7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

Lucas 1
post Mar 1 2009, 01:05 AM

236 posts

Can we discuss about the annual fee for the Premise license for the BH? What is considered fair and justified to help those in town and those in Kampong and rural? Pleased bear in mind that the Kedah Excos are talking of promoting BH industry to help the rural and kampong folks as well. Also bear in mind that about 70% of BH owners are still struggling to attract the swiftlets into the empty BHs. It may take them a few years of waitng or GESTATION period before they can see some income.

Let me tell you a true event related to how the license fee for the MAJLIS DAERAH KERIAN was negotiated.

MAJLIS DAERAH KERIAN 1st proposed RM500 in early 2006. During a council meeting chaired by the Setiausaha, MDK, DL asked why so high, RM 500 untuk lesen premis ? The Setiausaha said because bird’s nest is very expensive commodity. DL said gold is very much higher, then how much is the lesen premis for Goldsmith shop? SU couldn’t reply. Then DL said, now everyone here agreed that ini bukan Perusahaan, right ? All replied yes. DL proceeded that burung ni bukan di pelihara, dan juga tidak ada apa-apa urusniaga dalam, hanya burung tumpang macam sewa rumah dari kami, betul? They replied, ya, betul. DL asked again, jadi, nak tanya, berapa yuran lesen premis untuk sebuah RUMAH PENUMPANG untuk manusia? One of the pegawai answered, RM80 satu tahun. DL then asked again, jadi, kenapa yuran untuk burung lebih mahal pada manusia???? No one answered and meeting adjourned.

Next day, DL received call from one councillor of MDK congratulating DL that in the council meeting chaired by D.O. this time decided the yuran to be RM240 same with Penang. Later in the day, DL called D.O and had a short chat. After put down the phone, DL drafted a letter and faxed over to D.O. Two days later, the whole Parit Buntar BH owners were jumping and celebrating. The D.O. announced the yuran to be only RM200.

Please help to find out and fill in the following with detailed descriptions if possible and as soon as possible. We need the comparisons.
1) Penang state- Annual lesen premis are flat RM 240 flat for one operation.
2) Majlis Daerah Kerian-lesen premis- RM 200
3) Taiping-
4) Telok Intan-
5) Sri Manjung-
6) Ipoh-
7) Selangor-
8) Pahang-
9) Kelantan-
10) Malacca-
11) Negeri Seremban-
12) Trengganu-
13) Perlis-
14) Johor-

This post has been edited by Lucas 1: Mar 1 2009, 01:22 AM
Lucas 1
post Mar 1 2009, 06:23 PM

236 posts

lucas , can i ask u some question?
my BH build in agriculture land, can i build a dog cannel above my BH ????
but the new garis panduan just come out, and mention cant build dog cannel in shop lot or agriculture land?thanks....anyone can tell me?
can i build dog cannel in agriculture land?

The reason for not encouraging having Dog Kennel or window type entrance is due to its uncontrollable noise nuisance caused especially in township. If you are doing it on agricultural land in rural area where it doesn’t cause such nuisance to the neighbours, this condition may not be necessary and affecting. Moreover any new guidelines or by-laws created does not have retrospective effect on situations happened prior to it coming into effect. But, nonetheless, it is our moral obligation as a good and considerate citizen to rectify and to comply if circumstances permit for the wellness of this industry.

Generally, all the existing BHs with DK or window type entrances especially those in shop-house in townships are encouraged to convert them into air-well type entrance so to reduce the chances of causing the number one complaint against this industry, that is the noise nuisance.(Constitute 90% of complaints received)

Added on March 1, 2009, 6:38 pmCONTEMPLATION OF FORMING A SPECIAL TASK FORCE TO TACKLE THE PERHILITAN CONTROVERSIAL ISSUES

DL received numerous complaints of bird’s nest being detained, confiscated or componded in exit points in KLIA and LCCI recently. One China tourist after first time touring here, purchased 2 kg of processed nest as hand gift and for self consumption was stopped at the Security Screening Unit. It seemed that he was compounded RM1, 500 by the Custom before he was allowed to bring the nest board the plane. We do not know if the money is paid officially to the Custom, Perhilitan or duit kopi. There are simply too many such cases causing harassment to the people including genuine foreign tourists carrying only 2 ounces. This news have deterred and frightened many tourists from buying bird’s nest in Malaysia and even caused negative publicity on our inbound tourism resulting in slow down of foreign tourists.

According to the Custom Act, there is no tax or duty on bird’s nest going out of Malaysia. Presently, only the Perhilitan is imposing the controversial exit tax of RM100/kg on nest for export. The lengthy and troublesome bureaucratic red tapes and procedures implemented since 2007 has caused a sharp decline in demand of the Malaysia produced nests and thus the prices of nests tumbled down due to a sudden glut of nests since then.

Previously and prior to the ‘silent’ implementation of the EXIT TAX by the Perhilitan at exit points, the foreign buyers on average used to make 6 to 8 trips a month to buy nest from here. With the controversial and ambiguous process and procedure of the Perhilitan, it immediately caused inconvenience, troubles and hardship to these foreign buyers and their trips to Malaysia reduced to a maximum of only 2 per month. A 75% drop. Many cases of harassment, arrests, and confiscation of nests were caused to these buyers in airports. On top of this, additional RM 100/kg plus other extra operation costs, such as extended lodging, transports, labour etc incurred have rendered the buying of Malaysia nests become less attractive and competitive to them. Many turned away from here and to outsource from other countries, such as Thailand, Vietnam, Myanmar, Cambodia, Indonesia etc for all the convenience. The price of above RM5, 000/kg of the 1st grade of nest prior to 2007 has today dropped to only RM2, 500, a drop of 50%. Many Malaysian owners are overstocked with no demand from foreign buyers and are facing immensely increased financial hardship. This is very alarming and could be disastrous and it has also caused a heavy loss in much needed foreign revenue to Malaysia for the last 2 years.

In view of the continuous deterioration of the situation, something has to be done by the local owners who are also the citizens of Malaysia for self rescue before the whole Malaysia BH industry and economy crumble due to this inconsiderate and shortsighted act and abuse of power and procedure and the injustice done by a certain unscrupulous high ranking officials from a certain quarter Govt department to mislead the Ministry to pass through such unwise, undesirable and unfavourable Enactment and policy both to the country and its people. This is unwittingly and slowly crippling and killing the new found and God sent Golden Goose let of Malaysia before it could even come to maturity. This is just like hitting own feet with stone.

