16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

West Wing
post Aug 13 2009, 03:46 PM

1,397 posts

WW, your guess is pretty accurate. My BH is located in rural area and near river. Ground floor temperature fluctuate around 25c to 27c.
I opened up all 177 VH because I thought stagnant air helps mold formation and let the damp air flow out. No ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Today, 11:16 AM
rate
good
bad

Like I said, if you did a study of your area before you started your BH, you wouldn't have the problem. Instate of solving them, you are trying to add more dampness in to your BH and no bird of good sense will build their nests there as the eggs may not hatch and chick will die of cold.

Closes all VHoles and hope that the H is high but the temperature in the BH must be high for the eggs to hatch ( expert in chicken rearing here will tell you so) Don't you worry as we here have all type of professionals in all trade...... venturing into the BH industry for early retirement plan and I believe they are willing to share their expertise for the betterment of all.

Wind and cold are not good for the breeding of swiftlets. Brighness is not a safe place for swiftlets....we have have problem with low humidity and too warm as town sometime shoot up to even more than 36C.......until the parent bird even pull off their feathers even not in the season.....

Tha't my personal opinion only....

West Wing
post Aug 16 2009, 11:48 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(CWG @ Aug 14 2009, 11:02 AM)
WW. if I understand correctly from aeiou228, before the VH were opened, the humidity was high and caused mold on plank. After he opened the VH, no more mold but humidity still high. So, if you advice him to close back the VH, then the BH condition will back to the old one. right?

I have 2 friends have high humidity issue also. What they did is to use ventilator or fan to blow the air out through the bird entrance hole. It help to reduce the humidity. But please make sure the speed of air is low and blow to the floor. Hope it help.
aeiu228 posted that he open all the Vholes but didn't mentioned that he didn't open any before the incident happened. As I see it and from what I learn ( although not much), dew will only form on open water and soil which must be wet only then the cold air make the water particles from the water surface and the land to form dew and the wind blow them into the BH. The bird house interior is not wet and will be warm and since the air inside is stagnant and will remain for quite sometime and even so, will only slowly become cooler but then, it will be warm again when the sun rise. So, with my little knowledge and understanding but wish to know more, I think that by closing all V holes will prevent and slower the cold air outside from entering the BH and that's why I said prevent the wind from blowing into the BH.

The same reason why if Malaysian is caught off guard in case it snow in Malaysia, we shall all shut all air gaps and windows to prevent cold air from entering and warn air from leaving and worst if the wind blow into our house. Do I get it right?????

Above comments are to seek the truth so that others may learn but with no ill intention or argument for argument sake. Knowledgeable guys may like to give advices to us.
West Wing
post Aug 16 2009, 02:12 PM

1,397 posts

Rearing swiftlets as agriculture: Mukhriz

2009/08/15

KULIM, Sat: Rearing of swiftlets should be made one of the industries in the country's agriculture sector because of its lucrative income, Deputy International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Mukriz Mahathir said today.

He said the technology in the rearing of swiftlets had changed and that the bird could be bred using the hatchery process and then reared for its nests.

Speaking to reporters after opening an association for agriculture and agro-based industry entrepreneurs and a swiftlet rearing project here, he said such a project was being carried out by the association at Kampung Sungai Tengas, near here.

Some 8,000 birds were being reared in the project and when fully operational was expected to yield an income of RM120,000 a month, he added. -- BERNAM

Hanya orang bodoh yang percaya.......Ramai orang dulu dibodohkan, sekarang pun ada orang bodoh lagi. Hanya orang politic bolih cakap bergini dan ada juga orang percaya........bahasa Malaysia Apek kurang pandai, tapi ingin berlajar.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Aug 18 2009, 10:37 AM
West Wing
post Aug 17 2009, 11:32 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(hamidswiftlet @ Aug 17 2009, 05:43 PM)
8000 dpt hasil 120.000 sebulan?, heeee.... kira baik-baik beb..

