6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Photography {▀} Panasonic Leica LX-3 King of the King: V2 {▀}, ▇ Ultimate F2.0 24mm Manual Digicam ▇

Mr.LKM
post Jan 24 2009, 09:20 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Woohoo! V2! Congratulations guy!

I hope I don't join this family until V3 sweat.gif
Mr.LKM
post Feb 12 2009, 12:17 AM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Hey guys, my friend just COD with Iamsobloodysick. Put me into the owner list please~

Finally I got a LX3~ Hehe
Mr.LKM
post Feb 14 2009, 01:52 AM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Just got my LX3 from friend who COD with iamsobloodysick. I would say the camera is superb not only in terms of quality but also the appearance. My fellow girl friends are even attracted by this camera. Haha..
Mr.LKM
post Feb 15 2009, 03:08 AM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

I find the manual focus in LX3 is really good. The best thing is that there's a magnified area in the middle of the screen to let you check where the camera is focusing on. I would say it allows you a deadly focus. That's really stunning! I love my LX3!

This is a shot taken with iA and AF (Macro aka "the flower"). I was stunned when I saw that so many details can be captured!

Do you guys always use the "dynamic" instead of "standard" in the film setting?

By the way, I have tried my lucks on the night sky. The picture was taken at light polluted football field. So, don't expect very good result.

From left to right, you can see Canis Major and Orion. The brightest star in the photo is Sirius (Dog star) which belongs to the Canis Major. You can even see the Great Orion Nebula when you zoom in this photo.

After looking at the EXIF file, I just noticed that my LX3 is running on the v1 firmware....
Mr.LKM
post Feb 16 2009, 01:44 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(ticke @ Feb 16 2009, 01:40 AM)
wow...LX3 users r growing...like mushroom tongue.gif
Yeah.. it's so nice to have such a big user group. Guys~ Keep posting! rclxm9.gif
Mr.LKM
post Feb 16 2009, 03:13 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Does Panasonic bundle 4GB SDHC Class 6 card with their LX3?
Mr.LKM
post Feb 16 2009, 11:49 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Feb 16 2009, 11:34 PM)
My initial finding:-

Really impressed with the IQ captured by this camera. When its using F2, it was able to lower to ISO much more compared to my T30 and yet are able to capture more details than the Sony. When I test the macro with my Edifier S2000 speaker which has a embossed Edifier word, again it was able to capture it, although not to the level I wish. However that being compared to the Sony which couldnt capture the wording at all. Still need to play around with the camera. MF is very hard to play with, AF is much easier. But the manual setting, really appreciate that it has such control and it will tell you the aperture + shutter speed combo will have the exposure at what value. One thing I find it hard to believe is how hard it takes to take a good macro pic.
Yeah, the camera is very smart to tell you if your shot is under exposure.
Mr.LKM
post Feb 18 2009, 12:05 AM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

The home-made aluminium barrel is nothing much to worry about. The aluminium itself is much stronger to hold the accessory attached to it.
Mr.LKM
post Feb 18 2009, 01:51 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Feb 18 2009, 12:54 AM)
No matter how light aluminium is, its going to be heavier than the plastic version made by Panasonic. Better safe than sorry. Already bought RM1.6k camera but cant afford <RM100 adapter meh? The lense can get normal one, but adapter better use original one.
Check this, the original adapter is made of aluminium too.
http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/compact/lx3...ccessories.html
Mr.LKM
post Feb 18 2009, 08:16 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(my-carbuddy @ Feb 18 2009, 07:57 PM)
hi, i looking for lx3 also, cause my camera too big, n sometimes lazy to bring out, even lazy to take out from bag...

so, i think smaller camera will do the job...

4 questions here before i buy:

1)if compare with DSLR, the picture quality very poor? can realize the different easily? (normally i just print out at 4R to A4 size.)

2)if add the lens adapter, the camera might became bigger?
still can fix into the original case?
cause i dunwan the lx3 became much bigger, casue for me i wan compact for the camera. i still will stick to SLR when shooting in event.

3)i heard tat lx3 going to stop producing due to the high cost. it is true?
i scare after i bought then the lx4 coming out. cause i not hurry for tis camera, but also scare if lack of stock if stop producing tis camera.

4)can suggest me a place in KL to get it? so far how much is the best price with the standard package? where can get extended warranty?

hope ppl bought it can share the answer, cause many ppl in the forum might need your advice n info...

really thanks!!
1. I have no experience with DSLR yet. I don't think the quality will be a great difference between LX3 and DSLR under low ISO condition. Try to read the first page about the noise comparison between the LX3 and Sony A200.