In view of the seriousness and the worsening situation faced by this industry, Mr David Lim is volunteering and considering organising a Task Force urgently to specially investigate on this matter. He is planning to appeal to volunteers from BH owners across Malaysia to help in. He cannot do it alone. This Task Force (TF) shall do the collection of data, evidence of cases, information of malpractices, hardship caused, and corruption practices by the relevant departments. The TF shall then compile them and would have these studied and scrutinised by a panel of professional constitutional lawyers and experienced professionals. The findings and recommendations would then be attached and enclosed in a memorandum to be presented directly to the Ministers of the relevant Ministries including the Prime Minister Department. A meeting for dialogue would be sought with the Ministers including the Prime Minister.

DL would like to remind that the people are the BOSSES of this country. The YBs (CEO) are elected and entrusted by the BOSSES to administer this country properly and to implement good policies to serve and to benefit the BOSSES of this country with JUSTICE and FAIRNESS and without personal hidden agenda. With unity of the BOSSES (people) and with the constitutional right vested, we shall decide who shall be the next good CEOs.

Rightfully this action should be taken up and spearheaded by the committees of the numerous birds’ nest associations scattered across the country. But it may be due to the various circumstances and reasons and the disunity, not much positive actions seemed or seen to have done. Understand that several attempts had been brought up by certain associations regarding the issues but to no avail and follow ups. It is also understandable that not all the committees in an association are committed and possessed the calibre and ability to pursue the matter. May be there exists only one or two individual in each association who are prepared to do it but due to inadequate of support and assistance rendered by the other fellow committees, thus not much could be done. Sometimes, the committees holding high positions are simply illiterate and totally inefficient and lacking of knowledge as to how to do it is the main cause.

DL would like to invite such individual committee with the sense of commitment, righteousness and dedication to come forwards to liaise with him as an individual volunteer and to join in this ad hoc TF and share and work as a team to tackle the various BH issues. DL also invites everybody and anybody in this forum to join in to play a small role as he deems fit. Please remember that every BH owner, trader, consultant, or blogger is on the same boat. So, whether you want to continue to sail or sink together, it is all up to you. Only with unity with proper strategy and planning as ateam, we can win. If everybody is selfish, expecting somebody to do it, in the end nobody does it; the future of this industry is sure doomed.

Those prepared to help in to save the industry, please either post it up here or PM to me or contact DL directly.

This post has been edited by Lucas 1: Mar 1 2009, 06:38 PM
Lucas 1
post Mar 2 2009, 04:18 AM

236 posts

ok,thanks lucas, thanks ur expert advice, i am appreciate it
if ur BH in agriculture land and consider the new guidelines or by-laws created does not a matter ,which type u like to choose as ur entrance ???thanks,hope u can share with us newbie

To me, I would prefer air-well type for so many good reasons already mentioned by our fellow sifus here. Another one good reason is that my personal experience that rarely the air-well type being intruded by the owls (burung hantu) as compared to other types.

Also through my past years observation that among the new generation of BHs in a new area, I notice that those with air-well type always emerged as the champions in the growth rate as compared to other types operated same time. So the choice is yours.

Lucas 1
post Mar 13 2009, 01:57 AM

236 posts

Lately I am still struggling with my notebook since last struck by lightning more than 2 weeks ago. Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn’t.

Our group is very busy helping in the Bukit Serambau By-election. There are ceramah almost every night. We are having a number of battle fronts with different issues to tackle. We are doing it for our next generation.

As regards to the temperature and the humidity control in a BH, my personal experience and opinion for the newbies are that; never try to use high tech to control the temperature. You are going to pay through nose in the installation, maintenance, and the high monthly bills. The best cost saving in long term is to use proper insulation right from the start when you first do the renovation on the new BH. Instead of paying expensively for that high tech which needs permanent regular maintenance, repairs and replacements, you might as well wisely spend it on the permanent insulation which needs no future maintenance and repairs once for all.

Humidity does not help the birds to stay in the BH. It is the correct design and the temperature that decide. High humidity does not lower the temperature. Humidity only comes into play at very later stage when you want to control and have better quality of nests. Portable chicken farm type humidifier is the best. This is the main reason why Benchai’s BH after he had taken out almost everything, with no sound, water and electricity, the birds still keep on coming back and numbers increased. I am very sure he has the correct design and temperature done in his BH. Therefore, don’t be suckers to those consultants or self proclaimed expert bloggers’ recommendation of high tech products advertised.

My advice to those who are really new to this industry and new to this forum, before you embark, spend some time seriously read through thoroughly the past posts especially those 2,400 posts in the volume 1 (V1). There are many good articles which can save you tens of thousands ringgits. Read also David Lim’s REPORT ON THE BIRDS’ NEST INDUSTRY OF MALAYSIA, after that, you shall have very good in-depth understanding and knowledge to make the correct decision. Good Luck.

Lucas 1
post Apr 6 2009, 03:43 AM

236 posts

Sorry, fellow BH brothers, have been really busy in helping in the Bukit Selambau By-election for the past 2 weeks. Dead tired. Couldn't have the time to relax and surf here. Too many incidents with attacks and counter-attacks from both sides. Everyday, there are top politicians from both fronts appearing in Bukit Selambau. You name them, we have them. The campaigning is very fierce. The BN is pumping in a lot of money to bribe the people and as usual does a lot of dirty tricks. All the BN workers are very well paid, whereas the PR has got no money but yet overwhelmed with volunteers from across the country to come to help. All the BN workers sleep in comfortable hotels whereas the PR volunteers including many YBs cramp on the cold floors of the rented houses or empty shoplots turned markas without blankets. Traffic jams occurred days and nights as if festive seasons.

Every PR ceramah is packed even under the rains. Donations are collected during the ceramah to help funding the events. Yet the fighting spirit and morale are high. There is no crowd at all except their own workers at the BN Ceramahs.

I am predicting PR winning in Bukit Selambau and Bukit Gantang with narrow margin despites hampered by the BN's dirty money politics. But, I think PR cannot win the Batang Ai in Sarawak as the long house voters are fully controlled and guarded by the White Hair. So, it is going to be 2-1 for PR.