ehm nampaknya masa depan industri ni semakin gelap.. pelbagai masalah akan timbul seperti penyakit (selsema burung),perubahan=  kos, fisikal walit, habitat, harga sarang, kandungan dan sebagainya. terlalu berisiko dan banyak kelemahan sebab menternak walit sudah lama di buat di indonesia tapi ramai tidak mampu untuk teruskannya

dato Mukriz tidak boleh di persalahkan sebab beliau kemungkinan besar tidak tahu sepenuhnya industri ini .
Itu lah orang Politic.....semua pun dia tahu , yang tak tahu pun tahu.
Mau tujuk kebolihan, saya fikir lah.

Tanya yang tahu bukan orang yang pandai angkat kaki sahaja and dengar dahulu nanti dinampak bodoh. Sayang bukan..............

Maaf kalau ada terlebihan cakap, Asalam Mualaikum
West Wing
post Aug 20 2009, 12:42 PM

1,397 posts

Mr West Wing,

My BH zinc roof creates a lot of noise during raining. Will this scare away the swiftlets?

Some people say the humidity level above 85% is to make sure that the nest won't crack (due to dryness). And it won't affect the swiftlet to stay in the BH even the humidity level is below 70%. What is your opinion on this?

Another question, may I know the lifespan of a swiftlet?

My Answers and only my Opinions only

1. Loud Noises not only will scare birds but other animals too. How do you feel if you are living under a noisy zinc roof...ou surely will go to the next door's comfort home....unless you have no choice.
2.Yes but high humidity is good for the nest and also good for the the eggs and chicks but must not be cold.....and cold is worst than dry.............
3. Life span????? Some expert say 12, other say 15 and others have other says and I say it all depand, if healthy living, live longer lah but at least 10 years if nothing happened...hahahaha

West Wing
post Aug 26 2009, 09:38 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Semuabumi @ Aug 24 2009, 10:54 AM)
Sifu West Wing,

I have a question for you hope you can help. I heard a friend says all swiftlets eggs in his farm drop to the floor.
What is the reason? The parents reject the eggs?

Thank you in advance.
I am still in Hospital and just an small operation and hope all's well. Will be in Hospital for the next few days hopefully and since your posting is address to me, I will reply ti the best of my present situation.

Swiftlets do push their bad eggs out of the nests and all the nests is the first time I heard and it sound danger and something very serious. Ask your friend what did he did with the birdhouse and with that you will find the reason providing that the BH at least a year old.

Can't write much due to the pain and only able to read postings now and will rest now.
West Wing
post Sep 6 2009, 01:15 PM

1,397 posts

Although my body is stiil in the hospital but my heart is still with the Swiftlets Sanctuary Services (SSS) providers.

Istill read the forum only when I have the energy to see but just this advice from a fellow SSS guy, be considerate to others, be fair to others, be kind to others................we know that some black sheeps esp CON sultants are teaching wrong methods of how to start a successful BH.

Consultants on How to maximise Profits and faster returns. All these are wrong, legally or morally and are short sighted. Try to see beyond the horizon and you will see not only the single rainbow in front of your eyes but multiply rainbows that will bring fortune to your future generations to come. Also, that will bring our country aspiration to be the biggest producers of EBN to come true. Learn from us for we have no reasons to lie and only hope for success and make a new true friend.

A few black sheep don't mean all sheep are black....for every black one, ther are hundreds of good ones. All the Associations can do are to advice those black ones to repent or otherwise punishment in written warning for the first offence, compound of Rm1K for the second offence, 10K for the third offence and 100K for the fourth offence in a year.

Thanks all for sharing the latest news and hope to hear more the good news.
West Wing
post Sep 15 2009, 08:12 AM

1,397 posts

Still alive but can't keep my mouth shut even typing these may take a hour or two, it's worth for my Love for swiftlets.

Aroma or perfume or by any name for that matter, use with caution.

