CLOSED

Lone*Wolf
post Sep 1 2009, 10:15 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(kevinc66 @ Sep 1 2009, 09:24 PM)
How to avoid channel logos and black bars...hehehe. Don't watch that channels with logo???
'Zoom', bro thumbup.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 1 2009, 10:30 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Sep 1 2009, 10:17 PM)
but then, the picture will be like distorted sad.gif
not always la, if you watch astro/videos, most of the programs got black bars anyway, so zoom in will be ngam ngam lo.

anyway, the main point is not whether the picture is ideal or not but how you can reduce burn-ins in your plasma's early hours.

Lone*Wolf
post Sep 1 2009, 11:44 PM

1,442 posts

It is not Astro that does 16:9, its the content supplier, eg. Nat Geo, Discovery Channel, etc.
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 4 2009, 02:01 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(KLX213 @ Sep 4 2009, 01:05 PM)
Hi guys, im have some problem using a 42 inch LG plasma tv.
sometimes when im using the plasma it will appear some "blistering" in the screen (red, blue, green dot, im not sure what it called).
in order to stay fresh i have to restart the plasma for every half hour (depends on luck).
how to solved this ? how much does the repairing fees cost ?
Under warranty or not, if yes then send back LG, no need farn.
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 5 2009, 06:48 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(slk5538 @ Sep 5 2009, 08:01 AM)
You'll need to acess the service menu. You will need a code to access the service menu, the code varies between brands and sometimes even models.

Again, this is not 100%. The technicians can actually reset the hour used indicator in the service menu to 0, eventhough I don't think these technicians would do that at the request of the retailer.
Really?! Wow, this is scary ... First cars now, TVs ... shakehead.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 9 2009, 07:34 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(sixxshot @ Sep 9 2009, 07:30 PM)
hello

I need to get a new TV. It has to be either 37" or 40". Plasma or LCD dunno yet. Primarily for Astro and downloaded movies. Maybe BD in the future. No gaming at this time. Mintak tolong.... FullHD  LCD or Plasma? I was considering LC37A66M Sharp....looks nice.

Any advice appreciated. Cheers.
Astro? No gaming? I suggest Plasma.
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 10 2009, 06:56 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(sixxshot @ Sep 10 2009, 06:03 PM)
Hi..tks for the reply. So Plasma...but only 42" got right?....hmmmmmm
50" oso got, 65" oso oso got.
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 10 2009, 07:25 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(KLX213 @ Sep 10 2009, 10:49 AM)
hi guys.
anyone can give some recommend shop in KL / PJ ?
looking for 42" LCD.
preferbaly wit location.
If you are in PJ, have a look at this :-

http://www.jintexelectronics.com/

Pretty much trusted here.
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 10 2009, 10:37 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Sep 10 2009, 09:30 PM)
Fuuyoh got Kevin's autograph on the main page  rolleyes.gif

if you dig deeper, u can even admire his hensome mug ... whistling.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 12 2009, 03:19 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(silbii @ Sep 12 2009, 12:58 PM)
read somewhere tat lcd lifespan is only about 4 years max...coz not all the components they use in it is good. like plasma, even though the lamp may last longer, other components in it might just die prematurely...

sad but true.

i guess we'd all better go back to the bulky old crt...that one very reliable...tongue.gif
True, but like car engine la, the panel is the main component and the heart of a TV, so have to last the longest. Other smaller (and relatively cheaper) parts - repair and replace lor.
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 14 2009, 06:14 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Sep 14 2009, 02:43 PM)
I'm quite interested about the Panasonic Plasma also, since about 3k can get 42".

But I went for one of the Electrical Chain shop, the Salesman told me, most of the time Plasma is the one having defect or problem, based on their returned record. And he said: "If Plasma is so good, then most of the shop will display Plasma already, where can see LCD still around. Plasma can survive is due to Astro only."

Wonder how true is this statement.....? rclxub.gif
LCDs are traditionally more popular due to their cheaper pricing and large selections for smaller screen sizes (>42"). Nothing to do with TV quality.