Today is the final day for campaign. We are giving our best shot and the last bit. It is going to be the hardest and toughest day. So, please pray for us.

http://www.merdekareview.com/news/n/9293.html

Lucas 1
post Apr 8 2009, 05:32 PM

236 posts

Well, gentlemen, after weeks of tough battles, finally, the PEOPLE'S POWER won again and this time gave the corrupt bastards a real big KO with even greater margin both in Bukit Selambau and Bkt Gantang. Hopefully that the idiots learn how to respect the rakyat and start to realise that the rakyats are the bosses of this country and learn to do the right things for the rakyats. If they don't, the coming 13th General Election shall wipe them out completely.

Very unfortunately for the Batang Ai in Sarawak. Just as we anticipated and expected. It is simply still too much of money politics. But never mind, the eyes of the natives are starting to open up with many educated youngsters working on it as from now. If Marcos of the Philippine ruled with iron clad for decades can fall, we don't see why the White Hair can not. It is just a matter of time. Our Sarawak BH brothers must continue to be united and stand up to resist and fight off the evils.

So, it is 2-1 for PAKATAN RAKYAT as predicted. Need to have a real good sleep and rest for a few days before life back to normal for all of us.
Lucas 1
post Apr 24 2009, 03:02 AM

236 posts

Hi, all,

Missing all of you and your posts dearly. We are still very busy with many backlogs yet to finish. It seems there is no end yet with the battle of Bukit Selambau just over and now the trumpet for the battle of Penanti already starts blowing from the distance. It is only 20 minutes of drive from here. Every one of us starts cleaning our gears again preparing for the PENANTI BY-ELECTION.

This evening the Kedah BH owners should consider lucky and be happy that the Kedah MB and the Excos have today shot down the latest drafted Garis Panduan on the Licensing of the Kedah BHs proposed by the PERANCANG DEPT to be passed through in this morning state meeting. The drafted Garis Panduan is almost the same with only little changes from the last time the one proposed by the PERANCANG FEDERAL. If this goes through, every BH in Kedah would have to close shop. And that is going to be NIGHTMARE for other states as well. The PERANCANG DEPT of state is under the control of the Federal Govt (BARISAN NASIONAL). The MB was very angry with the proposal and ordered it be revamped to painless level. He further instructed the PERANCANG DEPT must consult the BH representatives with their agreement and approval first before tabling for meeting again. So far, the DEPT despites advised previously to discuss with the representatives but they failed to do that till today. The UMNO never learns and still trying to sabotage from behind. It serves them right to lose all the BY-ELECTIONS. Thanks to the Kedah PR Govt who has the people in its heart. Also not forgetting DL and his Taskforce who have been keeping track and monitoring the situation closely.

Isn’t that at least a GOOD NEWS for the BH industry for the time being? We are having too many bad news lately.

Lucas 1
post May 15 2009, 03:37 AM

236 posts

HEI......... I AM GLAD I AM BACK..............ONLY FOR A SHORT WHILE.........

1) We are too tired of repeating our numerous advices in this forum previously to all BH owners in M’sia that it is to their long term benefit and welfare to either join in the existing Associations or to form one in their respective towns. Only with UNITY, we have strength, with strength, we are strong. When we are strong, the Government and the politicians would then respect us for we are their bosses who elected them. If they try to be funny and don’t live up to expectation to serve the bosses and do the right and good things for the bosses, then we just change them in the next election.

2) Stop quarrelling and talking selfishly and emphasising only on own immediate MICRO short term interest and be chickened and ‘kowtow’ to those impractical bureaucratic red tapes in the formulating of the ‘GARISPANDUAN’ prepared and proposed by certain unscrupulous Govt quarters and supported or collaborated by certain representatives from Associations with selfish hidden agenda known to themselves and claimed to represent all the BH owners.

3) If you don’t agree to the leaders in the existing Associations in your township and doubted their sincerity and agenda, no one stops you to vote them out or to form another new one. You can be member to different associations concurrently. There is no law to say that you cannot have more than one association in the same town or state. Good examples are Pahang, Johore, Sarawak, Kelantan, Seramban etc. Sarawak has no less than 10 associations, Perak, at least 3, Pahang, 4, Johore, 5. More protem associations are forming. It is always to your advantage to join in an association to protect your long term investment. A few localised associations have proven doing very well by working very closely and amicably with the local councils. They managed to resolve problems and confine the situations before they got out of hand. They are very efficient indeed.

4) It takes only more than ten members to start an association. How to know and get to the other BH owners in town? Very simple, just pass out hand bills with your intention and contact stated into all the BH post box in your town. Be very sincere and committed with no personal agenda, you will find these new friends give you the support. What you need to do is to get a company secretary to do the necessary applications to the Registrar of Societies. You can immediate function as a protem association even without approval. We do not agree to those pioneer associations asking for thousand or thousands of entrance fees and annual subscription of few hundred per member. Giving the impression as if it is a rich men club. We consider that this is not fair as some members or committee own many units of BHs and pay the same to those who own only one or half storey. We have a better suggestion that since most towns have at least a few hundred BHs these days. We recommend that entrance fees be set between RM300 to RM500 per member. The annual subscription is set at between RM10 to RM 20 per BH per month owned by the member. So, those who own more BHs shall pay more. With the few hundred BHs, it should yield in a few thousand ringgit per month to help maintain a small office with a full or part-time executive secretary to help service the members. Don’t you all think that this is a fairer solution? You don’t expect the committee who are volunteers to work full time for free all the time. We do know of some of the existing pioneer associations’ presidents, chairmen or committee are having tens to hundred of BHs under them and yet they are paying the same subscription as those who own only one or the 1st and new one with no shit yet and thus no income. This could be one of the main reasons why many newbies to the industry refuse to join in as this is definitely unfair to them. There are a few old associations with very little memberships known to many as ASSOCIATION SENDIRIAN BERHAD which refuse to take in new members. It is very easy to prevent cheating as you pay according to the number of BHs with addresses registered with the association officially. Only those BHs registered entitled to assistance from the associations. Very soon, the authority would insist that only those BHs registered with associations would be allowed to apply for license or at least through the associations’ recommendation. The authority is moving towards into contemplating to let the associations to help handle and resolve the complaints received from the public. To us, we think this is a more reasonable and practical idea for permanent solution.

