PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V3, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Discussion

amduser
post May 5 2009, 10:06 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Posgrado @ May 5 2009, 05:24 PM)
heh well i did the old traditional way of putting the ps3 in the sun, just the morning sun, hopefully no damage to it sweat.gif

result : crapload of ants came out and actually tried to make a new hive/nest/whatever in the cracks of the wall nearby.. they been exterminated with extreme prejudice...

so far only 1 or 2 ants came out after that. Probably still have to open the ps3 to see if there's something else in it. Either that or just plug in and play and hope for the best sad.gif
hopefully you PS3 still there after you put in under hot sun, never exposed your PS3 outdoor, or else brows.gif

QUOTE(ajis @ May 5 2009, 09:21 PM)
same case like my previous PS3 set, but got invaded by li'l cockroach..luckily it didn't stay for long, and ran away
WTF?! cockroach also got ar? i only how it go in, the vent hole is already very small leh...
amduser
post May 5 2009, 11:20 PM

5,542 posts

i'm wondering why dont PS3 come with their own media player that allow PS3 to play all kind of video format so that we dont need to convert all the damn video again doh.gif
amduser
post May 6 2009, 09:07 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ May 6 2009, 01:27 AM)
actually it's not media player... they should put more codecs...
but IMO,they just lack of mkv codec.. other's were just fine since avi(divx/xvid),mp4,mpg is supported already.
maybe if we install Ubuntu then we can have all the codecs? hmm.gif

why dont they just put in all sorts of codecs, it doesn't take up much space right? sweat.gif

it seems like i have to setup a media server, but i have no idea how, and also i need a wireless router since PS3 cant support ad-hoc.

QUOTE(maskedchan @ May 6 2009, 08:54 AM)
lucky there is no case where PS3 infected by spider..
if that's the case, his/her PS3 need to put inside a desktop casing already
amduser
post May 6 2009, 11:21 AM

5,542 posts

what is YLOD??? hmm.gif
amduser
post May 6 2009, 05:52 PM

5,542 posts

can someone tell me what is YLOD??
amduser
post May 6 2009, 08:02 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Posgrado @ May 6 2009, 06:05 PM)
Update on ant infested ps3!

After the 2nd sun exposure therapy, the ants finally decided that it is not their home anymore and tried to leave enmass with their eggs. This has been dealt with and it seems nothing is coming out of the ps3 so far. Will be under observation.

Gonna do the ps3 super fan speed to try and clear some dead ants tonight just in case some died in it. Then will do a run up see if there's no hickups or problems. Although i might still send it to a shop to totally clean it up sad.gif
better dont do the fan test, it will damage your ps3
amduser
post May 6 2009, 09:19 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Posgrado @ May 6 2009, 08:04 PM)
just gonna turn it on see if it works. don't think the fan test is nessecary now tongue.gif
what i heard is that it overloading the PS3 to produce large amount of heat to cause the fan to blow at the fastest speed, it sound like vaccum cleaner, i saw some video in youtube.
amduser
post May 7 2009, 04:05 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(jebon 007 @ May 7 2009, 03:00 PM)
hi bro...if my pendrive have virus,and i cucuk kt ps3,the virus will enter my ps3 or not??
window virus are belong to window only, unless someone make virus that can infected the PS3 OS

QUOTE(Tomiya Takato @ May 7 2009, 03:05 PM)
there's only few games that i wanna play which's only MGS4, Initial D, Killzone 2 that's it.  tongue.gif
PS3 got initial D? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by amduser: May 7 2009, 04:05 PM
amduser
post May 7 2009, 07:28 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ May 7 2009, 05:53 PM)
btw please research the region of gt5p before buying
i dont know which region is the most purchased by ppl in this forum
gt5p multiplayer is region-locked (if it hasnt changed since 2008) sleep.gif
i think R1 have the most player, just now i only notice there's a GT thread at here sweat.gif
amduser
post May 8 2009, 12:14 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ May 8 2009, 02:53 AM)
Hmm, should i buy the games before i buy the console? xD
since i will only but the console after my exams but sometimes i look around and c quite good prices but worry that if i buy it but can't test it then dunno whether it's in working condition or not doh.gif
you sure you can tahan or not if you buy then games without console

most or all of the original games are working, unlike pirated games, if the game you brought got the sony sticker there and you cant play the game just send back to sony service center tongue.gif
amduser
post May 9 2009, 09:46 AM

