16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

West Wing
post Mar 4 2009, 02:57 PM

1,397 posts

Just return from guangzhou for some other Buz and did spend a few hours on facts findings. It is not as easy as going there and you will get alot of buyers cos most of the buyers know all about the price in Malaysia which they call"Malai".

Alot of bull shit that the buyers in China are asking only for unprocessed nests. All depend on whom and most don't even care for any certification and taxes paid but only want cheap, big and white. Most of the nests are from HK so smuggled into China.

Form what I get, they want A white nests and some don't mind how you do it but just big white processed nest and they pay about Rm4000 - 5000..... mind you, they quote you in Ringgit and not CNY.

Some do processed their nests in China........maybe some readers here do have better luck. Please comment

This post has been edited by West Wing: Mar 4 2009, 03:00 PM
West Wing
post Mar 4 2009, 04:36 PM

1,397 posts

The followings are what I propose for my local Association .......

1. To make representation and constructive suggestions to the Local Government on the effect of legislation or regulations which may be introduced from time to time. To take concerted action in matters affecting the Industry and/or members.
2. To provide the Association's support to Government body and to any charitable and or voluntary establishment which may be deemed conducive to the needs of the public and to the interest of members so as to foster good relationship with all parties.
3. To assist and cooperate with the Government in the implementation and enforcement of the laws governing the industry (provided always that the Laws are reasonable and just).
4. To ensure full understanding of the public in the industry; awareness toward this industry so as not to have negative feeling and any resentment toward this industry.
5. To foster mutual goodwill and understanding by providing opportunities, forums and facilities for members to share education materials, information and latest development in the industry. Also, to arbitrate disputes and conflicts between members/public to ensure harmony and peace.
6.To provide for seminars, exhibitions and conferences and educational literature with an aim to upgrade members of latest development of the industry.

Note: Pls add or comment.

West Wing
post Mar 5 2009, 05:50 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(benchai @ Mar 4 2009, 11:37 PM)
sorry  should read their own name,address and email contact.  Thank you !  you clever boy.
Sometime at public forum, we shouldn't use real names and to include actual details will only invite unnecessary danger. Not that we are afraid for our self but we do have families to be concerned as we do not know who's reading. Anyway, most of the readers do know me anyway and if the reader want my name, address email and telephone, PM me and you are always welcome to have fellowship with me anytime but I am just referring only to my friends@forum. My suggestion is..........Better introduce yourself before joining in the forum for discussion then at least, we know more about you and maybe this way we can help you better and that we also can trust you more. If one want to lie....... name, add and email can also be fake, too.

No man want to hurt a peace loving creature like me. Again as always are my personal comments and Mr. Benchai, I think you are OK.
West Wing
post Mar 5 2009, 09:54 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Mar 5 2009, 12:24 PM)
nothing is free. 4k for a lawyers service (shared) is ok.

can anyone share the details of the injunction? the technical details, or even pm me if it is deemed unsuitable to post it publicly. i do have a few corporate lawyer friends, maybe they can give differing opinions and what not. since construction has started, i have some free time to lepak and ask around.

i'm not in the Sarawakian's shoes, but complying would mean giving way to other rules and regulations to be implemented... this is not justice. there are only less than a dozen BH's in the area i'm building, and i have only got to know and entered 1. we might not be facing this sort of problem anytime soon, but any technical loopholes i'd prefer to be prepared. please dear fellow forumers, let us figure a way of solving this predicament.

Again, if there are any petitions, please count me in.
When your Houses is on fire....someone is fighting the fire. At least, give them some water.....share lah...... What's the use of just clapping hands and say thank you. What they want is fair contribution to save all BHs including yours'. With such respond from all of BH owners in Sarawah, no want will be willing to help anymore.......

I was thinking of supporting the injunction but if you all feel that way, forget it and let all BHs in Saraway burn down. Hope you will think again about your BHs' future!!!
West Wing
post Mar 6 2009, 09:46 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(imad @ Mar 6 2009, 12:37 PM)
Hi evryone...