BTW, what electrical chain is that?
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 16 2009, 07:01 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(chokudori @ Sep 15 2009, 01:50 PM)
hi guys, I'm very n00b in this computer thingy.
Will be buying a new rig to play games, and I'd like to ask you all some opinion.
Would it be advisable to get a 32" LCD TV with full HD or just get one without full HD.
The price difference is huge from a full HD to a non full HD. Also nowadays the GCs have full HD ?
Gelombang Cekal?
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 18 2009, 11:36 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 18 2009, 11:34 AM)
Graphics Card
ohh... doh.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 19 2009, 03:54 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Sep 19 2009, 01:01 AM)
Hi guys, I'm planning to get Panasonic Full HD Plasma TV. 42inch
Totally noob in plasma TV...
I'm still using my 25-year old National Quintrix TV, which is still in good condition...lol

My budget is around RM 3k. Any other good brands to recommend?
Walou, Quintrix... They dun make TVs like they used to, huh? biggrin.gif

Yeah, the Pana 42S10 is a good bet for yr budget.
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 23 2009, 03:51 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 22 2009, 05:40 PM)
new white LED technology will be used for LCD TVs soon.. to improve color gamut.. (RGB make white > yellow +blue make white)

inside a sony LCD TV.. which uses CCFL..

So meaning we will first see this 'next gen' LED from Sony?
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 24 2009, 12:12 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(znoop26 @ Sep 24 2009, 11:57 AM)
guys i need advice what TV I can get for 42" which is better plasma or LCD TV or LED TV? Im going to send it overseas currently i like the appearance of samsung LED and LCD but if plasma is better then I will go to it...please help me decide...
Overseas where? Coz most 'overseas' models are cheaper and better spec-ed. And minus the logistics cost.
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 25 2009, 02:40 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Sep 25 2009, 12:10 PM)
Risk of burn-in from gaming happens when you only play static games for hours.

example of the static game?  hmm.gif
I think to be more precise, its not static game but static images, eg. HUDs or health bars when the game is running. Actually, this effect is similiar to network logos on TV channels.

Lone*Wolf
post Sep 25 2009, 04:54 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 25 2009, 03:47 PM)
I cannot use the Zoom features cause if I do that then I will sit down again to watch TV and never go to sleep  laugh.gif
My mind is oledi set...White Noise means time to sleep  nod.gif

The only image retention i experience is the top and bottom bars.
Har??
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 26 2009, 04:08 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(TomatomanzSeedlezz @ Sep 26 2009, 03:07 PM)
Ok, what i gather here.. the cons and pros :-

Plasma pros : no lag/ghosting issues, wide viewing angles, slightly natural colors, most have tempered screen glass for durability.
          cons : burn-in, image-retention, slightly more power-consumption.

LCD pros : slightly less power-consumption, no burn-in, no image-retention.
      cons : lag/ghosting issue but hardly noticable(?), too much contrast lead to picture quality doesn't look natural(?), viewing angles not as good plasma(?), no extra protection for the screen.

(Referring to most common lcd/plasma which its not 100Hz and above, or not Kuro and etc.).

Anything i missed there?.. do correct me, if i list wrong there..  blush.gif
What i meant was, normally i watch movies its on "cinema ratio" mah.

I watch abt the same amount of Astro and movies, thats why im worry abt the those burn-in and image-retention, esp. some PS3 gaming.

Cheers smile.gif
One more Plasma Cons - More reflective panel.

Anyway, dun worry so much about burn-ins or IR la. Technically, they still exist but in real life, just practise common sense lo. Like what most say, alternating the ratios helps. I normally will zoom in too sometimes when watching BDs, coz i also just like my pic larger tongue.gif For normal usage, the current gen of plasmas are more diificult to achieve burn-ins than you think smile.gif

If still really ma fan, get a LCD, good also what nod.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 26 2009, 04:29 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 26 2009, 04:18 PM)
high end LCD also got gloss panel mah...
panel? ... I mean the screen, soli ... sweat.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0628sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:32 AM