Engineering Licensed Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (LAME), Guide & everything about this career!
meddie
Mar 24 2012, 06:32 PM
QUOTE(CalintzZ @ Mar 24 2012, 06:06 PM) Anyone here from miat?? Im kinda lost here T.T u're goin to miat or u're already there? im considering to go to miat to and get a degree there , but don't really know what to do after gettin the degree. to start as a LAME , u'll need to start from scratch again , which is quite a waste of time
meddie
Mar 25 2012, 12:14 AM
guys , need a little help here ~ im an stpm leaver , n considering to go for LAME, by enrolling into MIAT and get a degree there. but it seems like im goin to waste a lot of time here T.T" so , while i still waiting for the MIAT's application results , perhaps someone could guide me a bit on a better pathway to LAME? thanks in advance
meddie
Mar 25 2012, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Mar 25 2012, 12:42 AM) oh im applying for miat just to be safe .  until the next step is decided then im goin to stick with this. and this is also an issue with my parent  if i already have the next step planned maybe i could convince my parents that im on the right path This post has been edited by meddie: Mar 25 2012, 01:15 AM
meddie
Mar 25 2012, 01:32 PM
thanks guys. miat is a no-no after all. like i said earlier , me myself doesn't really wanna go to miat but it's an issue with my parents  to them that degree paper is a must for everyone , and without it u're not goin to get anywhere in life. nevertheless , i'll try gettin into apr or dts . hope i'll manage to get in  oh and one more thing , is stpm considered the same as spm/o level for any ato? i mean im apr's website just now , and all stated there is just spm/o level , and diploma/degree. so would they take my stpm results or spm's? This post has been edited by meddie: Mar 25 2012, 01:35 PM
meddie
Mar 25 2012, 04:04 PM
[quote=maryjane9996,Mar 25 2012, 03:04 PM] ask Jazzy to meet your parents.. haha if it is feasible then i might as well give it a go lol btw , the fees is quite high , are there any loan provided by the apr itself ? scholarship and ptptn seems unlikely though
meddie
Mar 26 2012, 12:11 AM
err im sorry for being such a noob  but MIAT is also an ATO .but in order to get DCAM part 66 , it would be offered along with a degree or diploma right? but if i go to apr or dilog , then i'll just get dcam part 66 ? is this assumptions correct? help me please This post has been edited by meddie: Mar 26 2012, 12:17 AM
meddie
Mar 26 2012, 12:45 AM
what da heiillll i've read somewhere that miat is an ATO! aiyarkkk there's one downside *for me* for goin to APR. the funding! camel90 , u're in miat right now? what course do u take? if u took aircraft engineering either mechanical or avionic , could u tell me the job's prospects on both degree?
meddie
Mar 26 2012, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Mar 26 2012, 12:56 AM) meddie, funding wise, you're paying a monthly installment of RM1800 for 4 years. You're not paying RM90,000 one lump sum!  ahaha i don't really think i could afford this , unless there's a loan or scholarship of something. im googling alot now to find those , but cant seem to find it yet  i'll manage somehow , as i really wanna be an LAE btw jazzy u know , someone on flylah said miat is an ATO , and it also has that serial code (ATO/0001/08) i dunno whether this is a bluff or something , u might wanna check it out by googling
meddie
Mar 26 2012, 08:01 PM
QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Mar 26 2012, 04:21 PM) to those guy looking for place to study,u guys can try mara..theres 5 of new student in my school under mara scholar..they doing avionics..if mechanical,mara said do in malaysia.. degree or what?
meddie
Mar 26 2012, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(bandit94822 @ Mar 26 2012, 08:54 PM) hard to say....speaking to a stranger just make me blank  but i will try one day....1st need to ask APR on details of the course like OJT, DCA exam and etc.....  btw why go aus but not local like DTS or APR...coz mostly sponsor prefer local  dude if u get any info on the details, please inform me ok? we're comrade on this
meddie
Mar 26 2012, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(bandit94822 @ Mar 26 2012, 09:07 PM) which? the APR tame part or mara scholarship? btw u spm leaver? the APR part. oh im stpm leaver btw
meddie
Mar 26 2012, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(bandit94822 @ Mar 26 2012, 10:56 PM) by old diploma i think he means the old BCAR section L . I THINK
meddie
Mar 27 2012, 12:10 AM
jazzy do u know where to get loan ? im really stuck here  if i can't manage to get a loan or financial assists then maybe i'll have to get into miat  at least i can apply for mara loan or scholarship there
meddie
Mar 29 2012, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(ferxze @ Mar 29 2012, 03:59 PM) i ad read some pages here..i jus wan to noe y most of the ppl wanted to go miat..i dont see ppl wanted to go nilai. good person hav to b so sarcastic?cant jus answer is a proper way? do u know that u're such a grammar nazi? get your grammar and spelling right dude. noe for know and the most sarcastic sentence of yours "cant jus answer is a proper way?" is such a turn off man. no offence though~
meddie
Mar 29 2012, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(thesun @ Mar 29 2012, 08:05 PM) as far as i know.. mara only give out loans to bumi.. malay/sabah/sarawak/orang asli etc.. on the birth cert of your parents, one of them must be bumi then only u eligible.. maybe jazzy meant non-bumi can enter miat.. (got quota for non-bumi and foreigners) thesun u're from miat? what course are u taking now?
meddie
Mar 29 2012, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(thesun @ Mar 29 2012, 08:32 PM) i'm taking "old diploma 7 semester" dip. in aircraft maint. technology - composite.. now doing ojt in mas klia. ohhhh so your OJT would be like 4 years isn't? lama gila  do u get paid when doing OJT? im going to miat i think , degree.
meddie
Mar 29 2012, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(thesun @ Mar 29 2012, 08:41 PM) lol.. where got ojt for 4 years?? 6 months only lah.. no paid.. if got payment, sure boost students motivation.. haha.. ehhh ohh sorry2 the one i mean is that the live aircraft experience u need after u got your certificate of completion i think. for ato it would be like 2 years , and for non ato 4 years isn't? hahaha yeap if got paid then even OJT one year pon still ok hehe
meddie
Mar 29 2012, 10:34 PM
QUOTE(raito0827 @ Mar 29 2012, 10:18 PM) Hi everyone, im 18 years old which is a SPM leaver, these days I was so lost just to find the right courses to study. But then I saw the Aircraft Maintenance Engineering course offered by Nilai, and Im not sure whether to take it or not, because Im a female. Guys, is female suitable in this field? And what about the job opportunity for a Nilai graduate in Malaysia? Please kindly reply me, XD. yeah girl , as long as u have interest , none matters  and do note that u're goin to get your hands dirty in this field
meddie
Mar 31 2012, 01:58 AM
bandit we might need to resort to EPF or bank loan or the worst case scenario , mortgage our house lol
meddie
Mar 31 2012, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Mar 31 2012, 02:08 AM) The bitter truth is, if you can't finance yourself into a Part 147 ATO, get your self into these Diploma twinned with a license programme (EASA or DCA Part 66) course, in view of getting the PTPTN loans etc.. you'll get there eventually (hopefully). jazzy u do part time lecturing at miat right? do u know if the degree is twinned with a license programme?