V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

West Wing
post Feb 10 2010, 12:43 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Tweeter @ Feb 10 2010, 11:20 AM)
Hi Cergau,

To avoid too steep staircase, you can break the staircase into two parts for more steps, see pic below.

I also have a BH design very similar to yours.
My floor to floor will be 3.5 meter only.
The size is 6 meter by 20 meter,will be built on a shallow pond.
Hopefully can start by next month.
Just to share what I believe

1.How high should it be......obviously, the higher the better as there will be no obstruction to the bird and if your floor is high, you can even be there and the birds will not care nor concern about your present in the BH but then....beware, the higher it is, the more dangerous it is for you. The Better for the birds, but the worst for you. Most accidents happened in BH are caused by falling off ladders and many have broken arm to tell tales. Simple thing like climbing ladder will be problematic when you are tired like having climbing up and down harvesting hundreds of nests and you may just slip and fall to the ground.

As for the holes in the BH for the birds to go down to the lower floors and again, caution as the holes may be your way to heaven as as you are working in a BH where lighting and congestion plus the unpleasant of wearing a mask will disorientate you and cause you to fall down. Best if you can have blocker around the holes although it may alittle obstruct the flight of the birds but it wil save your life. Remember the case of a BH owner (a Millionaire before venturing into the BH Buz) fell to his death in his BH thru a hole in the upper floor of his BH.

Doing a new BH, you must consider from both angles, the birds and you in particular.......not use of a successful BH if you are dead.

Most of the designs that I have seem are typical types and most of them are similar. You see one, you have seen most of them all but to me, many can have better designs for the birds if you are doing it in the plantation cos there are no building specifications to follow............obvoiusly, there are always risk to be the pioneer in designing new designs.

Don't ask me what I have in mind cos I won't be telling as I reserve it for myself.........my dream BH.

As always, above are my opinions on the matter and all may comments and happy to hear if I am wrong.

West Wing
post Feb 13 2010, 02:17 PM

1,397 posts

Just gone up to my BHs and friends' to wish our birds "Gong XI Fa Cai" but the birds have started laying their eggs; some one and others two so the year of tiger must be good for all swiftlets sanctuaries providers and wishing all BHs be full with nests bigger than 3 fingers.

GONG XI FA CAI to all swiftlets Home providers and may you find what you been waiting for in the year of the Tiger. May the Tiger bring only winners and no Loser. Gong Xi, Gong Xi
West Wing
post Feb 17 2010, 09:50 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 12 2010, 12:08 AM)
hi dunsun,

do u mean Negeri Sembilan now cannot have  a swiftlet farm house at this moment? how many states have halted the licensing?

check out here , so many people got conned.
http://www.mfa.org.my/?classified:pelabura...est:16777-FRM-4
N Sembilan esp. Seremban Local Authorities are 100% against the idea of having BHs @ TOWN and they have spoken @ Seremban W/Shop that no matter what, they will not allow BH @ town. Even if we solved the sound and all the problems associating with the BH, they still disallowed BH in town and may I quote their Rep @ W/S, "Towns are for human, if you want to build BHs, build them in agriculture land" ............

Funny that I was sitting next to him on my right side and PM's representative on my left side.............and I didn't knew that until they have voiced out their views on the matter. A Pro-BH on Left and the Anti-BH on my right !!!!!!! So, we hope that the new Law will be in favour of the BH@TOWN or otherwise many will lose alot of money, billions Ringgits at least and the properties like shoplots will be very cheap. Ishallah.

Sorry, cos CNY is still here and we should talk of goodies like Gong Xi Fa Cai, Buy ToTo, get toto ( many, many)......
West Wing
post Feb 17 2010, 04:06 PM

1,397 posts

Reply by Wong Ho Leng: Yes, you can lodge separate reports with the local govt, police and forestry depts. DAP has made our stand very clear that the ppl should be allowed to ranch bird’s nest on agricultural land. We do not support the current wide practice of nest ranching in urban centres. We have also suggested to the govt to allow a special zone to be gazetted for bird nest ranching. The govt has not listened.

From the State Assemblyman Wong Ho Leng (DAP) Blog of Sarawak, you will see if that DAP is against the BH @ town and if they are in power, habis the BH@town so at least the present PM has us in mind.

