Engineering Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (LAME), Guide & everything about this career!

rasmuswil
post Feb 13 2009, 02:48 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(hakunamatata @ Feb 12 2009, 01:31 AM)
jus visited miat-easa-blogspot.com and found out unikl are now EASA part 66 and 147 approved.. but the course like 80k(4 sem) way more expensive compare to NILAI..

In 2010.. Miat will move to subang and offer master programme  shocking.gif
well,thats not true
neither part 66 o 147

sad.gif
no matter which field/company/institute u r in
thats mayb som problem hidden bhind
its no reveal to all, coz ppl tends to look positive way
(yea,its gud to think positive,but not 2 get fool)
MIAT is 1st MTO in Malaysia
d condition to get approved is by follow AN85 guideline
for those senior tat graduated n not knowing much about MIAT recently
shouldn't b put through opinion tats set d date back 2 time

by following d AN85,its 3 old diploma course tats get approved
its not "MIAT" get certification to train all kind of courses
since year 2007,they hv intro a whole new diploma n degree tat they call "EASA" program
while on year 2008,DCA approved 3 old diploma program which compliance to AN85

tats d point make ppl confuse,those new program doesnt get approved by DCA
n its follow EASA module,not BCAR
so doh.gif bfr recommend MIAT to newbie,i should clarify wat was going on
rasmuswil
post Feb 15 2009, 03:14 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(hakunamatata @ Feb 13 2009, 07:58 PM)
so u mean the degree progame is approved by DCA and the new diploma is approved by EASA part 66?
Btw are u studying in MIAT now?
nor new degree/diploma get approved by DCA
neither EASA approved

Added on February 15, 2009, 3:39 am
QUOTE(Lestat @ Feb 14 2009, 07:55 PM)
rasmuswil,
they're no school with part 66 approval coz there're no such thing. rolleyes.gif
do u know the reasons behind partnership between NIC and AST? or between MIAT and Aero Buildung?

i have yet to see anyone here promoting the course they're attending. a few complaints tho laugh.gif
PLEASE.. let us know more!
doh.gif
*bang my head hard*
since wen i said got training center is under "part 66"
its "part 147" for MTO while "part 66" for licensing program
i din "clarify" it doesnt mean dun noe,jus lazy 2 add on
sry coz jus "complain" but din correct it

yea yea,NIC & AST??MIAT & AERO-Bildungs
NIC & AST is alrdy under agreement,we all noe those course
but do we jus promote n pro but not d con??
lets said those "management" can "clarify" : u can attand EASA exam soon after graduated n get so call "Frozen Licence"??
rclxub.gif omg!!let those "full of experience" ppl keep promote without notify wats d risk bhind
i believe tats nothing is prefect,without complain wont hv improve,lets who wana enroll decide his/her true n fault
while MIAT & AERO-Bildungs??? blink.gif its not even for current diploma/degree student
doh.gif wats d point we finish in MIAT n reenter d EASA 66 program again??

This post has been edited by rasmuswil: Feb 15 2009, 03:40 AM
rasmuswil
post Feb 16 2009, 02:37 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Feb 15 2009, 08:19 PM)
You'd be surprised!  doh.gif

It's already a habit. Bad habit. Don't tell me you can switch this on and off? tongue.gif

Okay, this is an advice to all LAE wannabees...

Start speaking and writing proper ENGLISH.
sorry to make you rclxub.gif
many of us relly can switch it on n off
we speak and write english most of the time
so we can differentiate real life and "internet short form"
compare with those english is not part of their life, those "short form" = "grammar"
thats why mr.jazzy often saw people wrongly use it

we learn proper english, but proper english also should learn internet short form
thats life and generation changing
topic should stop here,i think
because mr.jazzy wouldn't like it much
rasmuswil
post Mar 20 2009, 09:30 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(aniqshamsul @ Mar 17 2009, 09:06 PM)
money is what i am lacking.so leave that option.other than that,is there any other ways for me to obtain the license?like contacting straight to DCA or something?

and and this is what i just got from MIAT

Easa
EASA PART 66 - Training Aircraft Maintenance Engineer License

UniKL have offered its first EASA PART 66 - Aircraft Maintenance Engineer License (AMEL) training programme commencing from 17 November 2008.

