V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

Bobby C
post Mar 11 2010, 04:35 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(Semuabumi @ Mar 10 2010, 10:40 PM)
At Kamunting Junction, near traders Hotel. In front is the Army camp. Behing Is Golf Resort. There are quite many Bh there. Bukit Jana.

Everybody knows it. rclxm9.gif

For me I won't buy . hmm.gif
Opps, SB lets the bird out liau.

Because some 3-sty industrial lots in town selling like hotcakes >700K to mainly bh owners, they also want a bite and mark up the same or higher. But, but then their land is smaller and leasehold. And then, u want to make unnecessary and baseless complaint of so call unfound 'hygiene' issue of the BHs to force ppl to move. Which bh owners want to buy from you then, unless outsiders?

Bobby C
post Mar 12 2010, 05:00 PM

663 posts

Happened to meet Pak Fatich Marzuki, one of the pioneer in Jawa not long ago. Bird population in Surabaya dropped by more than 50% over 20 yrs, something like 70% if memory correct compares to 20 yrs ago mainly due to industrialization. Deforestation as result of human population increase. But again, if you look at Jawa, the air pollution there is scary, their full moon is like one big orange in the sky indicating the amount of pollutants in the air.

Moral of the story is locality very important. If you can foresee what's going to happen 10-20 yrs down the road in that area, whether food chain will be broken etc. It is also fact that success rate in east coast is higher than west coast. West coast too much competition I suppose. How cum nobody talk abt it, everyone knows already diam-diam huh?

That's why GP1 recommendation of relocating Bhs in industrial area also create another problem, if if the area is meant for heavy industry, birds will like it and increase population?

In the middle of forest the best but but security wise you dare to risk your life? Talk is cheap, come to think of it when they want to rob, $100, $1000 or $10,000 for them still money. Do they know or care how much you have? Even bright day light also rob. So better arm with gun if invest in tat kind of area but how many can get the permit?

Just hope whoever sitting up there smart enough to go the ground and understand rakyat plight. We have so much stranded assets, why don’t allow to make use of them to prosper the country and increase GDP? Tat’s 1Malaysia spirit in the first place!

This cannot that cannot better invest in other countries then! Heard nest quality in Southern Thailand near border much better quality and cleaner. Worst case scenario if they tear down then invest and rebuild in Thailand less harassment! Forget abt redtapes and cronies! Let them die of hunger then.
Bobby C
post Mar 15 2010, 09:29 AM

663 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Mar 12 2010, 09:07 PM)
Whilst all pointers on 1GP indicates an unfavorable situation, they govt is sending mixed signal on the other hand.
http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsgeneral.php?id=475278
This press report state that the govt is planning to give away Rm5mil as grants to the poor to venture into the industry.
Another RM200mil of our tax money allocated to the banks to be given out as loans for those who wish to go moderate or big scale!!
And of course after a mandatory course.
$200 mil allocation sounds a lot. Lets do a simple calculation. Total number of bhs in the country estimated 50,000 (should be more), total failure of 80% based on statistic, ie >40,000.

If to relocate all and start new in farmland, cost of land acquisition and rebuilding cost say min $300k (cheapest and smallest bh in 1 acre land). 80% 50,000 fail bhs operators so broke already have to apply Agro bank for loan (well if eligible of course), min loan given $150k. $200 mil / $150k loan = 1333 loans; in another words only 1333 'benefitted' out of 40,000 failed or less success operators ie 3.33% of total 'failed' operators in the country being assisted from $200mil relocation cost.

If ministers or deputy ministers cannot do such simple calculation, guess better put our primary school children to take their seats and be voted out in the coming GE. Simply as that!

Simple calculation, simple solution, for the simple minded.

Note:- Fail can means less successful at present. Might take 5yrs, 10yrs, 15yrs or more to break even and generate revenue. So no offence to 80%.

Bobby C
post Mar 15 2010, 06:18 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Mar 12 2010, 09:07 PM)
Current knowledge speculates that a large nos of swiftlets came from Indonesia avoiding the haze that occurred there regularly.
We have had haze problem originating from Indonesia for like 10 years now?
Did the swiftlets choose Malaysia before we encountered the same haze, or they came despite the haze?
(Or may be they came cos they have so many of their human kinfolks here?  biggrin.gif )
Are the swiftlets now migrating away from Malaysia cos' of the haze or due to the dwindling food source?

Not sure about this migration theory about Indo haze 10yrs ago but very sure this aerodamus fugiphagus species already in existance in our hometown many donkeys yrs ago.