Read what I have posted all all my experiences with them............some are Ok but others are not and some even drive away your birds so be very careful when using them.
Once, someone asked me to buy a bottle of it from HK and it must be good cos he ordered another 5 more and each cost over RM200 but this time, he came complaining that they are not the same. The smell and results totally difference but at least, they didn't drive away his birds. He asked if he could get refund for all the unused bottles............Politely answered "No" cos I just help him to buy and I gain nothing but confidentially, HK gave me Rm25 commission for each bottle sold.

I did some testing with aroma and surprisingly, I was very successful with the first try as hundreds of birds entered the new BH during the day of application and I even name it ...just checked formal posting,

I forget the formula and new try failed. So, be careful with new aroma cos you may just end up worst than before. Try out at some area first

Above, are my humble views on the matter and I must rest now

This post has been edited by West Wing: Sep 15 2009, 08:15 AM
West Wing
post Sep 15 2009, 07:33 PM

1,397 posts

if they really to help,they will ask detail from your BH like BH design and so on.
i know alot of people unhappy with my post,so billion sorry in advance...........and forgive me about my mistake.

Bird8888

Dear Bird8888

You are sadly wrong and it is not for us to ask and it is for you to provide all details of case history. If you go to a forum and ask the doctor that you are having a fever, the doctor will tell to take a Panadol and rest.The same goes for this forum and if you ask simple question, we either will tell you to go thru V1 cos alot of infos are provided there or tell you to read a book about Swiftlets before asking. You are seeking help here and not the other way unless you pay us, we are willing to go to your place to see the situation and ask you alot of questions and spend time with you to solve your problem but then you are not paying and we are offering our services for free.
Please do understand these that we are not making profit from you but try to help another fellow rancher to be successful by providing all we know thru our experience.
If you really want someone to guild you from A to Z, then prepare to pay and many here can be your personal consultant and will be willing to serve you if you pay well enough for our time and effort.
Even when you seek God's help, you need to pray for help and even as you well know that God know everything and why didn't He help you without you seeking His Help.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Sep 15 2009, 07:35 PM
West Wing
post Sep 17 2009, 06:25 AM

1,397 posts

Sorry, is Melaka under BN or PK? so, sometime, when ask for a C in Govt, maybe out of the pot into the fire.

If PAS take over, our ladies may be force to wear tudung and cloth to cover
their faces like the Taliban.We, men are more lucky, maybe marry 4 wives legally lay, hahahaha.

Sorry about the politic matter and apologizes to all offended cos blurred blurred and still in Hospital for 21 days. Selamat Hari Raya to all our Muslim Brothers.
West Wing
post Sep 17 2009, 08:42 PM

1,397 posts

I maybe in Specialist Centre for the last 21 days and will be there and I don't know how long but at least 30 K EBN.

The pain cause by the wound is bad but nothing compare to the news posted.
As someone mentioned here, now they banned town, the industry, later the agriculture by giving absurd reasoning......why didn't prevent swallow and pigeons and other birds from the towns.

Let put it this way, if it is oil that you find under the town, you will move the population but then, EBN is white gold and unlike oil, it never end but get better and better. Please allow the old ones to stay.

Hopefully, our beloved PM keep his words that BHs are allowed in towns.
I find that our PM is the only one who is consistent in the matter and others seem to follow the wind of the days and that's politics. I tend to respect him more and more by the PM present words follow by his actions.
Concerning the PM's words on the matter...... That's what I heard from his man @ Seremban and an Pahang Exco man.

So, Mr. PM, if your men are reading our forum, pls. save us and our precious golden birds from harm and danger. Only you alone can save this industry from dome day.....otherwise with all the rich ECO men and their connections, we stand no changes from been destroyed.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Sep 17 2009, 08:46 PM
West Wing
post Oct 3 2009, 07:37 AM

1,397 posts

When someone give advice to either throw away eggs and chicks or to add eggs to the existing 2 eggs, always receive a scolding from me.
Why being so selfish as to do so and by giving all kinds of excuses to hide your greedy, selfish or god forbidden doings.
What ready did you do to get your nest; you provide a breeding place for them and you are paid well for the services. By throwing away the eggs and chicks, you are not keeping your part of the bargain lest that you are a murderer of the kindest friends (swiftlets). That's the reason that I never admit that I rear or keep swiftlets but just a provider of sanctuary for them and in return, I get paid in gold.......that's a bonus for being kind.

