iphone is coming to indonesia

TSmuqaddam
post Jan 30 2009, 08:58 AM, updated 17y ago

266 posts

our neighbor, indonesia is getting their very own iphone soon. aiyo.
why malaysia cant?
SUSedmunz
post Jan 30 2009, 09:02 AM

dupe buster..since 2010
900 posts

i wan oso

This post has been edited by edmunz: Jan 30 2009, 09:02 AM
chypher
post Jan 30 2009, 09:07 AM

859 posts

wait, If iPhone is going to Indonesia, I am sure maxis is having a talk with apple for iPhone because as far as I know, Maxis own one of the carrier in Indonesia
gengstapo
post Jan 30 2009, 09:10 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(chypher @ Jan 30 2009, 09:07 AM)
wait, If iPhone is going to Indonesia, I am sure maxis is having a talk with apple for iPhone because as far as I know, Maxis own one of the carrier in Indonesia
izzit? thats kewL
hopefully there will iphone in m'sia
atleast, the price from the black market gonna downhill soon rclxms.gif
ff8ong
post Jan 30 2009, 09:40 AM

2,550 posts

Hope they will bring in,and make Malaysia a official iPhone country.
atomica
post Jan 30 2009, 10:14 AM

340 posts

Interesting. maxis is in india too -- Maxis currently owns 74% equity interest in Aircel, India and 44% equity interest in NTS, Indonesia.

LEVIATHAN
post Jan 30 2009, 10:16 AM

Master Chief Carl M. Brashear
2,281 posts

Is there any credible sauce?
chypher
post Jan 30 2009, 10:16 AM

859 posts

QUOTE(atomica @ Jan 30 2009, 10:14 AM)
Interesting. maxis is in india too -- Maxis currently owns 74% equity interest in Aircel, India and 44% equity interest in NTS, Indonesia.
exactly, we can really speculate that iPhone will come to malaysia through Maxis, but maybe celcom and digi are fighting with maxis for iPhone deal which make things complicated.

But with iPhone in indonesia, Black Market price going to down down down rclxms.gif
redghost
post Jan 30 2009, 11:18 AM

48 posts

iphone owner in m'sia will no more 'exclusive'...hohohohoho
atomica
post Jan 30 2009, 11:21 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(chypher @ Jan 30 2009, 10:16 AM)
exactly, we can really speculate that iPhone will come to malaysia through Maxis, but maybe celcom and digi are fighting with maxis for iPhone deal which make things complicated.

But with iPhone in indonesia, Black Market price going to down down down  rclxms.gif
that also depends on if it will be unlocked. will it be?

Eddx
post Jan 30 2009, 11:53 AM

G Stadia
2,107 posts

if locked to maxis it wont b a problem i guess...since a lot of m'sian carry more than 1 phone icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Eddx: Jan 30 2009, 11:53 AM
joenjill
post Jan 30 2009, 12:56 PM

1,015 posts

any news that show Indo's iphone is official unlocked?
gengstapo
post Jan 30 2009, 03:16 PM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

QUOTE(redghost @ Jan 30 2009, 11:18 AM)
yess, mostly for the i3g tongue.gif

QUOTE(atomica @ Jan 30 2009, 11:21 AM)
that also depends on if it will be unlocked. will it be?
aint a prob for me if its locked to maxis
i only use 1 no. btw tongue.gif lolzz

This post has been edited by gengstapo: Jan 30 2009, 03:17 PM
stringfellow
post Jan 30 2009, 03:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

We never thought it was. What is your point? rolleyes.gif
Mr. Alby
post Jan 30 2009, 03:21 PM

128 posts

Since when it is "exclusive" ?
redghost
post Jan 30 2009, 03:43 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jan 30 2009, 03:19 PM)
We never thought it was. What is your point? rolleyes.gif
u know like proton juara owner and naza sutera... every 5000 car by pass u , u may find only one.if u lucky la. so much exclusive ma... like iphone amongs nokia.... hehehehe. if iphone in m'sia...maybe one day we will see indon keje kontract using ihandy level for timbang air.kekekekeke
stringfellow
post Jan 30 2009, 03:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Huh? I think only you think of it that way. The iPhone is never thought to be as an exclusive product. The sale of the iPhone 3G on its first day reflects that, it got to a million unit sale in less than a week. If it is exclusive, then it would be like the shitty Vertu or those diamond encrusted Nokia 8800.

Are you a cheerleader for everything exclusive then? Then stick to those two models I've just mentioned and go proclaim "my phone more exclusive than yours" some place else. The more iPhones gets into more people's hands, the better. That way, proliferation of the Apple's business model of distributing and trend of using apps, will become a norm.

If an Indon keje contract gets to use this iPhone to a good use in his daily life, I say more power to him, we should encourage it. It is not about whether the Indon keje contract have the purchasing power to get one, it is more of a case of the "Indon keje contract" is willing to learn and make full use of his iPhone that is the case here. More and more people get the iPhone because it is a fashion statement, not for its multi-faceted capabilities. Now, THAT is a reason to laugh at. Perhaps you subscribe to this mental state of mind too? rolleyes.gif
claxxion
post Jan 30 2009, 03:52 PM

465 posts

QUOTE(redghost @ Jan 30 2009, 03:43 PM)
u know like proton juara owner and naza sutera... every 5000 car by pass u , u may find only one.if u lucky la. so much exclusive ma... like iphone amongs nokia.... hehehehe. if iphone in m'sia...maybe one day we will see indon keje kontract using ihandy level for timbang air.kekekekeke
When i drive my family's juara out to town, i will pass a number of them. When out to malls, for instance queing at the the cinema, i often see people holding their iphones and play games on it. Its not that hard to spot one. What's so exclusive leh? sweat.gif
stringfellow
post Jan 30 2009, 04:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Why the sudden impression that the iPhone NEEDS that exclusivity image, that is what intrigues me. I dont give a damn if a chatty auntie is using her iPhone while she goes shopping at a wet parket, or a mamak worker uses his while serving customer at a Nasi Kandar joint, as long as they use it as it is intended, and NOT as a fashion statement. I certainly dont.

If anything, my iPhone is rather EXCLUSIVE in the fact that I PERSONALLY have loaded it up with MY OWN movies, songs and fun and/or productive apps. Your iPhone may look like my iPhone, but the content of my iPhone will never be the same as your iPhone. NOW THAT's EXCLUSIVITY! Same thing applies to everyone else's iPhone.

So big deal about that "Indon keje contract" crap. In fact, I'd applaud and cheer him if he uses it to timbang air, or to get level gradation on his building, that IS a productive and useful use of the iPhone. What, just because a person is perceived as "Indon", hence poor/ low caste society, does not give him the right to use an iPhone? rolleyes.gif
frozzbyte
post Jan 30 2009, 04:40 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Hey that "indon" fella might bought his the legit way or someone from his country post it to him and atleast he'll be having a proper warranty. Not like us still have to scour neighboring countries or the cut throat LYP to get one.

iPhone is just a phone, nothing exclusive about it. It's only exclusive if you know how to make it exclusive, bling here and there, pimp out casing, one of a kind back cover or the apple logo lights up. Thats exclusive. If it's one of a kind phone with a limited production unit, then thats exclusive.

0.0180sec    0.82    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:05 AM