6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

English Clubs Manchester United Street Talks, 22/02 Man Utd v Blackburn | 01:25 CH813

TSalien2003
post Jan 30 2009, 06:56 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(sinoffire @ Jan 30 2009, 06:36 PM)
stupid astro. tmw match stil nothing on their website yet. wat do i pay those phuacgers on a monthly basis for?!?!
Either:

1. There WILL BE live but they didn't bother to update their website [but the ESPNStar website also not updated? blink.gif ]

or

2. NO live match?

I even checked the schedule using the remote on the decoder but same case as well sweat.gif

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jan 30 2009, 07:01 PM
TSalien2003
post Jan 30 2009, 07:32 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(plokoon @ Jan 30 2009, 07:30 PM)
03-Feb 03:54 Manchester United vs. Everton

Isn't the match on Tuesday morning? Maybe it has been rescheduled due live coverage reasons.
Original date = UK 02/02 = M'sia 03/02 morning

however

the FA Cup replay between Everton & Liverpool means the match has been brought forward to UK 31/01 instead.
TSalien2003
post Jan 30 2009, 07:38 PM

12,754 posts

(L)MAN UNITED VS. EVERTON

Channel:  STAR SPORTS (813)
Date:  Sunday, February 01, 2009
Time:  1:25:00 AM
Synopsis:
Manchester United vs. Everton - BPL 08-09

http://www.astro.com.my/inc/app/2/jadual/c...prog_id=6500545
TSalien2003
post Jan 30 2009, 07:44 PM

12,754 posts

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626143

United’s in-form striker Dimitar Berbatov feels completely at home at Old Trafford, and says his current team-mates are the best he’s ever played with.

Berbatov has every reason to be in upbeat mood. He's struck goals against Middlesbrough, Chelsea, Bolton Wanderers, Tottenham Hotspur and West Bromwich Albion (three of them match-winners) in the last month to take his tally to 11 for the season, and he’s also the Premier League’s most creative player, with nine assists.

The reason for it is that Berbatov instantly settled in Manchester, while his unique style of play has been allowed to flourish freely under Sir Alex Ferguson, as Dimitar explained to ManUtd.com.

“I feel completely settled here,” he says. “To be honest, I felt that way from the minute I walked into the dressing room. The boys have been great. It’s like I’ve been here for years. I was made to feel part of the team straight away, and I think things clicked quite early on.

“That was a big relief for me. Sometimes if it doesn’t feel like home, you can’t adapt on or off the pitch. But it was so easy for me to settle here.”

But Berbatov, who describes himself as a perfectionist, isn’t completely satisfied just yet. “I want to train hard and continue to show what I can do in games,” he continues. “Everyone here has talent, but you need to develop the talent God gives you, work hard and, with a bit of luck, you’ll succeed.”

However, life is made a little easier when you have the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney and Carlos Tevez, and whole lot more throughout the side.

“Personally, this is the best squad I’ve been involved with. I am very proud that the manager has said this as well. My country is proud, too. For me to be here, coming from a small country, it’s a big success. You can’t get higher than the standard at United. We have some of the best players and clearly the best coach. It’s a pleasure just to be here and follow in the footsteps of so many great players.”

At 27, Berbatov may be one of the more experienced members of a youthful attack at Old Trafford, but he says there is plenty for him to learn in his peak years.

“I always try to improve and work on my weaknesses,” he adds. “I listen to the boss and the experienced guys in the team who have won many league titles. You only have respect guys like that, they have achieved everything. That’s one of the great things about being here. You work, you develop, improve and, hopefully, win cups and titles. I have my own style and I always play my game. With that, if I can help the team, great.”

Steven Pienaar says the thought of going to Old Trafford on Saturday is a daunting task for the Toffees.

United have taken 28 points from a possible 30 in ten games on home soil this season. "Nobody goes to Old Trafford and says that they fancy their chances," he tells Saturday's matchday programme.

But Everton do have reason to be cautiously optimistic at least; they boast one of the Premier League's best away records. This term they've taken a point more than United on their travels - from one game fewer, too - while only Chelsea, Liverpool and Aston Villa have picked up more points away from home.

