Apr 3 2009, 12:11 PM
1,039 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(grinner @ Apr 3 2009, 08:50 AM) hey guys, anyone using or perhaps played with the dunlop aerogel 300? can you tell me how it feels/plays? thinking of changing to this la... http://www.tennis-warehouse.com/playtests/DIRED01.htmli think this might help u. |
Apr 20 2009, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(pooh88 @ Apr 19 2009, 11:01 PM) Actually through out my experience. Not true. With a heavier racquet, ur opponent will definitely feel that ur ball is heavier. Sampras racquet is heavy for a reason. Most pros agree that his ball is one of the heaviest during his prime time (even till today actually), thus is is very very difficult to return. Is not necessity if u carry a heavier can racquet u can hit harder. For me i hit the ball with lots of spin,even do those heavier racquet players find difficult to return my shot. Just my cents nia! Don't shoot me ok! And Sampras doesn't even top spin that much. Besides that, most pro tour players use a very heavy racquet. Most of the racquet are customized according to their liking. The spec of the racquet is not the same as the ones they sell to u in stores. They use heavy racquets for a reason. Probably u haven't met any good players that uses a heavy racquet. I'm sure u will find it more difficult to return their shots. I know I've tried using a light racquet (under 290gm) against a very good player that uses a heavy racquet (over 320gm). Everytime i return a ball, my racquet will wobble like mad. Lots of shock experienced. No kidding. Btw, since u guys were discussing racquet weight and strings. I'm using a Ksix-one 95 with NXT string. 310gm unstrung (standard). I really love the feel of the NXT. I've never used another string once i've tried the NXT. Multi-filament string is the closest feel to natural gut. correct me if i'm wrong. |
Apr 20 2009, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(pooh88 @ Apr 20 2009, 01:54 PM) Well no doubt heavier racquet always got the edge. haha... i'm not a good player. sure will kena tapau by u... But there always a way to counter those hard hitter players if u have the rite technique. Maybe 1 day we can have a friendly single me & u but one fine day, we shall have a singles match. |
Apr 21 2009, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(pooh88 @ Apr 21 2009, 10:39 AM) Don't listen to other tell u. wat's strings are u using? if i'm not mistaken... most big reels are nylon strings... super old skool... I using 2 big reel to string my racquet. Some more is cheaper in term if u are buying those packet Individual. Try 1st,if don like it sell it to me do they have any multi filaments on reels? n where do u buy those reels? n also how much? |
Apr 22 2009, 10:53 AM
Just a question here, RF strings his racquet at 46 lb (natural gut).
how the hell does he hit with 46lb??? even if my string drops to around 50lb, i noticed that most of my balls will definitely be long. he really top spin that much? i would guess that rafa topspins even more due to his super western style. (RF is using between eastern and semi western) so, for ppl like tsonga... who is a flat hitter most of the time, has to string at high tension? someone pls enlighten me. |
Apr 22 2009, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(perswis @ Apr 22 2009, 02:20 PM) R U sure RF string his racquet at 46lb? Where you get the info? btw, here's how RF strike his shot (his topspin second only to Nadal's in rotation/ second) http://www.tennis.com/yourgame/instruction...d.aspx?id=85482 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roger_federer under equipment. This post has been edited by tchiaming: Apr 22 2009, 03:52 PM |
Apr 25 2009, 11:12 AM
hey... wat strings r u using? and where can i find those lead tapes?
ur racquet must feel freaking heavy man... madness! This post has been edited by tchiaming: Apr 25 2009, 11:13 AM |
Apr 25 2009, 11:00 PM
hey guys,
just wondering... any of u know any companies in KL with a huge tennis culture? |
Apr 27 2009, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(zdepth @ Apr 26 2009, 01:59 AM) It will arrive in 4 days... any taxing by the KASTAM, I will pay for it first roughly how much tax will KASTAM charge? the last time i bought something from manutd.com, i was charged 30%. crazy man....& u guys pay me back later. Last time I ordered, a pair of shoe got tax but the package will not be on hold because I use expensive priority shipping... FEDEX will settle it & make sure it arrive to my doorstep on time... total cost of my last bulk is over $1000 and i thought sport goods won't be taxed. i was sooooooooo wrong.... |
May 7 2009, 01:34 PM
Youtek can sound like youtektek. damn obscene. hahaha!
May 22 2009, 11:23 PM
Hey guys. If u r interested in buying a good second hand tennis stick. check out my siggie. i'm selling 2 units of Wilson nPro Open racquets.