5) If you were to ask us, we think that it is good, healthy and for all the convenience to have a localised association set up in every district or township for easy communication and cooperation among the members. They can have closer relationship with their local councils and politicians and thus easier to resolve their local problems faster and effectively. Also, it will not be that taxing on the committee. As to the state or national issues, each local association can always send a few of their committee to have association with the other nearby associations to jointly tackle. We know of true incidents which council officers sent to look for owners of BHs received official complaints of blasting external sound at nights due to faulty timers or water sipping through to the neighbours. But the owners lived out-station whom no local knew of. So, the officers had no choice but to leave a notice. The owners only appeared after one month for the harvesting. Just imagine the ugly scenario. The complainants after a week of complaint openly accused the officers of being either corrupted or lazy to do their job. The whole council jumped and thus from then onwards become very unfriendly to all BH operating and started to find fault. So, who is to be blamed? Yes, those black sheep. But, could the black sheep be you unintentionally one fine day due to faulty equipment? Let’s say, in a township with 400 BHs exist, if averagely, every BH by accident or by chance totally with no intention of the owner causes only one nuisance in a period of 2 years. It takes only every 2 days to arouse a complaint to the council. If your close by neighbour operates a BH near to your resident and the owner comes only once a month, and the timer becomes faulty, would you smile to him when you see him or you would really jump on him despites you are also another BH owner? So, be considerate and seriously start thinking of a permanent practical solution.

6) If you don’t agree with any of the proposed or even firmed term and condition inside the GARISPANDUAN which you find it impractical, unreasonable or redundant, you can always go through your association to request a meeting or dialogue with the authority to voice it out and insist it be amended. Remember, it is our citizen basic democratic right under the laws. If the authority concerned refuses to entertain a legal and justified request for no good apparent reason, you can send in memorandum to higher authority to request same with valid reasons. If this still fails, then be united and exercise your citizen right to stage peaceful protests till the battle is won.

7) This is how the battles were won in Penang and Manjung, Perak in 2005 and 2006 respectively in which many unreasonable terms and conditions were shot down and the BH licenses immediately issued after many tiring negotiations, protests and picketing organised by the taskforce led by DL. In 15.10.2005, no less than 500 BH owners turned up to attend and supported DL in the dialogue session with the Penang state Govt headed by the former Exco Dato Teng in Butterworth. The best part was the authority gave DL less than 24 hours notice for the meeting. DL just sent out sms to a few key men. The dialogue was not fruitful and thus a spate of peaceful protests and picketing across the mainland of Penang by the hundreds of owners sprung up nightly and these were widely covered in the media. Finally, the authority succumbed and agreed to the BH owners’ terms and conditions and license issued by early 2006.

8) In Manjung, Perak, a similar dialogue was held in March 2006, DL and the taskforce mediated the meeting with the former Exco, Dato Chang represented the former BN Govt and Dato Nga, the then former opposition leader and present Senior Exco of Perak, represented certain group of the local owners. The turnout was a few hundreds. But this time, the meeting went on amicably and fruitful with both Dato Chang and Dato Nga discussed very gentlemanly and favourably for the owners in Perak. The licenses thus later issued across the state. Thanks to both the YBs. The Daerah of Kerian was considered the best model till today as totally no bureaucratic procedures and red tapes required in the issuance of the licenses. And most license fee was only RM 200. This was also negotiated by DL and his taskforce.(For those new to this industry, please check with the old timers in Parit Buntar or refer and read up the COMPREHENSIVE REPORT ON THE M’SIA BIRD NEST INDUSTRY written by DL posted here before under the V1 or go to W.O.S.G. or some old timers here who have it, please re-post for the benefit of those who are new)

9) Remember, never bow down to unreasonable threats or impractical terms and conditions from any authority. None of us is doing illegal thing. We are merely investing in a legal industry and trade sent by god for a decent living hood which is very beneficial to both the people and the country in very long term but simply too new to the authority. Be brave to speak up for your legal rights and what you think is reasonable and best. But remember, you must give valid and logic reasons to back your objections or proposals. Most Govt officials and officers are professionals and highly trained with experience to serve and help the people. But not necessary they all know this trade well. Only a handful is black sheep with hidden agenda to do thing high handled. For those who are genuinely innocent, inexperienced and ignorant and made mistakes, be patient to guide them, educate them and make them see the truth and reasons. We are pretty sure most are reasonable and will amend and accept. For those, after knowing the truth still stubborn and egoistic to persist the wrong doing, then we are not given the choice, but to make proper and without bias complaint to the higher authority with carbon copied to all related parties with accurate and truthful facts and without fear and be firm. Don’t do it quietly behind the door. Publicize it through media and let more people know your justified complaint. You will be amazed that the higher the authority, the more professional and understanding they are. That is the main reason why they are the higher authority. If necessary, you may even need to bring it right to the Minister or the Prime Minister where the problem will definitely be resolved for win-win if you have the stamina. It is their duty. Do not compromise with wrongs and evils and the LITTLE NAPOLEONS. Expose them. Don’t worry that these idiots will revenge or sabotage on you. The harder and firmer you are and also if only you are right, these Little Napoleons will be even more scared and will not dare to try further as they are more vulnerable if situation gets higher and out of hand. They will succumb to your undisputable rights and firmness.

10) We remember the former Pengarah Bangunan of MPSP, Penang was hell of trouble giving to the owners and in fact, he was the root of the mess of the controversial licensing issue in Penang till today. Very unprofessional and incorrigible he was. He abused the power and misled the former regime to cause a lot of hardship and nightmares to the owners since early days. He was the one that abused the power acted like hooligan and illegally bulldozed the 1st two BHs in the history in Malaysia which resulted the MPSP being sued. He was not only a Little Napoleon but a local SULTAN. You know what has happened to him today? An investigation was conducted on him by the new Penang Govt in early this year after receiving too many suspected corruption practises against his department; he quit the job in March. He may think that he is already off the hook but we understand that the Penang Govt is still pursuing the case. We wish he could sleep well. Well, he should reserve more. This is KARMA. Understand that many heads of departments could be facing the music and KARMA soon too. Evil can never triumph too long. It is just a matter of time for JUDGEMENT DAY to the evils.