"United are top because they're in great form," added Pienaar. "But we've been on a good run ourselves and our away form is particularly strong. We'll go to Old Trafford full of confidence and we'll give everything to try and win the game."

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626127

Man Utd v Everton preview

http://www.skysports.com/football/match_pr...3104152,00.html

This post has been edited by alien2003: Jan 30 2009, 08:00 PM
TSalien2003
post Jan 30 2009, 11:24 PM

12,754 posts

http://www.evertonfc.com/news/archive/cahi...ness-worry.html

Everton duo Tim Cahill and Marouane Fellaini are doubts for Saturday’s clash with Manchester United.

Both players picked up injuries during the game with Arsenal on Wednesday night and will face late tests to asses their fitness.

Cahill was substituted at Goodison during the midweek game but results of a scan on the Australian’s foot have come back clear – although it is badly bruised. 

Fellaini, on the other hand, completed the full 90 minutes against the Gunners, but he has not trained since after picking up a shin injury.

Moyes explained that both players will be assessed as late as possible – although neither will be unduly risked.

“He’s (Cahill) a doubt for tomorrow - I won’t take any risks with him,” Moyes told the media at his weekly press conference. “He’s been for an x-ray and his foot is badly bruised so we’ll have to wait until tomorrow to see if he’s okay.”

“But Fellaini is a doubt as well. He’s had a stud through his shin so we are going to have to assess him tomorrow.”

Elsewhere in the squad there is no new injury news, with the likes of Yakubu (Achilles) and James Vaughan (knee) still a long way from returning.

Everton: Howard, Nash, Hibbert, Neville, Lescott, Jagielka, Yobo, Baines, Castillo, Fellaini, Cahill, Arteta, Osman, Pienaar, Anichebe, vd Meyde, Rodwell, Gosling, Jutkiewicz

TSalien2003
post Jan 31 2009, 11:10 PM

12,754 posts

Four-midable United can score 80 - Fergie

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson believes his strikers can all break the 20-goal barrier and carry the Red Devils to glory.

While United's stubborn defence has taken all the credit recently for 11 consecutive clean sheets, Ferguson insists his prolific attack is just as important.

After demolishing West Brom 5-0 in midweek, United's frontline of Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney, Dimitar Berbatov and Carlos Tevez have a combined 46 goals.

Ronaldo, who scored twice at the Hawthorns on Tuesday, leads the pack with 13, with Rooney sitting on 12 and Berbatov and Tevez improving their tally to 11 and 10 respectively.

But Ferguson says it is quite possible that they can rack up 80 between them.

"I certainly think they are capable of doing it," he said. "Quite rightly the defenders have been taking the credit this season up until now.

"I just hope now that it's going to be the forwards that take the credit.

"The case of Ronaldo is a good one - last year was a miracle season. To score 42 goals as a winger, it is hard to imagine he could replicate that.

"Yet people are saying he has not had a great season but he's still got 13 goals for us and had 11 assists.

"If we could dismiss last season altogether you would say that was incredible for a winger to score 13 goals by the half-way mark."

The United boss insists Ronaldo will easily top the 20-goal mark and he says Berbatov is finding his feet nicely after scoring in four of United's last five matches.

Ferguson told the The Sun: "The most important aspect is the other players are understanding him now.

"They are feeding him with passes, playing to him much more and bringing him much more into the play now.

