Engineering Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (LAME), Guide & everything about this career!

tarecore
post Feb 14 2009, 02:24 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 11 2009, 07:49 PM)

If the programs is to make to be like this, students that Poly produce will be technician only not LAE. As LEO at HPL 06 told us that only 4 people graduate from MIAT be LAE in MAS currently, but i do not know really or not.

So for us who study in Poly is ???? to go to LAE, is a huge far extreme way to go...
actually, they graduated from MNRI - mara northrop rice institute
most of ex-mnri, ex-miat currently working in mas, as junior technician

but, they r a few who succeed
2 ex-miat in transmile manage to get lwtr "E" from dca
tarecore
post Feb 15 2009, 08:09 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Feb 15 2009, 09:47 AM)
OMG, after reading the last posting, and a few others I am completely lost. Is this a 'new' language or one embeded with codes that I am not aware of? Are our trainees using this language? Oh my.. are we in trouble... doh.gif
lol, maybe in this forum only
don't think they gonna anwser like that in exam

u work as an instrutos in AA? avionics?
tarecore
post Feb 16 2009, 04:07 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(azameel @ Feb 16 2009, 12:53 PM)

if ojt can gain extra money by working overtime, but now they freeze ot for trainee
lol
training school want you and your friends too study more
that's why no more OT for apprentices

about GMR, most of them have basic license (from what i heard)
IMO, most of them don't even know how to do basic task
example, wirelocking, only a few would manage to do it properly
the rest can be considered as study by the book only
but then, that's why GMR send them to MAS, for OJT
tarecore
post Feb 16 2009, 10:37 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(azameel @ Feb 16 2009, 04:57 PM)
its not training school that freeze the ot
its the management
whats wrong with doing ot? more exposure to aircraft
and i do notice most of the major work always do ot time one
management? erm, maybe to cut cost
different people have different views

major work during ot, not all the time laaa
sometimes, the equipment only available during evening
not all people want to hold back their tasks for ot
usually people keep the small tasks for ot
tarecore
post Feb 18 2009, 02:45 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(wusuhong @ Feb 18 2009, 12:08 PM)
thanks jazzy for your information. it really motivates me alot.
thanks bro biggrin.gif

Added on February 18, 2009, 12:13 pmdoes lae have ranks?
like senior lae and newbie lae?
does lae get bonus in the end of the year?
or car and housing loan subsidy?
any free air tickets?
and finally any free stocks?
lae, lead engineer, lead engineer operation

bonus depend on company performance
car and housing subsidy, no

free air tickets and rebates, all staffs get it, not just lae
it depends on number of years in service

annual leave, lae usually have more than normal staffs

free stocks, ESOS, yes
tarecore
post Feb 19 2009, 10:20 PM

79 posts

about this
"mait students become lae in AA in a shorter period than compare to student who are studying tafe cause mait is approved by malaysian DCA and tafe is not...
"
-should be MIAT not mait
-it doesn't matter whether u from miat/tafe, if u good enough and can pass DCA exam quicker, u are one step closer to become LAE
-as long u meet all the requirements

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 19 2009, 09:26 PM)
That what the world now is.

There is no way to enter AA TAME cause they only take TAFE collage ppl as contract.

I think there is also no way to enter MAS TAME cause the now take from METC, as MAS TAME close long ago.

So want to go AA go TAFE collage lah. Want come MAS go MECT, as METC only for FELDA and staff.

Hahaha...
about MAS TAME
-METC is different from MAS Engineering Training School
-METC is more like a side businees MAS currently doing with Felda
-METC students is NOT STAFF OF MAS, their ID color is purple, same as other contract worker while TAME is staff of MAS
-METC students do not have the same privilage as MAS TAME, they don't get any FOC ticket
-IMO, MAS still taking people for TAME, but i dunno for sure, just wait and read papers
tarecore
post Feb 21 2009, 08:50 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Feb 21 2009, 02:12 PM)
dis is wat bothering me!  sad.gif
i jz wonderin y mas/aa wanna do their own tame while they cn hire those graduates frm MIAT/APR and at the same time save up huge amount of cost??
if MAS/AA hav their own source of LAE, then still y bother to do it through colleges such as MIAT, NUC, APR etc when the employment rate is so low?
since its like dis, the only way to bcome a LAE is thru TAME frm MAS/AA so as to avoid risking our future of nt gettin employed, isnt it?
its either doin thru MAS/AA or chg ur mind to other careers... rclxub.gif
why - for ur info, people from MIAT/APR/etc do not hold any DCA license when they graduated
those people only hold diploma/degree but not LWTR, the most important

save cost - MAS would save a lot if those people have LWTR

outsource - because MAS own TAME program still cannot fulfill their requirement
employment rate also low because MAS want people with LWTR not diploma/degree

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 21 2009, 02:17 PM)
MIAT, NUC, APR does not coporate with MAS to build up LAE. They build thier own to supply ma power only. But man power also hard to get job now.

