medical / critical illness insurance enquiry

abbey
post Aug 9 2010, 09:24 PM

41 posts

A question to both insurance agents and non-agents here,

An agent's commission for a medical card is 15%. So if I buy a cheap medical card, say around RM300+, he gets around RM50.

Will the majority of agents be willing to travel to meet me and collect the premium from me every year? Or is it too much travel and effort for too little money, and I should just buy direct from the insurance co?

I'll like the opinion of the agents here.

Added on August 10, 2010, 9:01 amAnother question tongue.gif

I just came across the medical card plan that suits me perfectly, except for this one clause which troubles me:

We may revise the premiums in future, as the premium rates are not guaranteed. If we need to revise, this will be based firstly on your individual claim experience and the claim experience of the entire business portfolio as a whole.

Anybody knows how 'heavily' can an insurance company load a premium for someone who has made a claim before?

This post has been edited by abbey: Aug 10 2010, 09:02 AM
abbey
post Aug 10 2010, 06:49 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Aug 10 2010, 01:02 PM)
if you need a list of reputable companies that *do not* increase premiums based on your personal claims experience but only on the overall base of the insured (which is how it should be done!) you may ask me or scroll back. i have posted a list before.
PJusa,

If I am aged 31 and have a max budget of RM750 per year for insurance, can you please suggest a few standalone medical cards that are:
a) guaranteed renewable
b) do not increase premiums based on my personal claims
c) offers as comprehensive coverage as possible
d) deductible plans can be considered

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by abbey: Aug 10 2010, 07:02 PM
abbey
post Aug 12 2010, 12:21 AM

41 posts

PJusa,

Thanks a lot. It's RM750 for my current age, not RM750 on average in my lifetime. I've spend a few hours researching the plans you listed. Have seen the premium and benefits schedule for all of them, except RHB MediSure and Manulife Manucare100 - the schedules are not on their websites doh.gif

So far, only two plans made it to my shortlist - Axa and TM Medic Plus nod.gif

Added on August 12, 2010, 12:25 am

chew_ronnie,

TM's card is indeed value for money nod.gif

Added on August 12, 2010, 8:24 am
Now, I have to decide which of this 4 combos I should take hmm.gif
1. only the RM150k Tokio Marine Medic Plus plan - My employer's measy RM5k per annum hospitalisation benefit can partly offset the RM10k deductible.
2. RM100k Axa plan + RM150k TM Medic Plus plan - Fits my budget nicely, but I feel that RM200k Axa plan, at a couple of hundred RM more, offers far better value for money.
3. RM200k Axa plan + a cheap cancer protection or CI plan
4. RM200k Axa plan + RM150k TM Medic Plus plan - more than I budgeted for, but considering the rate of medical inflation, this combo should ensure I still have adequate coverage 20 years from now, hopefully.

This post has been edited by abbey: Aug 12 2010, 08:30 AM
abbey
post Aug 12 2010, 06:48 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Aug 12 2010, 01:30 PM)
abbey,

if you can afford i would go for option 4 - pretty much for the very reasons you stated. i havent come across a cheap cancer protection plan that beats TM Medic Plus. also note you only need to cover for AXA's lousy outpatient benefit there. cancer hospitalisation is covered.

if you want i can give you the benefit overview for the missing plans but i dont think you will be impressed by them.
I am leaning towards option 4 as well smile.gif

Yes, please give me the benefit and premium overview for RHB MediSure and Manulife Manucare100.

I asked Manulife's customer service to e-mail me the brochure, but she insisted on getting an insurance agent to contact me doh.gif

abbey
post Aug 12 2010, 09:00 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Aug 12 2010, 08:20 PM)
abbey,

PMed you the details with premiums, current and average until age 65. hope this helps.
Yes, it helps. Thanks! smile.gif
abbey
post Aug 14 2010, 08:39 AM

41 posts

PJusa and other LYN forumers,

I got this from the Axa Affin SCO product disclosure sheet:

Geographical Territory
All benefits provided in this Policy are applicable worldwide for twenty-four (24) hours a day.

Overseas Treatment
If the Insured Person elects to or is referred to be treated outside Malaysia by the Attending Physician, benefits in respect of the
Treatment shall be limited to the Reasonable and Customary and Medically Necessary Charges for such equivalent local Treatment in
Malaysia and shall exclude the cost of transport to the place of Treatment. Reasonable and Medically Necessary Charges shall be
deemed to be those laid down in the Malaysian Medical Association’s Schedule of Fees.