May 23 2009, 12:00 PM
yeah i agree. u can prolly use counterpain or deepheating. try not to take pills to play tennis man.
if ur body aches or in pain, ur body is actually trying to tell u to rest! if u're a pro player who needs to play everyday, then it's a totally different story! |
Jul 4 2009, 08:07 PM
hey. any tennis players from Setia Alam Eco Park?
drop me a PM if u fancy hitting a ball or two in our clubhouse. |
Jul 16 2009, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(zdepth @ Jul 16 2009, 02:54 PM) Yan, In terms of explaining technicality, u r definitely one of the best in this forum. kudos! I think it is pretty simple... if u hit through the ball more (doesnt matter what grip), it will go more towards the red path. If u hit through lesser with more bottom to top sweep (topspin), it will become more like the green path. Another thing is the follow through... if u close down the racket face after the contact, spin would lessen. If you windshield wipe your follow through, spin would increase. Racket face on contact, contact height & takeback also play a major role... damn.. come to think of it, its not easy also.... LOL.... so many things to take into consideration.. minus gear somemore, LoL.... no wonder its a life long learning process eh? Well thats why when u go coaching they'll load up your stroke memory with repetitive stroking everytime... they keep correcting & fine tuning & build up your consistency. But I foresee that your stroke would become more like junebug... slightly more on the flat side but the difference between you & him now is movement & control... junebug can move very2 well & has great footwork prior to contact. You will know a player moves well when he execute inside out forehands consistantly... thats one of the more difficult forehand to prepare. Watch more when june is hitting with chip73.... they're the better players here Just one thing though, i think we can all agree that Roger's forehand is one of the nicest to watch. if u watch his slowmotion forehand available in youtube, u can actually see that he doesn't hit through the ball as much as other players. It's as thought he's sweeping the ball. Incredibly hard to do if u ask me. Timing is everything. That's why his forehand is so consistent and powerful. I guess we, club players, should build on consistency before emphasizing on power. Anyway, where do u guys play and is it on any specific day? we should form a lowyat tennis club and set a day every week for a game of tennis. makes it easier for first timers like me to join the group (if i may). |
Jul 16 2009, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(Yan @ Jul 16 2009, 05:50 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i think a lot of Klang ppl would like to make frens with you ty QUOTE(Patt_Hup @ Jul 16 2009, 05:53 PM) adrian's back in taiping la. left chin and siew here. chin's in KL. while siew's working near USJ. no kaki la. everybody so damn busy or far away. hahaQUOTE(~Battousai~ @ Jul 16 2009, 06:31 PM) my meaning was style= technique la hey Battousai. i know u're a coach but i've seen some beginner hit a tennis ball with the most awkward of styles. Don't you correct them if u're their coach?when murray becomes no.1 lobs are gonna be the in thing btw, r u still in HELP? haven't graduated? |
Jul 16 2009, 09:32 PM
QUOTE(chip73 @ Jul 16 2009, 08:07 PM) Woi kawan kawan....got wimbledon....who wanna go?.... haha believe me. they just cut it last week. but yeah. there is no way they can cut it shorter. probably they don't have the right equipment or probably they r using the wrong type of grass. i tried to bounce the ball but the ball will never bounce back up. really really bad actually. i believe they have a very uneven surface as well. i've only tried playing on the grass court a couple of times with my friends. most of the time, the ball will just have a bad bounce. in the end, we gave up. haha.Hey ming, i was there yesterday morning for my project but i don't think the grass is cut leh....so long liao....it's a sheer wastage those 2 courts....and wonder why they have only 1 hard court....kinda anyway, SP Setia wanted to have 3 types of tennis court. one grass, one hard and one clay. However, they scraped the clay court last minute because it was twice the cost of the grass/hard court. i was really disappointed though. so that's the reason the clubhouse have 2 grass court and one hard court. @zdepth. u manage to get ur hands on the tennis elbow thingy? @Yan. I believe i have ur problem as well actually. I find it impossible to hit a ball with a powerful forehand that will land in the service box (the apex that we're talking about). most pros can do that. even if i manage to do it, my apex will be so high up the net, my opponent will just kill the ball. haha.... any tips? i'm using the conventional semi western grip. This post has been edited by tchiaming: Jul 16 2009, 09:38 PM |
Jul 17 2009, 12:15 PM
@Yan
since u always hit very deep balls, do u find it difficult to kill a mid court sitter? (not with overhead smash but with forehand or backhand) |
Jul 30 2009, 12:37 PM
![]() a sneak preview of the grass court in setia alam. btw yan, the membership in THE CLUB is freaking expensive man. and i might not be able to make it today. will msg u if i'm coming la alright? sorry man. |
Jul 30 2009, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(chip73 @ Jul 30 2009, 12:58 PM) But honestly i dun think we can play with our normal shoes leh?....Tchiaming, you tried? ....can meh?....i remember the sole of those grass court shoes are pimpled kinda base....not our usual hard court shoes....but then again how la, like what Yan saw in Penang, we have ppl playing on 12 grass courts with normal shoes right?....sure they cant be getting special base shoes for themselves...?...... yeah u're right. u can't really play with normal hard court shoes but u still can if u want to. there was once i played in grass court for around 2 hours. my knees went weak the following day. hahaha... it's really really taxing on ur knees without proper shoes cos there isn't much grip with hard court shoes. long story short, u can slip easily and find difficult to stop and go with hard court shoes. Remember that grass and clay court shoes soles are kinda different.....any techie to explain? u can check tenniswarehouse.com for grass court shoes. the sole is very different. Patrick and Yan. one of these days la but we berkenalan first at Yan's place la. or else i feel awkward. and got one more prob. can only bring max 3 guests. |
| Change to: | 0.0436sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:17 AM |