QUOTE(Quistreous @ Aug 14 2009, 12:14 PM)
I'll do just that then... Games Street Fighter 4 Tournament Malaysia 2009, ARE YOU STILL A STREET FIGHTER?
Games Street Fighter 4 Tournament Malaysia 2009, ARE YOU STILL A STREET FIGHTER?
Aug 14 2009, 12:19 PM
14 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
Aug 16 2009, 02:16 PM
Working on uploading the videos too as well... have to down-scale it to 720x480 on youtube. Sorry if I missed some of the matches, arm hurts like hell today, even though I took turns holding the vidcam.
Note to self : BRING TRIPOD. Hopefully you can expect to see the videos by today/tomorrow. And yeah, even though I got knocked out really early, it was a great experience, and finally meet the guys. Thanks Alan, rawfish, and quist, for the awesome event! Looking forward to the next round! |
Aug 16 2009, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(rawfish @ Aug 16 2009, 04:24 PM) Thanks to everyone for the great feedback. A special mention to Alan for again putting things together, my marshall mates Quist and LT5, cameramen (MasterAlvin, Kileak and Senzr), the Sony 1U guys who are so accommodating, and both sides of the pad & stick contestants group. Hi all,Unfortunately I've been wrestling to with the format of the video for optimal viewing on youtube, but the sizes were just too big (converting from AVCHD to mp4/divx/mov...), so I've gotta downscale it even more. Anyway, I'll be uploading lower-resolutions of the matches starting from the knock-outs to my youtube account, and will drop by outpost one day to pass a higher resolution of the videos in a DVD to Alan. I'll be passing a few copies to Alan, so anyone who's interested could pick it up from him sometime this week (hopefully, as long as work doesn't come in the way :/ ). Don't snag it all though, cuz I've only got a limited amount of DVDs... maybe you guys can view/copy it and pass it back to him. Hope that's fine with you Alan/rawfish/everyone, as i couldn't think of a better way to actually upload the HD videos on youtube with our fantastic ISP. Cheers all! P.s. Watching back Chucky's matches are pretty damn scary... |
Aug 16 2009, 05:21 PM
Aug 17 2009, 11:43 AM
Hi all,
Still working on the videos (19.5 Gig! 1920 x 1080 res. + 5.1... Think I should consider cutting down the resolution next time...). In the meantime, here's some shots of the event. Sorry for the sepia-ed tones, it looked worse with color, so I decided to b&w it. Here's the photos: http://picasaweb.google.com/kileak79/SF4Tournament Feel free to tag yourself there. Oh, and thanks for the encouragement guys! Guess I really need to put in more work, and play more match-ups. Again, stay tuned for the videos, hopefully I can get everything up today. This post has been edited by kileak: Aug 17 2009, 11:44 AM |
Aug 17 2009, 02:01 PM
Aug 17 2009, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(Zangief82 @ Aug 17 2009, 03:09 PM) MAsterAlvin, i wonder you got record the video between Big MAc ( Abel) with Anthony ( zangief ) ? i think its when the screen have been reduced to 1. that is the knock out match or the top 16 i also dont know..haha. @Zangief82,i hope someone got that video..that is my first ever Tournament match with high gaming opponents. with ..hehe. Were you wearing a yellow shirt that day? If you are, then yes, I have it, it's an Abel/Zangief match. Man I'm having such a headache sorting out the matches. Thank god I took a picture of the semi-finals bracket! Sorry guys, it's a busy day at work, so video progress is going slow... |
Aug 17 2009, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Aug 17 2009, 03:29 PM) I could be wrong, but would it matter if you're crouch-blocking/stand-blocking?For example, I know Rose can't punish a Blanka-ball on crouch-block; apparently there's a few extra block stun frames. However, on stand-block, she can do a reversal Ultra to punish it. Tried it on training mode last week, and this seems to hold true... |
Aug 17 2009, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(JuzJoe @ Aug 17 2009, 06:23 PM) Whose who wei? the only tag on the photos is Ben's hand!~ next time if i meet any1 i must check their hand is it? Yes.In the SF world, only your eyes and hands matter. Sorry, I shoulda captioned it. Can't think of anything witty, I'm leaving it to you guys to say something. |
Aug 18 2009, 07:02 PM
Quick update on the tournament videos @ last Friday :
After 2 days of trying to upload to youtube (no thanks to my shitty connection, and firewall at office), I finally gave up on trying to upload it. Instead, I'll be sticking to burning it to a few DVDs and passing it to Alan @ Outpost, probably on Weds/Thurs. So hopefully, you guys can grab it from him during the gathering. On the brighter side though, I won't be limited to lower resolutions to compensate for youtube; now I'll have the freedom to turn up the quality & resolution as I can out of those videos. Sorry for the late response; it's one of those busy work periods |
Aug 18 2009, 10:35 PM
Aug 20 2009, 03:01 PM
Coming late tomorrow after work (>8pm)... Alan, I want a Rufus XL Burger!