Read my words Mr Authority sirs, like it or not aerodamus fugiphagus already in existance during our grandfathers age in many towns but nobody cares and my late uncle used to say they were low quality useless nests compares to cave nests and threw them away as nuisance. Now people treat them like gold, unbelievable.

Managed to bring down few of them with paper made catapult(w/o causing death) in my teenage yrs, sometimes kena the house swifts, sometimes kena fugiphagus, noted their size and feathers difference. House swifts were the main target as they were annoying as they made hell lot of noise like early morning alarm clock, haha. Didnt know enemies can become friends one day biggrin.gif

Moral of the story:-

i. Aerodamus fugiphagus already in existance in many towns in our grandfathers' yrs. How can you 'migrate' the birds to the farmlands as you wish? You are figiphagus king can speak their language ah? Even if close down all bhs they will be there still, may be stayed under the bridges or under some building structure. We are just provide santuary as WW explained.

ii. If aerodamus fuguphagus want to stay at our abandoned upper shophouses, what can we do, shoo them away they will come back again next wk. Go shooting them with catapult they will come back again after a while cause they love your old shops mah. What are you going to do abt it? Can the law penalise the house owner if pigeons or swifts choose you house as their home? Why dont town councils go after rats then, since they are so enthusiatic? Tat confirm causing nuisance to town folks. Like to see Perhilitan going after rats, wild creatures also mah, so long as classified as 'wild', protected or unprotected, will be under their jurisdiction as they claim ... hehe.

Bobby C
post Mar 16 2010, 10:43 AM

663 posts

Another stories telling time to proof to whoever sitting at the high chairs, fuciphagus in fact living among us in towns during your grandfathers' age in a nature way, not by human intervention.

i. Story of a very successful bh in a small town called Bserai.
One fine day the local council asked a contractor to tear down an abandoned old hall to make way for future redevelopment. When the contractor entered the building, they discovered hidden 'gold mine'. So in turn this smart contractor instead of demolishing, they repurchased the whole building from the town council. Understand now they have become developer.

ii. An old landmark colonial building in one of the oldest town in the country.
This building has been abandoned for some time. Used to be 'famous' for haunted stories as place for the Japs tortured and beheaded locals in the past. One fine day, the council decided to refurbish the building and turn it into administrative dept. Ok, engaged workers to torn down the internal. Again, contract workers in their wildest dream discovered 'gold' and happy clean up the place w/o further delay. Till today, they still talking abt the unexpected windfall; God sent gifts whatever you name it. Thank you Allah, we have rubber, tin, oil palm, crude oil and now bird nest and bird shits too..haha.

iii. A not too old abandoned flooded carpark in Klang.
Some chaps or drug addicts discovered the hidden 'gold mine' under the building and the news spread like wild fire. Now, the place has been cleaned. Fuciphagus too have migrated to other safer sanctuaries in town.

Question we town folks like to ask Mr Authority Sirs,
i. Anything wrong to use as bird sanctuaries if we refurbish these old buildings, repaint the external to blend with the town?

ii. Can the authority recommend or guarantee any other better revenue or business from these stranded assets in town.

iii. Where to get the money to maintain these building if not because of bird nest as alternative income. Some of these buildings were hidden at the dead end, back lanes, t-junction and been abandoned for mths and yrs. Who to rent to, tourists, rats or crows? Fuciphagus are clean, cleaner than human, which consume only insects is the best alternative if external facade is constantly maintain without affecting the town appearance.

Noise issue is categorized as technical issue caused by number of recalcitrant and there are solutions to it, if you are willing to LISTEN of course.

Listen not from few datuks only but from 50,000 operators and hundreds and thousands benefited from the downstream industries not forgetting their sons and daughters another hundreds and thousands of mouths to feed!

Bobby C
post Mar 18 2010, 06:07 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Mar 18 2010, 03:31 PM)
I myself hated many mamak stalls around my shop as they are bloody dirty and clogged most of the drains in the area. They also breed rats as they dump all the rubbish n leftover everywhere. The motor shop behind too is annoying as they keep checking the motorbike by pressing the old pedal so hard that ur ear will numb for few minutes after that. The retail shops nearby also annoying as they blast their musics from 10am till 10pm to attract customers to come...indian songs, malay songs and chinese songs.

but then again i thought well....at least they stop all the nuisance after 8pm...and i can get a good peaceful night. they are just trying to make a living just liked me. so, peace.
Tat's what 1Malaysia rojak state all about, not some empty slogans singing shouting play acting whatsoever.

Not just mamak shops, many restaurants in town the same too breeding rats. What town councils going to do about it? This proof that swiftlets cleaner than human. We human sometimes act smart claiming human cleaner than swiftlet.