I wrote earlier a couple of weeks back... Still looking for anyone who can help with advise on building my BH...
Hey, our friend Imad......this is a forum and if you need to know all about BHs A toZ.....get a consultant and he would advice you sll you need. Maybe, for a start read all previous postings and also some basic books of swiftlets.

Here, we are only to guild you but then you need to be more specific about what you want to know and what's problem that you encounter. If you are looking for friends around your area to discuss about the initial aspects like your location and setup. then give the location of your town and your BH and maybe some friends from your area may answer your prayer and even ask you out for coffee and roti canai and of course you pay lah......
West Wing
post Mar 7 2009, 08:15 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(benchai @ Mar 7 2009, 10:18 AM)
Hi Kuching Farmer,

I don’t know if bird will mark danger zone in areas where Duress is being frequently tested. My buddy B.Loy(Hay  James ! Hands off).  And myself have this secret location in Miri where the birds come down to feed at a certain time. We used it to test 5 versions of duress. The birds do not appear less enthusiastic every time we conducted testing there. In fact B.Loy commented  that the bird seem to recognized the black Hilux we used to get to this location as we observed that some birds will start to circle the Hilux even before we use the SOS sound. I will ask my sifu for his comment.

One more subject that puzzles me, is at times the birds don’t come back to the BH for few days usually during bad weather. Where do these birds sleep? We also learn that they can only clink on to some structures. Do they roost clinking on to trees in the jungle? Or where they spent the night ? Can someone please help to answer these questions? If I have the pleasure to met Dr. C.K.Lim I will remember to raise this subject with him.

KF I am looking forward to our Swiftlets Safari next week. I promised Cel. I will brew one batch of feathers aroma of him and our KT friend. I am also glad that we are finally back to discussing swift lets farming.
Let me share some of my little experiences,

1. Swiftlets need not return every night as they do not need a place to roost. So, if you find that today there are 100 and tomorrow, there are nil......it is still normal. Do not do any repair on the new BH as they will return if they like your new BH... within 5 days at most. Sometime, if they are desperate in finding a place to lay their eggs, they will return even tomorrow and then start to build nest.The Swiftlets can practically sleep, eat and make love in the sky and only venture into the BH to lay eggs. Today's 100 birds may not be the 100 birds you see tomorrow, but you see many birds everyday in your new BH, you are surely going to be successful. During bad weather like during monsoon time, some birds cannot return, that's why alot of chicks may die due to starvation, but not all....so I disagree with throwing away all eggs during the monsoon season because at least 50% survived and live to propagate.

2. That the reason why they have such tiny legs, very strong and very sharp.......they do not need a roosting place and just some place where the predators cannot reach and make their nests. Their main reason to return is to propagate and they will do it like the chicken in your farm. Immediately if conditions allow it.

Above are my my own observations of swiftlets and may differ from others.
West Wing
post Mar 9 2009, 12:10 AM

1,397 posts

I am really very disappointed that alot of swiftlets BH owners now are very greedy and selfish men and have follow a 45 days harvesting routing. There is a shortage of nests in the market and so many buyers are seeking Birdnest but that is not a reason to throw all your eggs.....where is your conscience..

Although, in this way is to maximize returns and in usually done in successful BH, harvesting all nests with eggs and thus, 100% return of investment within 4 years. Also, this way, you get best sizes and quality nests but the only problem, there will be not new birds fledgling out of the BHs and in 10 years, your BH population will drop by 50%. If all BHs in a certain place all follow these way of management, I regret to inform you that any new BH around will not get any bird as there are no new bird at all.

The successful BHs can maintain their output for a few years but the number will decrease as old birds die and this will be the same as what has been happening in the caves in Sarawak. I just like to know why are you all so greedy to kill off all offspring of the birds that give you gold...just because you want to maximize your income? Or just because you want to get better price for the China market which demand white neste with 3 feathers.

Are you not God fearing people? Very sad...very sad. That's is the main reason that alot of new BHs are not successful. I have known of a new BH which has 50 nests and are harvesting @45days cycle at the recommendation of his consultant.....and then after a year, renovated his BH because his BH still only has 50 nests after a year.....and who gain, the consultant !!!!! Paying again for renovation for a fail BH which maybe is successful if allow to propagate.

