ENGINE OIL ALTERNATIVE, engine oil alterative for your engine

ryan_hustler
post Feb 10 2009, 06:28 AM

889 posts

interesting..take photo of the drained oil when replacing ..ive seen this online before,some guy used corn oil in his tractor or something.thought it was a hoax.also some rempits use used cooking oil as substitute for 2T
ryan_hustler
post Feb 11 2009, 06:20 PM

889 posts

QUOTE(kev da man @ Feb 10 2009, 02:34 PM)
actually, i was being sarcastic.
corn oil will never protect your engine as a proper engine oil will. you'll be waiting for either
a) sludge to build up
b) insufficient cooling
c) engine seal cracks, hence the leaks. on an FD2. doh.gif

you can't just use pure corn oil,

check these patents out;
http://www.patentstorm.us/patents/6531430/claims.html
http://www.patentstorm.us/patents/5888947.html

its a mixture of vege parts.
Well of course its not gonna protect your engine well, ppl who do it normally are experimenting, just plainly dont care or have their own reasons.

the reason i wanna see the drained oil pics is to see if its broken down aka coking.I find it interesting, considering the fact that so much is invested in lubrication and additives in even plain jane mineral oil and still there are ppl using cooking oil,even worse used cooking oil. (btw i dont see the diff in vegetable oil, minyak masak,coconut oil,palm oil..arent they all vegetable oil?)

Besides cooking oil seems less viscous which means their lubricating properties are close to nill at higher temperatures.All these are based on my own understanding and assumptions.It seems totally insane and impossible and yet i personally know a guy who has been using cooking oil as 2T on his TZM.
ryan_hustler
post Feb 13 2009, 12:02 AM

889 posts

err no bro,since in two stroke engines, theres no lubrication.the 2T is like engine oil to lubricate the moving parts to reduce metal on metal contact.

btw,check your dipstick..does the cooking oil show any signs of coking?is the colour still clean?any residue?
QUOTE(peeche @ Feb 12 2009, 10:47 AM)
lol.
didn't chage the oil yet.
anyway willing to change it soon.
as the oil mileage reach 2000km.
now just 1300km.
as i knew. the 2T is pump together with fuel into the combustion to reduce the operating temperature since
it is 2 cycle operation.

Added on February 12, 2009, 10:52 am

what photo are you requesting for bro.?

the cooking oil pict.?
sure got. hehe.

engine pict.?
sure got but not the internal. (how to snap the internal pict)

leaking pict.?
also got.

oil drain pict.?
not yet change my oil.
but will change soon.

now always traveling using kancil then FD2.
due to experimenting issue.
so far.
no probs yet.
ryan_hustler
post Mar 25 2009, 01:20 AM

889 posts

QUOTE(ibmlenovo @ Mar 18 2009, 09:27 AM)
yes,extra 80-90km mileage.but i control pressing pedal around 80-90kmh only.i already check with my tech,the palm oil color become light color and a bit "cair" if compare with engine oil thickness..not sure about this coz i just try it for a couple of days or so....
Ur getting better mileage because your engine rpm is low...For example i drive from melaka to subang at
140-180km/h will cost me around rm45-50
80-100km/h will cost around rm20-25.. this is not because of my engine oil,its purely about what speed im doing at what rpm..

0.0208sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:14 AM