As long as they the mamak dont choke up the drain, actually nobody cares how they do their business. Whether you got slaugtered you chose to eat there wat tat's your problem.

As long as our tweeters shooting at the sky not at someone houses or hotels or pedestrains, as long as we pay yearly accessment to town council, renew our licences if any, dispose garbage and shit properly, make sure no moz breeding and NOTHING affect the neighbours, actually, personally speaking to whoever-sitting-at-the-high-chair, we dont fart your harassment whatsoever.

Worst case scenario, shut off the external tweeters, existing birds still come. Harass some more, stop paying all the access charges. Just see how long the harassment can last, court injunction in return if necessary.

We prepare to take the bull by the horn if being pressured to the wall.

Come on, this is not some illegal vcd business (painted by some silly reporters or corupt deptments). Let go to court tell us what wrong have we done, ok. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Mar 18 2010, 06:15 PM
Bobby C
post Mar 23 2010, 09:45 AM

663 posts

We just witnessed a small spark started from a seminar in KK.

Just hope whoever playing with fire is smart enough to extinguish it before too late.

The weather has been pretty bad lately, probably due to global warming combine with El Nino effect. Soon, when wild fire spread, it will be merciless and consume the whole industry.

Swiftlets only have one enemy ie human.

Are we, swiflet enthusiasts trying to make more enemies or starting a war with the Neither-Go-Or-stay?

Sigh ... give up with the many 'sifus'.

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Mar 23 2010, 09:54 AM
Bobby C
post Apr 21 2010, 01:25 PM

663 posts

Following comment sent to Mr/Ms Geoargetown blog. Basically repeat and repeat and repeating the same old same old ....

Do you know that swiftlets already in existence in major towns in the country during our grandfathers and great great grandfathers age, way before existence of any swiftlet shop houses? Shop owners only provide a place for the birds to stay? Instead of staying at the five foot ways and shit like in the past, now all business is contained inside the house and not affecting any outsiders. Claimed that swiftlets dropping stain your cars and streets are utter nonsense. These species do not perch on the trees or hanging wires. You are probably mixing with other species like pigeons or swifts.

In the past, people are providing place for grass swift to stay at the five foot ways in almost all towns in the country due to ‘feng shui’ believe, but nobody complaining. Now everything contain inside the shophouse, like you human stay inside your own house, eat and shit and fart inside, why outsiders have to say you cannot do this and tat. Hey, tell me what business to do then? How to maintain the building? Upper floors no tenants for many yrs, building abandoned due to lousy country GDP or bad investment, tell me how to maintain the building then!? How to pay the bank? Talk is cheap.

You so call pro heritage folks should be grateful to the swiftlet farmers for buying all these dilapidated old shophouses, revamped, restored it to its past glory with the income from swiftlet nests. Win-win situation for all, for the birds and for the pro heritage folks. Façade of the old building are well maintained, what else you need to complain?

Without swiftlets, please advise what other businesses can town folks do. Open your mind, don’t look only at Penang, look at all small towns in the country. Do you suggest shop owners follow Singapore footsteps, turn the pre-historic shophouses into pubs, KO-K, whatever you can think of like Mohamad Sultan Road in Spore. May be you folks will be happier at night?!

Author claimed that swiftlet houses in agriculture land is affordable is utterly baseless. Piece of 1 acre agriculture land at the west coast can cost from min $100k to >$300k pending on area. A new smallest swiftlet house cost min average $200k. Putting a building in a no men’s landed is a big no no, unless you are cash rich. The risk is too high. If swiftlet refuse to stay in your building, please tell us what are you going to do with the building?! Min $300-$400k going down the drain mind you!

Please be informed that failure rate of these industry is around 80%.

Please also be informed that security is the biggest issue now, even broad day like in the city also get robbed, of course, non of your concern.

Please also be informed that the government is targeting 130,000 units of bird houses in the country to bring the country GDP to higher level, as promise by our beloved PM. 130,000 x $400,000 = $52,000,000,000.00 ie RM52 Billion! Where to find this kind of money with failure rate of >80%. You want the country to gamble away with RM52 BILLION? Again, talk is cheap.

Claiming that swiftlets farms bring diseases, damage property also baseless. Again, as repeated above, these species already stay in towns during our grandfather age. Nobody make any big fuss about it. Those you find at the five foot ways till today are a bigger species called grass swift. Swiftlet stays in many abandoned building in towns since ages ago. What diseases have they spread since your grandfather age? You and me probably wont be around today! Swiftlet farms damaged property? Have you seen swiftlet dropping? It is like your house lizard drop. What damage to the property are you talking about? Quoted from your blog, ‘behind the pretty facade, hides the workings of a swiftlet farm’? The blogger is clearly contradicting him or herself.