How are we going to achieve our goal and our national dream to be the world's no.1 producer of Birdnests if we do not allow our birds to flourish and multiply by 3 every year.

Once, I have a BH of 3 years and having over 2000 nests and in one year, the increment of 1500 nests, this kind of fairy tale can never come true nowaday. If all BHs in Malaysia follow my way, we still can have this wonderful dream....for all and not be selfish only for oneself. If I can have my way, I will fine them a thousand ringgit for a egg destroyed on propose and double that for a chick killed.

Maybe, many are scare that the government will not allow the BHs @ towns but by doing so, we get back our investment withind 4 years (only for those with a few thousand nests) but the future of the industry will be very blurred and worst for any eco park cos where to find birds if not for the towns' birds.................................

Didn't we cried when the authorised robbers killed so many Birds in Sarawak, are we not becoming like them? It is still not to late, repent now and we all will have a brighter and prosperous year ahead for all Malaysia. Let help to put Malaysia to be the world's no.1 Producer of birdnests. Malaysia Boleh !!!!
West Wing
post Mar 9 2009, 12:15 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 8 2009, 11:43 PM)
Ermm.. are you sure your birds likes the strict door opening hour regime ?? What if some birds find this house rules are not comfortable to them and decided not to stay put ?
Totally agreed with you. Why need to autogate when you have nothing at all and your time regime are out.

Turn off the autogate until you have some good result and when you really need to use it, make sure that you have the right time or else, you lose more then you can immagine.
West Wing
post Mar 9 2009, 02:19 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(siewann @ Mar 9 2009, 12:25 AM)
Thanks for the advise west wing and aeiou. But my land got quite a few of owl, should i turn it off now? how to monitor the right time in the future?
Use electric shock type. Place the electric line at the bottom of your entrance hole as the owl will first rest on the entrance hole before entering BH so as to ensure there is no human or trap in the BH. Once the owl touches to electrical line of low voltage but high amp, if the owl still live, they will remember for the rest of their life not to venture into you BH and the lines are safe for human. Also, the lines have no effect on the swiftlets as they don not touch the 2 wires at one time. Any predator like giant lizard or snake too will remember the trill of being electrified.

Someone who have electrical qualifications may want to give some advice on the topic.
West Wing
post Mar 9 2009, 09:53 PM

1,397 posts

(Group: Junior Member

But West Wing, siewaan's BH is open roof leh... But does owl nose dive to open roof entrance hole when they fly ? )

An owl will be a problem to any design you make and I feel that the open air well design give swiftlets a equal chances to escape . If your opening is what a small, like a auto gate you might as well forget getting alot of birds into your BH in a short time.

Even just like my next door BH having a thousand birds suffered after some modification to make a metal grill entrance to prevent thief even though no one has broken into his BH. His birds are so scare to fly in and I was happy then for thanks to him for some wonderful present; although some do fly through the metal bars but others stayed aovernight at my hotel next door and some of those birds are my guests now. Since it was a windfall, I kept so quite about the whole matter but then my neighbour seem to know about his problem and remove the grill.........that is the end of my windfall's fortune.

If you understand my above story, you will know how to plan your BH well...... Use any thing else like spot light shining outward during the night but never create too small an opening. Owls do not like bright light shining into their eyes. On it from 8.30pm to 5 am or use the electrical shocking type and thank to my friend here......was it high voltage but low amp, right?

Luckily, I do not have any of your problems as all my BHs are in town but then town's problems just started to begin and for that I am very afraid....not for myself but for my wonderful swiftlets.

West Wing
post Mar 10 2009, 12:52 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(benchai @ Mar 10 2009, 07:55 AM)
Swiftlet rearing provides ecological balance: Tiong

SIBU: Swiftlet rearing can have a positive impact on the environment as it helps in the ecological balance, which is important for the survival of plants and animals.

Sarawak Timber Association (STA) vice-chairman Tan Sri Datuk Tiong Hiew King said as one of the balancing agents in the ecology system, swiftlets had been known to eat up insects and other pests.

“In addition, places with low population of Aedes mosquitoes are those with many swiftlets,” Tiong said yesterday, adding that recent studies had shown that swiftlet farming had positive bearing on the environment.