11) So, my dear BH owner brothers and sisters of multi-race and one Malaysian, set aside our differences and be united and stand up and stand out now before too late and jointly let us do something once and for all to fend our rights by bravely speak out together to the authority what is best for a win-win situation. Tell them, we want and will happily cooperate with the authority to set proper guidelines for self regulating as we are not doing anything that is illegal but we do not want all the bureaucratic lengthy procedures with red tapes to involve so many unnecessary departments for the sanction and redundancy in the issuance of only PBT LESEN PREMIS under the local council to avoid prematurely killing this new found and god sent golden goose. Why couldn’t the Govt just treat this PASSIVE investment and trade just like any other ordinary petty trade and have it classified under PETTY TRADE AND COTTAGE INDUSTRY like what Daerah of Kerian did? We are merely talking of a simple PBT LESEN just to justify and legalise a simple and NEW passive trade in which all the poor rural and kampong folks can also share in and enjoy too. Why must the Govt complicate something that is in fact, a simple and straight forward? By insisting to impose so many bureaucratic red tapes to harness and tie down this trade, this makes this industry become the exclusive darling to only the rich and the affordable and thus deprive the middle to lower income rural and kampong folks who form 80% of the population in Malaysia to share in this god-sent wealth. Is this what a good, smart, wise, efficient, effective, caring and always claim to have the people especially the poor’s’ interest and welfare at heart Government should do to its people? How does and how could our Govt keep up what it repeatedly and numerously mentioned and promised that it wants to wipe out poverty in this country? It vows to strengthen and improve the civil services and its effectiveness by cutting down and slim-lining all unnecessary bureaucratic red tapes to allow more competitiveness against neighbouring countries in survival globally? By the top political leaders just using mouths and slogans alone without the civil servants’ sincere and committed action to support all this while does not naturally improve and get us far. In fact, the situation is worsening as time passes. Our economy is getting hit worst. Our beloved Malaysia is lagging further and further behind. Let us emphasise to our Govt just in case it does not realise that this could be the only viable and feasible opportunity for the Govt to fulfil its manifesto without incurring huge financial burden to help narrow down the poverty gradually if rural folks are also given the opportunity and encouraged to participate in this trade which can self sustain itself naturally without requiring the Govt’s long term and constantly spoon feedings. Please, just give us the simplest treatment and convenience. We don’t need any special treatment from the involvement of too many departments. Are they here to help us or to kill us with a slow death????????

Lucas 1
post May 18 2009, 12:44 AM

236 posts

URGENT MESSAGE FROM DAVID LIM

To all BH owners in the state of Kedah,

The Kedah PR Govt is now discussing the state guidelines on the issuance of BH license with the State Perancang which is under the Federal Govt. Twice previously the proposals by the Perancang was shot down by the Kedah Govt as it was considered too stringent and not benefitting the people esp those in the rural and kampong. The Kedah Govt proposes all BHs’ applications be submitted through the associations for better control and management by this year. Mr David Lim and his taskforce is requested and tasked to assist in forming a PROTEM PERSATUAN RUMAH WALET KEDAH, (PROTEM KEDAH SWIFTLET HOUSE OWNERS ASSOCIATION)( 吉打州燕屋屋主公会) to help the Kedah owners.

As Kedah is a rather big and wide state, in order to service and attend to the members better, the protem committee is proposing to divide the state into 3 sectors UNDER SUB-COMMITTEE, namely, UTARA, TENGAH and SELANTAN.( 吉北,吉中,吉南) There will be an office rented or tumpang with either a full time or part-time executive secretary assisting the sub-committee in their respective sector. The centre for UTARA is ALOR STAR, TENGAH is SUNGAI PETANI, and SELANTAN is KULIM.

The proposed entrance fee will be RM 350 for each new member and subscription will be RM 10/month per BH which makes a total of RM 120/BH/calendar year. Only BH registered with full subscription paid will receive assistance, recognition and endorsement from the Persatuan.

As the protem committee is very badly short handed in initial stage, we would appreciate more volunteers to come forward to assist at least temporarily till Persatuan is formed proper. IT IS BETTER YOU DECIDE YOUR OWN DESTINY THAN LETTING OTHERS TO DECIDE FOR YOU.

The taskforce will be having an open dialogue cum discussion session at the request of many owners in Kulim on 18.05.09(Mon) night @ 8.30pm at 768, Jalan Pondok Labu, Bandar Putra, Kulim.

YB Lim Soo Nee, ADUN for KULIM will grace the occasion as Advisor for the sector.

Baling, Bandar Baru, Serdang, Lunas, Padang Serai, Tasik Gelugor, Kuala Ketil etc are under Kulim sector.
As dates and times for the UTARA and TENGAH dialogue sessions will be announced in later date.

ALL BH OWNERS IN THE STATE OF KEDAH ARE WELCOME TO ATTEND TO VOICE THEIR OPINIONS AND SUGGESTIONS. MORE HEADS IS ALWAYS BETTER THAN ONE. UNITY IS STRENGTH.

Enquary: 012-4850778(DL), 019-4489966(Tang)

Please help spread the following msg:-

吉打燕屋主公会筹委会緊急召集全吉南燕主商州政府指南与礼申。居林太子城斗母宮辦事処,门牌768。18.05.09 星期一晚830PM。請轉发。林大伟

PROTEM PERSATUAN RUMAH WALET KEDAH MEETS ALL BIRDHOUSE OWNERS IN KEDAH SELATAN DISCUSS KEDAH GUIDELINES & LICENSE ON 18.05.09(MON)@830PM AT 768,BANDAR PUTRA,KULIM.PL NOTIFY ALL.DAVID LIM

Lucas 1
post May 18 2009, 01:16 PM

236 posts

Why not? Bring along your darling to come to help too. The more the volunteers the better. In fact, most of the DL's taskforce members are not BH owners. They are a group of volunteer social activists and workers who are staunch supporters and comrades to DL. Spending own time, energy and even money to help trouble shoot social problems not their own. They are here to help kick start the Persatuan as temporary protem committee and later hand it over to the respective owner-members to sustain and they just leave for other situations. They ask nothing in return except JUSTICE for all including people they dont even know.

This ad hoc meeting is decided in less than 24 hrs. You will be amazed and disbelieve how big the turnout tonight is going to be when news spread DL and his taskforce are coming to town to help organise and resolve their nightmares. Go and see to believe.
Lucas 1
post May 18 2009, 05:46 PM

236 posts

Post up here to state where you are from or where your BHs are. We have friends who own BHs in almost all the states. As such they are members to almost all the associations, at least one in each state or town. We are sure there are many brothers here would reply you by posting the contact numbers of the relevant associations in your area.