5,542 posts

black colour too many people have it lar laugh.gif
amduser
post May 9 2009, 01:36 PM

5,542 posts

FF7 limited edition very nice, i like the logo at the PS3 there
amduser
post May 9 2009, 11:49 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ May 9 2009, 10:02 PM)
just the logo paying so much more extra xD
unless the whole console is something of different colour or desgin then maybe worth ler...but that extra small logo doesn't really pay off imo
160GB limited edition wor, but i better go outside buy a 160GB HDD and and sticker and stick it icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(Xziled @ May 9 2009, 11:08 PM)
can't wait for my exams to be over..wanna get it already!!! cry.gif
someone cant tahan already......
amduser
post May 11 2009, 12:18 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(Xziled @ May 10 2009, 02:24 AM)
lol cannot tahan also still must tahan ler...sigh
i think my list of games i wanna buy damn long liao lol tongue.gif
but since got 1 more month, i still got chance to survey around for lcd tv ma tongue.gif
FULL HD 1080p is a MUST!!!

QUOTE(febreze2xxx @ May 10 2009, 02:11 PM)
Anyone know where to buy jack sparrow yellow dog linux disc for ps3.

Hard to download with my internet speed haiz..
jack sparrow linux? sweat.gif

QUOTE(Xziled @ May 11 2009, 04:02 AM)
oh ok thx searched for it on the net but hmm, gotta c it in front of me only can can clearly i guess and also in terms of the graphics smile.gif
thx ya smile.gif

but now i'm torned between buying a ps3 and xbox xD
after my friend brainwashed me wink.gif coz xbox also has most of the games which ps3 also have, maybe a few selected ones only..how ar?  rclxub.gif
soon there will be more PS3 exclusive games, so you know which one better lar....

hmm.....can i say the cell in PS3 is equivalent to a server? laugh.gif dont think so..
amduser
post May 11 2009, 08:15 PM

5,542 posts

the wireless router that my cousin bring got problem cry.gif everytime i press test connection then the router reboot itself doh.gif

now i connect my PS3 to the wireless router then the wireless router connect to my laptop and laptop connect through the modem, such a long route sweat.gif

just now i register PSN id, but i cant seems to find games demo and BD movie, which part to find it? hmm.gif

how come i cant use my own avatar in my PSN id ar? the avatar in PSN SUCK!!
amduser
post May 11 2009, 09:08 PM

5,542 posts

so when i register i have to choose US or EU lar?
amduser
post May 11 2009, 09:34 PM

5,542 posts

why MY dont have cry.gif

how to register the second one ar? i need a different email?

and how to register my PS3? dont seems to have the option leh...
amduser
post May 12 2009, 08:41 PM

5,542 posts

i want to ask, i just downloaded the GRID demo game from PSN store and installed it, when i play the graphic quality are so bad, it is not 720p or 1080p, is it demo are a little bit poor in graphic quality or the game itself is like that? hmm.gif
amduser
post May 12 2009, 09:35 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(KimirR88 @ May 12 2009, 09:24 PM)
is 200 MHZ tv work well for ps3 games and blu ray movie?
why not?

QUOTE(seriousshit @ May 12 2009, 09:32 PM)
Did ps3 works well on 100hz tv..??

and hw was the graphic..??

Btw hdmi to dvi how it works..??
you dont need hdmi to dvi unless you are playing it on LCD monitor, but usually it works the same as hdmi-hdmi right?

PS3 works well with all range of LCD TV, best with full HD LCD TV with 1080p native resolutions, i heard 200hz not very good for gaming.......
amduser
post May 13 2009, 01:45 AM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(msn83235502 @ May 13 2009, 01:23 AM)
yes. copy to ur ps3 hdd
dunno bout that. i played on my monitor looks ok.
carrefour. RM16
even i played on my 32" full HD LCD TV, the quality is bad to worst, can see the pixels everywhere shakehead.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0444sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:29 AM