Nokia NOKIA 6710 NAVIGATOR, The "NEW" Navigator navigates your life

alpha_company
post Feb 27 2009, 05:15 PM

One Hand Punch Mega
4,016 posts

this phone is nice...the bottom is shaped like a G1 phone a lil bit.

a navigator with 5mp phone...i hope that it would be better than 3mp camera on the e71, it's the worst 3mp in nokia..
TSbeatlesalbum
post Mar 10 2009, 12:58 AM

1,711 posts

Updates on asia.cnet

By Joseph Hanlon, CNET.com.au
Mar 09, 2009

Nokia's third Navigator in the series, the 6710, is barely the best of the bunch thus far, with specs and features too similar to last year's release.

Editors' note:
This preview was first published on our sister site CNET.com.au. References made to some other products or telcos in this review may not be available or applicable in Asia.

Upside
The most obvious improvements over last year's 6210 Navigator will be a slightly bigger screen (up from 2.4 to 2.6 inches) and a curved slider design for improved ergonomics, similar to the design of the HTC Dream.

The 6710 Navigator will include the latest version of Nokia Maps pre-installed, version 3.0, giving users access to aerial photography (like Google Maps), built-in weather display and Navteq's new 3D landmarks. To make using the maps easier, the 6710 sports a touch-sensitive zoom area below the screen and appears to have more accurate incremental zooming than was possible using keypad shortcuts.

Most of the phone's hardware will remain the same; HSDPA, Wi-Fi, A-GPS (of course), a digital compass for more accurate pedestrian navigation, plus this year's model will also include HSUPA (the uplink sibling of HSDPA) to help you upload those geotagged photos you take to your Flickr account faster. Speaking about photos, the 6710 will also feature a 5-megapixel Carl Zeiss camera with an LED flash and autofocus.

Downside
The fact that the phone's hardware, especially its screen size, is mostly the same as the former is a disappointment. Someone needs to make a navigation mobile phone with a 3.5- to 4-inch display and turn-by-turn directions. Nokia has half of this equation taken care of, and with its new touchscreen-capable fifth version of its Series60 platform, now is exactly the time we'd expect the world's largest phone-maker to act.

Also, call it an educated guess, but we aren't expecting Nokia to include a lifetime navigation licence with Nokia Maps like it did with the first Navigator model. Instead, we expect to be offered a try-before-you-buy style package with a few months of turn-by-turn directions. Press releases from Nokia about the 6710 have cautiously avoided the issue, but don't get your hopes up for a phone plus GPS package without being prepared to pay a little extra.

Overall

From a distance, the 6710 seems an underwhelming announcement. We want a more considered approach to a navigation phone, not just another Nokia slider with Maps installed. There's still space in the market for a truly terrific mapping handset, but we're pretty sure this isn't it. Nokia could stitch up the competition with its maps, plus a huge touchscreen and lifetime turn-by-turn directions built into the price, but we're still waiting.

Source: http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/mobilephones/...4555740p,00.htm

xavi5567
post Apr 29 2009, 11:16 AM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

Wat is a processor upgrade from 364mhz to 600mhz ..and a camera upgrade lor.. But with the processor changed.. I expect tis baby to d a faster navigator lor.. The currently navigator is a bit slow..
Skylinestar
post Apr 30 2009, 06:42 PM

Mega Duck
10,467 posts

when will this phone be released in malaysia? cos i'm waiting for the candybar 6720.
qwe65
post Apr 30 2009, 09:28 PM

my assistant
815 posts

my frenz ask,d pad 4 dz pon is navy wheel ya??

This post has been edited by qwe65: Apr 30 2009, 09:28 PM
toby.c13
post May 17 2009, 04:20 AM

Please enter custom member title
1,580 posts

what will be included in the sales package? hmm.gif
kelvinlym
post May 17 2009, 04:55 AM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

QUOTE(beatlesalbum @ Feb 23 2009, 04:35 PM)
r u sure about that? please quote your source. if its true, thats pretty cool i say
Yes it's true. But it's not the yellow line. It's the area where the word "Navigator" is. There are hidden until lit icons which allow zooming when you slide your finger across the bar. Also can be used to zoom into web pages and camera zoom.