Universiti Kuala Lumpur Malaysian Institute of Aviation Technology (UniKL MIAT), in partnership with AERO-Bildungs GmbH of Germany, is approved by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) as a second site Aviation Maintenance Training Organization (MTO). UniKL MIAT will offer EASA Part 66 Aircraft Maintenance Engineer License training program. The first intake is scheduled to commence on 17 November 2008. Successful participants will receive the ‘Certificates of Recognition’ and will be considered as having passed the written examination for EASA License (Category B). This program will be conducted by instructors that have received training in Germany and certified as an instructor for the EASA program. The instructors are Licence Aircraft Maintenance Engineers with years of experience on operating aircraft. They also have more than 10 years of experience in aviation training. For more information please contact UniKL MIAT. Futher information regarding EASA programme please click here.

UniKL MIAT had been recognize and approved by

1. Aviation Training Organization from Department of Civil Aviation Malaysia

2. EASA Part – 147 Maintenance Training Organization (MTO) with Aero-Bildung GmbH of Germany
all of you,could you all give me any opinion about this?thans a lot.
its a truly part 66 licensing program
its not a diploma/degree course
so when u finish this,u can attend LWTR test
wink.gif
for SPM/STPM leaver,i dun think u can try it

• Entry requirements for this program:

* Diploma / Bachelor holder in technical or engineering background.

* SPM with 3 years experience in aviation industry.

* Technical Professional certificate with 1 years experience in aviation industry.

* Industry (without SPM) must have 5 years experience in aviation industry.

rasmuswil
post Mar 22 2009, 01:45 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(aniqshamsul @ Mar 21 2009, 01:15 PM)
oh yeah.i get it.thanks rasmuswil.but do you know if MIAT assist their degree student to sit for the LWTR exam?i heard LWTR is an option for the students in MIAT.is this true?
yes,they hv preparation class
but, its depends on condition to eligible u 2 sit for d exam

This post has been edited by rasmuswil: Mar 22 2009, 01:46 AM
rasmuswil
post Mar 22 2009, 01:46 AM

147 posts

izzit true tat several tafe student train at AA
but its not 100%
=)
rasmuswil
post Mar 29 2009, 02:57 AM

147 posts

=)
still hvnt decide which brand of tools should b using yet
any1 heard of TOPTUL from taiwan???
stated that life warranty
rasmuswil
post Mar 30 2009, 12:43 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(azameel @ Mar 15 2009, 05:11 PM)
for stanley, proto and few other brand u can get a good price at the 'factory' at kota damansara,
behind the kota damansara uptown near the ssf home deco
look for a warehouse with stanley, proto etc logo
for facom somewhere in sunway, later i'll ask my friend
but from what i heard stanley is not approved by QA mas
not very sure on this,
but for aviation its approve coz i've seen stanley brand in the amt(aircraft maintenance tools) magazine
=)
i hv try 2 search the warehouse
around the area that u hv mention about
but no luck
possible to give more accurate place?
coz that lotsa factory n shoplot in industry area

rasmuswil
post Mar 30 2009, 10:38 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(azameel @ Mar 30 2009, 10:12 PM)
lets say u are from the sungai buloh-shah-alam road aka the construction road
let say u are from s.alam or kpg melayu subang, u turn to the right at the traffic light,
then u will see one shell on ur right and few meter ahead there is a junction to the right,
the first junction, once u turn in go straight and just look on ur right, u will see,
or if the first junction is wrong, it must be the second one
seem like pointing to Jln tsb 2 o tsb 3
nex tim i back from subang airport sure will go search again
still remember where d sign of brand located?
like at d main door o near d building roof?

