6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Movies Inception | The Dark Knight director sci-fi pic, Warner Brothers wants Inception 2 ?

hairyLGS
post Jul 30 2010, 05:25 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Jul 30 2010, 05:23 PM)
I watch Blade Runner before. It has a conclusion. And it is satisfiable.

Also, Inception have conclusion. But you all screw it up!!!

Added on July 30, 2010, 5:24 pm
yes, it is straight forward... until some genius turn this into critical discussion... 
laugh.gif laugh.gif

Calm down... this is meant to discuss, not to be serious. But good to discuss at least can share opinions... nod.gif

Oh about Blade Runner - which version you watch? hmm.gif

Two of the endings were forced...

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Jul 30 2010, 05:26 PM
hairyLGS
post Jul 30 2010, 05:27 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 30 2010, 05:22 PM)
Guys, lets not turn this to a Blade Runner debate instead. Lets do that in a Mind Bending movie thread.

I've got dibs on Fight Club. laugh.gif
OOOO... another debatable film...

drool.gif

So, what you want to share about Fight Club? hmm.gif

Added on July 30, 2010, 5:29 pm
QUOTE(Krovaxq @ Jul 30 2010, 05:25 PM)
i never got the whole ideas of th monkeys like at all...was it trying to show us about revolution? about how they develop anger and brute? how the blunt weapon bone started? while before that they were defenseless?(attacked by cheetah)... n the steel bar alike thing... omg it hurts my brain =.=!!
Something like that... and it's all Monolith fault laugh.gif

But what I believe the director intended it to be was that if that monolith never appear, we will never evolve completely. Hence, how one monkey touched the monolith and got the idea of a bone can be use a weapon and how he can show his anger by using the weapon.

It's not that hard... just that the whacking part is too much... but the music is epic thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Jul 30 2010, 05:29 PM
hairyLGS
post Aug 1 2010, 11:43 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Aug 1 2010, 11:02 PM)
inception set to top box office for the third week in a row, on it way to make 200 mil in US domestic box office  flex.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif

hairyLGS
post Aug 1 2010, 11:55 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(baoz @ Aug 1 2010, 11:50 PM)
Sorry for the late-ness. Just watched the movie.

Although the ending gave me (and the rest of the audience) a big "HUH??".. the entire movie was brilliant. Atypical action scenes aside (I was waiting for Yusof to get shot), the whole concept is just very.. new and original. And credit has to be given to Nolan for executing it almost flawlessly.

The cast were just great too. Love Tom Hardy for his accent and humour the most.

I need to find another 2.5 hours of my time to watch once more. Gonna pay attention to the details this time. Throughout the movie I keep having these unanswered questions that I can't focus on the next puzzle.
Browse through the thread and most of the answers are there laugh.gif
hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 12:07 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 1 2010, 11:57 PM)
great yes. Original? probably. Some part is taken directly from Matrix. Example is plug-in to go to dream world instead
of Matrix world.
Erm... Doubt it is some part actually. They are both quite different in terms of theme concept. I believe Inception likely good in comparison would be Satoshi Kon's Paprika... that anime film is almost similar to Inception (without the extraction and inception)

hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 02:01 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 2 2010, 01:29 AM)
You should read the FAQ and Wiki regarding this movie. When Nolan wrote this movie, it is very heavily influenced by
Matrix.
Heavily influenced yes by that "era" but I was talking about its own originality as a whole. Those part anyone can claim whoever also copy who. I mean, even The Matrix as a whole genre was similar to The Thirteenth Floor. If you say The Matrix is original in plug-in... then you better watch Kathryn Bigelow's Strange Days, which was in 1995 and I bet The Matrix had some influences from that film as well in some parts laugh.gif

Added on August 2, 2010, 2:02 am
QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Aug 2 2010, 01:55 AM)
http://articles.latimes.com/2010/apr/04/en...on4-2010apr04/5

'The Matrix,' 'Dark City,' 'The Thirteenth Floor' and, to a certain extent, you had 'Memento'

Nolan was influenced by that era of movies above
Influence of the unreal world... not dreams... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Aug 2 2010, 02:02 AM
hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 09:46 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 2 2010, 08:37 AM)
You sir, trying to make things complicated like other person who claim this and that of the Inception movie.
Let's not over complicate things because its a movie. Inception copy Matrix. There you go.
And The Matrix copy Strange Days. There you go. thumbup.gif
hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 10:51 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 2 2010, 10:41 AM)
Matrix is always original..  vmad.gif
Now I spotted a fan laugh.gif

No, not everything of The Matrix is original.

