V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

Greenacres
post Feb 22 2010, 11:15 PM

[quote=Cergau,Feb 21 2010, 04:08 PM]
Dunsun,
I doubt the cabinet can make any sense of this draft in the current state of readiness.
As you have mentioned, there are quite a few contradictions.
If this guideline in the state we now have at hand, gets approved then we know Cabinet fellas just 'bantai' approve only.
It's madness, this whole draft is piecemeal with inputs from diff authors and badly put together w/o rational.

I am struggling to build an alternative & found myself handicapped by not owning a shophse BH to provide insights into their peculiar situation in regards to section 6.

I am GIVING UP to try for a complete alternative but instead a partial comments only.

Yes, there is no outright statement that says shophouse BH is not allowed.
The conditions laid are impossible to comply with so 'SECARA HALUS' shophouse is not allowed or suffer endless harrassment until you give up.

Added on February 21, 2010, 4:44 pmMy effort thus far, I AM NOT going for an alternative as I find that every other statement require clarification from the author on the basis and justification.
Edible Bird Nest Guidelines
(Draft)

1 Latar Belakang
1.1 – 1.5 – no comments
Addendum
1.6 With the initial observation of the swiftlet’s preference for old shophouses along the coast. Further developments of man made swiftlet habitat for the collection of edible bird nest has been concentrated among coastal shophouses which then spilled over to abandoned shophouses. It was initially viewed positively as a means of utilizing (recycling) these properties for an alternative economic activity. With time foot traffic increases which saw the reopening of these once abandoned shophouses which signaled the start of the resident complaints of smell, noise & fear of avian influenza, be it real or unsubstantiated perception.

[cool.gif2 Objectif

Amendment (just my suggestion, if the agencies can get their Objectif clear, then everything else will fall into place)

2.1)To Facilitate the growth to 100,000 birdhouses producing 500 tonnes of edible bird nest annually worth RM5billion by year 2020.
(source - http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsfeat....php?id=461591)

500 tones=500,000kg annually

500,000kg/100,000 bird houses=5kg per house annually

5kg/12months=415grams per month on average per house.

415m/1000gm X Rm4000 (per kilo) =Rm1600.00 gross revenue per month

What about expenses, interest, labor, licensing fee, conversion fee, utilities, depreciation etc, etc, etc, etc

Conclusion: The industry is a money losing venture on the whole for the majority .

When you let monkeys do the calculation there will be no bananas left….. only greedy fat monkeys with no shame.

This is mismanagement of the country’s resources.

Why should an agricultural activity be classified “perniagaan”.

Are chicken ,ostrich, fish farms also perniagaan.

This is God’s gift to the nation.

Mom and pop can participate.

Just like Hong Kong , Taiwan of yesteryear when a small plastic injection machine in their premise forms part of a supply chain to their country’s exports.

Small and medium industry ……….if you will.

This industry should be categorized under Cottage Industry for the small timers .....some who cannot rent out their ground floor because sundry shops lost out to the tescos' etc.

For the super successful there is always income tax duh!

Perhaps the over zealous are thinking of windfall tax.

Get real and be fair to all.

Nest cleaning is another industry in itself.

At Rm600 to say Rm800 a kilo to clean the nests, 500,000 kg cleaned is Rm300 million in cleaning wages or full/ part time employment for 41666 persons cleaning 1kg a month at Rm600 wages per kg.

Money should be earned the responsible and honest way !!

keep the rempits and dead wood off the streets and leaching off the govt.

That is the only way forward.

Greenacres
post Mar 2 2010, 09:26 PM

QUOTE(Cergau @ Mar 1 2010, 09:47 PM)
Hi tuckfook,
thks for the update.
1)Is your opinion post or pre consultation with the lady Dr?

2)Even if it's not possible to implement retroactively, respite ends upon expiry of the annual license.

3)In my layman opinion, the guidelines are what it is, guidelines
It will require gazetting at the state level to have effect of law (with or without state enhancements?).
Only way it can be made NON-retroactive is knowing how many exist NOW (ie pre implementation) and to exclude them.
Last known effort at registration in N9, it was made known that all registartion are on hold till guidelines issued.
So, there are mixed signals, no clear indication.
One cannot just hide behind the all encompassing "expiration of annual liscense".
Any investor foreign or local look for stable govt. on the assumption that their policies are consistent.
Investment in this industry is long term.
Payback on total investment that I know of (the most successful ) is 8.5 years (at these low interest rate)
My very own 6 year old hse in the n region has 250+ nests.
By Dr. Tan's standards, it is a failure.
Failure or not, my oppurtunity cost in 'renting' out to these premises is almost zero. Zero tenants for 4 years before I started this venture.
The growth rate is tapering off coz the area will reach carrying capacity.
Do remember these birds are free flying!

So how does one justify the math?
At least I can say now is that I have tenants doing barter trade with me. Mind you I started 6 years ago.
It would be foolish for me to compound the growt rate of these birds at more than 5% for the next 3 years on a quarterly basis.
Therafter I think it will just plateu off or decline as the bird population ages.

Of course there is still room if you are a frontiersman just like in the wild wild west .
If you overshoot it is still a long grind. rclxub.gif
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Of course if your stars are all in alignment .........Congrats! you've struck gold.
But then gold rushes do come to an end !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Greenacres
post Mar 7 2010, 07:54 AM

QUOTE(Cergau @ Mar 2 2010, 10:26 PM)
Lucas 1,

As Yoda would say
1)Overall bird population decline as they age and die....they will not
2)Avian reproduction in decline ...they are not
3)Caning introduced for bird sex..they have not

Luke Skywalker's intepretation.
It's unlikely your birds are not reproducing!!!
Unless they are abstaining biggrin.gif (willfully or otherwise)

(No offence, cant help it, my wife must have put something strong in my tobacco)

Seriously why dun u consider getting on the horse and check out the new frontiers.
I can loan u my test kit!! (BYOS, bring yr own sound)
Dear Cergau,
Yoda and Luke's current observation ............ wrong is not.... except that "Avian" should be replaced with "A.F"
The force triumphed over evil because the chancelor made a crucial mistake.
He misread Anniken.
Many a times the mother of all screw ups begins with a false premise!
Many a times the silverspooners take things for granted.
Very often the under priveledged can only dream of the slightest advantage to give them a head start in life.

Will you step all over the not so fortunate to get ahead?

I apologise to you if you feel offended.
I do not apologise to others if I thought they feel I have offended you.

0.0755sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:34 AM