Aug 20 2009, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(Zangief82 @ Aug 20 2009, 04:33 PM) the first burger is my order..u beratur la.. Eh, like that no extra fries for me? Dammit! I'm just gonna be tebal muka and take fries from your plate.Anyway...I just bought HRAP3 Sticks today..hooray... now i test first.. Added on August 20, 2009, 6:09 pm QUOTE(hatred___ @ Aug 20 2009, 06:06 PM) Sony tourney. Interesting. With most people out of town, perhaps my chances will be higher? Venue and most importantly, PRIZES? If it's a PS3 CONSOLE, I'll put EVERYTHING aside. LOL. btw, is this tourney the tag team one? I lost track.This post has been edited by kileak: Aug 20 2009, 06:09 PM |
Aug 21 2009, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(Zangief82 @ Aug 21 2009, 05:51 PM) yeah lah his Rufus...can beat my zangief V.2.0 anytime..tonight lets see if my Zangief V.3.0 can compete or not. I'm not sure if anybody even played this game before, but it's a old Saturn game... Guardian Heroes (The original one). That's one of the best, if not the best, beat-em-up that I've ever played. here are the games that are competitive but its a coop game which i want to highlight. 1. Spike out ( guys anyone remembers that game?) 2. SPAWN ( redeemer ) 3. Gaunlet Legends ( ''REd wizard has taken the Key ) 4. Golden Axe...lol ( remember the small thief that steal potions at lvl 2. ) 5. Captain Commando ( ninja, baby on bot, mummy ) 6. Final Fight ( Guy , Cody , Haggar ) if im not mistaken..'Hugo' comes from here .. 7. Double Dragon ( ABOBO anyone remember ABOBO )? 8. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle ( lol first time play at Genting Highlands ) 9. Michael Jackson Moonwalker ( May he rest in Peace KingOfPoP ) 10. Photo Hunt ( lol ...who hasn't play this? ) Anyone who's played the recent Bleach DS fighting games (No, it's not crap!) would have a good idea to expect from that game actually. Dual planes, mad air combos, multiple players,air combos (!), awesome fighting engine, parries, juggles, Supers, level ups (It's a partial RPG), multiplayer co-op, infinite combos... Dammit, does anyone still have a working Sega Saturn & Guardian Heroes? All of a sudden I really feel like playing it again... On the topic of You missed out a few really cool co-op games as well (Off my head) : 1. Macross Arcade 2. Cadillacs & Dinosaurs 3. Aliens vs. Predator 4. D&D : Shadow over Mysteria (Come on, who doesn't remember doing the QCF + jump sliding around to hoard the gold/treasures?) 5. ALL TIME FAV: Raiden This post has been edited by kileak: Aug 21 2009, 06:33 PM |
Aug 21 2009, 06:52 PM
QUOTE(anotheryou @ Aug 21 2009, 06:34 PM) Whoa!There's someone who actually remembers tis game. Awww dude!!! You know what, this is like one of the best titles that should be released on PSN/Xbox Arcade! I'd gladly pay a full PS3-priced title for a HD version of this game!!!Agreed bro,its a reli good game.Played tis ages ago & still love it. Sega should release tis game again...ah..Nostalgia... Hell, leave the graphics alone, and I'll still be happy! |
Aug 24 2009, 07:14 PM
QUOTE(alanmukkl @ Aug 24 2009, 02:57 PM) Dear All, Alan MC'ing again?This is a confirmation info from SONY: Sony Style SF4 tournament at Subang Parade Date: 29th August 2009 Time: Register at 12pm Tournament Start: Approx 2pm Online registration will be givien a link soon... Sunday - Friendly gathering at Outpost Cafe Date: 30 August 2009 Time: 12pm till 10pm All welcome even noobs.. Practically there is no NOOB is Sf4 community. Everyone is a STREET FIGHTER !!! Except Andrew...as usual Also, is it a tag-team battle thing? Forgot that this saturday is 29th August... Hopefully can make it, wife may drag me to buy furniture & groceries... Oh, btw, DVD was passed to Big Mac; I think he passed it to Alan. This time if I'm vidcaming, i'll bring a F**KING TRIPOD! |
Aug 25 2009, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(rawfish @ Aug 25 2009, 01:34 AM) I love arcade sticks and the way they respond to every single input press. They allow us to perform techniques and combos which are near impossible on a regular pad. Nowadays when at arcades I'll just stare at the machine panels and wonder what parts the cabinet is using. After winning the round I'll still keep tapping the buttons like playing a piano. I'll look at Autopay machines and wonder how responsive their buttons can be if switched to Sanwa or Seimitsu. I keep double-tapping the blue LED button multiple times when I enter the Cineleisure carpark... Random link dumps : Confess it, you guys DO think of these things too right! http://www.round1.sg/ - A guy I met on GGPO that runs a fighting game website in Singapore. Come on guys, I'm sure most of us are tech-savvy enough to at least run a forum? If necessary, I'll create a sub-main hosting a forum/CMS on one of my good friend's website(suggested - techthrow.eatnplay.com.my)... or even better, techthrow.outpost.com.my? *hint hint, Alan...