medical / critical illness insurance enquiry

c.o.o.l
post May 31 2009, 06:16 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(atake @ May 30 2009, 08:03 PM)
I think there is no limit for medical coverage provided by my company only there is a limited coverage as follows:

1)Room rate at RM120 per night.However, i can increase it every year up to RM300 per night if i want.This will deductible from my salary.
2)Can't claim for complicated dental treatment such as bridge, and dental surgery.

Otherwise,is ok.we have our one panel clinic and hospital to choose such as Ampang Puteri,Tawakal,Gleaneagles and etc.

I has been hospitalized before for accident and all the treatment has been covered by my company.So,should i buy medical insurance now or buy it after retirement.Even the premium is higher, long term i think i will still save compare start paying now .
You should ask yourself, why you want to buy insurance. It is for PROTECTION. If you think your company already given you that protection, you will not post here.
Try ask yourself:
- Will your company pay for all your bill when it is large amount.
- Will your company still hire you if you need to claim medical expenses repeatedly. (e.g. kidney dialysis, cancer treatment...).

If the above is Yes, then you can say that you have the protection before you retire. And you have to bear the risk not to get any illness that will affect you to get insurance after you retire.
c.o.o.l
post Jun 2 2009, 10:16 PM

241 posts

Yes, insurance is important. But yet still got people who think insurance is bullshit. =.=
And for those who want to buy insurance, try to have the PROTECTION 1st before you think about those SAVING insurance.
c.o.o.l
post Jun 3 2009, 10:13 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(secretsquirrel @ Jun 3 2009, 09:41 AM)
@Thanks Ronnie, and All. So, why would one need insurance? For saving money purpose, why not just save into bank WITH STRONG WILL and gain interests or invest in some other ways than insurance? Dont try to beat me with ways of investment elsewhere, Im into finance.

The above case 1 of two young newly wed is my friend's, not me. Im trying to guide him what would work best for him.  So, in short, why would one need insurance if
1) he doesnt care if he gets one of the 36C and died without money to try helping himself (protection)
2) he doesnt need it for investment

Does he still need it now?

Case 2 - I personally do not buy any insurance for anything, except for investment purpose, that i get certain % of return after certain years. Eg, $x will get y% of return after z years.  If you have of these products, let me know.

@Eric
No im not going to call you now n would really like to get as much info from this thread as possible.  But i like your post, it is interesting.
For me, insurance is always for Protection, the return(investment/saving) is just an adds on to it.
Case 1:
1) He doesn't care?
- If he got the illness and not die, where he will get the money to pay for the bill? Government hospital? My wife is working in government too(so I got the free medical in goverment hospital - first class). I can say, if serious illness, you can go for government hospital. But if it is minor/medium illness, try to go privates. And for some cases, like kidney dialysis, you will need to take up queue that like will never come to you.
- Do your friends give their parents money? If they passed away, who will continue to support for their parents.
- What happened if they not working with government anymore?
2) Insurance is just another choice for investment/saving.

Case 2:
- Yes there is product of investment/saving. But most of it is for long term.
c.o.o.l
post Jun 11 2009, 08:23 AM

241 posts

Prudential just launch of new product recently.
- Medical card with NCB, able to waive annual limit...
- Cover 36 illness up to 3 times claim
- Waiver for both husband and wife if something happen(education plan)

Many more....
c.o.o.l
post Jun 11 2009, 02:03 PM

241 posts

Yup, it attach to ILP. New medical card plan is just a portion of new things. There is still others.
c.o.o.l
post Jun 17 2009, 01:38 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(juicyjessy @ Jun 17 2009, 11:16 AM)
Hi, does anyone here is HLA medical holder? Any comments (good/bad)? I'm considering to buy HLA or Allianz but .......Pls give some of your experience....
Would you like to consider for Prudential?

- ICU, outpatient cancer, outpatient kidney dialysis is as charge
- No claim bonus. Means if a year you did not make any claim, there will be bonus credit to your account.
- Can choose to waive annual limit
- Can choose to cover up to age 100.

If you are interested, give me a pm.