Again, above are my personal comment on the matter.

http://yippeego.com/ypwordpress/

This post has been edited by West Wing: Feb 17 2010, 04:48 PM
West Wing
post Feb 20 2010, 11:22 AM

1,397 posts

The problems with GP1 or any are that those who are drafting the guildlines may not know the differences between swallow and swiftlet and some even mistaken martin for swiftlet. Recently, on the TV on swiftlets, showing the swallow as swiftlet and the cave type birdnest as house birdnest and from what I saw on the TV, Indo workers arranging birdnests into shapes that were cave nests, I think and hope that I was wrong.......

The federation of National Swiftlets Association should take the initiatives to input the true and correct information to those who are drafting the GP so as to ensure that it is done correctly instead of leaving it to them.

In the end, it shall be the starters, may it be in the towns or agriculture land that will suffer as some of the guildlines may sound absurd or unrealistic, no thanks to the lack of knowledge and understandings in the field by the authorities .............and the Federal Association should take pat of the blame if it happens to cause hardship to the BH owners because they did not provide the right information at the right time and to the right people until everything is too late.

Only if we here have the opportunity to talk to them but we are just small flies..........so, Taikos up there, you need to ensure that all end well for the sake of our future and that of the nation, too.

Hope my comments didn't hurt or offend anyone as I mean well for all in the trade, my income...and for Malaysia, my country ......and also swiftlets, my love.

Added on February 20, 2010, 11:37 am
QUOTE(ellylinda @ Feb 19 2010, 10:45 PM)
Cheap things no good. Good things no cheap.

My ss-99 running 24/7 non stop since 1 year ago still going. As I understand from james blog the internal parts are very important.
Cheap thing no good and Good things no cheap and what if I were to sell sell no good thing expensive, then will the cheap thing be good then.

Let your 6 senses be your judge of qualities and if you are able to buy quality thing as a discount price, then why not??? Obviously, don't buy lousy equipment that sound like a bull instead of swiftlet in you BH cos bull can't fly, my friend. Use your ears and eyes when buying and not the price tag.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Feb 20 2010, 11:37 AM
West Wing
post Feb 22 2010, 04:39 PM

1,397 posts

Reading the Draft provided, I still don't believe that it shall be the one forward to the Cabinet. We have leaders like Dato Beh and others helping in the drafting of the paper and is this the outcome of the workshop after workshop helping to draft the paper to be make a Law on swiftlet Industry. I still don't believe it but I just sleep with it now until I get confirmation from the horse's mouth ....by the way, who has the horse mouth............ and will Dato Beh's representative or any Pejabat Haiwan official reading this forum please clarified if you are reading it.

Anyway, I am waiting for my Association Secretary to get intouch with the Fed. Association on the matter and hope that the draft is not the ONE>
West Wing
post Feb 23 2010, 02:56 PM

1,397 posts

Problems, problems as the Key officers in the Pekan, Kuantan or Kemaman Association seem to know nothing about the 1GP and they even asked me to email them the draft copy........some with no initiative and disconcerted , I would say but I did told them to seek help on the matter esp the Pekan Association because the PM is the Wakil Raayat of Pekan and they can see the PM without any formal protocol. All they need is to know when he is in Pekan and they can just go to his office to see PM to brief him on the matter....and we all know that PM support the industry cos He wanted it to grow fast and big!!!!!!

So, if any Pekan reader here, seek the PM's help cos if anyone can, you can!!!!!
West Wing
post Feb 24 2010, 10:08 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Feb 24 2010, 09:50 AM)
All,
My posting on Najib's site is now moderator approved and online.
Pls go do yr bit.
http://www.1malaysia.com.my/index.php?opti...ang=en#comments

btw, there's a Cabinet meeting today.
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...77&sec=business
Thanks for the infos.

By the way, as I was told that the export of 1 Kg of EBN does not require any tax and any exceeding that amount will need to pay Rm100 irrespective of the amount.
West Wing
post Feb 24 2010, 10:49 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Feb 24 2010, 10:35 AM)
Unc WW,
Me thinks the implementation is erratic.
So, for the article I need to stick with the official version.
[attachmentid=1455406]
Well, what I heard is that they have changed it to what I have posted....recently and maybe those who wish to take out EBN can check out with the Perhilitan Office on the matter.

A word of advice on newbiz....never use plywood esp. new ones as the glue irritate the birds; wood planks used must be of with no smell like meranti (red) and that they must not be treated.......................my personal experience with the subject in BH to share as these were discussed.