thx so much

rasmuswil
post Mar 31 2009, 11:02 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Lestat @ Mar 31 2009, 03:04 PM)
the warehouse has big sign "TMP" for Tool & Machinery Parts Supply. not mistaken, also got proto, stanley logo, etc on the wall. u need to give your name at the guard house to enter. i hope u already have some figures in mind how much these tools cost before u go there so u don't get heart attack there.
thx for the information
is that any minimum $$ to purchase their tools??
im jus avionic,so planning to hv my 1st set of tool below rm300-400

rasmuswil
post Apr 1 2009, 01:27 AM

147 posts

QUOTE(azameel @ Mar 31 2009, 11:09 PM)
no minimum limit
the cheapest tool is stanley
did they sell proto n facom??

thx
rasmuswil
post Apr 1 2009, 10:58 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Lestat @ Apr 1 2009, 08:33 PM)
late last year, former malaysia's distributor stop selling facom after facom-stanley merger. i bet current stanley-proto distributor (TMP) also sell facom now but i've yet been there since last year. so anyone can check it out?

facom has various specialized set for avionic. u can refer to their online catalog. but it's quite expensive as a set. if u are near Klang, try visit Eagle at Jalan Pasar (former distributor). i saw some avionic set last time selling at very discounted price.

what square drive to use depend on what type of job u do. it's about what sizes u use and how much strength u need. 1/4",  3/8" and 1/2" drive are what people normally use. the best thing to do is, peek at your seniors tool box. or take note what tools u use everyday.

can't remember the prices but one, stanley ratchet screwdriver less than RM50, Snap-On around RM250. but u have to hold one in your hand and try yourselves before judging the price.
relly relly thx for the information
yes,i saw facom hv intensive set for avionic
thats why i ask about it
under tight budget,maybe i just bought few basic tools
anyway...gratitude for the tips

QUOTE(scotjr @ Apr 1 2009, 09:17 PM)
hahahaha...i hate the stanleys and protos...the craftsman and snap on are much better....feel much firmer in your hand....

but again,its up to individual feel....

happy hunting for tools...the rachet screwdriver was the first tool i bought...love it so much....cant separate with him...huhuhuhuh...
sad.gif
i hv try search information about craftsman and snap-on in malaysia
so far hvnt found a place to purchase
any recommendation?
rasmuswil
post Apr 2 2009, 12:58 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Lestat @ Apr 2 2009, 02:04 AM)
i used to have this set of stanley 1/4 drive ratchet & sockets, inches & metric, tiny sizes up to 1/2" & 14mm and came in a case, my first tool set when i was a trainee. only RM70. very nice n useful especially if u work with both inches & metric hardware. very good for avionic (smallest size is 3mm if not mistaken). the only downside is they're all 6pt sockets.

yet to see any shop selling snap-on, so far i only bought them through their salesmen. they visit a lot around subang even here in kerteh. sometime they carry some stock (small, common tools) otherwise, u have to place order. better still, order thru phone before they come. there always someone in your company that have their salesman phone number. or just buy them 2nd hand. it's worth it.

and there's also Sata-Gearwrench ring ratchet if u can't afford facom's. has anyone seen the sexy stahlwille spanners? now, this is art laugh.gif
great to hear some senior's xperience here
i know stanley is good enough and cheaper
but i didn't know hows general company rank it compare to others brand
will try to get proto 1st,or else,stanley is fine for me
nod.gif
and thx again for the recommendation for avionic

snap-on/facom,etc those expensive type....
will consider after finish my training
now still long time to go
by the way....
i hv know snap-on,facom,proto,stanley,sata,kennedy,toptul,mr mark
i was curious how sata and toptul perform??especially TOPTUL
hvnt hear any senior here talk about it since last time i ask

thx again for the reply
rasmuswil
post Apr 2 2009, 03:13 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(hirari @ Apr 2 2009, 02:59 PM)
I’m so jealous of you guys. I’m still clueless on how to get my first set of tools. A beginner's tools set if i might say as I’m just staring out.
im a beginner as well
still under training