If you are not happy with them, you can start one with your own group.

There is no direct monetary return except to fend for your own investment's long term interest in unity. Of course, there are black sheep under the disguise of committee trying to be consultants to the newbies or to boost their social status without really contributing to the interest of the members of the associations. Some even try to gain favour or monopoly at the expense of the other members by rubbing shoulders of the officials.

But we can see that more committed and dedicated young men with sense of righteous are appearing. These are good signs.

For those who want to know how to get to the associations in their respective area, probably you can call DL. Most associations top men know him.

This post has been edited by Lucas 1: May 18 2009, 06:08 PM
Lucas 1
post May 18 2009, 06:40 PM

236 posts

Vey good inputs from West Wing. To those stubborn black sheep, the association committee has to do it this way, that is to report him to the authority first so in order to protect the interest of all other law-abiding members. We may have no choice to resolve to expel him from the association if he repeats after warnings in writing. This shall be the last resolve. Under such situation, the license of the culprit may have to be revoked.

But generally, this rarely happens as most owners are sensible.

Lucas 1
post May 19 2009, 06:30 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(momolacha @ May 19 2009, 06:08 PM)
I have a question.

If a BH is only 30fts away from a residential house, will it be too close? Any way that can be done to avoid nuisance? .....may be open roof design?
Nothing is too near or far if you are causing noice pollution and hygienic problems that invite complaints.

Open roof design with tweeterss pointing skyward rarely invites complaints. In fact, we are of no surprised that all the box, window, and kennel types of new or existing BHs in towns will have to be converted into open roof type as a condition eventually if license were to be approved.

it is advisable all new BHs under construction to use open roof design so you won't face future dilemma.
Lucas 1
post May 21 2009, 04:26 AM

236 posts

THE DEFINITION OF THE FEDERATION OF ASSOCIATIONS AND THE LOCALIZED ASSOCIATIONS AND THE ROLES PLAYED BY THEM

There are distinctive aspects and functions needed to be clarified and defined to differentiate the roles of the localized associations and the national level association or Federation of associations. One is the daily local issue of complaints made against the BHs faced by the local councils which needed to be tackled swiftly and effectively to prevent a small fire to develop into inferno beyond control that might result into a public uproar from the locals. This can only be conveniently handled and tackled by the localized associations in their respective township.

The national association or the Federation of the associations or united associations is an organization formed with members representing and appointed by the numerous localized associations from all parts of the country. The function of this national association is to act as a bridge between the Federal Govt and all the BH owners to negotiate, supervise and check on the Govt on the various intended national policies on the bird’s nest industry for a win-win. Therefore the committee sitting in the national association are also normally committee of a localized association in their respective town. There is no conflict of interest. It is just like the Federation of the Chinese Assembly Halls and the Federation of the Chinese Chamber of Commerce. The Federation of the Bird’s Nest Association would never reject any localized association to join them. Why should it do that? The more the merrier as it reflects on the strength of the Federation. There is no conflict of interest among all the associations except that there could be some personality clashes of individuals. Therefore by all means, all localized associations should be encouraged to join in the Federation to share out their opinions and visions. More heads is always better than less heads. The association kick start by DL’s group will definitely join in the Federation to contribute after everything is proper unless the Federation is also another SENDIRIAN BERHAD.

Whereas in all the big and small townships, it all depends on the necessity such as in a small township of Taiping, Kemaman,Pekan or Telok Intan, a single localized association with sincere and committed committee to serve the members is already good enough and effective. However, if it is in a bigger city like Kuantan, even with 2 associations is not efficient and sufficient to handle. Moreover, some of the older associations are known to be association ‘sendirian berhad’ controlled and dictated by some dead wood with hidden evil agenda and self interests. They only select in new members who cannot be seen smarter than them and thus would not threaten their positions. These are the open secrets. That is the main reason why these old associations until today, the membership is still in the tens despites the local BH owners already numbered a few hundreds to over a thousand. So, what choice has the other none member owners sought? They are forced to form new one to fend for own rights. Always bear in mind, there must be valid reason or reasons why these controversial associations’ membership are so low or why no new owners want to join them and instead prefer to go through hardship to start new ones. In the north, there are two state level associations already existed for not less than 5 years, yet the membership is only between 30 to 50 despites there is no less than few thousands BHs in their respective state. If you don’t believe, go and check it out.

When you come to big states like Sarawak, there exist no less than 10 associations. It is a necessity as you don’t expect committee from Kuching to fly up to Miri to attend to problems. Similarly, there are many localized associations in Perak, Kelantan, Trengganu, Pahang, Johore etc.

For owners who own BHs in different townships and states may need to be members for numerous associations in order to have their interest taken care of.

In my opinion, it is definitely to the advantage of this industry that if possible, there should have at least one localised association in each town to liaise effectively with the local council or district office. This is analogical to the Teochew, Hakka or Hokkian associations found in almost all the towns in Malaysia. If this is achieved, problems faced today would drastically reduce and all owners and town folks can have good night sleep again.

Lucas 1
post May 23 2009, 07:34 PM

236 posts

DL advised the following msg be spread through sms to all BH owners in Malaysia:-

Sarawak swiftlet farming breaking news, please refer Astro Bernama News ch502 @ 8pm, May 23 Sat,onwards. Pl spread msg to all.
Sarawak 养燕/燕屋重要新闻, 請看Astro Bernama 502台, 今晚8奌正開始,(23.05.09) 星期六

DL informed that the above news making is actually initiated by a group of Sarawak BH owners led by Mr J. They contributed 30 to 40 k to a ‘company’ to arrange for the above news to break through the news blockage to the public.

Previously, end of last year, they did the same thing plus quietly engaged some ‘PROFESSIONALS’ to do the ‘lobbying’ with and to ‘educate’ the VVIPs and the respective heads of departments in West M’sia for a national guidelines favouring the whole BH industry in Malaysia. In total, they spent a few hundred K. The latest Perancang proposal with many initial stringent and un-reasonable proposals and red tapes dropped off but still not that satisfactory yet is actually the result of the silent hard works and financial contributions of these owners of Sarawak. NOT AS CLAIMED BY CERTAIN ASSOCIATIONS IN PENINSULAR RECENTLY THAT THEY DID IT ALL. They only chipped in and to harvest the fruit when it is about to ripe.

