Gen-X
post Feb 28 2009, 11:49 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 21 2009, 12:15 PM)
QUOTE(raylimfs @ Feb 21 2009, 06:00 AM)

xuzen... mind if I'm asking...why you need only CI policy?.. you knew you going to get one?.. or you already have?.. sorry for asking this...  and about  SUMINSURED=50K from AIA for RM536 it's mean about RM1.46 per day... does this fill your needs if you are really lucky having this 36odds sickness? I mean weird...I dun mean to sabotage any of the agent here, seems that everyone just asking how much you can pay?.. I mean yeah I understand they need to know your ability. But all you need to focus here is your need? You need this money for medical treatment? Or you need this money for your party when you not around? I'm sorry if I say anything that's making you angry, but this is insurance and this is the fact! Focus on your needs.....All the best...
I need CI for protection.

I read from KC Lau, Money Matter that we need CI protection of 3 x our annual income. Therefore I am under protected (my existing CI policy which was bought earlier based on my earlier income level and is currently inadequate). Adding this RM 50K will bring it up to an adequate level.

I am healthy at the moment, but getting sick during older age is a guarantee.

And since we are on this topic, what would be considered a adequate protection for Hospitalization & Medical?

Xuzen

Added on February 21, 2009, 12:17 pm
My Life Policy is adequate.

I am now looking to up my CI and Med card Protection. As one progress in life, ones' needs and protection increases. Yes, I want to keep my CI & Med card policy separate, it is cheaper this way isn't it?

Xuzen
Xuzen, I agree with what raylimfs said. What the are odds of you getting the 36 CI? Even if you are dignosed with 36 CI, how long you think the RM50K or RM100K going to last you if you need treatment? Go and ask people, 1 time treatment for cancer may cost above RM30K if dignosed early.

What I noted from your reply above is you are looking for Med Card Protection. Assuming that you dont' have a Med Card, my opinion is that better to get one instead of just CI only. My wife's nephew was hit by a car last week and the had to undergo major operation and after discharged requires therapy and it will cost more that RM40K.

I myself have Prudential Med Card annual limit RM75K and Litimetime RM225K since 2003 at RM200/month and last year upgraded it to lifetime amount of RM300,000 and up to age 75 (from 60)) since I getting old and foresee more health problems sad.gif and now paying about RM340.month. So my point is the ealier you are covered the premium is less and check until what age does the insurance covers you.

My eldest is getting his driving license this year and will be going out more often so I just got him a Med Card from Prudential. His plan is slightly different from mine where it does not insured for take home medicine and got co-insured but his annual amount is same as mine RM75K and Lifetime amount is RM750,000 and monthly premium is only RM125! It also includes RM20K for Accident Out Patient Treatment, RM20K Life and CI.

Suggest you talk to a Prudential agent and compare with others, best if the agent have been doing insurance fulltime for years and highly recommended and not some guy you met that will not provide you service in time of need. And if you do consider Prudential, get the higher Lifetime amount as RM750K vs. RM500K and higher hospital room allowance (what you think it will cost 20 years from now for twin bed room at private hospital) as the premium diff is only about RM20-30/monthly.

Some people may tell you to get Personal Accident and just CI insurance only since it is cheaper but what in the event one is hospitalized because of illness/disease/cancer, can he/she afford to pay the hospital bills at private hospital and not burdening family members after using up all his/her life savings? And I am not even talking about being in ICU or having to go dialysis where the cost is just tremendous.

Lastly, is you are paying taxes, Medical Insurance is tax deductable which is different from the EPF & Life Insurance combined deductable.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Feb 28 2009, 11:57 PM
Gen-X
post Mar 2 2009, 02:32 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(suzannetan @ Mar 2 2009, 12:47 PM)
hi there,

this one you mentioned

My eldest is getting his driving license this year and will be going out more often so I just got him a Med Card from Prudential. His plan is slightly different from mine where it does not insured for take home medicine and got co-insured but his annual amount is same as mine RM75K and Lifetime amount is RM750,000 and monthly premium is only RM125! It also includes RM20K for Accident Out Patient Treatment, RM20K Life and CI.

Can I know what plan is this?

Monthly on rm125 ? That's very affordable, interested to get one btw I'm 22 years old, so I guess maybe need to pay more than rm125?
It is Prudential Investlink Link. Actually there was a cheaper plan for about RM110 or RM115 for Annual Limit RM50K, Lifetime Limit 500K and Room RM100 but went with the RM750K Lifetime limit as the diff in monthly premium is only RM20. Yah i think my son's policy is pretty good considering the Lifetime limit is RM750K.