but dun need to be clueless
i spend 2 weeks research on it
u can do it as well
rasmuswil
post Apr 4 2009, 05:50 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(streetglow @ Apr 4 2009, 04:31 PM)
hmm...i wanted to study this course.....but think not my luck....
coz after apply ptptn for this course still have to pay extra money for the uk paper if not mistaken...
my family cant afford me.... : cry.gif
but this course can guarantee u a good career ahead...
ptptn is enough for ur degree course
n which UK paper u mean??
if u planning to take UK license
u can save $$ when working

rasmuswil
post Apr 6 2009, 12:05 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Apr 5 2009, 11:17 PM)
omg sorry but i just lol'd athe acronym, LAME laugh.gif laugh.gif

man..... it'd be shitty no when next time ppl ask wat u do for a living?

"I'm a LAME"

sry guise, no offense
prefer pronounced as Lay-Mee
as majority of CASA ppl calling

I'm a Lay-Mee
look more like some mystery job

doh.gif
but im not doing fried mee stall

Added on April 6, 2009, 12:06 pm
QUOTE(azameel @ Apr 6 2009, 03:10 AM)
my position now is even worse
from TAME to LAME  laugh.gif
but explaining LAME to outsider can be quite hard sometimes
whenever i say work in MAS people will think of pilot  doh.gif
tongue.gif
same here
when i explain my course is bout aircraft
ppl oni think of pilot
none of ppl think how airline organization work
rclxub.gif
even 1 of close female frz said :huh?izzit true that aircraft always spoils?

This post has been edited by rasmuswil: Apr 6 2009, 12:06 PM
rasmuswil
post Apr 12 2009, 07:46 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(fillet @ Apr 12 2009, 04:00 AM)
Is that true?

for me, i don't think that's necessary unless the landing is really bad (and the pilot requested for an inspection).
thats why this field have both line and base maintenance
line is important during aircraft turnaround
example like gallery equipment/seat/passenger compartment light broken,etc
the most important part is make sure flight instrument use by pilot is in good condition before each flight
rasmuswil
post Nov 25 2010, 11:41 PM

147 posts

actually,it's not wise to take EASA module during your diploma.
from the date you pass your first module,you only have 5 yrs,
but rules state you also need 5 yrs experience.
3 yrs later after diploma(0.5OJT) + 2 yrs working = module expired.
unless you are so so so confident to start work immediately in MAS soon after OJT,then 2 yrs experience needed for EASA only.
rasmuswil
post Nov 26 2010, 11:15 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(falcon16 @ Nov 26 2010, 01:54 AM)
but if i graduate from MIAT which is part-147 training school... then i only have to work for 2 years right?
what?which part-147?
certify by which authority?

if you are talking about EASA module exam
is EASA ever certify MIAT?
i repeat,is EASA module you planning to take?
if yes,then check EASA does ever certify any part-147 in M'sia

if not the EASA you discuss about
then MIAT is under DCAR AN85,you are clear to take exam as long as you complete work schedule
but when next year transition to new regulation
god know when MIAT will get certify for Part-147 by DCAM
but i guess shouldn't be problem
rasmuswil
post Dec 5 2010, 12:17 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(falcon16 @ Nov 27 2010, 07:30 PM)
erm... might wanna update urself here bro smile.gif

http://www.miat.unikl.edu.my/v2/index.php?...id=51&Itemid=32
as a personnel working in the field
i have taking enough shit with ppl from miat & nilai
not to said those ppl are not good enough
but they are brainwash/misleading by management

doh.gif
check this quote from website u show me
"Approved EASA Part- 147 Maintenance Training Organization (MTO) with Aero-Building GmbH of Germany.
(Approved EASA Part 66 examination center)"

is your avionics program provided by [Aero-Building GmbH of Germany]??

the "link" you show me is EASA course which cost you >80k
shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by rasmuswil: Dec 6 2010, 11:45 PM

0.0184sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:58 AM