West Wing
post Feb 24 2010, 01:24 PM

1,397 posts

As Chank posted was right cos if each of those owners and friends each contribute Rm50 to the fund, we shall have millions of ringgit to champion our rights and dreams.

I can be the first one to pay up but then where are the transparency and who shall be place incharge of the fund and to lead the crusade. So many questions to discuss and solve.....................oh again, my personal opinion only,
West Wing
post Feb 25 2010, 05:12 PM

1,397 posts

TO me, getting swiftlet to stay in my sanctuary is never a problem but having these daily bad news and not knowing what the future will be; that's killing me before the swiftlets.

After so many GPs and so many years, I still don't know what the Authorities really want. They want success in this industries but they are killing it. To me is that the authorities should allow us to brief them on the art and science of breeding swiftlets and setting up swiftlets santuaries. We are pioneers and we know what we are doing and we do not need UNI decree in Animal Husbandry or Biology to prove us right cos we have past records to prove us right. Put us as advisors to the brains(the Degree Holders) so that we can input to their bright brains to able to put Malaysia as the Top Producer of EBN and the no.1 revenue for Malaysia. Also, to allow us to prove that we are also Anak Malaysia and to fight for our country by helping to generate income for the nation. Patriotism is not only about becoming a soldier to fight a war, in peace, we fight for the nation in making sure that Malaysia is prosperous and economically strong.

Tun Tan once told his new recruit graduates," I choose you all not because I think you know alot on how to manage the buz but that with your excellence result in your degree, I know you have the brain. So, now, throw away all you learned in UNI and start learning today from me" Or so I heard or did I make it up!!!!

So, end the story from me and no offence pls.....and if you see DL, pls. convey my warmest regards to him.
West Wing
post Feb 27 2010, 05:37 PM

1,397 posts

May I ask the same question again although if you think that I am repeating myself. The 1GP that found on the site seem like an old GP and are you sure that it is the ONE forwarded to the cabinet for discussion?

Many of the things stated questionable and like an old guideline mentioning Layang Layang, the number of few hundreds BHs and so many other mentioned in the 1GP......hope someone really do know the answer cos I don't want the blind leading the blind and in the end, we all sound stupid..........look stupid.
West Wing
post Mar 1 2010, 10:34 AM

1,397 posts

It is my sincere hope that this forum is to educate fellow Malaysian on the art and science of swiftlets sanctuaries and since now, there are critical and more urgent matter to address to first like whether we can last thru the storm.

With these in mind, we should not be pro BN nor pro opposition here but all pro swiftlets for our own survivors, our swiftlets plus our country future as well. We all may be of difference in politic but in swiftlets concerned, I think that we are all for the swiftlets, may it be in town, in agriculture land or Eco and although Eco was never friendly to us before but hopefully, they will come to their senses that without us in town and agriculture land, they would fail badly!!!!!

I truly hope that the Eco men will support us from now so as to have some changes to fulfill their own ambition of a bigger scale. Like Dr. M once said; "when we were in trouble, no matter if it's a white or black cat, if it catches rats, it is a good cat". So, let us do the same, all united with only one goal, to save the industry by putting our personal feelings and agendas aside........Love you all but love the swiftlets more!!!!!!

Sorry to say that I still haven't got any feedback from my source and maybe, some here do have and if so, pls. share so all may sleep well tonight. God bless you all and may all my wrongs be forgiven.

ps. we are not just burning our anger and frustration here and doing nothing but to let the world know that we are facing a crisis here and that the authorities also do read it here and that they should know that we, the protectors of swiftlets are against the GP1. Internet is the best venue, I believe.
West Wing
post Mar 1 2010, 05:10 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Semuabumi @ Mar 1 2010, 01:23 PM)
WW must have seen too many nests or knows very little about Malaysian politician. How can Dr.M not color blind. He is most racism and totally blind. If he become the adviser for the cabinet for proposing the legislative and law for Swiftlet farming then Swiftlet farming is solely for Bumiputra only.

To name a few : Mineral and Oil, Automotive, Aerospace
Really, DM isn't the right guy to mention but then Deng is a communist and the Govt. doesn't take kindly anything from the C, by the C or of the C. Still better to mention that it is from DM, do you agree? Then, everyone will listen as like before cos' no one dare to offend him..........cos he never forget, you know!