This species is very special if you do enough study on them. They don’t mix around with others migrating birds, they don’t perch on trees or ground or mixed with domestic animals, they fly at high attitude during the day, and most importantly they consume insects. Which in away reduce flies and mosquitoes and beetles etc. Go compare animals that consume meat and insects and see the great difference. We humans are dirtier that swiftlets, if you think properly. Our human faeces smells far worst than hundreds of swifltlet combine.

With the discovery of this new industry, local folks are revamping and restored old dilapidated abandoned building to something useful, something like provide cottage industry to local folks and creating jobs. Contractors, nest cleaners, housekeepers, to traders and exporters are very glad they discovered this industry 10yrs ago. Now they thanks God they can survive and send their sons and daughters to study overseas. Else what kind of income can support town folks? Young ones migrate to big towns or overseas, left old folks. Factories are moving out of the country, country FDI falling down and down. Hundreds and thousands of folks direct or indirectly benefited from this new found industry like tin mines and rubbers. If you don’t believe, go demolish all swifthouses, see how many people with die under your ‘good’ hand (for the lame excuse of preserve pre-historic shophouses) and the country plummet to the lowest point.

Since with old buildings, new building and not so new buildings already in existence, and swiftlet aleady in existence in town (with or without swiftlet shophouses), people are just capitalized on the stranded assets and made full use of it. Why need to folk out $52 BILLION RINGGIT to put new farms in no where, and risk to loss $42 BILLION if the birds did not co-operate?

Please noted that YB Ong Ka Chuan when he was a Local Housing Minister many times giving green lights to swiftlet farming in commercial shoplots. Besides, many ministers and even PMs support this industry. It is legal mind you. Unless you are talking about swiftlet in residential houses or flats, that’s illegal.

Please get your facts right and don’t put baseless accusation on this new cottage industry.

The only problem that we agree is noise problem. That too can be solved. External noise only allowed played from 7am-8pm. Noise level is the issue that we need co-operation from the shop owners, and that can be solved, thru associations, town councils, regulation thru 1GP etc. With regulation and lesser redtapes, technical problem can always be solved. Else, no need police summon on the roads anymore.

Sorry for any offence and thank you for the opportunity to voice our view.

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Apr 21 2010, 01:45 PM
Bobby C
post May 4 2010, 05:00 PM

663 posts

Latest from The Star, though nothing to do with EBN industry, just to show same old same old characteristic of the depts.

Initially Bakun Dam (chop down trees for timber tyfooons and generate power to white hair biggrin.gif), supply cleanest power to Salawak sounds great, aft tat too much power so multi-bliion ringgits sub-marine cables to Peninsular, aft tat put two environmental disaster alu smealter plants to suck all power from Bakun, aft tat no power so go build nuclear, may be nuke bomb in 2021!
Life is short in this place, may be 2021 all will be gone incl PERHILITAN. Dont take to serious with the crasy silly distorted $@!* depts. Anything can come out from the junk yard!

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...5101&sec=nation

Govt gives go-ahead for nuclear power plant by 2021
By LESTER KONG

KUALA LUMPUR: The Government has approved the setting up of a nuclear power plant, slated to start operating from 2021.
Energy, Green Technology and Water Minister Datuk Seri Peter Chin Fah Kui said his ministry has been given the go-ahead by the Economic Council to start identifying suitable sites.
Declining to reveal the possible sites and the total power deliverable, Chin said the nuclear plant needed to be built in an area with high power demand.
"Building of the first plant needs a lead time of at least 10 years.
"We need to look at the safety aspects, human resources and the location," he said, adding that the International Atomic Energy Agency had the final say on whether the plant could be built.
Technology know-how and providers may possibly come from South Korea, China, France or Japan, he added.
He stressed that a nuclear plant was sorely needed to meet the country's accelerating energy needs and ensured its energy security.
"Nuclear energy is the only viable option toward our long term energy needs.
"Our energy mix is rather unhealthy. We are depending too much on coal and oil," he told reporters after launching the first Carbon Neutral Conference on Sustainable Buildings South East Asia on Tuesday.
Chin stressed that despite nuclear energy's astronomical start-up costs, it was more cost- and energy-efficient than dotting the country with coal-fired power plants.
On the political fallout from building a nuclear plant, Chin said the Government would be ready to explain to the people the need for one.
He added that the Government would approve a project that was not good for the country. (tats copy n paste from The Star no editing ok ..haha)

This post has been edited by Bobby C: May 5 2010, 10:43 AM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0737sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:58 PM