The Jack-In concept was in fact copied from Strange Days and this was written by James Cameron himself. Check out the trailer below

The phrase was coined even much further by author William Gibson. The ideas by Wachowski Brothers are also not original in fact - they just mold some of what they love (kung fu, science fiction readings, comic books) into one movie. They even admit they were influenced by these to make The Matrix.

So basically, its no different than what you said Inception copied The Matrix while The Matrix copied others too.

I love The Matrix Trilogy, disappointed with the second sequel ending (because it felt too easy to end it, unlike the first film which has a good final showdown!) but overall it is a good film in its own. As a whole, it is original but I never care whether the parts they copied are copied as a whole, but rather they make it as a film as a whole that makes it original...

That is how Inception is as a whole not copied from The Matrix. Influence yes, but not copied.

I know your generation you love The Matrix, who doesn't? But we can't deny history and in fact, it was those before that did it weren't accepted but soon later they are. You should watch the Philosophy of The Matrix documentary - and what the professionals depicts about the film is copied from somewhere even (and I can't even stand what they were saying after 30 minutes rclxub.gif )
hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 10:52 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 2 2010, 10:43 AM)
Mana ada... tongue.gif

But I would love to further explore our capacity as a human battery. Its really good actually.

Ok, enough with me complicating the whole movie. tongue.gif

Owh and btw, I MISSED OUT ON YESTERDAY'S 2001: A SPACE ODYSSEY!!! Dammit it was on TV2. sad.gif
You want to go through the monkey whacking again? laugh.gif

Now is such a good time to buy the Blu-Ray version from Amazon - it's freaking cheap! USD 7.95!!! drool.gif
hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 10:57 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 2 2010, 10:53 AM)
I don't mind. I only got the part where Hal was singing Daisy. DAMN!

But yeah. BD's damn cheap. TEMPTED! biggrin.gif

I wish they would adapt all of Arthur C. Clarke's work. I never thought I would enjoy 2010: The Year We Make Contact even. That mysterious monolith is still a good subject to explore.
hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 11:11 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 2 2010, 11:07 AM)
Darn it. Now there's a lot of movies I'm missing out. haha.

Btw, 1 gripe i have this movie that I only thought about was the armory. I know its explained that you can train your subconscious to carry weapons, but how come Eames thought of a Grenade launcher? Heck, even a med pack exists in the dream world. And the applications work. laugh.gif
I think the biggest question is... what was Eames profession in the real world is more like it... icon_idea.gif
hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 11:19 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 2 2010, 11:13 AM)
Do you think the chips when he made the change for the money was significant? We knew Cobb took a piece. But some how, its like there's a highlight there that doesn't make much sense and how it ties to the whole story.

but as the Forger, damn he has a f'ed up role to play. laugh.gif
You can say that is one scene that is completely unnecessary. Nolan could have tried like when Eames left the table and walk, Cobb could have walk with him and they can talk about the job while walking. But then, most films featured in casino had those scenes in most movies featured in Las Vegas or some part of a casino. But the exchange dialogue are needed to show why Cobb was there. We will never know what went on Nolan's mind when he put that scene there but it is very unnecessary.

hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 11:57 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 2 2010, 11:21 AM)
I kind of think otherwise. Totem maybe? I can't really pinpoint it.

