TSsamurai20
post Jan 31 2009, 10:50 AM, updated 16y ago

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

Bayonetta

Bayonetta Brings Devil May Cry Aesthetic To a New Level

From Croft to Cammy, I’ll take a female protagonist over some cheesy line-spewing pretty boy any day of the week.

So Bayonetta, the upcoming third-person actioner from Platinum Games (compiled of key members from Okami’s Clover Studio), is high on my list of games to play.

While I’m inclined to focus on the the eponymous, gun-footed heroine, the game’s real draw is its pedigree; aside from the Clover connection, the game’s director, Hideki Kamiya, had a hand in creating the Devil May Cry franchise.

One look at Bayonetta’s dripping-with-goth environments, super-stylized combat, and crazy-ass creatures, and Kamiya’s influence will hit you like an oversized demon sword. In fact, it wouldn’t be out of line to sum up Bayonetta as “Devil May Cry with a woman”, as it absolutely oozes with similarities in all the best ways.

Most prominent of these, are the game's effective use of fast-paced, over-the-top action and oversized boss baddies.

When checking out the game at a recent Sega event in New York, my demo opened with a playable prologue set 500 years before the game’s story (Bayonetta is an older-than-dirt witch), that saw Bayonetta battling atop a rapidly falling clock tower.

As the Big Ben-looking structure raced toward its brick-breaking fate, Bayonetta stylishly dispensed some of the game’s antagonist angles—that actually look like clean cut demons—with the dual pistols in her hands and attached to her high heels.

Another battle saw a screen-filling foe erupt from the ground, fists first, right before picking up the stone cobbled bridge Bayonetta was standing on and rattling it like a stick. Both scenarios hinted at a focus on highly produced and polished set-piece battles.

When our angel-slayer isn’t strutting through epic encounters, she’s fighting determined hordes of low level beasties, with style to spare.

In addition to her four-gun arsenal, she packs the expected high-kicking acrobatics of a game with Devil May Cry pedigree as well as some special attacks. Most impressive are her torture moves—acquired by collecting orbs during regular battle—that allow her to summon up old-school killing machines such as iron maidens and guillotines.

While the title is brimming with eye candy at every turn, it was these creative kills that made a lasting impression; watching her kick an enemy into one of these devices, then witnessing the resulting head-lopping, torso-impaling deaths, had me craving some play time in this strictly hands-off demo.

These wicked encounters should have prepared me for what was next, but I’m guessing nothing could prep even the most seasoned gamer for Bayonetta’s naughty bits-revealing hair attacks.

The bespectacled heroine is totally covered in hair, but unlike your Speed-O sportin’ uncle; her hair is more like form-fitting black leather, wrapping skin tight around her taunt. In fact, the only time it really looks like actual hair is when it unravels for a totally bizarre—and awesome—finishing attack. When a boss is weak, she unspools the menacing mane into an enormous hair dragon—I’m not kidding—while players mash buttons to ensure the hirsute beast finishes the fight. All the while, the mostly-naked Bayonetta watches on.

Admittedly, this alone sold me on the game. And despite having only a hands-off demo to check out, I see a lot of promise in this title.

Its adrenaline-amping action, engaging art style, and solid pedigree guarantee it a spot on my must-play radar. That said, I’ll need some hands-on time to get a true reading on its potential, as it’s breakneck pace could spell trouble if the camera and controls can’t keep up. Still, based on my brief time with Bayonetta, I’m already counting the days till our next date.

Soskicap:
Bayonetta

Must buy game.... thk SEGA... rclxms.gif...

Note:
not exclusive for jiran sebelah too... dry.gif

This post has been edited by samurai20: Oct 30 2009, 09:35 AM
PrinceOfPersia
post Jan 31 2009, 10:53 AM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

in b4 close tongue.gif laugh.gif
viledante
post Jan 31 2009, 10:57 AM

414 posts

the second pict looks like she didn't wear any cloth drool.gif
budakhops
post Jan 31 2009, 11:04 AM

1,519 posts

expected retail price??? drool.gif

This post has been edited by budakhops: Jan 31 2009, 11:05 AM
nakata101
post Jan 31 2009, 11:06 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

Funstation got this game ?? tongue.gif
four_add
post Jan 31 2009, 11:22 AM

Senior Lurker
842 posts

character buleh bogil2 pulak dah.. hmm.gif doh.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jan 31 2009, 11:30 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

bogel is good biggrin.gif
Mgsrulz
post Jan 31 2009, 11:33 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 31 2009, 11:30 AM)
bogel is good biggrin.gif
so long as it's not a MALE character XD
PhoenixByte
post Jan 31 2009, 11:35 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

ahaha...yeah2 biggrin.gif

but i tot u like naked raiden biggrin.gif
Mgsrulz
post Jan 31 2009, 11:37 AM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 31 2009, 11:35 AM)
ahaha...yeah2 biggrin.gif

but i tot u like naked raiden biggrin.gif
hell no!
cant do anything wan tongue.gif
disket
post Jan 31 2009, 12:36 PM

I'm Back!!
2,464 posts

It's all hair!!
shinjite
post Jan 31 2009, 12:45 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Looks cool...
kenshee
post Jan 31 2009, 12:49 PM

74 posts

drool.gif
Scavengers
post Jan 31 2009, 12:54 PM

380 posts

cheap half naked char to boost the sales
a let down from my end tongue.gif
neoardi
post Jan 31 2009, 01:50 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

In b4 closed... tongue.gif

Saw the trailer many moons back... i think the main char can HAN-SHIN!!! from ugly betty to sexy betty, IINM lah... laugh.gif
prominen
post Jan 31 2009, 02:07 PM

290 posts

thats why yus so eager to get this game drool.gif

not to mention, me also like it rclxms.gif
heatblast
post Jan 31 2009, 02:09 PM

Amore senza fine
4,734 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 31 2009, 10:57 AM)
the second pict looks like she didn't wear any cloth drool.gif
eh? ..... hmm.gif
ashchia
post Jan 31 2009, 02:29 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(heatblast @ Jan 31 2009, 02:09 PM)
eh? ..... hmm.gif
hmm.gif i know why you tarak rasa brows.gif
spax
post Jan 31 2009, 03:10 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(ashchia @ Jan 31 2009, 02:29 PM)
hmm.gif i know why you tarak rasa brows.gif
ED nod.gif

cant wait for the demo if theres one
TSsamurai20
post Jan 31 2009, 03:23 PM

~~HMMMM~~
1,441 posts

QUOTE(nakata101 @ Jan 31 2009, 11:06 AM)
Funstation got this game ??  tongue.gif
Got but they delay.. la.. donno why.. tongue.gif

QUOTE(prominen @ Jan 31 2009, 02:07 PM)
thats why yus so eager to get this game  drool.gif
not to mention, me also like it  rclxms.gif
Yeah.. i like this kind of game... and the most important thing.. must have kawaii girl and nice oppai... brows.gif

62 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0257sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:34 PM