* Suggestions for website name, maybe? I don't mind doing the templates and set-ups for the website (Help would be appreciated as well). http://www.youtube.com/atatashai - Some singapore tourney videos. Also, Shen Yu @ Round1.sg suggested that we should go down to Singapore for some matches, and perhaps some of them come up for matches as well. Anyone? Arcade button mods : http://www.djtechtools.com/2009/06/22/more-arcade-buttons http://techtools.myshopify.com/products/arcade-buttons I tinker around with DJ equipments at my free time, and come across this mod; interesting usage of arcade buttons. They're even selling the Sanwa buttons at their site P.S. Do add me to your MSN : jirwong@gmail.com This post has been edited by kileak: Aug 25 2009, 12:00 PM |
Aug 25 2009, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(rawfish @ Aug 25 2009, 02:43 PM) Website and forum setup. One of the things I wanted to do before SF4 was even released on the consoles and LYN had its first SF4 thread. I have no time to maintain it alone hence scrapped that idea. Website and forum setup, I'm more than happy and willing to do it. I'm very much willing to contribute content and raise discussions, if there's a good crowd who'll contribute as well. Alright, since we're on the topic of this... I'm gonna go ahead and do a proposal for this. People/resources I'd need/would like to have : - Mods/Admins - Content contributors & reporters (i.e. Any content related to fighting games) - GFX designers (Yes, I can do some design work, but I'm sure some of you are even better than I am. I can handle the technical aspects, as that's kind of my day-time job anyway. Anyway I was having a casual discussion with the round1.sg admin, and he said that sometimes, there are a lot of people really miss arcades/fighting games. As the conversation progressed, one of the main reasons why he started that website was that he(and his group of friends) realized that they can still keep the scene going, but the problem is that they didn't have a central repository/gathering spot... Do you realize that there's still a lot of LYN members that don't really participate in the SF4 threads, or rather... the threads are kind of messy, and hard to follow? Case in point : This thread alone has so much random stuff, that it's totally way OT from the tournaments. In fact, I've just met a guy who makes custom sticks, and yet doesn't know about the gatherings/tournaments happening around. I mean, here's someone who's enthusiastic enough to examine PCBs and parts, and can't follow the actual SF4 scene in Malaysia... Something wrong here...? Seeing as how popular this thread(and the other SF4 thread) is going, I think we could kick-start something off. We can expand it to other fighting games as well, such as BlazBlue, KOF, Tekken, SF3, MvC series, etc... no need to limit ourselves down to SF4 only, somewhat like SRK, but for Malaysia. Frankly, having met some(most...?) of you guys on this thread, I'm just gonna say something really f**king gay, and say that : You guys rock. Seriously, flat-out. Even though I've barely even said hi to everyone, it really warms the heart to see a community building up, and showing such great hospitality to new comers as well. Thank you Alan/rawfish/everyone. You guys may have just revitalized that Sg. Wang/SS2/Midlands/wherever you're from spirit. Oh, and Chucky... In case you're reading this... http://forums.round1.sg/index.php?topic=660.0 I think our neighbouring country's more than willing to take us on. Time to get our game up. |
Aug 25 2009, 07:15 PM
QUOTE(leongteng5 @ Aug 25 2009, 06:33 PM) Well, I suppose we could start off with some names for the site?Here's my suggestions : www.supercancel.com www.fightmefirst.com www.flowchartshotos.com www.kick-kick-punch.com Also, feel free to put forth any ideas you may have. This post has been edited by kileak: Aug 25 2009, 07:18 PM |
Aug 25 2009, 08:03 PM
you know, let's just rip off leongteng's nick :
gigatonpress.com.my e-silat.com.my It's actually a pretty cool name. This post has been edited by kileak: Aug 25 2009, 08:05 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0456sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:46 AM |