Nolan, u owe us a frigging commentary.
Year end Blu-Ray. I hope they give us a limited edition Totem rclxm9.gif
hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 12:04 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 2 2010, 11:59 AM)
I want loaded die. tongue.gif
Send in your demand... but I bet everyone wants Cobb's spinning top. brows.gif
hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 12:45 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Aug 2 2010, 12:23 PM)
<------- YES tongue.gif
Here's your totem laugh.gif

hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 03:51 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 2 2010, 03:47 PM)
I think without ruining anything for you, try to concentrate hard on the details, the plot, the rules. That way you can understand most of it already. That's the best we can do.
+1

That's what I did when I watch Inception. thumbup.gif
hairyLGS
post Aug 2 2010, 03:58 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Aug 2 2010, 03:58 PM)
Don't go without drinks lah. But tahan the toilet. So empty urself for the next 2 hours and 22 minutes. tongue.gif

And refrain from asking or talking to others. If others are talking, shut them up. tongue.gif
Shut them up with what? brows.gif
hairyLGS
post Aug 4 2010, 02:10 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 4 2010, 01:23 PM)
I partially agree with you. The Matrix redefined the genre. Until now, a lot of action sequence also somehow copied from
Matrix.

The problem with Inception is, there's so many loop holes for interpretation. A lot its not shown. Matrix have tighter story
and much has been explained.

Mindbending and thinking movie is not same as incomplete movie with some part not shown. Matrix is mindbending movie.
Inception is mindbending movie but incomplete. The storyline could be tighter.
sweat.gif sweat.gif
hairyLGS
post Aug 4 2010, 02:16 PM

209 posts

Okay... here's a WTF moment... and its back to - INCEPTION

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/wtf-did-chr...uck-comic-book/

WTF? Did Christopher Nolan Steal Inception from a Scrooge McDuck Comic Book?

Is Christopher Nolan’s “Inception” nothing more than a big rip-off (or at the very least, a secret extraction — get it?) of an old Scrooge McDuck comic book storyline called “Uncle Scrooge in the Dream of a Lifetime”? Hell, it sure looks like it. Read the entire Disney comic book issue for yourself here and I’m pretty sure you’ll draw the same conclusions I did, which is that Christopher Nolan has some ‘splainin’ to do.

I’ll wait for you to come back.

Lalalala…

Okay, back? Let’s continue.

Granted, Nolan added a lot of complexity to the storyline, including the very expensive “architecture” angle, and he greatly expanded on the dream concepts (it is, after all, just a silly comic book for kids), but there’s no denying that “Inception” was more than a little, shall we say, “influenced” by this particular Scrooge McDuck story.

The main plot of the McDuck storyline? Bad guys the Beagle Boys are using a “dream machine” to invade McDuck’s dreams while he’s sleeping in order to trick him into giving them the combination to his money vault. When McDuck’s nephews find out, they are unable to stop the bad guys, since the Beagles are already inside McDuck’s dream, and to just wake him will do major damage, like, oh I don’t know, getting McDuck forever trapped in his dreams or some such. So Donald Duck is forced to go into the dream to save McDuck and pull the bad guys out one by one.

According to TheWrap, the comic storyline was reprinted by Boom! Studios back in 2004, but the storyline itself was originally published earlier than that. Nolan has repeatedly said that he came up with the idea of “Inception” more than a decade ago. Perhaps he read a McDuck comic book back when he was a younger man and forgot.

Again, you can read the entire Scrooge McDuck comic book storyline for yourself here and judge. Who knew Disney comic books were this sophisticated back then? I’m not going to go so far as to say that Nolan “stole” the idea from a Scrooge McDuck comic book, but it sure looks like he got the original idea from somewhere else and either blocked out the original source from his head, or was hoping no one remembered an old Disney comic book. Unfortunately for Nolan, there are very strange people on the Internet, and some of they actually collect old Disney comic books and have the whole issues online to read for free.

This news has busted all over the Interwebs today, and it’ll be interesting to see how Nolan and Warner respond to it tomorrow, if they decide to at all.

Say it ain’t so, Christopher Nolan!

Now the biggest history is revealed! And it's not even copied from The Matrix whistling.gif
hairyLGS
post Aug 5 2010, 11:36 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Aug 5 2010, 11:24 AM)
And more Inception threads keep sprouting all over in /k/ rclxub.gif

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0495sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:23 AM