As a provider of a safe heaven for them to breed, it is your responsible to ensure their safety and comfort and giving the excuse that thieves steal your nests but they weren't your's in the first place but the swiftlets'

With kind heart and a sensible head, I never have a failed Bhs in my venture in the industry as I have their hearts in mind in all I do and I think that the swiftlets can sense that or that God send the birds to me.

Asking if I have a successful method in building BH, answer is a big no and all my BHs are different base on the existing designs of the building with the least destructing of the structure to the building and using only the cheapest form of doing a BH.................renovation costing about 15K to 25 K.One thing for sure, that is everything that I did is from the bird's eye view as I see it and modified if I feel that I have overlooked in some cases.

Again, that's only my personal ways of doing BHs and others do have their way..................
West Wing
post Oct 8 2009, 11:09 AM

1,397 posts

Kolam or pool of water are meant for BHs out of Town ...I believe that what you all posted as for town's, best get the approval from the majlis before doing so. I built one 10 by 10 beautiful kolam outside of my BH in town and I am the only one that failed the 1st.inspection....all because of my kolam!!!!!! They insist that I detroyed the kolam (Rm4500) before they consider for a second inspection which I did ......no choice after trying to convince them that the kolam is full with fishes. Regulations are regulations and that's what they said. So, be careful lah.
West Wing
post Oct 14 2009, 07:06 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 14 2009, 02:27 PM)
You guys are so fatalistic. And I understand why too. Your BH probably makes up the majority of your income, and any negative developments regarding regulation or more sophisticated competitors will make you sleep poorly.

For me, I make nothing yet from this. So I can approach swiftlet farming like a game; playfully, experimentally, as a diversion from my day job.

BTW, town bird houses are dead anyway. The gov. will want all such activities to be done on agricultural land, the way poultry farming is done.

Added on October 14, 2009, 2:29 pmWhat we'll see in the next few years is a consolidation of this industry, from many small players to a few big ones.
1.The town's birds are the roots of all Birds here. Without the core, the bird's industry will be taken back by more than 10 years and to realise the dream of making EBN, Billions Ringgits earner will be very very far away. If we give the assurance of BHs to stay, the investors will go full swing to allow birds to breed and increase the output of EBNs which will even surpass Palm Oil very soon if we do it right.
2. Let the a scenario like if the government found oil under a town, the government will not hesitate to move the town in order to get to the oil. Here, is a similar situation, white gold is found @ town and is producing more and more ( unlike oil which will be getting lesser and lesser)...........wouldn't it be fair to compromise only and we are not asking to move the town which many shop owners will gladly sell their building for 2 to 5 times the market value for a prime location.
3. The birds choose where to stay and it is not up to us to determine and if the birds like a location, that's gold mine!!!!!!!! and we shall exploit the area like the Thai and the Indo do and we saw how they have progress in this field but not us as we do not have the full support of our govt. We do have an advantage adn that's our EBN is superior to the Indo.
4. We are not asking the Govt. to give intensive or grant in the development of the industry but try to refrain from giving us the sleepless night wondering what will happen to our children's future if the govt. should put a dagger right into our hearts to kill all dreams and future of our future generations plus all our retirement plans. Then, we all will need to go to the welfare department for the monthly allowance of Rm200 to live or go to the old folk home to stay. For those who borrow monies from Ah Long, sorry lah.......go to find your own rope to hang as we have no money to buy you the rope.
5. Billion of ringgit have been invested in the town and with the might of the pen of the Govt, billion ringgits of properties will only be worth millions, I hope and it may cause a properties glut.
West Wing
post Oct 17 2009, 11:23 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(kotmj @ Oct 14 2009, 08:54 PM)
Swiftlet ranching in populated areas will disappear in a few year's time. It does not fit into our society's expectations. It will be an unstoppable force. The gov. will clean them away the way beggars, games arcades, and little gambling outlets have been cleaned away.