In this connection, he hoped that swiftlet farming is encouraged in Sarawak.

“I hope the authority would work closely with swiftlet farmers to formulate good management and environment-friendly procedure on the venture. This will also ensure the growing swiftlet population in town,” he said at the tree planting campaign in conjunction with National Landscape Day at Lorong Lada 8A/2 here.

He, however, said swiftlet farming was just one of the facets to maintain ecological balance in the environment.

Tree planting was just as important as it helped in greening the environment.
Very good suggestion I wound say. May I add that BHs in towns should be encourage to build roof garden. The roof garden not only provide beauty to the town but also provide eco friendly environment. The shit may act as fertilizer and the whole concept is a natural gaint filteration system plus temperature controlled system, too. Thank you, Tan Sri.....for telling the truth and so well said.

I dream of a day that I would rest @ my roof garden after having a hard day work @ BH........wonderful life won't you think so and enjoying listening to the smooth new bird songs while having refreshment.

Added on March 10, 2009, 1:13 pm
QUOTE(imad @ Mar 10 2009, 12:44 PM)
Hi guys,
Thanks for your answers.

What is a better opening for BH a dog kennel or open air top?... i was told that the birds glide in side ways rather than dive in... any advise?

Also, should the opening face sun down?
Never build a DK type in Town as it is so unpleasant and unpleasing. Most local council will object to this method and unless your's already has one that look like a DK. Air well type is not so obvious and it is good for air circulation which is good for health with any VH on the front or back of the shop that really look so ugly. Divert all VHs in the air well and the air well also act as a heat insulation for the BH.

From my experience with swiftlets and through my observation over the year using an open air well with a runaway of about 15 feet which is already there when I bought the building so not extra cost.

The swiftlets glide into the air well like a plane and into the BH and shot out when they are not sure. Gradually, when they know the area well and that after a year or two, you will see them dropping in and then glide into the entrance. I called that helicopter in to the BH.

That's my finding and hope that the above help you in your BH venture.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Mar 10 2009, 01:13 PM
West Wing
post Mar 11 2009, 03:27 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(arong @ Mar 11 2009, 12:12 PM)
Dear West Wing

The air well type entrance that always mention by you is it same with open roof design or its look like smoke tunnel design where quite famous in Selangor now a day?

Thank.
Most high buildings have air well so I normally will used that air well for the birds to glide in. This way, it save cost and you don't have to do alot of damages to the building. I have been very successful using the method. What is good is that the air well itself is an insulation wall for the birdhouse.

Too small an air well is useless cos the birds need to drop in or dive in . New birds need a long area which I refer to as a landing runaway to give them the confidence and the feeling of safety before entering. And for some of the new BHs, where there is no open air well, my way is either to have an long open roof or using the existing air ventilation opening (look similar to the DK type) as the structures are there so I will have no much problem with the local authorities.

Above are my sincere advice and other may have their own suggestion.

West Wing
post Mar 14 2009, 10:56 AM

1,397 posts

In building or renovation of BH, not 2 BHs will be identical but may be similars. As in everything like sound, fong sui opening or any matter, frist to be consider is the area then the location before then how the placement of the BH. That's why a few heads is always better than one. Take a few friends in the Buz to have a look at the area and allow each of them to give opinion, then you make the final decision base on their feedback.

Everthing must be consider, like the sun, the wind , the location and surrounding. Ask yourself questions and those friends of yours. Questions like,
1. How is this area?
2. Where should the BH be, which direction should the house be facing and All must be on why?
3. Even how high and how big must be asked?

All must be asked irrespective of whether you think are relevant or not cos you may need them to finalize your conclusion.

So, all said at the forum are what we think are correct but then, your area and ours maybe different. Like one guy told me that a certain great master's bird call is great, then I played it and found that it was not good and mine is even better....that doesn't make mine better then the great master from Indonesia's sound. Maybe, my area birds understand bahasa malaysia bukan bahasa Indo.

So, if you need to build any BH for that matter, do you really need double layer of bricks as I have friends who have just normal sad bricks and they are very successful. Not really all high techs are good cos sometime, simple old ways are still the best.