Could someone please have the news recorded and post up in all the websites. It is only slightly more than a minute.

Lucas 1
post May 25 2009, 02:15 AM

236 posts

Aiya……..ai………. There gone the 30 plus K ………..and the hope………into the drain.
Looks like the Sarawak owners are not given choice by those corrupted bastards……..Now left with two choices……1) the legal battle…..and 2) the political way.

1) Sarawak owners, our advice is that no point further pleading and kowtows anymore. It is time to really stand up and stand out in unity and pool in funds for a legal battle whether you like it or not. It looks like life or death for your BH business any time as from now. And you have to fight and fight it real hard. Don’t be selfish any more. Hiding behind others for a ride. We understand that many did not pay up as agreed to the previous expenditures of close to a few hundred K incurred. Only a handful foots the bills. All of you have to sit down once and for all and discuss sincerely and urgently as to how to find the best formula to share out the legal fees. This time, you all have to be prepared for a COURT INJUNCTION. Better start preparing now. Don’t get caught like a sitting duck. Or else you shall cry without tears but with bloods. You better believe than not. With the COURT INJUNCTION, you are able to stall them till the next General Election any time in less than a year.

2) Start to join up and support the opposition parties. Donate generously to them and help them become stronger so that they can take on the corrupted bastards finish them just like what we did in several states in West Malaysia. Had we not done that in the last election, do you think that the BN would talk of 1MALAYSIA and negotiated with us over the guidelines now? We are very sure over here that by the next Election in about two years as from now, the BN will become opposition if they don’t try harder enough to win back the people. Don’t be naïve and leave it to god to fight for you. God can only help you provided you are prepared to fight. Remember no one including god will pity you if you are a coward who dares not to fight even for your own justified rights. When everyone of you start to be angry and united as one and become fierce and hard in your stand to resist with good preparation, the idiots would start to have more to worry and think not twice but thrice if they ever want to be that hard again. If they are really that stupid then they are committing political suicide.

Lucas 1
post May 25 2009, 11:29 AM

236 posts

I know of a couple of male graduates from local universities working as general clerks in a Bumi company. I know them during the General Election. I was shocked to know that one of them has 5 kids with only a monthly salary of RM800. The wife is a full time housewife. He is of good, pleasant character and religious but slightly timid and lives in kampong. I never expected him to be a graduate until recently that he shocked me with quite fairly good spoken and written English. Later through him, I came to know that there are many like his case. After knowing this, many questions start lingering in my head since then. Besides questioning on the Govt policies in education, the most disturbing is how to help him and the rest? He is nearing 40.

Lucas 1
post May 25 2009, 03:18 PM

236 posts

MAIN OBSTACLES TO MALAYSIA BIRD’S NEST INDUSTRY

A couple of days ago, an old friend from overseas called to inform that his friend came across something in the WORLD WILDLIFE FOUNDATION (WWF) mentioning the repealing of the swiftlet and its by-products (EBN) from its protected list in 2003. It seems there was a meeting discussing and sanctioned the swiftlet and all its by-product be lifted COMPLETELY from the protection list. And that Singapore has also de-classified the same from the protection list in 2003 too. All EBN products are no longer under any restriction to trade. It is same in Indonesia and Thailand. We confirmed this with our Indonesian and Thai buyers. In fact, no other country in the world except MALAYSIA does that. That means anything of the EDN is no longer under the control internationally and it is free to trade as you like.

Questions and proposals here are that:-
1) Why did the PERHILITAN want to pass the ACT to collect the exit tax while they downgraded the EDN in 2003 based on a decision already made in 1996? Prior to this, there wasn’t any exit tax imposed. Actually, the PERHILITAN was supposed to do the downgrading immediately after the 1994 or 1996 WWF CONVENTION in Surabaya, Indonesia in which the EDN was approved to downgrade from TOTALLY PROTECTED to PROTECTED. This action is supposed to further help and convenient the trade. All the other countries attended the CONVENTION did so immediately after returning. The PERHILITAN did not do it until 2003. While they were doing it, the WWF was again decided to drop EBN completely out of the PROTECTED. What has the PERHILITAN done to this now? It looks like it is either the PERHILITAN is too ‘EFFICIENT’ or is having its own hidden agenda.

2) Reliable information received that the PERHILITAN is contemplating to privatise 16 outlets in whole Malaysia to take charge of the approval and collection of EXIT TAX on behalf to ‘CONVENIENT’ and help the Malaysian exporters. Of course, there will be additional service charge of one to two hundred ringgit per kg by this private company. Understand that a few of the committee from the association who always appeared in the news is secretly lobbying and negotiating for the exclusive privatization. Could somebody with connection to re-confirm this?

3) Need some volunteers here to help go into the WWF, PERHILITAN or any relevant websites to dig into the details for truth. What you need is to surf these websites and copy down the relevant topics and post them here for all to help scrutinise and comment. The findings could be brought up to ‘ALERT’ the Ministers or even PM of the wrong doings. We are very sure that something is very seriously wrong with certain Govt Dept and if this is brought to the knowledge of our new PM with evidence, we think he would not condone this if he is really what he claimed to be a people loving PM. This PERHILITAN matter is the most serious and main obstacle obstructing the Malaysia bird’s nest industry from flourishing and competing internationally for the much needed foreign revenue in the long term. The economy of Malaysia is shrinking as our manufacturing sectors are badly hit ever. This EBN seems to be the only trade that is progressing but under great pressure from not outsiders but own people. What a shame and mockery on the ruling BN administration which always exclaimed ‘MALAYSIA BOLEH’? It is own people hitting our feet and trying to kill us.

Lucas 1
post May 25 2009, 08:32 PM

236 posts

Before we jump the gun, we need to have all the facts verified first. Secondly, still we need someone or some ones to be responsible to start digging through the websites to confirm what we were told are correct. So, could more people besides dusuntutmybuntut also volunteer to investigate? The more heads and hands the better. Time is not in our favour. We cannot afford the delay anymore.
Lucas 1
post May 29 2009, 08:38 PM

236 posts

TIME FOR UNITY. STAND UP AND START ORGANISE. DON'T BE AFRAID. TIME TO SAY NO TO THOSE CORRUPTED & EVIL BASTARDS. BE PREPARED. GET YOUR LEGAL PANEL ON STANDBY. IT IS EITHER YOU FINISH THEM OR THEY FINISH YOUR BH AND LIFELINE. WHAT MORE TO LOSE?????