I mean, look what they are doing to the tobacco industry. Society doesn't accept tobacco.

If I'm in this industry for the long term, I would start scouting for suitable agricultural land right now.
Dear Friend

From your posting, I know that you are not a bird lover esp. swiftlet and you definitely is not in the industry or providing sanctuary for the swiftlets otherwise, you will understand our feelings for the swiftlets.......to love the swiftlets is to be involved and be there.

We are not beggers nor games arcades or illegal outlets and you have put us in bad light; shame on you as we are all law bidding citizens. Even the illegal activities, we still see these activities in towns esp. in populated areas and do you see them getting lesser but more and more. What did the authorities do to get rid of them........but the authorities and you are picking on us, the poor honest law biding citizens which you nor the Local Authorities know little about the Bhs in towns. Why not picking on the Ah Longs, the Gangsters or the punks or the drugs pushers or are you afraid or scare to complain . We are the pioneers in the field and the swiftlets came to us in the first place and they came to us for the protection against the human predators @ caves and if without us, the Malaysia swiftlets species may have long time be only seen in the your story books and not evolve into new species.

We will be expanding to suitable agriculture land providing we finding suitable area. For me, the most difficult is to ensure safety for the swifltets as there are so many predators and all the predators are protected species including human being which is the worst of all. I once told my friends that in building BHs out of the town; when you have no nest, you are worried but when you have alot of nests, you are more worried. Even in town, we face the burglary's problems now and then who cut thru steel doors and tear down walls to get to the nests and what about the out of town. Remember that it's gold, white gold that we are talking about here and no doors nor wall can prevent them from entering but at least in town, we have our members in strength and the Police to back us up with guns.

Losing the nests is small comparing to the killing of the chicks by hundreds or thousands ..........a true sad sad story. For us, Buddist that the worst scenario that cannot be compensate by fasting nor praying as we have a hand in it by not be able to provide a safe sanctuary, a part of our deal in the transaction................................ again as always, my personal opinion on the matter and any offence is not intentional at all.

West Wing
post Oct 19 2009, 08:37 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tangsn @ Oct 19 2009, 04:00 PM)
Bird House For Sale at Kedah Kulim (One of  the Swiftlet Farming Hot Pot Area At Kulim)

I have two unit Bird House for sale at Kedah Kulim.

1. Center Unit,3 years,30 nests++
2. Corner Unit ,below 4 years,80nests+

Who are interest on this,please Pm me for the price and detail.
My friend,

you should have get some good friend in the trade to have a close look at your BHs if they are in a prime areas. To have such a result is really very sad esp. in good location....as I never fail in good location as see no reason to fail unless there are problems that you didn't see so more eyes are better than the two eyes that you have. Like my new birdhouse in prime location, over 2 years have already has over 1000 nests and another more than one year have over 80 nests which is not a prime location. So, I believe that the best is not to sell but to look for someone to give advice on how to solve your bad luck and that's someone must be at the location to know the what actually happening to your BHs.

I am not interested in your BHs because I live far away or otherwise I may consider if it is in a prime location. Any problem getting approval from the authorities.

Taking a approval really get me mad cos in Pekan some owners already get approval and they are all committee members of the Pekan's Birdnest Association but what's about the rest of the members and owners..........surely we smell something some bad fishes here. So, please make very sure that when you elect your leaders, they must have your interests at heart, too.......not using their positions to get what they want and leave you all in the water.
West Wing
post Oct 20 2009, 08:48 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 20 2009, 05:13 PM)
Bought it from Thailand.
Initially, I was planning to DIY this type of owl/pigeon repeler but upon see this cheap ready made available for sale I like it at first sight already and i know my BH friends would like have it too so I bulk purchased for sharing with friends and resell.
It is made of plastic and about 2' long x 5" wide each. The good things is the spikes would not hurt you if you accidentally touches it.
RM15 per piece excluding postage. Buy 5 pcs free courier to your home.
That's was a very good idea and why didn't I think of that? Owl or any bird of prey cannot stand on it and it does not hurt the owl, too......just a prevention unlike the traps such as netting or electrical zap that we now use. Good idea and I hope that it work.

