Heatsink Lapping Tutorial+Pics(added 6600) lapped , Discussion and How-To's

sHawTY
post Nov 18 2006, 03:23 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 17 2006, 11:31 PM)
HURRY HURRY HURRY!!!! Dozo do it bro let me know how it performs.hehe kinda strap for cash now... cry.gif
Cheh, lapping doesn't need a lot of money la, it just need lot's and lot's of patience...

That's the only thing that is gonna cost you... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 21 2006, 06:54 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

Oitt styloe, buat je la, then DDWW do it also in one time, then, compare the differences la... thumbup.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 10:54 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 22 2006, 10:52 PM)
haha yeah rite dude as if i'll do it.it weighed a ton sweat.gif

anyway i'll do it later so i can compare to ddww see how my idle temp seem kinda off.damn just hit 62c a few second ago. sweat.gif
Just take out the heatsink and bring it back to you're kampung laa...
Still can do lapping there what? brows.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 22 2006, 11:13 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 22 2006, 11:11 PM)
i'll be there maybe 2 months my fren don wanna end up like ur xp120 sweat.gif

anyways ddww any updates? flex.gif
Oii...
Perli kaa? vmad.gif joking joking... tongue.gif

Anyway, i'll be getting an another ABIT AW8D MAx soon to replace that ASUS P5WD2-E Premium board, so the pc is going to be running strong again... flex.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 23 2006, 06:10 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Nov 23 2006, 12:50 AM)
Wat happened to his xp120?
Some oxidation builds up on the heatsink base as it's not used for quite some time because my motherboard didn't return from RMA yet... sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 23 2006, 03:11 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Nov 23 2006, 07:45 AM)
Nvm 1 wat. Can use arctic cleaner or just lap a bit with 2000 grit sand paper then it's ok di .
Arctic Cleaner can also be used for cleaning the land array of the LGA775 right?
I mean the lower part of an LGA775 processor? Right? blink.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 24 2006, 04:45 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 24 2006, 03:11 PM)
nice bro...where's ddww ?dude still no update?my idle temp shoot up like hell from 36c to 44c since i OC to 3.6Ghz  sweat.gif but my NB is cooler a bit since i attached the damn noisy 92mm fan to blow at my mobo rclxms.gif
It's a pity that i can't help you oc'ed you're processor to 3.9 or 4Ghz...

Wanted to give you're processor speed, but with intel 915limitation, i could only help you to oc to 3.6GHz... sweat.gif

**Styloe, weh, ko set vcore kat berapa? blink.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 24 2006, 04:52 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 24 2006, 04:51 PM)
1.4375v but it fluctuates 1.43-1.5v badly maybe my psu aint stable enuff but the pc seems stable no crashes rclxms.gif .i think its not my mobo but my proc or my psu aint stable dunno but im satisfied 20% faster hehe and tighter timing better tho.
Yerp, the timings that i set is 3-3-3-7 right?
Didn't remember la... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 24 2006, 11:45 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(styloe @ Nov 24 2006, 04:56 PM)
haha no tighter like u hug ur GF tongue.gif  2.5-3-3-6 flex.gif at 240.maybe next year change to DDR2 will see how my budget 2007 laugh.gif
Woot!!!

2.5-3-3-6!!! drool.gif

Nice timings!!! wink.gif

Ehh, ko ejas balik ke timing tu? blink.gif
That day i tried 2.5 why cannot? sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 27 2006, 06:17 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Nov 27 2006, 03:18 PM)
That shawty said wanna post pic but till now also takda... rclxub.gif
Blame styloe for it, he promise me to bring a digital camera, but until today still didn't have any news... tongue.gif
sHawTY
post Nov 29 2006, 09:11 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Nov 28 2006, 02:47 PM)
Shawty, bring ur heatsink to the camera shop, and say wanan take passport pic... lol
Like they'll allow something like that... laugh.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 8 2006, 10:05 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

More & more people are going to lap their heatsink...

Where the hell is ddww by the way?
MIA? blink.gif

I thought he said that he want to lap his heatsink?
Where is he? blink.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 8 2006, 10:37 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Dec 8 2006, 10:27 AM)
Yups... more and more people are doing but less and less people posting pics wor.. shawty...
Damn you, always stab me in the back...!!! vmad.gif

Hey, not that i don't want to post some picture, it's that i don't have a digital camera liao... sweat.gif

I have to wait until styloe comes back from his village to borrow his digicam loh... wink.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 8 2006, 02:11 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Dec 8 2006, 12:25 PM)
guys check this link out... it will get u relapping ur base agian... if u dun wan to read all just scrooll down to the "Do i want a mirror Finish" part
http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/cooling/39
Man, this really makes me feel like i want to lap my base back... sweat.gif

sHawTY
post Dec 8 2006, 08:03 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Dec 8 2006, 03:28 PM)
Ur's not mirror ar? Try do it again la. BTW, any temp difference?
It's mirror shine, temps differences? 3 degrees liao... wub.gif

sHawTY
post Dec 9 2006, 04:29 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

But still, after checking the link that lolhalol gave to me, it's worrying me, maybe i should lap my heatsink to 600grit back... sweat.gif

Should i? rclxub.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 9 2006, 04:46 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Dec 9 2006, 04:43 PM)
@shawty
bro no need 600 grit one lah...
1500 is very good aledi...actually if its flat u get a mirror finish, just dun sand until u cant see anymore lines sanding lines. u get wat i mean? i lappe my storm block and got a drop of 8 degress ,the base was so flat that if u put it on a mirror u can lift the mirror...
1500Grit?

The last sandpaper i use to lap my XP120 is 2000Grit... sweat.gif

Should i relap back? blink.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 11 2006, 09:25 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Dec 11 2006, 01:30 PM)
@littlelinnet
bro that would not work at all, becouse the processor ihs is NEVER flat. unless u lap it...

anyways, i dun mean that u have to stop lapping at 1500 grit , but in my persoinal exp 1500 grit is good enogh, 2000 grit is a bit waste of energy coz 1) the 2000grit is harder to find.
2) the perfomance gains is negligable ,ur looking at a region of 0.05 degrees.
3) it helps that the base is a bit "rough" , check the link i posted....
None of those IHS is flat? sweat.gif

Can someone help me in lapping my Pentium D 930 IHS?
I'm afraid to lap my Pentium D 930 IHS liao... sad.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 12 2006, 10:35 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Dec 11 2006, 11:16 PM)
Lol, come send to pg and i'll help u
Won't there be any problems with the processor after lapping?

Kinda scared liao... sweat.gif
sHawTY
post Dec 12 2006, 11:32 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,909 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Dec 12 2006, 11:01 PM)
why there should be problems with the processor? sweat.gif can't think any unsure.gif
I'm afraid of electro static charge... sweat.gif

And afraid if after lapping, the result will be more worse... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 12 2006, 11:32 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0288sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:26 AM