VGA overclocking for n00bs, general FAQ and discussions

rudolfjie
post May 26 2012, 10:49 AM

350 posts

Hi all the sifu here..

recently get on hand a Sapphire 6870 non-reference 11179-09-40R , realize that the heatsink looks linke the same on Vapor-X & Toxic..
Is there any different except power phrase (4+1 vs 8+2 perhaps)?

What's the best oc can go without tweaking voltage?

This post has been edited by rudolfjie: May 26 2012, 11:31 AM
knight_57
post Jun 12 2012, 03:08 PM

511 posts

hi all sifus, newbie 1st time overclocking here...i oc'd my sapphire 7850 oc from 920/1250 to 1050/1300 and when i run the msi kombuster and furmark stress tests i get 71' on full load...it's stable over the temp but i was wondering if this is safe for the graphic card? and i set the fan profile to spin at 85% speed at 60'...should i be worried? thank you notworthy.gif
90Boyz
post Jun 12 2012, 04:20 PM

UTMB !!
3,730 posts

QUOTE(knight_57 @ Jun 12 2012, 03:08 PM)
hi all sifus, newbie 1st time overclocking here...i oc'd my sapphire 7850 oc from 920/1250 to 1050/1300 and when i run the msi kombuster and furmark stress tests i get 71' on full load...it's stable over the temp but i was wondering if this is safe for the graphic card? and i set the fan profile to spin at 85% speed at 60'...should i be worried? thank you  notworthy.gif
as long your GPU fan is spinning so nothing to be worried about .. wink.gif
protectsj
post Jul 23 2012, 04:06 AM

212 posts

hello guys.. why do i OC my GPU and my CPU mhz multiplier drop to 6 from 10??
any1 can help me up plz sad.gif

and why sometimes i feel decrease in fps even i oc-ed
flexus90
post Jul 24 2012, 04:50 PM

580 posts

Latest version of MSI Afterburner

MSI Afterburner Version 2.2.3 (2012/7/24)

http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm
yewMP5
post Sep 12 2012, 10:48 PM

499 posts

hi im new in overclocking ...should i revert my gc back to default clock speed everytime after i finish gaming and before i turn off my computer?

naset
post Sep 24 2012, 08:16 AM

nice info.thanks smile.gif
sai86
post Oct 4 2012, 03:31 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(yewMP5 @ Sep 12 2012, 10:48 PM)
hi im new in overclocking ...should i revert my gc back to default clock speed everytime after i finish gaming and before i turn off my computer?
No need lor if ur OC is stable smile.gif

when u use software to OC ur gpu, u realize that ur gpu will only oc after boot in to the window right?
iinm, ur gpu clock is back to default after u turn off ur pc as the OC is done by using software wink.gif
for me at least. been using EVGA, MSI Afterburner, Sapphire Trixx. nvr in my life use CCC to OC b4 laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sai86: Oct 4 2012, 03:34 PM
Admin1
post Oct 6 2012, 07:31 PM

Low end cards like 5670 can overclock?
ronaldlim91
post Oct 6 2012, 10:01 PM

531 posts

OC-ed my GTX560 to 950MHz core clock and 2290MHz memory clock, would it be okay?
therevulsion
post Feb 26 2013, 06:51 PM

72 posts

hi guys, need to know, which is more important to oc? is it the core clock or memory clock?
sai86
post Feb 26 2013, 06:59 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

^mess with core clock 1st. has much impact on fps gain than memory clock. tune both when you wan to get the hell out of your card smile.gif
therevulsion
post Feb 26 2013, 07:28 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Feb 26 2013, 07:59 PM)
^mess with core clock 1st. has much impact on fps gain than memory clock. tune both when you wan to get the hell out of your card smile.gif
which software would u recommend? msi afterburner or amd overdrive? i found that both software exactly the same..but many ppl use msi afterburner? do u know why?
sai86
post Feb 26 2013, 08:03 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(therevulsion @ Feb 26 2013, 07:28 PM)
which software would u recommend? msi afterburner or amd overdrive? i found that both software exactly the same..but many ppl use msi afterburner? do u know why?
It can be configure to OC over the limit set on CCC and also you can enable in-game monitoring such as Temp, GC load, Fan speed and etc.

MSI afterburner is recommended due to the features it provided. Other 3rd party tools such as by evga, asus and sapphire trixx.
hustlerism
post Feb 28 2013, 01:34 AM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

Hey guyz, i never try OC my GPU before so this is my first time and i would like to apologize in advance if i'm asking alot of noob questions. So, my GPU is Sapphire 7870 XT with core clock of 950mhz and memory clock 1500mhz and i'm using FSP Hexa 500W. I have downloaded the MSI Afterburner and my questions are:

1) Do i need a proc that can OC like i5-3570k? mine is i5-3470.
2) Do i need a better cpu cooler? Using a stock cooler.
3) How to OC my GPU using MSI afterburner?
4)My GPU can OC till what speed?
5) How to check if my cpu & gpu is stable? temperature?
6)Do i need a better mobo? mine is Asus P8B75 M - LX.