Like if your area is hot, then insulation is a must and you don't need anyone to tell you that and if your area is winding then you position of our BH's entrance must be well placed and so on.All these must be evaluated @ location. Like I have visited a BH because the friend ask me how many humidifiers are required and I need to examine the BH to make recommendation.

Like one Sifu friend took me to one of his client's BH and the inside is so blur that we can't see where we are going due to the mist from the humidifiers: are we growing fungus but I won't want to say that to my consultant friend, would I????? Must give face lah.

So, the worst built BH may have a few thousands nests and the best BH may have zero nest... but if your BH is carefully planned, you are assured of greater changes of success. Above are my humble view to share in the setting of sanctuary for swiftlets.
West Wing
post Mar 15 2009, 05:02 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(calvinswiftlet @ Mar 14 2009, 10:25 PM)
my shoplot bh facing tution school n not far away frm school had been shutdown by F.....G gov.... u think fung shui o nt... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Oh dear Calvinswiftlet,

What is meant by fungsui opening is the best direction for the birds' entrance and not of our human's fungsui. Even man's fungsui, all are base on the correct direction, directive or placement.

Like why if a beam over head is a bad fungsui....because old wooden building beam may just drop over your head.

So, good entrance is good fungsui also like having a river and hill nearby but bad fungsui like having a owl family nearby.

And as to the building of BH in residential, school or near place of prayer are looking for trouble and better stay far away from crowded public area to be on a safer side..

West Wing
post Mar 16 2009, 10:43 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(calvinswiftlet @ Mar 15 2009, 11:53 PM)
frm my pak hen sifu experience is location...flying path n swiftlet food resource is most important...nothing wit fungshui.. biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Walau, FS entrance is the correct positioning of BH entrance but forget about the FS if you can't catch the joke.

Like this, kepala ku sakit dan lupa semua sahaja..... !!!

Only want to help but never mind lah and forget about my 2 cent experiances and comments.
West Wing
post Mar 17 2009, 08:57 PM

1,397 posts

Sometime, I wonder if the birds is important or that the security is more important. To me, getting the birds to stay is my priority in doing a BH and I don't even care for anything else. All posted here are all my opinions and comments to share as others may have their own opinions.

To me, Spending too much at the initial stage is suicidal and really not required at all. Forget what the consultant advice as to them, more work mean more money .... the richer will be the consultant. I have posted past comments on this. Why spend so much and be tied down with paying the installment when if your BH became successful, the BH will pay for the renovation as to the security or other. Having 30kgs or birdnest per harvest, wouldn't that be sufficient to pay for your maintenance or modification. You can basically build another roof over your roof and add on another 2 steel door and still have plenty left to spend.

Building so sophisticate a BH even your own house can't afford and what's for? Isn't your life more valuable than that of the swifltets' and you are already spending like expecting father even before you are married.

How are you to know that you will be successful with this BH because the fortune teller (consultant) promised you a hundred nest within a year. What if this doesn't happened and will the Con pay you all the money spend on renovation or building the BH.

If that the case, allow me to build you your BH and I assure you that within one year, you will have a hundred nest and if not, you wouldn't need to pay me my consultation fee and that's chicken fee compare to what he earned from the construction of BH. If the Contractor is to mark up 10% for me, how much do you think that I make for a Rm400K BH.....simple mathematics will tell you a cool 40K. For that, I can give you free consultation.... but if you hit 100, that's a bonus for me.

That's when I told you to open your eyes before you sign at least, you died knowing what you are . Above, are my personal comment and have no ill intention toward anyone in particular.

Also, I will not always reply on personal PM request as I believe in sharing @ forum. Apologies, as all here are friends and I am neither a consultant nor a sifu....just someone with over 10 years in the Buz to share my little experiance. Sorry and pls. post @ forum so all will comments and all will learn as well.
West Wing
post Mar 19 2009, 12:51 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(vegachia @ Mar 19 2009, 12:12 PM)
i heard ppl said ,no corner board is better ,because the bird will stay inside faster for new BH ...if i wrong ,just correct me
As no one bought the matter up so there were not discussion on corner board.