Any more smart inventions??????
West Wing
post Oct 25 2009, 02:03 PM

1,397 posts

IMALAYSIA and hope that there is no IMALAYSIA 1st.Class, 2nd. Class and 3rd.Class........................I always believe that for Malaysia to be a top country, the leaders must only clasific its citizens into the the rich, the middle and the poor and not on races......otherwise, other countries will benefit from our 'divide and rule' policies. Hope that our PM is really speak from his heart and not just as a politician when he mention of a true Malaysian race; united, one for all and all for one.

I always argued before that what a use of having 70% or 80% of a small cake when you can have just 20% of a giant cake which is 100 times more than the whole of the small cake...............Another is the Kia Su altitude of some leaders not wanting to allow other races to be more prosperous but willingly invite Mat Sallehs to have the bigger share of the buz. Afterall, we are all Malaysian, what we gain, we put back into the country unlike the Mat Sallehs, they take their gain back to their countries of origin, leaving the shits for us to clean and suffer...............Hidup bangsa Malaysia... satu Malaysia, satu jiwa dan satu bangsa

I believe everyone irrespective of races @ forum share the same feeling. I never have problem with other races and they do come to me for consultation/advice on Swiftlets matters and I never fail them.....and some even on JV for BHs on their Malay land with other races to get better or fair deal.......
West Wing
post Oct 26 2009, 06:49 PM

1,397 posts

Now as I am feeling abit better......I shall bring forward a little to discuss on swiftlets increment in BHs.

No long ago, when someone wrote about putting lighting in the BH to increase the population, I was tempted to disagree with him but then, I find that not the right time. Now, I shall post what I know but then you out there can disagree with me as I only share what I know.

Long ago, a new BH friend phoned me up to tell me that birds entering his BH in the middle of the night and I asked how he know. He told me that when he switched on the light, alot of birds seemed to be circling in the BH.
I kept quite but then, after a few weeks, he came to me as asked me why there seem to be no more birds in his BH. I told him that initially, his BH was quite popular with the birds until he stated to scare away all the birds with his middle of the night investigation into the number of birds every night.........he was angry with me for not telling him that earlier and my reply was that, do you believe me then????????

Another friend recently put a light below inside his entrance hole and he came to me and told me the good news that more birds are entering his BH. Then, the bad news came, upon inspection, there is no increament of the EBN in the BH. I told him that the light attracted the birds as they are curious but because of the light, it scared and prevent new birds from building new nests. After shutting off the light, the increment now become better and better and my friend is very happy with his BH.

So, my new friends in this venture, be very careful of what you do and even if advices or recommendations from consultant must be check and double check before applying. Who know maybe they are using you to try out something new.If successful, you win but they win much more but failure, you are the only sucker and fool!!!!!!

West Wing
post Oct 27 2009, 05:18 PM

1,397 posts

Oh God, They are breeding Swiftlets in closed farms; cut their feathers and hand feed the swiftlets. Very soon the swiftlets will get too fat to fly anyway and if they become successfully; they are going to create new diseases to the swiftlets that never happen to the swiftlets and they will need to feed special Antibiotic to the swiftlets to cure new diseases and in the end will also be the end of the swiftlets's industry as all birdnests will be tainted with poison and antibiotics residue that is also harmful to human.

Worst....if they are going to create super size nests, what they are going to feed the swiftlets with ?????????????Steriod!!!!! or new drugs or formulated food that will create super 10 kilo swiftlets that may produce half kilo nest each and when eaten, produce 300 kilo human being or ......
End

16 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0795sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:35 PM