When I talk to my agent, i will ask them for various options, I can tell you for RM150/monthly and below premium, the agent can come out with no less than 5 options. If the agent only give you one or two option, go see another agent.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 2 2009, 02:35 PM
Gen-X
post Jul 4 2009, 09:40 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(malaunz @ Jul 4 2009, 07:55 AM)
when taking an insurance, consider the plan carefully. actually, the basic life insurance is all the same which cover the 3 major risk

1. Death benefits
2. 36/40 critical illness
3. accident/disablement

so the different is in the medical card. how u want the medical card cover u? here's some condition u should consider,

1. don't look at the lifetime limit, look for annual limit. no matter if ur lifetime limit is 600k, but ur annual limit is just 20k, it didn't enough. even a "bisol" could cost almost 5k..

2. look the medical card plan carefully, is it hv any other limit besides the annual limit? even if u hv an annual limit of 60k, but there's limit on operation of 36k, limit on dialysis of 30k, it also didn't enough. one dialysis cost RM500 & need to do at least 2 times a week. u do the math urself.

3. ask the agent whether the medical card need to be renew or not? some medical card need to be renew early or maybe 5 year. u think for urself, if somedays, maybe after 5-6 years of renewing, u get an illness that cost about 50k. do you think the insurance company would let u renew? if u can renew, the previous illness will be excluded from ur benefits.

4. every time u want to renew the medical card, the price won't be the same again.

5. every medical card that need to be renew are term insurance & hv burn money policy.
Above good advice for those looking for med card. Better to get policy that does not require renewal.

I want to add

1) ask if the policy is co-assured.
2) what about medicine cost.
3) policy up to what age. Nowadays can get up to 80 years.
4) limits for dialysis do consider, best is none but of course subject to annual limit.
5) if you have a family and on tight budget, ask them for family medical plan. AIA has it because one of my collegue was hospitalized and he told me took family med plan.

For those looking at Med Card, ask every agent from different companies to proposed to you minimum 3 different plans (even agents from the same company can give you 5 different plans for the same budget). If they don't want and only propose to you 1 plan, find another agent.

Gen-X
post Sep 18 2009, 02:15 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(leecy @ Sep 5 2009, 11:13 PM)
I would recommend you for a medical card room & board 200-300 per day. Kidney dialysis and cancer treatment as charged.Life time limit and annual limit should be high enough to cover medical cost, hospitalization cost, surgery cost and etc.
Yah, always ensure your policy covers Kidney Dialysis and Cancer Treatment as charged as these items cost a bom. Cancer maybe not so bad if you have a big sum for critical illness to pay for the treatment as one won't be alive long if not detected during the early stage .... but dialysis you will need it to stay alive.

Also ask agent to explain co-inssured terms and conditions if any and ask your agent about medicine cost i.e. bill for medicine after leaving the hospital. Also ask up to what age you are inssured as nowadays it is common that most live up to 80 and above.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 18 2009, 02:16 AM
Gen-X
post Dec 7 2009, 09:50 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Just wanna to share with you guys, I bought a Prudential IL medical card for my wife and myself back in 2003. Few years back, my wife broke one of her toes and so she made a claim, it was a small amount but because of this claim she has not been offered automatic upgrade for her policy.

Last year (or was it 2 years back), prudential offered to extend my policy from age 65 to 80 but not for my wife. So I asked my agent about my wife policy and he forwarded my request to Prudential where they subsequently extended her's too. Of course both our premium increase substantially too.

Last month was offered by Prudential to increase my lifetime payout from RM300K to RM1M for RM600/year but once again my wife was not offered this "upgrade".

So, do not claim for reimbursement for small medical bills as it will affect your chances for future upgrade offer.

This month got registered mails from Prudential offering to increase 2 of my children's medical max payout by RM20,000 for additional RM10+ monthly. So I asked my agent what is this, and was told that Prudential is worried that the economy might be getting worse in the coming years and that money in the IL with them may not be enough to cover their cost (or something like that). Boy, we should be worried if Prudential is worried that the future (economy) is not so good. I also don't think the coming years will be good too (unit price going down) so have withdrew half of the money from my 2 kids policies 2 months ago and invested it elsewhere that have nothing to do with mutual funds.
Gen-X
post Jun 16 2010, 09:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 16 2010, 03:53 PM)
In my 6 month effort to find the 'best' insurance policy i made it a point to speak to at least 2-3 agents for EACH insurance provider simply because different agents provide you with different info and different perspectives. Plus its always good to double check every piece of information you get.