About EBN, honestly. I stop counting nests long long time ago...........and I knew none of the new generation of politicians...just those either retired or rest in peace. So, young men of the forum, you all must now take control and lead as many oldies like me are like tigers no doubt but toothless tigers that can roar but cannot bite lah. Hahaha

West Wing
post Mar 2 2010, 10:09 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Mar 1 2010, 11:12 PM)
I was informed (pls double check again) that the report is not the 1GP, 1GP is still finalizing.....how sure? i going for holiday loh so i think is real (meaning peace of mind!!....no need go any where, just somewhere that i can sit back, enjoy my RM1.30 teh C and RM0.80 roti canai....

any other bro's here got any new info?
But........this might happen again.......in the meantime...better enjoy ur life first loh....but still pls join the association to change them and help to govern those association napoleons...
RECEIVED AN EMAIL FROM THE TRUE LEADER.....in fact after reading it....i am crying....
how i wish we have more of these leaders ....but i think they are a new batch of younger generation leaders up n coming...

(not sure should shares this email or not in forum)ood luck.

UNITY IS STRENGTH.

THE ONLY TIME EVILS TRIUMPH   IS WHEN ALL THE GOOD MEN AND WOMEN ARE DOING NOTHING.

Regards,
[/color]
"If it's a I have checked out that the alleged Draft 1GP that in my opinion it is a hoax. It was totally different from what we resolved in the Seramban Workshop. The actual one is still undergoing the finalization stage. Sound like from DL, isn't it?????"""""""""""""

If it's a HOAX!!!!! shit and double bird shit, don't we all look stupid, I don't know you all but I do........look like what we have proposed, compromised and agreed to @ Seremban Workshop may still stand, Alhamduellah............

Don't worry cos if the they take the Seremban's proposals, most of us will be happy with exception of a few like those who like loud music, window types entrance and residential area. With the Seremban's proposals, at least we will survive with our BHs intact with least damages and losses. Don't blame me as I wasn't invited to the second workshop and even the first workshop, I was smuggled in by DL and I was glad that I did cos I did very well there and have no regret and my swiftlets will be proud of me.

Happy Tiger's Year, everyone @ Forum....

This post has been edited by West Wing: Mar 2 2010, 10:13 AM
West Wing
post Mar 2 2010, 11:52 AM

1,397 posts

My apologies again guys (and gals) for sending out the wrong GP. I I truly loved and appreciated the prompt and passionate responses though. I agree with Shen that if we are able to get a copy of the latest draft of the GP, the associations can also circulate the same to all their members so that the members can manage their expectations of what their new obligations are.
From

Secretary-General
SMI Association of Penang

Received a copy of the above letter from a friend, someone must be playing dirty trick on us.

This is very bad joke to play.....and why isn't the final draft provided to the states Associations, our local Associations cos we, the swiftlet's sanctuaries providers have the right to know as it shall determine our future and life. There shouldn't be any secrecy to the matter as it is of the raayat's right to know.

West Wing
post Mar 2 2010, 06:50 PM

1,397 posts

Here, I wish to express my unreserved and sincerely apologies to all those that I have forwarded the 1GP cos I never have the intention to cause embarrassment or even calling some by names which I now regret and remorse .....as I should have check my information more carefully before accusing and condemning some for not doing anything to help.

Those who are involved in the preparation, please forgive me here for calling you names and hope that you still are doing all you can for the swiftlets, BHs owners and the nation. Remember that all that have said and done are for the sake of the nation's wealth and also our future generations.

So, hopefully that we do not make such silly mistake again cos' it's deeply hurt those who did help and was called Names!!!! Otherwise, no one will be willing to help us in future.

Again, as always......above are my own feeling on the matter which consider settled until the truth comes.....but nothing can be worst then the one forwarded...

Birds News!!!! Don't need to have your eyes check up cos you ar not seeing double or multiple cos swiftlets are really back and in hugh quantity these time. Have been into many BHs and all are showing hugh improvement ....much much better than last year. Pls. never blast your tweeter cos you will not end up having more birds but more complaints only.
West Wing
post Mar 3 2010, 04:37 PM

1,397 posts

What I have learned from Swiftlets preservation is that when you are good to others, others will be good to you or at least, they won't try or go out of the way to harm you.....that's already a blessing. Be positive in all you do and what you have.