Overseas Residence
No benefit whatsoever shall be payable for any medical Treatment received by the Insured outside Malaysia, Singapore or Brunei, if the Insured resides or travels outside these countries for more than ninety (90) consecutive days.

Does this mean a person with Axa Affin SCO card can go work in Singapore and if she gets hospitalised in that city state, she can claim full reimbursement from Axa Affin in Malaysia?

For exp. if her SCO annual limit is RM200k, and her bill from a hospital in Singapore is S$60k (assuming exhange rate of S$1 = RM2.30), can she claim RM138k from Axa Affin? Or is she entitled to only RM60k? hmm.gif
abbey
post Aug 18 2010, 08:10 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Aug 14 2010, 09:22 AM)
you can only claim up the amount that would have been charged in malaysia as reasonable and medically necessary. so if you would have been charged 138k in malaysia then you could claim that amount. if the charge in malaysia would have been 10k you can only claim those 10k. so that's the first catch.

but you should double check with axa if you really can work in singapore and enjoy the malaysian cover. i think it should be possible from the terms i know but i am not to sure as i never had to seriously check on this scenario - so there might be something i'm not aware off smile.gif
Just to let you know, I asked a TM insurance agent whether premiums for their top-up plan will be loaded based on individual claim experrience. He made a call to the company and the answer was "Yes, there'll be loading. Otherwise the premium won't be so cheap".

I'm now waiting for the sample policy contract to check if there has been any change in the wording of clause 15 since you posted about it a year back on pages 12 and 13.

If that is how TM interprets the clause, I think it'll be foolish of me to rely too much on this plan.

What I'm thinking now is to take Axa's RM500k plan with RM20k deductible (for 50% discount to premium) and no agent (15% discount to premium). Combined with TM's plan, it'll cost me less than RM700.

Some people might think I'm crazy to take two deductible plans but my reasoning is:
1. I'm healthy now and can qualify for any medical card. That might not be the case in the future. So it's smart to lock in the best plan now.
2. Taking the RM500k plan will definitely protect me from medical inflation, unless Malaysia goes the way of Zimbabwe.
3. Axa customers are allowed to convert from deductible to non-deductible once in their lifetime. I'll convert to non-deductible once I "make it" financially.
4. Although it's painful ... push comes to shove ... I can afford to pay RM20k upfront. Just need to carry debit card with at least RM20k in it.

I'll keep TM's top up plan but it'll be strictly for outpatient cancer and kidney treatment only.

Added on August 18, 2010, 8:16 pm
QUOTE(ajau @ Aug 14 2010, 09:07 PM)
The term "resides or travels outside these countries for more than ninety (90) consecutive days" should cover you if you are working in S'pore. However you need to make sure before 90 consecutive days expire, you must go back to Malaysia. I believe AXA will request your photocopy of passport to confirm you are not staying more than 90 consecutive days in Malaysia to reimburse your medical bill. This is what I've been told in Prudential training.

Anyway, it's good if you double check with AXA. Not sure if they do the same.
That should not be a problem if I'm in Singapore. I could always set foot on Johor (or Sabah/Sarawak if I'm in Brunei) every 89 days for a makan and shopping session smile.gif

This post has been edited by abbey: Aug 18 2010, 08:16 PM
abbey
post Aug 18 2010, 10:33 PM

41 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Aug 18 2010, 09:54 PM)
abbey,

thanks for the comments. your strategy is sound. i am still insured with TM and the clause has not changed. renewal just took place and i will double check on the clause. but since i have not been notified of any changes to the blanket policy i doubt it. the staff from TM's phone in lines is - sorry to say so - grossly incompetent and a bunch of idiots who barely know their own products. the reason the policy is cheap is that is a policy with a deductable per disability. adjustments will take place on portfolio base only. i even have this assurance from TM in writing prior to signing. i would be all over them if they secretly change this clause as it would violate a few essential rights of mine (and every other policy holder). once i have the new policy documents i'll post to confirm on this (or will post to bash TM for not keeping it wink.gif )
Yes, please do. Thanks smile.gif

0.0543sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:02 AM