(p/s: On a lighter note, i test drove my car 7 times in 4 states over a 6 week period, carefully selecting the showrooms, just to test the car under different driving conditions before i finally bought it. . Did roughly the same thing with my 1st property purchase too. That should give you an idea of how meticulous i am when it comes to investing in something)
As for your statement on speaking to 2-3 agents, I agree fully with you as you can always learn something from each of them. What I want to add is from the same agent, ask him to give 2 to 5 different proposals for the same budget (for example, if you lower the Life Insurance portion, then your room allowance may go higher or more of you money goes into buying funds etc). Seriously, to those of you looking for a suitable policy, ask the agent to email you different/various options based on your budget in pdf format, if they can't go look for another agent.

As for testing the same car 7 times, you still ended up with the same car model tongue.gif The only time I go to different showroom/dealer is to check on delivery time and discount they can offer.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 16 2010, 09:34 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 31 2010, 12:16 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Oct 30 2010, 11:21 PM)
i was told that it is better a pure protection( either a medical card or PA /CI protection) rather than buying a rojak insurance( invesment linked).
Well, nobody can really tell you what is good or bad for you. It all depends on what you think is best for you and your family.

For my case, I have Prulink medical cards for my family (or rojak insurance as you refer to it). Well I have a good news to share with you, with the market on current bull run, if I were to sell the units today I would basically would have gotten "free" medical coverage for the past years (actually I have cash out some of my units and combined with existing units, the total monetary value is more than what I have paid for premiums and that's not inclusive of the tax rebate). Now the downside is if the market collapse, then my units would also be worth less. Its is about timimng and choosing the fund type when going for Investment Link Insurance and got to cash out as the market never goes up forever.

Beside the so called "free" coverage above, for my wife case, she had to go for operation 3 months back and the entire cost of the operation (plus consultation a month before and after the operation totaling close to RM1K) was covered and on top of that got few hundred ringgit for being hospitalized.

Considering the matters mentioned in the above 2 paragraphs, I think the rojak insurance is pretty good.

For information to all the girls out there, my wife also have another insurance policy called Prulady where my agent also managed to claim close to RM8K for her (without us asking the agent to do so), so basically got more than I have paid for her past premiums.
Gen-X
post Oct 31 2010, 01:31 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 31 2010, 12:31 PM)
Since u buy pruhealth i wan ask something.

They say the premium is fix for example when u enter it at 23yr old(RM 1726) then even when u at 51 yr old(RM4582) u also pay RM1726.

Can i believe the agent?

But i don't feel the way as they told me.

Below is what i feel is correct,

If you want to maintain pay RM1726 when u are 51 yr old then the balance RM2586 (RM4582 - RM1726 =RM2586 ) will be deduct from ur unit trust.

Is my thinking correct?
http://flare.me/images/qniortmx.jpg

Bro, my is Prulink, old policy but yes the premium is fixed until expiry. If you refer to the table you posted, do note it states "AGE OF ENTRY" and not "Premium at Age". Therefore the premium is fixed.

However do not that the policy you posted expire at age 70. I think GE got one until age 100. Better start looking at other policies. If you read my previous post, I have upgraded my policy to age 80 and the total lifetime amount but got to pay more in premiums. Since the average lifespan of Malaysians have increased to past age 70, you should seriously look into a policy that covers you up to no less than age 80.
Gen-X
post Oct 31 2010, 04:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 31 2010, 02:37 PM)
So ur pruhealth is attach to pruone plan?

since when u buy pruhealth?
Mine is Prulink which is no longer offered by Prudential. Now Prudential is offering PruHealth. I got no idea what is PruOne.
Gen-X
post Oct 31 2010, 04:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 31 2010, 04:07 PM)
when u buy it?

ur prulink is medical card + unit trust = ILP ?

How much premium u pay 1 yr?
Bro, did you actually read the first two pages of this thread? I have posted info you asked above. Since then I have upgraded my Prulink policy to expire at age 80 (from 75) and paying about RM380/month now. My children policies remain the same and paying same premium since first day.

As for your case, my history is of no importance because now the policies offered are different e.g. mine has no co-insurred but Prundential new policies have it and CI coverage may be different.

It is best you talk to agents from different companies and even from the same companies as each of them can give you many different options. When you go to talk to an agent, tell them how much you want to pay a month, example RM200/monthly, They can show you the different options on their notebook but sure we will forget so better get them to email you the different options in pdf format for you to relook into it. The more agents you talk to, you will learn something.