"It took the players time to recognise his talents - he's a different type of player from what we are used to but now they are doing that and you are seeing the benefits."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_4876536,00.html
TSalien2003
post Feb 1 2009, 12:51 AM

12,754 posts

Man Utd vs Everton

Man Utd: Van der Sar, Neville, Ferdinand, Vidic, O'Shea, Ronaldo, Carrick, Fletcher, Park, Berbatov, Tevez

Subs: Kuszczak, Brown, Giggs, Welbeck, Fabio Da Silva, Gibson, Eckersley

Everton: Howard, Hibbert, Jagielka, Lescott, Baines, Osman, Arteta, Neville, Pienaar, Fellaini, Cahill

Subs: Nash, Yobo, Castillo, Jacobsen, Rodwell, Anichebe, Gosling

Referee: Mark Halsey (Lancashire)
TSalien2003
post Feb 1 2009, 07:38 AM

12,754 posts

Boss: We must take our chances

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626292

Ronaldo happy with his form

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626285

Carrick pleased with the points

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626286

Wes Brown continued his injury comeback when he replaced Gary Neville just before the hour. The United skipper had picked up a strain but, in truth, had endured a torrid first half in which he gave away several free-kicks.

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...ort=1&team=Home

And in recording a 12th successive top-flight clean sheet, goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar eclipsed the previous league record of 1,104 minutes without conceding a goal, set by Reading's Steve Death in 1979.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/e...rem/7856453.stm

This post has been edited by alien2003: Feb 1 2009, 07:54 AM
TSalien2003
post Feb 1 2009, 08:55 AM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(Darren @ Feb 1 2009, 08:50 AM)
anyone hv the link 2 download yesterday game highlight???
Posted MOTD Highlight on pg 1 post 8 [spoiler tag for January 2009] smile.gif
TSalien2003
post Feb 2 2009, 10:47 AM

12,754 posts

lol.. laugh.gif
see?see?
Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Can we just keep these kind of kopitiam posts which do not contribute anything at all out from the thread?

p/s: Removed the poster name/time from the quoted post but you should know who you are. Please bear in mind that even though there is no more post count in Football Lounge, the normal spamming rules still applies as usual.

This post has been edited by alien2003: Feb 2 2009, 10:57 AM
TSalien2003
post Feb 3 2009, 12:45 AM

12,754 posts

Post regarding on the Bosingwa incident but NO political elements in the post please. I had seen a few of you done so.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=boardrules

Action: Political and Religious Topic, discussions are welcomed in Real World Issues forum. But do not spread political propaganda or religious hatred in any of Lowyat.NET forums. Obey the sub-forum rules as they are enforced very strictly.

Result: Offending threads or post will be edited, closed, or removed. Offenders may be warned depending on severity of the offence. Members who promote racial hatred will be banned.

I have posted the R&R clearly in this post so anymore posts/offense(s) after this will give me no choice but to flag it for warning.

p/s: For those who interested, no action will be taken against Bosingwa for that incident [confirmed by FA] (link)

This post has been edited by alien2003: Feb 3 2009, 01:14 AM
TSalien2003
post Feb 3 2009, 11:56 AM

12,754 posts

Berbatov wants to be perfect

Manchester United striker Dimitar Berbatov has admitted that he strives for perfection in his game.

Berbatov moved to Old Trafford from Tottenham in a £30.75million deal on the final day of the summer transfer window.

The Bulgaria international was accused of sulking during the closing stages of his White Hart Lane career and continues to attract criticism because of his relaxed playing style.

And while he accepts he may never be able to please all supporters, Berbatov is keen to win over as many fans as possible.

Perfection

"Half the people might like me - the other half might not," he said.

"But throughout my life, I have had high expectations for myself - so I just try to make the non-believers into believers.

"But even when things are going great I keep telling myself I need to do more.

"I am a perfectionist and I set high standards. Everything I do, I want it to be perfect. I know it can't be like that every time - but that is my aim.

"If it is near perfection, I suppose I am happy."

Calm

Berbatov's approach is in contrast to many players in the Premier League and he has no plans to make drastic changes to his game.

"I am a relaxed guy," he said. "I play that way and I can't change my style.

"I watch games and see guys who panic on the ball - they look so nervous.

"I can be calm, because I sometimes know what I want to do before the ball comes to me.