2. Of course, the front will protrude. The casing the retail shop provides cannot fit in the LX3 with the adapter attached.

3. No, this is just a rumor. I've read that the Panasonic representative said that LX3 is not discontinued. It's just heavily back-ordered due to great demand.

4. My unit came with the 2 years warranty card. I bought mine last week. I bought from the member here, "iamsobloodysick", at RM1550 inclusive of the original package, 4GB Panasonic SDHC Class 4 memory card, one casing and Panasonic freebies (4 Heavy Duty Batteries & a blue bag).
Mr.LKM
post Feb 19 2009, 12:13 AM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Feb 18 2009, 11:52 PM)
good compact fuji 200EXR coming soon tongue.gif
Any spec that put LX3 to shame?
Mr.LKM
post Feb 19 2009, 04:00 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Feb 19 2009, 10:50 AM)
Is this a good buy? ebay item or should i use with original panasonic accessories?

hehe will be a new lx3 user this weekend.
Sounds like a very nice combo of accessories. Their products are interesting. I wonder if we can find a review online. The idea of 52mm filter is great as most of the DSLR filters are also in this format. Am I right?
Mr.LKM
post Feb 20 2009, 05:09 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Uzumaki NaruTo @ Feb 20 2009, 03:56 PM)
My way of thinking is kinda reversed. Now that i have a good camera , i have excuse to go to the waterfall places laugh.gif .
It seems like the Pandabase kits is having quite a good reputation.

Guys! Check this out! http://lx3contest.blogspot.com/
Mr.LKM
post Feb 21 2009, 11:58 AM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Does anyone know that if there will be a compatibility issue when both the Ricoh LC-1 "auto lens cap" and adapter to 52mm present?

After checking the starry photos taken with the DSLR.. I'm poisoned again.. Luckily, the LX3 is enough to keep me busy for quite a long time. Its portability hold me from getting the DSLR. Haha~
Mr.LKM
post Feb 21 2009, 08:42 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Feb 21 2009, 08:12 PM)
Wait, nobody noticed the severe barrel distortion caused by the lens unprocessed? (Aka not in Silkypix/in-camera JPEG)

Using the newest Raw Developer should show how bad it is.
Looks like you can't have it all...  wink.gif
I haven't tried to process any RAW images yet. What's the best raw processor out there? Aperture?
Mr.LKM
post Feb 25 2009, 09:00 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(G|O @ Feb 25 2009, 04:06 PM)
i asked da seller in lyn earlier..he has no stock for black already n hv to wait dunno when in march to comfirm...

waiting his pm for now...

Added on February 25, 2009, 4:08 pmbtw..i saw sumone selling his f31fd earlier...suddently feel like...abit dilemma between it n lx3 pulakkk
Oh? Sounds like a good time for the unhappy user or keen to upgrade to DSLR user to sell their black LX3.. laugh.gif
Mr.LKM
post Feb 26 2009, 04:33 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(daruma @ Feb 26 2009, 02:55 PM)
i read that teleconverter would make the aperture small. eg f2 become f4.
if wide converter applied , would it make f2 become f1.4?

dun understand optics. sweat.gif
Yes, you got the idea right. You can get focal ratio by dividing aperture by focal length. For example, a 200mm aperture telescope which has a 2000mm focal length will have a focal ratio of f/10. By using the teleconverter, you increase the effective focal length by 1 fold whilst the aperture remains the same. So, the focal ratio increases by one fold too.

With the 0.45x wide converter, the f/2 will become f/0.95.

I hope I don't get them wrong. smile.gif
Mr.LKM
post Feb 27 2009, 05:16 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(dare_black @ Feb 27 2009, 01:11 AM)
eeeeee...after so many days searching on lyn....finally..on this satureday i can join d lx3 family..
although it's a heart pain when i need to pay d seller...but i guess i won't regret....

can't wait till saturday to collect my dear lx3..wohoooo
Welcome to the dark side! You'll never regret buying a LX3! Please post your masterpieces here~

Wow.. Leica leather case! Please show it to us
Mr.LKM
post Feb 27 2009, 09:19 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

QUOTE(kevinlmw @ Feb 27 2009, 08:49 PM)
brought lumix lx3 today XD now going though manual and some toturial lol

lawl,its my first camera ^^
Don't forget to read the tutorial in the CD. There's a lot of information. smile.gif
Mr.LKM
post Mar 2 2009, 05:21 PM

Astronomy Enthusiast
3,749 posts

Yeah, take note of the horizon. Make sure it's horizontal unless you're trying to do something creative.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0470sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:51 AM