That's all I can reveal for now smile.gif

@toby.c13: According to official website, car holder, car charger and navi license based on region besides the usual stuff.

This post has been edited by kelvinlym: May 17 2009, 04:57 AM
etcyik
post Jun 9 2009, 01:11 PM

318 posts

im 6210n owner now. well, if da price is not so expensive,as well as da functionality of wifi is available in tis model..definitely i wil go n upgrade it..
so it seems it totally like N series phone rite? there r plenty of ppl holding N series in da market now... i wan to hv some different one... tats y im holding 6210n n 6220c!opps i sold 6220c, i miss da phone...
lajukipas
post Jun 11 2009, 11:23 AM

387 posts

QUOTE(etcyik @ Jun 9 2009, 01:11 PM)
im 6210n owner now. well, if da price is not so expensive,as well as da functionality of wifi is available in tis model..definitely i wil go n upgrade it..
so it seems it totally like N series phone rite? there r plenty of ppl holding N series in da market now... i wan to hv some different one... tats y im holding 6210n n 6220c!opps i sold 6220c, i miss da phone...
bro,6210 how long to lock gps signal?
myroom
post Aug 25 2009, 09:17 PM

59 posts

Hi there,this navigator already in market did any one try it hmm.gif ...What are best with this one?? i like to know and need some other who has experience with this hp..Is that GPS free or need to used credit for open the navi?? brows.gif brows.gif
TSbeatlesalbum
post Aug 26 2009, 05:06 PM

1,711 posts

GSMARENA Review is OUT!!!

More PROs than CONs!!!
http://www.gsmarena.com/nokia_6710_navigator-review-386.php
Humorboy
post Aug 26 2009, 11:42 PM

187 posts

how much is this phone? anyone knows?
Deani_77
post Sep 11 2009, 06:24 AM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Yesterday I ask in Giant Senawang, it cost RM1500 (Zitron)...
myroom
post Sep 11 2009, 12:20 PM

59 posts

At lowyat only rm1400 zitron/avvax/sapura brows.gif ....No body has try this hp?? whistling.gif
Deani_77
post Sep 13 2009, 09:09 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

I'm planning to buy this h/p but not much shop sell this phone in Seremban even though this is a new phone. Make me wondering what is the 2nd value if I'm going to sell this phone one day...
ravenlost
post Sep 15 2009, 06:38 AM

298 posts

How is the camera quality comparing to the N97 flagship? Since both are 5.0 Mpx does both have same photo quality?
pasarmalam
post Sep 15 2009, 02:52 PM

276 posts

RM1500 from nokia store gardens midvalley.Just went there to ask.

In stock but none for display.

They gave me a nokia brochure and in the brochure it stated it had 3 colors brown,titanium and black.But Ive seen so many websites and I dont see any black color for this phone.

Wierd.

Deani_77
post Sep 15 2009, 05:54 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

QUOTE(pasarmalam @ Sep 15 2009, 02:52 PM)
RM1500 from nokia store gardens midvalley.Just went there to ask.

In stock but none for display.

They gave me a nokia brochure and in the brochure it stated it had 3 colors brown,titanium and black.But Ive seen so many websites and I dont see any black color for this phone.

Wierd.
May be they spared it for special edition of 6710 tongue.gif

Anyway, this 6710 look like in black...

gecodine
post Sep 16 2009, 01:31 AM

194 posts

This phone dont have rotate screen function when browsing the web...

Anyone, have a same problem?
TSbeatlesalbum
post Sep 23 2009, 06:40 PM

1,711 posts

There is no accelormeter if you mean that the page will auto rotate when browsing. so no, it wont work.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0243sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 03:57 PM