Added on June 17, 2009, 1:41 pm
QUOTE(Crazyallen @ Jun 17 2009, 12:31 PM)
Hi, as i know now GE medical card which combination with investment link 1 called Smart Medic offer the best medical card in town.
Here are some other important elements in medical coverage that you should concerned about when u buy medical card:
1) Pre-hospitalization and post-hospitalization claims.
2) Limit payable for outpatient treatment; for accident, cancer and kidney dialysis respectively.
3) Room & board and ICU maximum days of coverage.
4) Annual limit & lifetime limit.

GE smart medic Room150;
i)Hospital room & board ( maximum, up to 180days )
ii)ICU (Per day up to 180 days)
iii)Emergency Accident outpatient treatment ( maximum 30days from date of accident ) - RM3000/ annual.
iv)Overall annual limit - RM90000 ( Increase to the initial overall annual limit -RM9000 )
v)Lifetime limit - RM720000

So, can i know out there still got any medical card which offer better than GE?
Thx for sharing  rclxms.gif
As of what I know, GE medical card have limit on outpatient cancer treatment and kidney dialysis. Correct me if Im wrong.

There is no such company that offer the BEST medical card. Every company's medical card have its pros and cons. There will only have a medical card that BEST suits your needs.

This post has been edited by c.o.o.l: Jun 17 2009, 01:41 PM
c.o.o.l
post Jun 18 2009, 10:30 AM

241 posts

Since you think that HLA have so many problem. Why you still consider it as an option? Is there any superior benefits that HLA offering?
Comparing to HLA, will Allianz have the problem too? If not, then you already have the answer.
c.o.o.l
post Jun 22 2009, 11:53 AM

241 posts

Some of the hospitals will be charging more expensive than normal price if you are paying with insurance. Thats one of the reason why medical expenses goes up. This happens especially when the medical card have no co-insurance.

So if you are paying medical bill with insurance, be sure to take up responsibility to question the hospital when the bill is unreasonable. Don't just think that as long as you no need to pay out then will be ok.
c.o.o.l
post Jun 26 2009, 10:41 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(juicyjessy @ Jun 26 2009, 09:37 AM)
Hi, I'm interested on this plan too. Would like to check which company of this? Thanks.

By the way, anyone of here can advise whether Medical Insurance should put in ILP or traditional plan? Any comemnts?
Thank you.
I thought you have already taken up HLA policy?

c.o.o.l
post Jun 26 2009, 03:08 PM

241 posts

OIC. If you need info on Prudential ILP just let me know.
c.o.o.l
post Jul 6 2009, 11:22 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(lousai @ Jul 4 2009, 03:01 PM)
after reading all thread, here by i need advice on my insurance coverage:

My Profile:
Sex : Male
Smokng : No
Health : Okie n no operation yet since born
Budget : For 36CI only from 100-150.

Currently:
Company Group Insurance from ING
- Medical cap at annual 50K
- If Death 26x monthly salary
- Almost cover all cost of hospitalization as long as does not exceed the annual cap
- Note: It does not cover CI at all.

P.A
- 300K for self and Family, Rm550 Per year

Endowment
- RM52K for Death
- Current value is 30K

Child 1
- Medical Card, ILP type RM100 per month
- With Payer Rider

Child 2
- Endownment RM30K
- With Payer Rider

If you can see, i am definately lacking of 36CI coverage and life too. Have being approaching GE/AIA/PRU/Allianz agent, all of them provided me with the quote. Actaully too many quote that i am "blur' now.

Below is couple of question i have:
- Is it better to have 36CI as standalone or as rider in Life Policy(ILP or Whole Life)?
- My family is currently insured by company group insurance, yearly rm 300++ with the above coverage, should i
  get a additional medical card for my family now or later if i resign..?
- Some agent told me 36CI with term policy , does not give you return but Whole life non-par did? The former is 
  definately cheaper as no return, and later will give you back what you paid plus minor interest.
- Pru Multiple Crisis offer 2x claim on 36CI, what do you guy think of this one.

Insurance Agent: Pls dun advice me on getting life policy as i am looking into CI/Medical Card only. No offend yea!