Below are thru experience and other may disagree,

1. All present consultants will advice corner board as you pay for the boards and that they will tell you that rounded nest get better price than corner nest....as I say that very stupid as what we are interested are birds making nest no matter what nest and even tiny small nest are a bonus to us.

2. Fact no.2, the birds esp. the young ones like the corner in new surrounding as they feel safer there unless they are building in their parent's home.
So, if you allow corners, you will get more nests faster than any other modified corners and you can quote me for that. This, I have been telling all my friends and so far, all are successful........fast and more and only those so called consultants created rounded woods to make more money and telling you that rounded nests is half cups initially until the buyers know about that and gave a lower price for rounded nests.

3. Get your priority correct, the first and foremost is to get birds to set up a family at your BH and why counting the chickens before they are hatch. Be realistic that many present new BHs fail due to no corner and the BH's conditions and area but the main ones are because of the selfish BH neibhbours who refuse to allow their bird to breed. No new chicks, where to find birds unless GOD really create Men and birds.

4. New fledged birds do like to stay near their place of birth althought some do move to new area like we human do........found a pretty chick in CHina and migrate to China or Thailand or vise verse.
Normally, it either my place or your's but then if parent disagree to our union, we move to new places....hahaha.....the last sentence is a joke lah.

5.Before,, I have nests build in one long row like french breads, some nearly 18 inches long. Some built their nest so closed together like a giant long nest which Mr. HM called them Royal nest. I had so many of those doing my days and even nest like feather nest and red nests which initial look pinkish and turn to red when expose to the sun ( not brown as normal white nest will become).

Above are original and of my own experiance and are for friends to share.

West Wing
post Mar 20 2009, 07:00 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Engineer Lee @ Mar 20 2009, 11:42 AM)
I would like to throw one question to this forum.

You know, in our town, every now and then, once receiving complaints of mosquitoes breeding by the public, Jabatan Kesihatan will normally take action by sending their teams to do fogging.

If it happen that they are going to do fogging around the BH, will this be a menace to our swiftlets and the baby swiftlets?
Will this scare them away? Will they move out overnight?

Anyone can shed some light here?
NO problem at all as my BHs very regularly have fogging done each time someone down with dengue. The neighbour always blamed on BHs but why the Dengue problems occur after heavy rainfall. If they are due to BHs, then it should occur all the time and not just after a heavy rainfall. Swiftlets are reducing insects problem which include mosquitoes. Only if surrounding insects are scare only then the swiftlets fly far to seek for food.

The reason for the dengue is because of the blocked drainage chute on the roof which will fill with water each time it rain. I have been observing this problem a long time ago as the mosquitoes need very little water only.

Coming to your fogging problem, all BHs are stil OK and infact, the fogging forced the insects to fly high and the swifltets really had a good time.
We have the fogging done so many time but our BHs still have birds and nests, too.
West Wing
post Mar 22 2009, 12:55 PM

1,397 posts

Just hava a visit from a Dato and he told me that now,
Department of Town & Country Planning - Jabatan Perancangan Bandar & Desa is involve and that they only allow 3 years grace period for the town BHs and this smell trouble. Anyone know anything about the guildline?

Why so many government departments are involved now and this is really very bad and the Dato is going to KL and try to get some explanations for the local government on why so many departments are involved and why the rules and guildlines keep changing................ I wonder, who really is the boss?

Am a all blue guy for the past 3 generations and must now think of changing my t-shirt to green or other color for the sake of my future and my family ....................if the government is not committed to help us and still giving us a hard time to make a living.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Mar 22 2009, 02:32 PM
West Wing
post Mar 23 2009, 12:55 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Engineer Lee @ Mar 23 2009, 11:28 AM)
3 years grace period given to town BHs? After that all cease operation?

Ans. According to the Dato, yes, 3 years to move out and that's according to Jabatan Perancangan Bandar & Desa which cover the whold Malaysia...and the Dato will try to convince the Local Government that the Jabatan Perancangan Bandar & Desa should not be incharge and that the moving of BHs is impossible, cruel and inhuman.