Like I said, do consider a policy that expire at age 80 instead of 65 or 70.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 31 2010, 04:35 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 31 2010, 10:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Oct 31 2010, 06:44 PM)
For goodnees sake,stop calling me "bro".

How u feel if ppl call u "sis" but the fact is u is male ?
So sorry Dear, didn't know you a lady blush.gif

Since you're lady, better get a medical insurance that guarantee renewal until expiry age 80. Also because you're a lady, when going for insurance maybe don't allocate too much toward life insurance portion. And do check out Prulady (if Prudential still offering it).

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 31 2010, 10:05 PM
Gen-X
post Nov 1 2010, 03:53 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ajau @ Nov 1 2010, 12:46 AM)
PRUhealth was introduced on 08/06/2009 with an introduction of No Claim Bonus. Can opt to cover until 100 years old. Can opt for Annual Limit Waiver (No annual limit)

But the actual medical card cost is not RM4582 (based on current charges). The cost is RM2000 when you are 53 years old (refer my posted table for PHL400). So the balance RM274 (RM 2000 - RM1726) will be deduct from your units (aka unit trust as MNet refer).

If you do not have enough units, you can top up your premium just like that without increasing any other benefit when you are 53 years old. So your annual premium got additional RM 274.
ajau: nice of you to clarify and assist here.

as for the increase in premium, I stand corrected. That's why I guess must always have minimum units to pay for the additional premium as the policy holder age.

Now to all of you thinking of getting Prudential Medical Card, I must point out a bad thing about Prudential. My wife many years ago had a broken toe and made a claim for the x-ray cost and outpatient treatment which cost less than RM200 if not mistaken. But because she made a claim years back, she was not offerred the upgrade to age 80 last year whereas I was offered. The point is for Prudential, it is tougher to upgrade your policy if you have made a claim.

In respect of the above paragraph, that is why I keep stressing that you guys when getting a med card should get one that has auto renewal up to age 80 from the very beginning. And I read somewhere before GE has med card until age 100.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 1 2010, 03:56 AM
Gen-X
post Jun 20 2011, 10:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Andr3w @ Jun 20 2011, 10:21 PM)
Hi experts,

I am working in Singapore and staying most of time in Singapore. If I could purchase H & S insurances in either countries, I was just thinking which country will be better.

Just to emphasize when I say staying most of time in SG, my parents are in MY and still will come back every week or so (that is why got the thoughts of buying MY or SG insurance)

I could have just settle for SG H & S but their H & S (so called medishield) will be void the moment you can stop your PR from age 55 (for the sake of taking out your full CPF). Which means I will be without H & S insurance if I do that.

Was thinking of getting of medishield first, then maybe later close to 45 start getting malaysia medical card and then hold both until 55 where I terminate the medishield. Reason of getting medishield is because the insurance can mostly be paid using the CPF (which money is stuck till you stop PR from age 55) and this will create free money in my hand to invest to get higher returns (just assume I am good investor in this case )

What do bros and sis here think of this plan? Feel free to give opinions as I am not expert and will require some correction if wrong.

Also would need some advise from agents.

a) If I were to medical from MY, can it be used if I do surgery and stay in SG hospital?
b) If I were holding both medical card from MY and medical insurance from SG, can I claim both? Will ti create any problem or even void either insurance?
1) Medical cost in SG higher. If an operation cost RM3K here, it will cost SGD3K in Singapore. So if you were to purchase a MY Medical Plan, yes, they will reimburse you, but based on MY cost here.
2) You will get one Original Receipt copy for your medical bill, who you want to give it to? You can only claim from one insurer.
3) From my personal experience I can tell you SG doctors better. Here asking you to go for an operation is like the norm. Click here to read about my experience with SG doctor for my eyes. One of our Minister also go to the same doctor in SG for advice.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 20 2011, 10:35 PM
Gen-X
post Jun 21 2011, 09:05 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Andr3w @ Jun 21 2011, 08:59 PM)
Hi Gen-X,

Hmm...how is it that many people even at this forum keep saying about having 2 medical cards or more to cover coverage? Can we claim from many medical cards in Malaysia?
ya lah, forgot about that, my bad. If the first policy not enough to cover then the second policy can come into effect I think.

After thinking about your case, yah buy both i.e. in Malaysia and SG. The Malaysia premium when converted to SGD is nothing much I suppose. So when you retire and come back here you still got a medical policy.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 21 2011, 09:13 PM

0.0462sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:12 PM