Tha's all i guess. Do quote me replies so that i can check here back easily. Thanx sifus.
wongtheboy92
post Mar 14 2013, 01:38 PM

809 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Feb 28 2013, 01:34 AM)
Hey guyz, i never try OC my GPU before so this is my first time and i would like to apologize in advance if i'm asking alot of noob questions. So, my GPU is Sapphire 7870 XT with core clock of 950mhz and memory clock 1500mhz and i'm using FSP Hexa 500W. I have downloaded the MSI Afterburner and my questions are:

1) Do i need a proc that can OC like i5-3570k? mine is i5-3470.
2) Do i need a better cpu cooler? Using a stock cooler.
3) How to OC my GPU using MSI afterburner?
4)My GPU can OC till what speed?
5) How to check if my cpu & gpu is stable? temperature?
6)Do i need a better mobo? mine is Asus P8B75 M - LX.

Tha's all i guess. Do quote me replies so that i can check here back easily. Thanx sifus.
1) You do not need an unlocked CPU like 3570k. Unless, you want to overclock the cpu and, then, you need.

2) No need. GPU OC is GPU, CPU OC is CPU. They are completely different and separated.

3) In MSI afterburner, with stock voltage, try to increase the core clock by 10/25MHZ and run the test (as stated in no.4 and u might no need to play the game for so long, lets say 1 hour enough), if it passes you can increase another 25MHZ until the test fails and you lower back to the previous clock. After the core clock is stable, lets move to memory clock, increase 50/100MHZ once and do the stress test like previous ones.

4) It depends on the gpu chips. Every card has different oc capability. Remember to monitor the gpu temperature during stress test.

5) Since you are not overclocking a cpu, so no need to check that. Temperature do not exceed 80 degree celcius during load testing (100% usage of gpu). To test for GPU stability, try run the benchmark of "Unigine Heaven 4.0" for three times at least, notice any anomalies or artifacts during the test. And play heavy directx-11 games like crysis 3, battlefield 3 for two hours minimum, to see if anything strange or Blue Screen of Death happens. If there is nothing, and I can say that your overclocked gpu is stable for 24/7 usage.

6) Nope, you just want to overclock the graphics card. So, Sapphire 7870 XT is a real decent card and has good overclocking capability.
hustlerism
post Mar 15 2013, 12:26 AM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

QUOTE(wongtheboy92 @ Mar 14 2013, 01:38 PM)
1) You do not need an unlocked CPU like 3570k. Unless, you want to overclock the cpu and, then, you need.

2) No need. GPU OC is GPU, CPU OC is CPU. They are completely different and separated.

3) In MSI afterburner, with stock voltage, try to increase the core clock by 10/25MHZ and run the test (as stated in no.4 and u might no need to play the game for so long, lets say 1 hour enough), if it passes you can increase another 25MHZ until the test fails and you lower back to the previous clock. After the core clock is stable, lets move to memory clock, increase 50/100MHZ once and do the stress test like previous ones.

4) It depends on the gpu chips. Every card has different oc capability. Remember to monitor the gpu temperature during stress test.

5) Since you are not overclocking a cpu, so no need to check that. Temperature do not exceed 80 degree celcius during load testing (100% usage of gpu). To test for GPU stability, try run the benchmark of "Unigine Heaven 4.0" for three times at least, notice any anomalies or artifacts during the test. And play heavy directx-11 games like crysis 3, battlefield 3 for two hours minimum, to see if anything strange or Blue Screen of Death happens. If there is nothing, and I can say that your overclocked gpu is stable for 24/7 usage.

6) Nope, you just want to overclock the graphics card. So, Sapphire 7870 XT is a real decent card and has good overclocking capability.
All right. Thanx for answering all my questions bro. Really appreciate it.
wongtheboy92
post Mar 15 2013, 01:31 AM

809 posts

QUOTE(hustlerism @ Mar 15 2013, 12:26 AM)
All right. Thanx for answering all my questions bro. Really appreciate it.
I hope it help. smile.gif
silver311
post Apr 5 2013, 12:20 PM

191 posts

I am experiencing screen flickers each time im using MSI Afteerburner for OCing but when I used the AMD Overdrive, no flickers. Why is this happening? Any way to fix it?
khaidir1976
post May 29 2013, 05:56 PM

150 posts

Hey guys....You might interest in this articles HERE and also HERE. Hope it help thumbup.gif.

This post has been edited by khaidir1976: May 29 2013, 05:59 PM

39 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 >Top

0.0302sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:22 AM