness or accident happen and reimbursement are given.

Meanwhile, medical card offer you hospitalisation benefit,post-hospitalisation benefit, pre-hospitalization benefit, treatment benefit such as kidney dialysis or cancer treatment and many more.

So the scenerio is like this,
If MR A own a CI and PA only.
He diagnose with cancer(correction: critical stage). CI will reimburse him and therefore the coverage are terminated.
If MR A purchase a RM 100K CI, he will get 100K reimbursement.
hospitalisation, treatment, medicine cost wil be deducted from 100K. So when the 100K used up, where does MR.A get the money for follow-up treatment ?

But if MR A own a MC+ CI, he still get reimbursement of 100K. And the hospitalisation fees, treatment fees are covered by your medical card(subjected to how much MR.A's medical card coverage).Follow up treatment wont be a problem as MC can be used.

This post has been edited by waiyeap: Mar 18 2010, 09:05 AM
waiyeap
post Mar 19 2010, 03:35 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(ajau @ Mar 19 2010, 12:13 PM)
Yup, you are absolutely correct about the basic of co-insurance. But different company has different term.

Even though the co-insurance is 10% or 20%, some has a minimum and maximum the insured need to pay.

In some company, co-insurance only apply if you stay in a room that exceeding your room's entitlement, and you need to pay 10% or 20% of the remaining bill plus the different rate for the room.
As example, your room entitlement is RM100 but you stay in a room cost RM120
Your hospital bill is RM10,000
You stay 3 days
The co-insurance you might need to pay: 10% x (RM10,000 - RM360) = RM 964
And you still need to pay RM60 for the room differences

And some company also charge 10% from total bill if you stay in a room exceeding your entitlement.

Please bare in mind that, the room's rate can be increased over the time. Last time when I stay in double bed KPJ Kajang, it was RM90 per day in 2006. Last year in 2009, when my son admitted there, it was RM 120. Please imagine how much will the room rate in 20 years from now.

Please read the product broucher and policy to know your co-insurance charges. Usually, there is a co-insurance for any medical card.
'

yup. depend on the plan how much it offer for the co-insurance.
waiyeap
post Mar 23 2010, 01:15 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(chew_ronnie @ Mar 22 2010, 10:16 PM)
Ajau,

Reasonable and customary charges is based on the 2006 Regulations for PrivateHealthcare and services - meaning there is a limit set for an injury or treatment say Dengue fever (cost RM 8000 in the regulation) and if the hosp would to charge RM 10K, then the insurer will only borne RM 8000 and the remaining RM 2000 the policyholder has to pay. I believe all medical cards are based on this guideline to get rid of those money minded doctors.

I'm suprised that you are a Pru agent and you don't notice this customary charges in your Pru policy which makes me feel that you don't understand your products. I'm actually holding a Pru policy with me that says all benefits are subjected to reasonable and customary charges.

Ronnie are right in this point. More information about "Reasonable and customary charges" refer to this link :
http://health.howstuffworks.com/reasonable...mary-charge.htm
Hope the article will clear up all the confusion regard this term.
As I'm an AIA agent, I hav check my brochure of medical card as it also stated "Reasonable and customary charges up to co-ins free amount."
No offence as it really stated in the brochure of AIA medical care plus.

waiyeap
post Mar 23 2010, 03:58 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(ajau @ Mar 23 2010, 03:32 PM)
I just want to check with you guys and share information. I am not here to offend anybody and I think my involvement only to provide information and up to people out there to choose which product are best for them. I never said Pru is the best but so far what Pru had is best suit me and I foresee it will suit for me in the future. Everybody need is different and nothing in this world can be best for everybody in this world.

I am also here to educate people, you should have insurance, regardless with which company and I am happy to share my experience so that I hope no one will experience my bad experience. Even though you hold lots of policy and broucher with you, it doesn't mean you are the best. There are too many details in each product and I dare you 'hafal' all the terms. I was asking you the term because it keeps highlighting in your brouchure and I just want a short and quick answer from you. But you do not reply straight to me. And I believe you just do your home work only after I ask you the question, 2nd time. But maybe 3rd time because mfitri did ask earlier.

I become an agent is not for me to make lots of money from commission. I found it is good to have insurance after my sons and I need to be hospitalized and at that time I used my company's medical card. Since most agent is not so transparent (mostly just want to collect commission regardless which company), I decided to become an agent so that I can access lots of information and learn more about insurance. And I love to share something good with others. Sorry if my habit disturbing you.

We are here no to offend anybody. I believe we are here to share and the most important thing for people outside to have more information regarding the insurance. There is no competition here to be won.
Yup, no offence...just for sharing. smile.gif

0.0564sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:36 AM