[quote=michaeltan1943,Mar 27 2009, 11:32 PM]
[quote=sunnyK,Mar 27 2009, 10:54 PM]
aiyah , its a undisputed fact ,samsung is the world top seller in hdtv the last 2 years and will continue to dominate this section in years to come.
and they dont get there by accident or mistakes
just go visit any US or UK avs forum , you'll see they talk more about sammy new models than any other brand and they seem to have more confident on samsung more than ever.
for the records , sammy top range models dont come cheap. i personally likes sammy more than the rest and even their plasma have fantastic color accuracy and reproduction . except for black levels, most other features , it beat the pana hands down. i have the feeling sammy have the technology to produce deeper black , maybe out of protection for their LCDs , they refuse to do it.
Isn't the most important thing is a flat panel is the black levels? That is why Pioneer was and still is the best. And now, most US and UK forums agree, Pana has the closest black levels as Pioneer.
Thus, you admit, Sammy has not as good as Pana black levels. So how good can it really be?
[/quote]
nope , to me deepest black doesnt mean the best.infact most buyer dont care much about that either. as long as the black level are ok to the eyes and does not affect overall viewing . other as important are contrast , color reproduction and ofcoz color accuracy. if you compare the kuro with sammy or panny side by side ,ofcoz the kuro stands out ,but on their own , both the panny and sammy are good enough as the gap of black level of their latest model have close on with kuro.price wise ,the kuro are way too high to justify owning it and thats why pioneer has to tapau sooner than expected and i do feel sorry for them
there's no doubt pioneer produces the best hdtv and i would love to own one if i could afford but i felt their deep black have been overhyped by the media critics, what else do you want the critic to write .many ignore the pioneer antiglare panel is so good and so is its color accuracy .however , it must be remember that plasma does not have better whites than the LCD and thus plasma is only better watching hollywood movies with dark or action scene, put the LCD in a bright living hall and watch planet earth or discovery channels or hong kong Tv drama on bright daylight scene , the LCD really really are impressive. the LCD 10bit and above panel really produce fantastic colors which beat the plasma hands down.the reason why the sammy LCD are so desirable is becoz it produce plasma black level
do take note black levels of the sammy latest plasma have improve tremendously
panny will be the no 1 here in malaysia and south east asia becoz of its reputation and its market network and also it offer the best overall package.
if you look for basic or entry level model with not much fancy on design and other features , the panny offer the best value and thats why it is selling so well
but i find panny model a little dull
i am excited about panny latest plasma and hope the design improves and thay add in a few more features
This post has been edited by sunnyK: Mar 28 2009, 07:48 AM