That is also a point. I also wonder why MAS and AA want make contract and take people from there only. Other insititude can shut down edi right?
i never heard anything about MAS signing contract with MIAT to hire their students
can you show me any links

-----------------------------

from my experience
all miat student who enter MAS/AA, they were hired as JUNIOR TECHNICIAN aka aircraft mechanic

i have never found any miat students who graduated and then enter mas as LAE
while in MAS, those guys study on their own and then sit for DCA exam
when they got their LWTR, they'll submit it to the company
after that, the company will put them under MDP, mechanic development program
in MDP, they will go for various courses
and that's basically how people not from MAS TAME become LAE

IMO, u guys are getting wrong info about MIAT
graduating from MIAT don't guarantee you LWTR
but MIAT will help you to go sit for DCA exam
-special tuition on LWTR (don't know still got or not)
-helping u guys preparing work schedule
-negotiate with DCA

-----------------------
correct me if i'm wrong
tarecore
post Feb 22 2009, 12:02 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(azameel @ Feb 21 2009, 09:03 PM)
ac, mas and aa is not the only place who takes lame
there is still few other company such as airod,mhs,sas and few others
agree with u
there a few ex-students of miat currently working in eurocopter
the pay is quite good, better than MAS
but, u need to do all the job avionic/mechanical (as a mechanic)
jack of all trade
but they have different engineer for avionic and mechanical

other aviation company that i know
-spirit aerosystem, subang
-ctrm, malacca
-eagle, malacca
-aero composite, malacca
-HM flying school, langkawi
-MFA, malacca
-??? flying school, kelantan
-airfoil, kota damansara
-transmile, subang
-berjaya, subang
-subang general aviation
-SAE (i don't know their latest status)
-GE, subang
-honeywell, subang
-AAR, subang
-1 company in kedah, making components for boeing
-SME, sg buloh

there's a lot of job opportunities for u
but if u guys targetting LAE only, MAS and AA

tarecore
post Feb 22 2009, 07:24 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Feb 22 2009, 07:02 PM)
wat u mean? im jz assumin frm wat tarecore said, since he said LAE are only available in MAS n AA, isnt it vry low employment rate in MALAYSIA?  rclxub.gif
frm wat i heard, LWTR exam nid 4 years exp to sit for, so after graduated frm MIAT we still nid to work at MAS/AA to gain exp n work schedules for bout 2years..
bt after gained the LWTR, MAS oni take LAE wif type rating...isnt the employment rate so low in MALAYSIA?!  rclxub.gif

im dilemma...zzz  rclxub.gif
employment rate of LAE is not low
but, the amount of people who manage to get LWTR are very low
i don't know the statistics

correct me please

if you have LWTR, MAS/AA would love to employ you even though you have no type rating

other company also require LAE
but not as many as MAS/AA
transmile, flying school, berjaya, eurocopter, MHS, etc
any company that involved in aircraft maintenance

for me, taking LWTR exam need a lot of preparation, commitment, passion and time
it's not like spm
that's why i'm lazy to go for it
tongue.gif

LWTR is the passport for you in aviation
i also heard that people who hold LWTR from DCA Malaysia is highly sought in aviation (correction needed)
tarecore
post Feb 22 2009, 07:47 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(azameel @ Feb 22 2009, 07:29 PM)
so do u hold an easa license??
nope, lol
i'm just a junior tech

EASA is easier
but the cost quite high
around rm350 per exam

DCA is cheaper
but it's very hard to pass

how about u azameel, going for DCA/EASA?

tarecore
post Feb 22 2009, 08:06 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(azameel @ Feb 22 2009, 07:53 PM)
im a tame in mas
so just follow the training school
started off with easa but now doing bcar
going to dca mid or end of this year,
if thing goes to plan, which is always not

i think u should become an lae, u have a lot of knowledge on all this licensing,
imho with experience as a jt, it should be much easier to take the lwtr
TAME, which batch?
good luck with DCA

as a junior tech, i learned a lot
but, i cannot commit myself for LWTR
lol
not now, maybe later tongue.gif
(i've been saying that for years)

---------------
yesterday, 21-02-2009
there was an aptitude test for tech services engineer in MAS
anyone went for the exam?
tarecore
post Feb 23 2009, 11:46 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(JohnMax @ Feb 23 2009, 08:01 PM)
So, MAS will take thier Junior Tech to join TAME right?

Cause I heard the LAE is come from this path.
plz read back my post #197
MAS would not take the junior tech to join TAME
why would MAS want to waste resources on that
MAS would train those people who manage to get LWTR on their own to become LAE

is it my posts to long, so u just follow tl;dr rule? lol

QUOTE(tarecore @ Feb 21 2009, 08:50 PM)

from my experience
all miat student who enter MAS/AA, they were hired as JUNIOR TECHNICIAN aka aircraft mechanic

i have never found any miat students who graduated and then enter mas as LAE
while in MAS, those guys study on their own and then sit for DCA exam
when they got their LWTR, they'll submit it to the company
after that, the company will put them under MDP, mechanic development program
in MDP, they will go for various courses
and that's basically how people not from MAS TAME become LAE

0.0583sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 06:43 PM