Thx doh.gif
To answer your questions:
- So far I didnt see any standalone 36CI, do you mean term?
- Depends on your budget. Also, if you did not get a separate medical card, you need to bear the risk.
- Yes, the additional premium you paid is to let you "get back" the money.
- Prudential now having new Multiple Crisis Protection. Which cover up to 3 times 36CI. This is more suitable for young people as the premium is cheaper and survival rate after 36CI is higher.
Pros:
- Cover up to 3 times

Cons:
- More expensive than normal 1
- Only can up to age 80(Normal is age 100)

If you need to have more information on Prudential product, please let me know. I can assured you to have all the freedom to choose what you want and what you really needs.
My hp num: 012-6090090
c.o.o.l
post Jul 17 2009, 02:18 PM

241 posts

Wow, spend some time reading the post. PJusa you really spend alot of time in getting to know what you actually buying. Thumbs up on you. There is still alot of people who dono what they have bought.
c.o.o.l
post Jul 20 2009, 10:51 AM

241 posts

FIrst of all, I would like to confirm with you, is your plan name is Prulink Assurance Plan? If yes the following answer is applicable for you.

1. You can adjust your benefits in your policy. So, you are able to take away the medical benefits. Premium is also adjustable.

2. From your annual limit, I believe you are having PMM3 as your medical card. Which lifetime limit is 3 times of the annual limit. If you plan to switch to AXA, you will need to consider another top up policy for the outpatient treatment.

3. You can also choose to upgrade your medical card from PMM3 to other Prudential newer medical card. Which is
- PMM5 - lifetime limit is 10 times of annual limit
- PruHealth - currently it does not support upgrade from existing plan yet.

4. You can always check with your agent for the amount of cash value/number of units in your policy. We have a system to view this.

5. If you plan to cancel the policy, now is not a good time as the unit price is low after the economy crisis.

If you need anymore explanation on Prudential product, feel free to ask here or PM me.
c.o.o.l
post Jul 22 2009, 04:52 PM

241 posts

Also new PRUHealth insurance charges is abit higher than the previous PMM5 due to the NCB thingy.
However, if you do not make claim on the year, it will be worth of it.
PRUHealth is not good for people who always make claim compare to the old PMM5.
c.o.o.l
post Aug 12 2009, 11:52 PM

241 posts

Even if you strike by H1N1 now, you might not get to stay in private hospital. When you go to private hospital after you having symptoms of H1N1, some private hospital will still refer you to goverment hospital.
c.o.o.l
post Aug 14 2009, 12:19 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(Justin1000 @ Aug 13 2009, 11:20 PM)
You may want to check your fact. For H1N1, quite  a few  private hospitals have been designated to treat H1N1
Yes I know this.

The fact is what Im saying is based on what a patient that went to government hospital for H1N1 diagnosis said. He went to private hospital to do checking, but the hospital refer him to government hospital with the reason short of medicine.
c.o.o.l
post Aug 15 2009, 11:46 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Justin1000 @ Aug 14 2009, 11:05 PM)
These are suspected cases, not confirmed case. There have been confirm cases treated at the private hospitals and passed away subsequently. Previously in the case of SARS, no private hospital is allowed to treat.
If you are suspected and already refer to government hospital, will you still get a chance to transfer back to private once you are confirmed case?

Just to update the news, Prudential just announced that prudential's medical card now can be use for H1N1.
c.o.o.l
post Aug 16 2009, 11:02 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Justin1000 @ Aug 16 2009, 11:48 AM)
Do not understand what you meant.

Good to know that Pru and many other insurers now declare they cover H1N1, but the fact remains that they have a clause to exclude Communicable Diseases  requiring quarantine at their disposal, while some insurers do not have such clause. As such every time there is disease such as H1N1, policyholders are at uncertainty if they are protected by their medical plan. The peace of mind is not there .
I mean when you are suspected and went to government hospital for diagnosis. After that, doctor tell you that you are confirmed case. You already quarantine inside government hospital. You still have the chance to transfer to private hospital?
c.o.o.l
post Aug 28 2009, 02:29 PM

241 posts

eses,
For your case, even if you apply another company's insurance, the exclusion will likely to be included in the policy.
This is why we need to buy insurance when we are healthy.
c.o.o.l
post Nov 23 2009, 11:09 AM

241 posts

Yup, everyone have different views and needs on insurance, That is why there is so many variety of insurance in the market. Insurance plan is a product(a special product), and a product will only come out and keeps selling when there is demand.

And i agree that you should allocate portion of money that you afford to insurance. If the insurance plan makes you feels like it is a burden, then you should review your plan.

0.0237sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:47 AM