'War of nerves' hits Sarawak's bird's nest industry.
Joe Fernandez | May 29, 09 4:43pm
The future of more than 1,500 swiftlet bird houses in Sarawak is left in the dark as it is bogged down by red tape, antiquated laws, threat of diseases, and an indifferent state government.
MCPX
Currently, there are two farms licensed to operate in urban areas in the state, while the rest had been told to stop their operation unless they acquire the approval to operate in approved areas.
Such locations, critics said, might not attract the birds to nestle.

"The swiftlet is not like a chicken or duck farm, where it can be caught and transferred," said Beh Heng Seong, chairman of the Malaysian Edible-Nest Swiftlet Merchants Association.

"It is impossible to transfer these birds. These birds have made the birdhouses as their nests. There are risks of the birds, especially the chicks, dying during transfer."

This has thrown a big question mark over a billion ringgit industry and Malaysia's status as the world's third largest producer of bird's nests after Indonesia and Thailand.

Birds nests are highly-priced exotic delicacy in Chinese restaurants and enjoy popular demand from China, Japan, the US and Europe.

In addition, the transfer of errant swiftlets would be out of the question since these birds are protected under the Wildlife Act 1972.

In Sarawak, the Wildlife Protection Ordinance 1998 states that birds can only live in its natural habitat such as caves, not in urban areas or its outskirts.

However, the Federal Wildlife Protection Rules (Edible Bird Nests) 1998 and Wildlife Protection Rules 1998 allow birds to be bred in agricultural areas far from the outskirts of towns.

In Peninsular Malaysia, unlike in Sarawak, swiftlet and swallow rearing is allowed in commercial lots or shop houses, but not in residential areas.

Again, there are no guarantee that transferred birds would readily take to the eco-parks that the state government has proposed for the unlicensed swiftlet bird farms.

The authority didn't provide a firm explanation over its policy such as whether the transfer of the errant swiftlets would be allowed, but merely reiterating its directive by urging the operators to stop their activities in the urban areas.

Better than those from Indonesia, Thailand

"The bird house should meet the needs of the swiftlets including moisture level of 80 to 90 percent with temperature between 26 Celsius and 32 Celsius and darkness," said Abdul Aziz Mohd Rejab, who runs swiftlet farming courses in Sabah. "The ideal darkness for a birdhouse is one lit with two candles."

Sabah has only 200 bird farms as compared to an estimated 40,000 nationwide.

While mulling their options, the recalcitrant bird farmers want a five-year grace period. The plea has been rejected by the authorities who are now engaged in a war of nerves with the bird farmers.

Bird's nest goes for around RM4,000 to RM6,000 per kilo in the local market. In the world market, it fetches RM6,000 to RM12,000 per kilo.

Certain grades can even reach as lucrative as RM12,000 to RM24,000 per kilo, given the steady demand from Chinese restaurants worldwide, Japan, the US, Europe and China.

The nests made by the edible-nest swiftlet and the black-nest swiftlet in Malaysia are said to be of better quality than those produced in Thailand or Indonesia.

Authorities in Sarawak had set Dec 31, 2008 as the deadline for swiftlet farms in the state to stop operating in urban areas. None of the farmers budged even an inch. In fact, they had formed a grouping to repeatedly force the state government to extend the deadline.

Not budging a bit

The state government extended the deadline to mid-February but again, it went unheeded.

This has forced the Sarawak Forest Corporation (SFC) to begin its ongoing crackdown against the farms. Most of the errant farms are in Mukah, Sibu, Sarikei and Bintulu.

In Kuching, SFC enforcement teams have so far raided a token six bird farm shophouses at Three Hills Park and removed their sound systems.

The system is used to mimic the bird's calls and lure them to the shophouses to mate and nest. The SFC teams had the police, City Hall officials from Kuching South as well as observers from the Land and Survey Department (LSD).

SFC general manager Len Thaliff Salleh confirmed that operations are being conducted throughout the state.

"They had ample time to move out," said Len. "The risk of epidemics is one of the reasons that the state government cannot allow swiftlet farming in towns."

"There are also complaints from the public on the stench from the bird droppings and the din from the speakers in the farms. The birds also disrupt food stalls near the farms."

He could not disclose the actual number of illegal birds nest farmers in Sarawak.

Sarawak Bird's Nest Import and Export Association President Tsai Mui Leong, also a bird house owner, stressed that the swiftlets were not reared by the farmers.

"We merely set up a place for the birds to live in. The SFC did not give us sufficient time to build a new environment for the birds," said Tsai.

He could not say why they had to lure the birds to shop houses in urban areas, a practice which has become a sore point with town folks and local authorities.

‘We'll follow guidelines, if there's one'

The SFC has also destroyed some bird houses in Mukah town, according to the Mukah Bird Nest Entrepreneurs Association chairman Philip Tiong, who represents 150 bird nest entrepreneurs.

"We want the government to legalise the bird houses. If there's a guideline, we will follow it."

Apparently, the state government can either centralise swiftlet farming in a specific location such as an eco-park or draw up strict guidelines for farms in urban areas. The latter was ruled out by the SFC.

"There should not be guidelines to set up bird houses in towns," said Len. "This contravenes the law."

Swiftlet farmers in Sarawak say that there is no guarantee that the birds will nestle in the proposed eco-parks either and want the state government to adopt the veterinary services department's best practices in animal breeding (GAHP) for their trade.

Under the GAHP, the noise from the speakers, set at a 60 degree angle, should not exceed 40 decibels.

There are also other conditions to ensure the swiftlet farms are set up in a conducive and environmentally-friendly setting.

"We talk about 1Malaysia," Mukah bird's nest trader John Low said cynically. "Why can't the state government follow the laws and guidelines in Peninsular Malaysia on bird's nest farming?"

Pro-tem chairman of the Sarikei Edible-Nest Swiftlet Merchants Association, Wong Hua Ting, added: "We hope the state government will prepare a guideline similar to the one in the Peninsula. We will fully cooperate with the state to solve this problem."

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0335sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:42 PM