I was always positive in my BHs and I have no regret. My friend had a failed BH that had no bird staying after 2 years.......luckily, he seek treatment for his failed BH and he came to me one day and now, after 18 months, he is a fathers of 1000 birds (500 nests). Sometime, when we get desperate and angry, little things we overlook and need friends who still has cool head to solve the simple problem.

In failed BHs, one must always stay cool and calm, breath in and out slowly (surely not in the BH cos' its dirty) and maybe then you see the clearer picture of the problem and you may then asked yourself, why didn't I think of that before??

My own experience with BHs to share.

West Wing
post Mar 3 2010, 05:00 PM

1,397 posts

Thinking of the 1GP, bring laughter in my sleep and make me remembered the story of the Sky is falling.

A corn fell on the head of the cock and the cock went round to tell all animals that the sky is falling and in the end everyone believe that the sky is falling even without looking at the sky. I sincere hope that the sky isn't falling for us!!!!!!

No news yet and maybe no news is Good News lah!!!!!!

This post has been edited by West Wing: Mar 3 2010, 05:05 PM
West Wing
post Mar 4 2010, 12:38 PM

1,397 posts

(((((((Talk about open roof, dog kennel, windows type...
i personally know many farmers who use their 2nd storey shop (three storey strata titled shop) to convert into farm, they cannot open the roof liked we did in top floor. So, they resorted to use the window as the inlet hole.
and i also know many new shops that the developer sell it at strata title basis where 4 storey shops are sold per floor basis. and such those who bought the lower floor will need to use window type.
we cannot just said that well, our farms are all ok and those windows or dog kennel type will have to go.....tht is just the same liked what those ******* did where they take cares of themselves instead of all.
whether there are windows, dog kennel, open roof. as long as it meet the requirement in terms of db, they should be allow to continue operation.
i apologize if i offended anyone here.)))))))))))) Quote CHANK

Just say that you can't please everyone with any GP and if the authorities try to please everyone, they will fail everytime and in the end, they will please no one and even offend everyone.

My uncle told me once; you cannot please everyone and if you do, you end up doing nothing, whatever you do, you can only please part of the people at one time and the most importance thing is that whatever you do, you sincerely believe that it is the best in the interest of all.

To be fair to everyone, open window is a no no in town as I am a victim of the open window type. My house is behind a BH with the open window type and the music play for 24 hrs and my children can't sleep days and nights.
Because I am a BH owner myself, I complained it to the owner and it only went quite well for a week and then it happened again. I can't find myself to report to the authorities so I paid a contractor to seal my back windows facing the BH but then how many living behind opened window types are BH owners and willing to incure the cost of closing the window and the unhealthy windowless sleeping rooms. The main culprits of the industry is the sound disturbance and the open window is the worst kind.

Open window BHs owners may argue that we will comply but then how many and for how long and what after the GP. Opposition Politicians gain on Public complaints. We, the BHs owners are not Tai Sai, others do have rights and we are infringing into their right to a peaceful and healthy life.

A few of the compromised solutions @ Seremban workshop are

1. That open windows are not allowed
2. Residence area are not allowed
3. BHs may be neat and nice and need to repaint when required.
4. No outside modifications are allow.
5. External tweeters must face the sky and not toward other buildings.
6. Regular maintenance and upkeeping of the BHs.
7. many many others requirements.

For open window type, as long as you play music, the sound will travel from the hole to the back building loud and clear esp. at night.......and there is no other way to solve then to prevent the usage of this method.

I remembered that during the mentioning of the open window type @ Seremban, a particular group asked me why didn't I object to it when it was mentioned and I replied why should I and not them; I am just one and they are group of 6 and they just sit down quietly and just listen for the whole section. I didn't mentioned that I am also against the opened window type 20 years ago and still am.

To be honest, for the BHs @ town to stay, there is no way for open window type as these type will bring future problem for the industry for not only sound pollution, smell and dust pollution will follow.

I am talking as a neutral guy who suffer from the BH and also gain from the industry. Above are my own feelings and others may feel differently and may wish to speak up. No intention of offending anyone but being a honest man, I just speak from my heart and what I believe that it is the best in the interest of the majorities of BHs @ towns.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Mar 4 2010, 03:00 PM

16 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:24 PM