It is so irrational, illogical, absurd and totally unacceptable!

Ans. So far, has any thing done is rational, logical or acceptable....what we hope and pray is a compromise conditions and bagi jalan untok cari makan.

I can’t see what the rationale behind all this is, especially during these difficult times.

Ans. You can't see is OK and hope that they can see.

May be….in Bolehland everything can be possible?

Ans. No more Bolehland in Bolehwood and  only bolehtahan and bolehfaham if possible.

It does not hold water by simply accuse that town BHs have violated the Uniform Building By-laws(UBBL) and caused noise pollution. Not all BHs did that, my friend! It’s not fair to punish all town farmers just because of some black sheep not following the rules.

Ans If the Jabatan Perancangan Bandar & Desa is in control, all are dead and gone......where can you find a JPB want BHs in towns...all they want are 5 stars hotel and Condos and maybe useless garden with waterfall.

No matter how noble the government’s intentions are, once this uncalled-for guideline materializes, it will shoot down the whole industry which is just taking its wind to fly high.

Ans: If I recalled back, most of the so called control over any industry all started with our National Association trying to put control over the industry and like most of the time, it back fired and killed or cause hardship to the industry. I wonder if it is the case with this industry?

I cannot envisage how this is going to happen. It is totally unthinkable to have all the town BHs owners’ livelihood destroyed overnight, let alone unavoidable killing of innocent birds in the process of demolition.

Ans: Go underground and like operating  illegal buz   like operating disco or night club or otherwise, what can you do? The Majlis guys will all get rich by closing one eye.

Will we be hit? How bad will we be hit? It is high time for the town BH farmers to wake up to the reality that gone is the sunny days and come is the gloom & doom.

Ans: The Doom Days are near unless the Big Guys in the National Association come out with something good.

The government just does not have slight inkling that it is the natural selection process that makes the swiftlets migrating from the cave (which environment is threatened by the poachers who carry out excessive & uncontrollable bird nest collection) to towns, in quest for more desirable and livable habitats.

Ans: Not that they don't know just that they don't want to know. What's eye cannot see and what's ear cannot hear.

They are also unwilling to accept that the “white gold” and the “golden goose” is something “Tuhan kasi kita terima”.

Ans: Better start learning some jawi language and then speak to them about verses from their K. Use God to help you and if they are God's fearing people, they will leave you alone.

Instead of seeing the industry as a boon to generate revenue for our country, the government is treating it like an unwanted problematic child.

Ans: Aren't most of us unwanted children?

They should feel proud that the business is now growing and contributing a lot to our country’s economy.

Ans: Money they see but the money is going into your pocket and not their's and if their's, there won't be a problem now, would there?

According to John Locke (a prominent philosopher)’s theory of property rights and original acquisition, if we have applied labour onto something, it is rightful for us to claim our rights on the objects or properties we work on and in return we are entitled for the reward, provided that we do no great harm to the society.

Ans: That's Mat Salleh theory and not Ibrahim's Theory lah!

Swiftlet farming is an honest trade. Swiftlet farmers are truthful & peace-loving people and we do not cheat & steal. Like other industry, we just work hard to put food on the table.

Ans: Sometime it make you wonder, what is honest and what is dishonest...........like in Indo, even earthquake or any natural disaster ar cause by the C because God is angry with you for giving the C apportunities to have land and wealth. Everything depend on interpretations. 

So, how in the world should we deserve to be harassed, ill-treated and seized away the right to own BHs in town?

Ans: Awak ini pendatang baru, kah?

I just hope that the government could accept a guideline which is of win-win situation to all parties. They should not be seen as being unkind by executing total elimination of town BHs.

Ans: I hope so and I pray for it, too.

Is there a light at the end of the tunnel?

Ans: Anyone has a torchlight?????.........our hope is with them as they hold the key to the window of light. Just with a stoke  of a pen  can determine whether you live or die.

Or should we show them our trump card?

Ans: I am confused.

Do you know what I mean?
Ans: NO.

Above are my 5 sen anwers and just good for fun reading only.
This post has been edited by West Wing: Mar 23 2009, 11:43 PM

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:02 PM