"The boss tells me not to change anything - he gives me freedom to express my qualities."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11667_4887945,00.html
TSalien2003
post Feb 3 2009, 07:58 PM

12,754 posts

Icons: Ole Solskjaer

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626362

Icons: Ryan Giggs

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...=6626390&page=1

Park praises squad

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626320

TSalien2003
post Feb 4 2009, 11:40 AM

12,754 posts

We used to talk about bad apples from this thread and here is one of them:

QUOTE(hazremi @ Feb 4 2009, 09:58 AM)
why this thread is discussing bout liverpool?feck off bout them
You could have just post nicely and remind the poster to get back on track about Man Utd but no, you opt to post it in such a way which put a bad image on the other fellow posters in this thread.

This is not the 1st time you behave in such a way in this thread or other threads in Football Lounge. I can still remember some of the "flame baits" that you posted outside this thread.

So my advice is, if you can't bother yourself to post according to the rules & regulations then don't bother posting at all.

This post has been edited by alien2003: Feb 4 2009, 11:41 AM
TSalien2003
post Feb 4 2009, 07:46 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(Wan @ Feb 4 2009, 07:41 PM)
Talking about West Ham, I don't like playing them. They always seem to take something from us.
Same thought here. Plus they are on a good run at the moment as well sweat.gif

Icons: Roy Keane

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626394

Welbeck earns England call

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626448

Nearly full Roon for United

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport...icle2201722.ece

Ron: I can't hear boo

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport...icle2201298.ece

This post has been edited by alien2003: Feb 4 2009, 08:03 PM
TSalien2003
post Feb 5 2009, 05:07 PM

12,754 posts

Nemanja's a United prize fighter

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/spo...d_prize_fighter

Euro triumph boosts Utd profits

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/spo...sts_utd_profits
TSalien2003
post Feb 5 2009, 08:01 PM

12,754 posts

Rumours but still a good rumours to have nod.gif

Carlos Tevez to get Manchester United deal at last

Manchester United are finally ready to sign Carlos Tevez on a permanent basis in a deal worth up to £30million, ending speculation about the striker's future.

Kia Joorabchian, Tevez's representative, met Sir Alex Ferguson at Old Trafford after last weekend's 1-0 win over Everton - just five months before Tevez becomes a free agent.

Fergie was impressed with how Tevez responded after being recalled to the first team to partner Dimitar Berbatov following Wayne Rooney's hamstring injury.

The Argentina striker felt marginalised following the arrival of Berbatov from Spurs last summer.

United are ready to hand Tevez - now on £75,0000-a-week - a three-year deal that would be worth £11.7m to the player over the duration of the contract.

The club are expected to announce record profits for 2008, shattering the 2007 pre-tax figure of £59.6m.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/200...15875-21098641/
TSalien2003
post Feb 5 2009, 09:41 PM

12,754 posts

Sir Alex: Edwin's special

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626518

Ronaldo wants more at 24

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626519

Blog: Birthday clap for Carlos

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626529

Icons: Eric Cantona

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...&newsid=6626397

This post has been edited by alien2003: Feb 5 2009, 09:43 PM
TSalien2003
post Feb 6 2009, 07:51 AM

12,754 posts

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...E}&newsid=27541

The darkest day: Feb 6th 1958

February 6th will forever be circled on the calendars of everyone connected with Manchester United.

On that day in 1958, the darkest day in United's history, 23 people - including eight players and three members of the club's staff - suffered fatal injuries in the Munich air crash.

Flying back from a European Cup tie against Red Star Belgrade, the team plane stopped in Germany to refuel. The first two attempts to take off from Munich airport were aborted; following a third attempt, the plane crashed.

Twenty-two of the people on board died instantly, while Duncan Edwards - one of the eight victims from the team - died 15 days later as a result of the injuries he sustained.

The tragedy is an indelible part of United's history, as is Sir Matt Busby overcoming his injuries to build another great team which won the European Cup 10 years later.

Roger Byrne (28), Eddie Colman (21), Mark Jones (24), David Pegg (22), Tommy Taylor (26), Geoff Bent (25), Liam Whelan (22) and Duncan Edwards (21) all died, along with club secretary Walter Crickmer, trainer Tom Curry and coach Bert Whalley.

Eight journalists died - Alf Clarke, Tom Jackson, Don Davies, George Fellows, Archie Ledbrook, Eric Thompson, Henry Rose, and Frank Swift who was a former Manchester City player. Plane captain Ken Rayment perished, as did Sir Matt's friend Willie Sanitof. Travel agent Bela Miklos and passenger Tom Cable also died.

We will never forget.

http://www.manutd.com/default.sps?pagegid=...}&newsid=401095

The men we lost at Munich

The Munich air disaster on 6 February 1958 claimed the lives of 23 passengers and crew. Here, ManUtd.com remembers the eight United players and three officials who died, through the words of those who knew them best.

Roger Byrne - aged 28, full-back. 277 appearances, 19 goals, 33 England caps.

"An aristocratic footballer, majestic in his movement. Roger was so fast but at the same time he controlled his movement beautifully, like Nureyev." - Sir Matt Busby

Geoff Bent - aged 25, full-back. 12 appearances.

"When Geoff matured and reached his twenties there were many clubs after him but he stayed loyal. He could look after himself and was a great tackler. Roger Byrne was a consistent player and very brave, that was the reason Geoff got so few games, but he was good enough to hold a regular place in any team." - Jimmy Murphy

Eddie Colman - aged 21, half-back. 107 appearances, 2 goals.

"Eddie was a chirpy lad and a terrific player. He pushed the ball - never kicked it - and he jinked past players. He was known for his swivel hips." - Wilf McGuinness

David Pegg - aged 22, forward, 148 appearances, 28 goals, 1 England cap.

"David would have been a great asset to any team because he was a natural, left-flank player. David was very, very clever. Our best left-winger by a mile." - Sir Matt Busby

Mark Jones - aged 24, half-back, 120 appearances, 1 goal.

"Yorkshireman Mark was a really lovely fellow, but my word he was a tough nut, and nobody took any liberties with him on or off the field." - Bill Foulkes

Duncan Edwards - aged 21, half-back, 175 apps., 21 goals, 18 England caps, 5 goals.

"When I used to hear Muhammad Ali proclaim to the world he was the greatest, I used to smile. The greatest of them all was a footballer named Duncan Edwards." - Jimmy Murphy

"The only player who ever made me feel inferior." - Sir Bobby Charlton

Tommy Taylor - aged 26, forward, 189 apps., 128 goals, 19 England caps, 16 goals

"I rate him as one of the all-time, best centre-forwards in the game, and he had yet to realise all his potential. He was a typically bluff Yorkshireman in many ways, often acting the clown, and a great team man." - Bill Foulkes

Liam 'Billy' Whelan - aged 22, forward, 96 apps., 52 goals, 4 Republic of Ireland caps

"Billy was a magician with a ball at his feet. I really don't think he knew how good he was and how much better he could have become. A world-class forward. There is no doubt about that. His vision and passing was sheer class." - Albert Scanlon

Walter Crickmer, club secretary / Tom Curry, trainer / Bert Whalley, coach

"Walter Crickmer always reminded me of a little dynamo, nothing was too much trouble. Tom Curry, the trainer, was someone we looked up to like a father. And Bert Whalley was certainly a tremendous help to me when I was a part-timer." - Bill Foulkes

TSalien2003
post Feb 6 2009, 01:13 PM

12,754 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ Feb 6 2009, 12:42 PM)
lets have some confession time ..

i once criticize SAF .. had his tactics wrong one whole season .. wanted him to just leave .. im sorry SAF

i also bombarded RG11 and PS18 b4 ... now i felt guilty cos they are still very good giving us experience ....

come on ...confessed the times u were so frustrated that u wanted them to leave ....

by the way this year looks very good Man Utd ... League Cup, FA Cup, BPL and UCL ...
I am sure most of us here had the "moment of frustration" too against some/any of the players blush.gif

eg: CR for not passing the ball enough last time / rooney wasting chances / etc

But I think the opponent's GK is the one that got cursed by us the most during match day especially when they become god-like-goalie laugh.gif

This post has been edited by alien2003: Feb 6 2009, 01:14 PM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0503sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:01 AM